QuietSpecs

The quietest electric fireplace, from the makers' own decibels

The quietest electric fireplace, from the makers' own decibels

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • The Dimplex Slim Linear has the lowest single figure we found on a maker's own page: "Decibels" 36 in its US spec table, for all four sizes, with no setting or distance named.
  • Costway's 28.5 inch FP10049US is the only fireplace with a figure tied to full heat, "≤35db" at its 1,500 W setting in a Costway answer, which is an upper limit rather than a reading.
  • For an existing fireplace opening, Dimplex's Nova lists 42.
  • Costway's 18 inch insert is the only one with a heat-off figure, about 28 dB against about 45 dB heating.
  • Napoleon, Touchstone, Amantii, Modern Flames and SimpliFire publish no figure.

Lowest single figure we found

Dimplex Slim Linear 50 inch electric fireplace

Noise 36 decibels (Dimplex spec table)

Price not verified yet

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    36 decibels (Dimplex spec table)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  2. 2

    38dB spec, 35 dB description (R.W.FLAME)

  3. 3

    ≤35 dB at 1,500 W (Costway answer)

  4. 4

    Lowest single figure for an insert

    Dimplex Nova 28 inch plug-in electric firebox

    42 decibels (Dimplex spec table)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  5. 5

    About 45 dB heating, 28 dB flame only

  6. 6

    ≤35 dB (Costway page)

Our Picks

Dimplex Slim Linear 50 inch electric fireplace

#1 · Lowest single figure we found

Dimplex Slim Linear 50 inch electric fireplace

Dimplex

Noise36 decibels (Dimplex spec table)

Dimplex prints a "Decibels" row at the end of each US specification table, and the Slim Linear has the lowest value in it: 36, for the 36, 42, 50 and 60 inch sizes alike. That is also the lowest single figure we found for any electric fireplace on a maker's own page, 19 points under the 55 Dimplex lists for its Ignite XL. Dimplex names no unit weighting, heat setting or distance, so treat it as Dimplex's own yardstick. The fireplace is 3.88 inches deep, recesses into 2x4 framing or hangs on the wall, and heats with a 1,500 W fan-forced coil. Dimplex sells it through dealers and shows no price.

Buy it ifA bedroom or living room wall where the heater will run

Skip it ifYou need more than 1,500 W of heat

What we like

  • "Decibels" 36 in Dimplex's US spec table, in all four sizes
  • The lowest value in a Dimplex range that runs up to 55
  • Recessed into 2x4 framing or wall-mounted, 3.88 inches deep

What to know

  • No setting, distance or unit weighting behind the 36
  • No price on dimplex.com; sold through dealers
  • A 2 year limited warranty, against 5 years on the Ignite XL
Kind of figure
Single value, no setting named
Type
Linear, recessed or wall-mounted
Heater
1,500 W fan-forced, coil wire
Flames without heat
Yes, "Flame only" (spec sheet)
Fan after heat off
Not stated in its documents

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
R.W.FLAME C3 36 inch ultra-thin recessed and wall-mounted electric fireplace

#2 · Lowest-priced wall unit with a figure

R.W.FLAME C3 36 inch ultra-thin recessed and wall-mounted electric fireplace

R.W.FLAME

Noise38dB spec, 35 dB description (R.W.FLAME)

R.W.FLAME gives the C3 three numbers on one page: "a whisper-quiet 35 dB" in the description, "Low Noise: 38dB" in the specification list, and 35 to 38 dB in the FAQ. We rank it on 38, the higher one, which still puts it second among single figures, 2 points above the Dimplex Slim Linear on paper. None of the three names a setting. The manual linked from the page describes an off setting with "no heater or blower", fans that blow on after switch-off, and a sleep mode that turns every light off while the heat runs. It comes in six sizes from 30 to 68 inches, and the 36 inch was on sale at $189.99 on October 13, 2026, against a regular $279.99.

Buy it ifA bedroom wall on a budget

Skip it ifYou want a maker that gives one consistent figure

What we like

  • 38dB in its spec list, 35 dB in its description
  • Sleep mode turns all the lights off while it heats, per the manual
  • Six sizes, 3.86 inches thick

What to know

  • Three different figures on one page, none tied to a setting
  • The linked manual is written for RFH LC model numbers
  • A 1 year warranty
Kind of figure
Single values that disagree
Type
Ultra-thin, recessed or wall-mounted
Heater
750 or 1,500 W fan heater
Flames without heat
Yes (R.W.FLAME FAQ)
Fan after heat off
Runs on, no time given (manual)

$279.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
Costway 28.5 inch recessed electric fireplace with 3 flame colors

#3 · Only figure tied to full heat

Costway 28.5 inch recessed electric fireplace with 3 flame colors

Costway

Noise≤35 dB at 1,500 W (Costway answer)

On this Costway page, a shopper asked how many fan speeds the fireplace has and "what is the decibel rating at highest speed". The answer, signed by a Costway representative, says there are two gears, 750 W and 1500 W, and "the decibel rating at highest speed ≤35db". It is an upper limit from a Q&A answer rather than the specification list, with no distance, but it is the only figure we found that a maker ties to an electric fireplace's top heat setting. The fireplace is a 28.5 inch insert for a wall or a cabinet, with three flame colors, resin logs and a flame-only mode, at $159.99 on October 13, 2026.

Buy it ifAn in-wall or cabinet fireplace that will often run on full heat

Skip it ifYou want the figure on a spec sheet, not in an answer

What we like

  • ≤35 dB at the 1,500 W setting, in a Costway answer
  • Flame-only mode and a 62 to 82°F thermostat
  • $159.99, marked On Sale, on October 13, 2026

What to know

  • An upper limit from a Q&A answer, not the spec list
  • No distance or test method
  • Another Costway answer puts a 1,500 W insert at about 45 dB
Kind of figure
Upper limit, top heat setting
Type
Recessed insert, 28.5 inches
Heater
750 or 1,500 W
Flames without heat
Yes, flame-only mode
Fan after heat off
Not stated

$159.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
Dimplex Nova 28 inch plug-in electric firebox

#4 · Lowest single figure for an insert

Dimplex Nova 28 inch plug-in electric firebox

Dimplex

Noise42 decibels (Dimplex spec table)

The Nova is Dimplex's plug-in firebox for an existing fireplace opening or mantel, with handcrafted Realogs, and every size from 23 to 33 inches lists "Decibels" 42. The manuals say what is behind that number. Turning the heat on starts the fan whether or not the element is heating, the fan "will continue on for 2 minutes" after you switch the heat off, and the service manual's troubleshooting table blames "Excessive noise when flames are on" on a rubbing flicker rod or a defective flicker motor. You can disable the heater from the touch panel and run the flames alone. Dimplex shows no price.

Buy it ifFilling an old wood fireplace opening

Skip it ifA fan that runs on after switch-off would bother you

What we like

  • "Decibels" 42 in every Nova size, in Dimplex's spec table
  • Plugs into an existing fireplace or mantel opening
  • Heat can be disabled from the touch panel

What to know

  • The fan runs on for 2 minutes after the heat goes off
  • A flicker motor and rod turn behind the flames
  • No price on dimplex.com
Kind of figure
Single value, no setting named
Type
Plug-in firebox insert, 23 to 33 in
Heater
1,465 W, stitched wire element
Flames without heat
Yes; heat can be disabled
Fan after heat off
2 minutes (manual)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
Costway 18 inch 1500W electric fireplace insert with remote control

#5 · Only figure with the heat off

Costway 18 inch 1500W electric fireplace insert with remote control

Costway

NoiseAbout 45 dB heating, 28 dB flame only

Asked "What does low noise mean?", a Costway representative answered: "Operating noise is approximately 45 dB, and noise without heating is approximately 28 dB." That is the only maker figure we found for an electric fireplace running its flames alone, and the only pair of figures that shows what switching the heat off is worth. Both numbers are approximate and come with no distance. The manual is candid about the heater: the blower has no speed setting, and each time the heat is switched on, the heater and fan are "forced to heat up for 3 minutes" whatever the room temperature. It is a 1,500 W insert in 18, 23 and 26 inch widths, $109.99 for the 18 inch on October 13, 2026.

Buy it ifA mantel or TV stand where the flames will run more than the heat

Skip it ifYou want a heat setting below 1,500 W

What we like

  • About 28 dB with the heat off, about 45 dB heating
  • The only maker figure we found for flames alone
  • $109.99 for the 18 inch, marked On Sale

What to know

  • Approximate values from a Q&A answer
  • One 1,500 W heat level and no blower speeds
  • Heater and fan run 3 minutes at every switch-on
Kind of figure
Approximate, from a Costway answer
Type
Insert, 18, 23 or 26 inches
Heater
1,500 W, one level, no fan speeds
Flames without heat
Yes, with a figure for it
Fan after heat off
Not stated; 3 minutes forced at switch-on

$109.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
Costway 13 inch mini wooden tabletop electric fireplace

#6 · Lowest cap for a freestanding unit

Costway 13 inch mini wooden tabletop electric fireplace

Costway

Noise≤35 dB (Costway page)

A 13 inch wooden cabinet that stands on a desk or the floor, with the lowest ceiling we found on a freestanding electric fireplace: Costway says it "operates with low-noise (≤ 35 dB)". That is a ceiling with no setting named, the same cap Costway gives its FP10530US wall unit, so it cannot be ranked against the single values Dimplex prints. It heats at 750 or 1,400 W, runs as flame and heat or flame only, and has a cool-to-touch top. It cost $89.99 on October 13, 2026.

Buy it ifA small room or office corner that wants a flame with its heat

Skip it ifYou want a full-size freestanding fireplace

What we like

  • ≤35 dB on Costway's page, the lowest freestanding cap we found
  • Two heat settings, 750 and 1,400 W
  • $89.99, the cheapest fireplace here

What to know

  • An upper limit with no setting or distance
  • Only 13.1 inches wide
  • Costway gives no fan run-on time for it
Kind of figure
Upper limit, no setting named
Type
Freestanding tabletop, 13 inches
Heater
750 or 1,400 W
Flames without heat
Yes, "flame only"
Fan after heat off
Not stated

$89.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseKind of figureTypeHeaterFlames without heatPrice
1.Dimplex PLF5014-XS36 decibels (Dimplex spec table)Single value, no setting namedLinear, recessed or wall-mounted1,500 W fan-forced, coil wireYes, "Flame only" (spec sheet)Not verified yet
2.R.W.FLAME 836C338dB spec, 35 dB description (R.W.FLAME)Single values that disagreeUltra-thin, recessed or wall-mounted750 or 1,500 W fan heaterYes (R.W.FLAME FAQ)$279.99 maker's list price
3.Costway FP10049US≤35 dB at 1,500 W (Costway answer)Upper limit, top heat settingRecessed insert, 28.5 inches750 or 1,500 WYes, flame-only mode$159.99 maker's list price
4.Dimplex XHD28L42 decibels (Dimplex spec table)Single value, no setting namedPlug-in firebox insert, 23 to 33 in1,465 W, stitched wire elementYes; heat can be disabledNot verified yet
5.Costway FP10831About 45 dB heating, 28 dB flame onlyApproximate, from a Costway answerInsert, 18, 23 or 26 inches1,500 W, one level, no fan speedsYes, with a figure for it$109.99 maker's list price
6.Costway FP10389US≤35 dB (Costway page)Upper limit, no setting namedFreestanding tabletop, 13 inches750 or 1,400 WYes, "flame only"$89.99 maker's list price

Buying Guide

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

Dimplex's Slim Linear has the lowest single decibel figure we found for an electric fireplace on a maker's own page: its US specification table lists "Decibels" as 36 for the 36, 42, 50 and 60 inch sizes. Dimplex names no heat setting, distance or test for that number, so it does not tell you whether the heater was running. Costway caps three models at ≤35 dB, but a cap of 35 is a ceiling, not a reading, and only one of the three is tied to a setting: the 28.5 inch FP10049US, at "≤35db" on its 1,500 W top speed, in a Costway representative's answer on the product page.

Few fireplace makers print anything at all. We read the US product pages and manuals of Dimplex, Napoleon, Touchstone, Amantii, Modern Flames, SimpliFire, Real Flame, PuraFlame and Twin Star Home, which sells ClassicFlame and Duraflame electric fireplaces, and Dimplex is the only one that prints a decibel level, in a row most shoppers never open. The other numbers here come from two budget sellers' own stores, Costway and R.W.FLAME, written as single values, upper limits or approximations. We rank only within each kind, and spend the rest of the page on what the manuals say makes the sound: the heater fan, how long it keeps blowing once the heat is off, and the small motor that turns behind many flame effects.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Single values, ceilings and approximations

Every figure on this page is in plain decibels, and none comes with a measuring distance, but the makers write them in three ways that do not line up:

  • Single values. Dimplex's "Decibels" row runs from 36 for the Slim Linear to 55 for the Ignite XL. R.W.FLAME's C3 page says 35 dB in its description and 38dB in its specifications. Costway's FP11229US recessed fireplace promises "40dB low-noise operation".
  • Upper limits. Costway writes "≤35dB" for the FP10530US, "≤ 35 dB" for the 13 inch FP10389US and "≤ 37 dB" for the 27 inch FP10560US. R.W.FLAME says its 44 inch corner fireplace runs "under 40 dB" and its 63 inch mantel "below 43 decibels".
  • Approximations. A Costway representative puts the 18 inch FP10831 insert at "approximately 45 dB" heating and "approximately 28 dB" without heat, and another Costway answer puts the FP11078US insert at "approximately 45-50 dB".

A ceiling of 35 says the fireplace stays at or under 35 under conditions Costway does not give. Dimplex's 36 is one number from a test Dimplex does not describe. With no distance on either, a Costway ceiling and a Dimplex value are two kinds of decibel rating we never rank against each other, which is why the picks above carry their kind of figure beside the number.

The FP10049US is the exception worth singling out. A shopper on its page asked what the decibel rating is at the highest speed, and the Costway representative replied that the heater has two gears, 750 W and 1500 W, and that the rating at the highest is "≤35db". Apart from Costway's heat-on and heat-off pair for the FP10831, no figure here says what the fireplace was doing, and Dimplex's own FAQ calls a soft hum normal "when the heater or fan is running", so a figure with no setting named may or may not include the heater.

Dimplex's decibel row, series by series

Dimplex puts the figure at the very end of each US product page's specification list, behind a "Show More Specifications" button, as a bare number with no unit letter. We opened the pages for 85 Dimplex electric fireplace models on October 13, 2026, and 39 of them carry the row:

  • 36: Slim Linear 36, 42, 50 and 60 inch, a 1,500 W fan-forced heater with a coil wire element.
  • 42: the Nova plug-in fireboxes, 23 to 33 inches, for existing fireplace openings.
  • 47: Winslow 35, 42 and 48 inch, for a wall or a tabletop stand.
  • 49: Sierra 48, 60 and 72 inch.
  • 50: Prism 34, the Optimyst Aura 30 and the Optimyst Mapleton water vapor stove.
  • 55: Ignite XL, Ignite Evolve, Ignite Ultra, the 50 and 74 inch Prism and the Optimyst Linear 46, 66 and 86.

The Revillusion fireboxes and log sets, Ignite Bold, Ignite Quest, the Vital series, the BF fireboxes and the Optimyst Pro Box, Cassette, Revive and e-MatriX pages have no Decibels row at all. Neither the Slim Linear's three-part specification sheet nor its sell sheet repeats the 36, so the product page is the only Dimplex document we found with the number, and Dimplex gives no reason for the 19-point spread between its quietest and loudest models.

The heater fan, and how long it runs after the heat is off

Where these makers name the heater type, it is fan-forced, and most of what their documents say about noise concerns the fan. Dimplex's FAQ calls a soft hum normal "when the heater or fan is running", and says a loud or unusual sound may mean "the grill may need cleaning or a motor may need to be replaced". Napoleon's Astound manual goes further, in its safety list: "It is normal for your electric appliance to produce noise, especially when installed in a quiet space such as a bedroom."

What no decibel figure covers is how long the fan keeps going once you switch the heat off. The manuals give these times:

  • Dimplex Nova: "the fan will continue on for 2 minutes before turning off".
  • Dimplex Ignite XL: "a 2-minute cool down period before the fan shuts off completely".
  • Amantii Symmetry Lumina: the fan starts 5 seconds before the heating coil and stops 30 seconds after it.
  • Costway FP10530US: 30 seconds of cool air after the heater turns off.
  • Touchstone Sideline Elite Pro: 10 seconds of cool air before the heater turns on, and 10 after it turns off.
  • Modern Flames Orion V2: 8 to 10 seconds after the heater turns off.
  • Real Flame and R.W.FLAME: Real Flame says the fan "may still run" after the heater is off, and the manual linked from R.W.FLAME's C3 page says the fans blow "after the appliance turns off", with no time from either.

Fan speed matters as much as fan time. Napoleon's BOOST mode runs the Astound's heater at full power "with increased blower speed", while ECO "runs at half heat". The Comfort$aver heater in Dimplex's Ignite XL adjusts "the fan speed and heater wattage" to the room, keeps the fan and heater running at a low level once the set point is reached, and only switches off, then back on now and then, if the room gets much warmer. Costway's 18 inch FP10831 has no blower speed setting at all, and every time its heat is switched on, the manual says the heater and fan are "forced to heat up for 3 minutes" whatever the room temperature.

Flicker rods and rotisseries behind the flames

Many electric flames are light thrown onto a turning rod, and the manuals treat that rod's noise as a fault to fix rather than a feature to rate. No maker gives it a figure.

  • Dimplex Nova: the service manual's noise table lists "Excessive noise when flames are on", caused by a "Flicker rod is hitting or rubbing against internal component" or a "Defective flicker motor".
  • SimpliFire Triton: a "Grinding or rubbing noise (when heater is off)" comes from the "Rotisserie hitting or rubbing against internal components"; SimpliFire says to check the rod is straight and spinning freely, and to "apply grease to contact point" if the bracket is the source.
  • Amantii: its FAQ says a squeak is "due to the flicker rod coming in contact with the rod end bushing", and that the area needs re-greasing.
  • Costway: the FP10530US manual lists a "Flame motor defective" and a flame rod knocked out of place in transit, and the FP10831 manual says "The blower motor and the flame motor" come pre-lubricated.

The Ignite XL's manual shows a flicker motor in its diagrams as well. Modern Flames describes a different approach: it draws the Orion V2's flames with "Next-Generation LCD Technology", and its manual mentions fan motors but no flame motor. For a fireplace running its flames without heat, the only number anyone gives is Costway's answer for the FP10831, about 28 dB.

Flames with the heat off

Dimplex's FAQ says "most electric fireplaces let you run the flame effect without heat", and the pages or manuals of all six picks say their flames can run alone. Only Costway puts a number on what that saves, about 45 dB heating against about 28 dB without for the FP10831, and it does so in a representative's answer rather than the product listing.

A fireplace with no heater at all is no promise of a lower printed number. Tangkula's 36 inch flame-only fireplace, the FP11282US-36, has no heater, and its page still says "At just 40dB, this fireplace runs quietly", with no more detail than the heaters get.

Some makers tie the heat to the flames rather than the other way round. Modern Flames says the Orion's "heater only works when the flame is on", and Costway's FP10530US manual says "Flame effect must be on for heater to turn on". If you want the heat out of the picture for good, several let you lock it off. The Orion V2's micro switch, behind an access panel, "will disable the heater and fan", and the Ignite XL's hardware disconnect on the control board does the same, while the Nova's touch panel and the Napoleon Astound, which then shows "LOC", disable the heater function.

Crackle speakers and beeps

Some of the sound is put there on purpose. Touchstone's Sideline Elite Pro has "a built-in crackle speaker with adjustable volume". The Orion V2's Normal Mode plays "a continuous, looped fire-crackling sound", Starry Night adds wind and Stormy Night adds "intermittent thunder effects". SimpliFire's Triton offers "two crackling fire sounds (or no sound)", and R.W.FLAME lists sound modes for its C4 and C6 models but not the C3. Touchstone, Modern Flames and SimpliFire each describe an off setting, from Touchstone's crackle button to the Orion's S0. The Nova confirms each heat change with "1 short beep", and its manual describes no way to silence it.

Napoleon, Touchstone and the makers that print no figure

Napoleon's Astound pages and manual have no figure, only the note above that some noise is normal. Touchstone's Sideline Elite Pro page and manual offer neither a figure nor a claim of quiet. Amantii says its Symmetry Lumina has "A quieter heater fan, with a reduction of 4 decibels", without saying quieter than what, and its sell sheet calls the fireplace "the most quiet fireplace in industry". Modern Flames promises "quiet operation" from the Orion V2's PTC heater. SimpliFire's Triton warranty excludes noise from "Minor expansion, contraction, or movement of certain parts", which it calls normal. Real Flame's 49 inch insert page and manual say nothing about noise beyond the fan that may keep running. PuraFlame calls its 16 inch log heater "almost silent", and none of the 39 products in its US store carries a figure. Twin Star Home's descriptions of its ClassicFlame and Duraflame fireplaces, stoves and log sets make no noise claim either way.

Where one maker's own numbers disagree

Two of the budget sellers contradict themselves on a single page. R.W.FLAME's C3 is 35 dB in the description, 38dB in the specification list and 35 to 38 dB in the FAQ, so we rank it on 38. Costway's 26 inch FP11078US insert promises "≤40dB quiet operation" in its feature list, while a Costway representative on the same page answers that it "operates at a noise level of approximately 45-50 dB". We left the FP11078US out of the picks for that reason. Neither seller describes how its figures were measured, so we read each one as that seller's own claim about its own fireplace.

How we chose

We read the US product pages, specification tables, Q&A answers signed by the seller, and manuals for each fireplace on October 13, 2026. For Dimplex we opened the full specification list for each of the 85 models we found; for Costway we read 46 pages in its fireplace category, and for R.W.FLAME, PuraFlame and Twin Star Home the description of every fireplace in their US stores. We kept single values, ceilings and approximations apart, ranked only within each kind, took the higher figure wherever a page gives two, and chose the picks to cover the three ways an electric fireplace goes in: on or in a wall, inside an existing fireplace, and standing free. Prices are the makers' own on October 13, 2026; Dimplex shows none, and Modern Flames, SimpliFire and Napoleon show only a starting price.

We did not measure any of these electric fireplaces ourselves: the decibel figures are Dimplex's, Costway's, R.W.FLAME's and Tangkula's own, copied from their US product pages and Q&A answers on October 13, 2026, and every fan, motor and sound detail is quoted from the makers' manuals, FAQs and spec sheets.

Common questions

What is the quietest electric fireplace?

On a maker's own page, the Dimplex Slim Linear, which lists "Decibels" as 36 in its US specification table for all four sizes, with no setting or distance. Costway prints lower-looking ceilings: "≤35dB" for its FP10530US, "≤ 35 dB" for its FP10389US and "≤35db" at the 1,500 W setting for its FP10049US. A ceiling and a single value are different kinds of figure, so we do not rank one above the other.

What is the quietest electric fireplace insert?

For an existing fireplace opening, Dimplex's Nova plug-in fireboxes list "Decibels" 42 in every size from 23 to 33 inches. Costway's 28.5 inch FP10049US recessed insert has a ceiling of "≤35db" at its highest speed, in a Costway answer. Its 18 inch FP10831 insert is put at about 45 dB heating and about 28 dB without heat.

Is an electric fireplace quieter with the heat off?

The one maker figure for it says yes: a Costway representative puts the FP10831 insert at "approximately 45 dB" heating and "approximately 28 dB" without heat. The flames are not always silent, though. Dimplex's Nova service manual and SimpliFire's Triton manual both list noise from the rod that turns behind the flames, the Triton's "when heater is off".

Why does my electric fireplace keep blowing after I turn the heat off?

The fan is cooling the heater, and the manuals say for how long. Dimplex's Nova and Ignite XL run on for 2 minutes, Amantii's Symmetry Lumina and Costway's FP10530US for 30 seconds, Touchstone's Sideline Elite Pro for 10 seconds and the Modern Flames Orion V2 for 8 to 10 seconds. Real Flame says only that its fan "may still run".

Why is my electric fireplace squeaking or grinding?

The manuals point to the rod that turns behind the flames. Amantii's FAQ blames a squeak on "the flicker rod coming in contact with the rod end bushing" and says to re-grease it. SimpliFire traces a grinding noise with the heater off to the rotisserie rubbing and says to "apply grease to contact point", and Dimplex's Nova service manual lists a rubbing flicker rod or a defective flicker motor.

Is it normal for an electric fireplace to hum?

Dimplex says "A soft hum is normal when the heater or fan is running", and that a loud or unusual sound may mean the grill needs cleaning or a motor needs replacing. Napoleon's Astound manual says "It is normal for your electric appliance to produce noise, especially when installed in a quiet space such as a bedroom."

Do Napoleon, Touchstone and Amantii publish decibel ratings?

No. We found no figure on Napoleon's Astound pages or manual, or on Touchstone's Sideline Elite Pro page or manual. Amantii claims a heater fan with "a reduction of 4 decibels" on the Symmetry Lumina but gives no starting figure, so the claim cannot be compared with anything. Modern Flames and SimpliFire publish none either.

Which Dimplex electric fireplace is the quietest?

The Slim Linear, at "Decibels" 36 in its US specification table. After it come the Nova fireboxes at 42, the Winslow at 47, the Sierra at 49, the Prism 34, Optimyst Aura and Optimyst Mapleton at 50, and the Ignite XL, Evolve, Ultra, larger Prism and Optimyst Linear at 55. The Revillusion, Ignite Bold, Ignite Quest and Vital pages carry no figure.

Can I turn off the crackling sound on an electric fireplace?

On the models we read, yes. Touchstone's fire crackle button turns the sound on and off and sets its volume, SimpliFire's Triton cycles its SOUND button through two fire sounds and off, and the Modern Flames Orion V2 has an S0 volume setting that turns its sound effects off. R.W.FLAME's C3 has no sound effects at all; its C4 and C6 do.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Costway 36 inch in-wall recessed electric fireplace with remote control

    The same "≤35dB" cap as the FP10049US, but tied to no setting. Its manual says "Flame effect must be on for heater to turn on", the fan blows cool air for 30 seconds after the heater turns off, and its troubleshooting table lists a flame motor and a flame rod that can be knocked loose in transit. The 36 inch was $184.99 against a "Comp. Value" of $199.99 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon
  • Costway 27 inch freestanding electric fireplace with remote control

    A full-size 27 inch freestanding cabinet with a 3-sided view, capped at "≤ 37 dB", 2 dB above the tabletop FP10389US's cap. A single 1,400 W heat level. $213.99 against a "Comp. Value" of $219.99 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon
  • Dimplex Winslow 35 inch linear electric fireplace

    The lowest Dimplex figure for a unit that can stand free: "Decibels" 47 for the 35, 42 and 48 inch sizes, which hang on the wall or sit on an included tabletop stand. It is 11 points above the Slim Linear on Dimplex's own scale, and its warranty is 1 year.

    See it at Amazon
  • Dimplex Ignite XL 50 inch linear electric fireplace

    "Decibels" 55, the top of Dimplex's range, shared with the Ignite Evolve and Ultra, the larger Prism and the Optimyst Linear. Its Comfort$aver heater keeps the fan running at a low level once the room is warm, and the fan takes a 2-minute cool down after the heat is switched off.

    See it at Amazon
  • Dimplex Revillusion 36 inch built-in electric firebox, black

    Dimplex calls the Revillusion's full-depth flames "ultra-realistic", but its pages have no "Decibels" row, and neither do the Ignite Bold, Ignite Quest or Vital pages.

    See it at Amazon
  • Napoleon Astound 50 built-in electric fireplace

    No figure on Napoleon's page or in the manual, which says "It is normal for your electric appliance to produce noise, especially when installed in a quiet space such as a bedroom." BOOST raises the blower speed and ECO runs at half heat. Starting at $2,879 for the base unit.

    See it at Amazon
  • Touchstone Sideline Elite Pro 50 inch smart electric fireplace

    No figure and no quiet claim on Touchstone's page or in its manual. The fan blows cool air for 10 seconds before the heater starts and after it stops, and a crackle speaker adds a fire sound you can turn off. $1,199 on sale, against a regular $1,799.

    See it at Amazon
  • Amantii Symmetry Lumina 50 inch electric fireplace

    Amantii claims "a reduction of 4 decibels" for the heater fan without saying what it is measured against, so there is nothing to rank. The fan runs 30 seconds after the coil switches off. $2,399 retail in Amantii's US comparison guide.

    See it at Amazon
  • Modern Flames Orion V2 Multi 52 inch virtual electric fireplace

    No figure, only "quiet operation" for its PTC heater. Its LCD flames come with looped crackling, wind and thunder soundscapes, the heater "only works when the flame is on", and a micro switch can lock the heater and fan out. Starting at $4,999.

    See it at Amazon
  • SimpliFire Triton 50 linear electric fireplace

    No figure. The manual traces a "Grinding or rubbing noise (when heater is off)" to the flame rotisserie rubbing inside the firebox, and excessive noise with the heater on to the fan blade or blower motor. Starting at $3,189 through dealers.

    See it at Amazon
  • Real Flame 49 inch wall-mount or recessed electric fireplace insert

    No figure and no quiet claim; the manual notes only that "the fan may still run" after the heater is turned off. $824 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon
  • PuraFlame 16 inch electric fireplace log heater

    PuraFlame calls it "almost silent", and no product on its US store carries a decibel figure. $139.99 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides