QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

Quietest thickness planer: five benchtop models and how each maker rates the noise

Written by
· 8 min read

Illustration of a benchtop thickness planer with a board feeding through and curled shavings

No benchtop thickness planer can be crowned on maker figures alone, because no two makers here report the same kind of number.

Grizzly prints the lowest one, a "Sound Rating" of 83 - 85 dB for both its three-knife G0939 and its helical G0940, without saying how it was taken.

Makita's 2012NB has the fullest declaration, as its EU manual cites the EN 61029 family for 86 dB(A) sound pressure and 99 dB(A) sound power. Laguna lists 92dB at 1 m for the PX|12.

On Grizzly's own sheets the $495 G0939 matches the $949 G0940, so the cheaper machine gives up nothing on the rating.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line

A quick look at the quietest thickness planers

A benchtop thickness planer spins its cutterhead at 8,500 to 10,000 RPM on the machines below, and the person feeding boards stands at the infeed table for every pass, often in a garage or basement with bare walls, so the quietest thickness planer is worth knowing before the first board goes through.

Five planers on sale in the US carry a noise number from the company that makes or sells them, under the Makita, Grizzly, Laguna and Shop Fox names. No two of those companies report their number the same way.

Makita declares sound pressure and sound power in the European format. Laguna states a distance and little else. Grizzly and Shop Fox print a bare "Sound Rating" range. So the picks sit in three groups, and a number meets another number only inside its own group.

How did we pick these thickness planers?

Thickness planers qualified when their own maker publishes a noise figure for that exact model number, on a product page, data sheet or manual we could open on October 18, 2026.

Our reading covered US product pages for Makita, Grizzly, Shop Fox, Laguna, DEWALT, WEN, RIKON, Cutech, JET and RYOBI, plus every planer manual those pages offered. For Makita we also read the 2012NB's EU manual, its current EU declaration and Makita UK's page. For DEWALT we checked the UK and EU product listings.

Delta's site answered every request with a bot check, which we did not try to pass, and JET's pages for the JWP-13BTK and JWP-13BTHH would not load their specifications for us, so neither maker is counted. Grizzly's G0790 has a rating but is discontinued.

Each figure is quoted as printed, the Grizzly and Shop Fox ranges with their spaced hyphens and Laguna's 92dB without a space. A-weighted declarations, ratings with a distance and ratings with no method sit in separate groups, and Makita's 99 dB(A) sound power figure is kept out of every comparison with an operator or 1 m level.

Grizzly showed $495 for the G0939, $949 for the G0940 and $679 for the Shop Fox W1877, and Laguna listed the PX|12 at $699 before a 10% fall sale, all on October 18, 2026. Makita's US site shows no price.

We did not measure a single pass through any of these planers. The ratings above come from Makita's EU manual and its UK and US pages, Grizzly's data sheets and manuals, the Shop Fox sheet Grizzly hosts, and Laguna's PX|12 page.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest thickness planers

Most fully declared figure

Makita 2012NB 12 in. Portable Planer

  • Noise: 86 dB(A) LpA, 99 dB(A) LwA, typical (Makita EU manual); 85 / 98 dB(A), K 3 (Makita UK page)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Buyers who want to know what quantity a noise figure describes
  • Skip it if: You want carbide inserts or a full 13 in. width

Makita's EU manual for the 2012NB gives "typical A-weighted" levels of 86 dB(A) sound pressure and 99 dB(A) sound power, and the declaration in that manual names EN61029.

Makita UK's page lists 85 and 98 with a K of 3, while Makita USA says "only 83dB" with no conditions. The US and EU manuals share the model number, the 12 in. width, the 8,500 no-load speed and the 27 kg weight.

It runs two straight knives under an automatic head clamp meant to stop snipe.

Lowest rating on a helical head

Grizzly G0940 13 in. 2 HP Benchtop Planer with Helical Cutterhead

  • Noise: "83 - 85 dB" Sound Rating (Grizzly data sheet)
  • Price: $949.00 maker's list price, checked Oct 18
  • Best for: Figured hardwood, where the insert head is the point
  • Skip it if: The rating is your only reason to pay for inserts

Grizzly's data sheet gives the G0940 a "Sound Rating" of 83 - 85 dB, with no weighting, distance or test named. The twist sits in the same manual: the three-knife G0939 carries an identical rating.

What $949 buys over the G0939 is the head, 30 carbide inserts set in two spirals, plus a granite table and a depth stop dial. Grizzly's product page credits the inserts with "lower noise levels", which its own sheet does not show against the G0939.

Same rating for about half the price

Grizzly G0939 13 in. 2 HP Benchtop Planer

  • Noise: "83 - 85 dB" Sound Rating (Grizzly data sheet)
  • Price: $495.00 maker's list price, checked Oct 18
  • Best for: A first planer for a garage shop on a budget
  • Skip it if: A named test standard behind the planer's rating matters to you

Grizzly prints the same 83 - 85 dB "Sound Rating" for the G0939 as for its helical sibling, in one shared owner's manual, so on Grizzly's paperwork the three steel knives cost nothing in noise.

The motor, the 8500 RPM cutterhead speed and the 25 FPM feed are shared too. At $495 it is the cheapest planer here that carries a maker rating, though its sheet says no more than the G0940's about how the figure was taken.

Only US rating with a stated distance

Laguna PX|12 Benchtop Planer with QuadTec II Cutterhead

  • Noise: "Noise (1m away): 92dB" (Laguna product page)
  • Price: $699.00 maker's list price, checked Oct 18
  • Best for: Buyers who want inserts and a rating tied to a distance
  • Skip it if: Your boards run wider than 12-1/2 in.

Laguna's product page lists "Noise (1m away): 92dB" for the PX|12, the one US maker rating here that says where the reading was taken. It names no weighting and does not say whether the planer was cutting, and the owner's manual prints no figure.

The QuadTec II head holds 26 four-sided carbide inserts in four straight rows, which Laguna calls quieter than straight knives without a number. Its list price is $699.

Two-year warranty with a spiral head

Shop Fox W1877 13 in. Benchtop Planer with Spiral-Type Cutterhead

  • Noise: "96 - 98 dB" Sound Rating (Shop Fox data sheet)
  • Price: $679.00 maker's list price, checked Oct 18
  • Best for: Shops that weigh warranty length above the printed rating
  • Skip it if: A low printed figure is the reason you are buying

Shop Fox, a line Grizzly now sells, rates the W1877 at 96 - 98 dB on a data sheet laid out like Grizzly's, under the same unexplained "Sound Rating" line.

We cannot tell whether that figure came from the same setup as Grizzly's, so it is listed here rather than ranked.

What the W1877 offers is a two-year warranty, a six-row spiral head with 26 indexable inserts and a table that reaches 34 in. with its extensions.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

Why can't planer noise figures be ranked against each other?

Planer noise figures cannot be ranked across makers because each one reports a different quantity: Makita an A-weighted level at the operator, Laguna a level at 1 m, and Grizzly a range with no method at all.

Makita's EU manual for the 2012NB gives two "typical A-weighted" levels. Sound pressure describes the operator's position, and sound power describes all the sound the machine puts out. The declaration in that manual names EN61029, and Makita's current EU declaration lists EN 61029-2-3, the part written for thicknessers.

Laguna's page for the PX|12 says "Noise (1m away): 92dB" and stops there, with no weighting and no word on whether the knives were cutting wood or spinning free. Grizzly's data sheets, and the Shop Fox sheet built in the same layout, give a "Sound Rating" range with no method.

Distance, weighting and the load on the cutterhead all move a reading, so an 86 at the operator and a 92 at 1 m do not show which planer is louder. Figures are compared only inside a group, such as Grizzly's G0939 against Grizzly's G0940, two sheets from one documentation team.

How loud is a thickness planer?

A benchtop thickness planer is rated from 83 to 98 dB on the data sheets we found, and Makita declares 86 dB(A) at the operator for its 2012NB. Every maker here tells owners to protect their hearing.

These are the five figures as each maker printed them:

  • Makita 2012NB: 86 dB(A) sound pressure and 99 dB(A) sound power, typical (EU manual)
  • Grizzly G0939: "83 - 85 dB" Sound Rating
  • Grizzly G0940: "83 - 85 dB" Sound Rating
  • Laguna PX|12: "92dB" at 1 m
  • Shop Fox W1877: "96 - 98 dB" Sound Rating

The list spans 15 decibels, but its two ends come from sheets that never say how they were measured, and the Makita number belongs to a different kind of figure again. Read it as five separate statements. Each planer is grouped in the picks with the figures it can fairly meet.

Grizzly's manual for the G0939 and G0940 tells owners to wear hearing protection "when operating or observing loud machinery", and Makita's EU manual for the 2012NB says "Wear ear protection." No maker suggests its planer can be run with bare ears.

Is a helical cutterhead quieter than straight knives?

No, not on Grizzly's benchtop data sheets, where the three-knife G0939 and the helical G0940 share one 83 to 85 dB rating. Grizzly's 15 in. floor planers do split, 82 to 84 dB straight against 75 to 77 helical.

The G0939 and G0940 share an owner's manual, a 2 HP universal motor, an 8500 RPM cutterhead and a 25 FPM feed. Grizzly lists two differences: the head, three double-sided steel knives against 30 carbide inserts in two spirals, and the table, stainless steel against granite. Both data sheets carry the same rating.

Grizzly's G0940 page still says its inserts mean "lower noise levels", and the figure Grizzly prints does not bear that out against the G0939. On these two machines, the $454 extra pays for the insert head and the granite table rather than a lower number.

Grizzly's 15 in. floor planers tell a different story

Grizzly's 15 in. fixed-table planers are not benchtop machines and are not picks here, but they do show a gap. The G0890 with three straight knives is rated 82 - 84 dB, and the G0891 with a 48-insert helical head 75 - 77 dB, on matching sheets in one shared manual.

Both floor planers run a 3 HP induction motor and a 5200 RPM cutterhead, much slower than the 8500 RPM head on the benchtop pair. Grizzly does not explain why the head type moves the rating on its big machines and leaves it untouched on its small ones.

Laguna also calls its QuadTec insert head "quieter than conventional straight knives" without a number, and the Shop Fox W1877, with a spiral-style head, is rated 96 to 98 dB on its own sheet. An insert head is no promise of a low printed figure.

Why does Makita give three noise figures for the 2012NB?

Makita publishes three figures for the 2012NB and explains none of the differences: Makita USA says 83dB, Makita UK lists 85 dB(A) at the operator, and the EU manual prints 86 dB(A).

Alongside its 85, the UK page lists 98 dB(A) sound power and an uncertainty, K, of 3 dB(A). The EU manual, which that same UK page links, gives 86 and 99 as "typical" levels with no K. Makita USA's 83 arrives with no weighting, quantity or condition, and the US instruction manual prints no noise figure at all.

The EU manual's 86 dB(A) leads this page because it sits in a document whose declaration names a test standard, and the UK page's 85 appears beside it. The US 83 is left out of every comparison: with nothing said about how it was taken, there is no group it belongs to.

Tying the European paperwork to the US planer is straightforward. Makita sells it as the 2012NB in both markets, and its US and EU manuals agree on the 304 mm (12 in.) cutting width, the 8,500 no-load speed, the 8.5 m per minute feed, the 304 by 771 mm table and the 27 kg weight.

How many decibels is a DEWALT planer?

DEWALT publishes no decibel figure for the DW735, its only thickness planer on dewalt.com. The US page and manual print none, and DEWALT's UK and EU sites sell the DW733, a model number that matches no US planer.

The US manual for the DW735 asks for hearing protection but gives no level. A European edition of the DW735 manual with noise values circulates on third-party manual sites, but we could not find it on any DEWALT server, and the product listings on DEWALT's UK, German, French, Italian, Spanish and Dutch sites carry no DW735.

The DW733 is the 317 mm thicknesser DEWALT sells across Europe. DEWALT's US site has no page for the 12-1/2 in. DW734, and with different model numbers nothing from the DW733's paperwork was carried over to a US planer. DEWALT sits out of the picks.

Which thickness planer makers print no noise figure?

WEN, Cutech and RIKON print no usable noise figure for their benchtop thickness planers, and RYOBI's site lists its 12-1/2 in. AP1305 as discontinued.

WEN's manuals for the 6552T, 6550T, PL1252, PL1303, PL1326 and PL1337, all linked from wenproducts.com, contain no decibel figure. Cutech's page for the 40700H lists motor, cutterhead and capacity but nothing on noise.

RIKON's manuals for the 25-130H and 25-135H give "Noise Level (no load)" as "≤ 100 dB". That is an upper limit with the knives spinning free rather than a declared value, so neither RIKON is a pick.

Our searches turned up no current Metabo HPT page for the P13F. Scheppach and Einhell sell thicknessers in Europe, but we found no US site from either, so there is no US model to tie a European figure to.

How the quietest thickness planers compare

ProductNoiseHow measuredCutterheadCapacityWeightPrice
Makita 2012NB86 dB(A) LpA, 99 dB(A) LwA, typical (Makita EU manual); 85 / 98 dB(A), K 3 (Makita UK page)A-weighted, operator position and sound power; EN61029 named in the manual's declaration2 straight knives, 8,500 RPM12 in. wide, 6-3/32 in. thick, 1/8 in. deep61.9 lbs. (US page)Not verified yet
Grizzly G0940"83 - 85 dB" Sound Rating (Grizzly data sheet)Not statedHelical, 30 carbide inserts, 8500 RPM13 in. wide, 6 in. thick78 lbs.$949.00 maker's list price
Grizzly G0939"83 - 85 dB" Sound Rating (Grizzly data sheet)Not stated3 straight knives, 8500 RPM13 in. wide, 6 in. thick67 lbs.$495.00 maker's list price
Laguna MPLANPX12-0130-R"Noise (1m away): 92dB" (Laguna product page)1 m, weighting and mode not statedQuadTec II, 26 carbide inserts in 4 rows, 10000 RPM12-1/2 in. wide, 6 in. thick65 lbs. net$699.00 maker's list price
Shop Fox W1877"96 - 98 dB" Sound Rating (Shop Fox data sheet)Not statedSpiral-style, 26 inserts in 6 rows, 10,000 RPM13 in. wide, 6 in. thick84 lbs.$679.00 maker's list price

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest thickness planer?

No single planer can be named, since the makers measure differently. The lowest printed number belongs to Grizzly's G0939 and G0940, rated 83 - 85 dB with no stated method. The most complete declaration is Makita's for the 2012NB: 86 dB(A) at the operator and 99 dB(A) sound power in its EU manual.

Is a helical head planer quieter than a straight knife planer?

Grizzly's sheets give a mixed answer. Its 13 in. benchtop pair, the three-knife G0939 and helical G0940, share an 83 - 85 dB rating. Its 15 in. floor planers split by about seven decibels, 82 - 84 dB for the straight-knife G0890 and 75 - 77 dB for the helical G0891.

How many decibels is a DEWALT DW735?

DEWALT does not say on any page we could reach. Its US product page and US instruction manual for the DW735 give no noise level, and its UK and EU sites sell the DW733 instead, which has a different model number. European DW735 figures appear only on third-party manual sites, which we do not cite.

Why does Makita list 83, 85 and 86 dB for the 2012NB?

Makita gives no reason. The 83dB comes from Makita USA's product page with no conditions, the 85 dB(A) with a K of 3 from Makita UK's page, and the 86 dB(A) from the EU manual, which calls it a typical A-weighted level. We lead with the manual figure because its declaration names EN61029.

Do I need hearing protection with a benchtop planer?

Every maker here says yes. Grizzly's manual for the G0939 and G0940 warns that extended exposure without hearing protection "can cause permanent hearing loss", and Makita's EU manual for the 2012NB says "Wear ear protection." Laguna's PX12 manual lists hearing protection among the safety gear for the shop.

What is the difference between dB and dB(A) on a planer spec sheet?

dB(A) tells you the reading was filtered with the A curve, which discounts the low frequencies that ears pick up poorly, as in Makita's 86 dB(A). A bare dB, as on the Grizzly, Shop Fox and Laguna pages, does not say whether any weighting was applied, which is one reason those ratings are not ranked against Makita's.

Do WEN, RIKON or Cutech publish planer noise figures?

WEN's six benchtop planer manuals contain no decibel figure, and Cutech's 40700H page lists none. RIKON gives its 25-130H and 25-135H a "Noise Level (no load)" of "≤ 100 dB", which is an upper limit with the knives spinning free rather than a declared value.

The bottom line

The Makita 2012NB taught me the most. Makita USA calls it "only 83dB" with no conditions, Makita UK puts the operator level at 85 dB(A), plus or minus a stated 3, and the EU manual that the UK page links prints 86. Three numbers for one 12 inch planer, and only the European pair says what was measured.

Grizzly surprised me the other way. I expected its helical G0940 to carry a lower rating than the three-knife G0939, since quiet running is the usual pitch for carbide inserts, yet Grizzly gives both 83 to 85 dB. If I were planing in a garage under a bedroom, I would take the G0939 at $495 and put the $454 difference toward dust collection and a good set of earmuffs.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Grizzly G0790 12-1/2 in. 2 HP Benchtop Planer with Dust Collection

    Grizzly lists a 95 dB Sound Rating for this two-knife 12-1/2 in. benchtop planer, but its page now says the G0790 is discontinued and no longer for sale.

    Search Amazon for this model

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 11 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides