QuietSpecs

The quietest oil-filled radiators and fanless heaters, by maker documents

The quietest oil-filled radiators and fanless heaters, by maker documents

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • No maker publishes comparable noise figures for oil-filled radiators, so nothing here is ranked on decibels.
  • For a living room, the De'Longhi Dragon TRD40615E has the best documented controls: ECO mode that steps down through MAX, MED and MIN to off, a dimmable display and a 0.5 to 24 hour timer.
  • For a nursery, the Dreo Oil-filled Radiator 521 adds a mute function, a remote and tip-over protection, and the Costway ES10374US lets you turn its screen off for $77.99.
  • For a desk, the Costway 700 W mini radiator is the only one with a figure: "lower than 45 db", with no setting or distance.

Best for a living room

De'Longhi Dragon Full Room Digital Radiant Heater with TOS TRD40615E-6A

Noise No figure. Manual notes creaking on first run

$189.95 maker's list price · checked Sep 20

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    No figure. Manual notes creaking on first run

  2. 2

    No figure. Maker lists "Silent"

  3. 3

    No figure. Manual: "slight sound" when heating

  4. 4

    "Lower than 45 db" (maker, no setting)

  5. 5

    No figure. Maker claims "ultra-quiet"

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  6. 6

    Best fanless heater that is not a radiator

    DREO Convection Heater 711S

    No figure. Maker claims "0dB Unheard"

Our Picks

De'Longhi Dragon Full Room Digital Radiant Heater with TOS TRD40615E-6A

#1 · Best for a living room

De'Longhi Dragon Full Room Digital Radiant Heater with TOS TRD40615E-6A

De'Longhi

NoiseNo figure. Manual notes creaking on first run

De'Longhi publishes no noise figure for the Dragon, but its manual describes what you will hear and see better than any other we read. It says creaking the first time the heater runs is completely normal. Its ECO mode steps the power down through MAX, MED and MIN to off as the room warms, the display falls back to one of three brightness levels, and the timer runs from 0.5 to 24 hours. Six fins and a 1,500 watt top setting suit a living room you heat for the evening.

Buy it ifA living room you warm for the evening and want to set and forget

Skip it ifYou want a figure in decibels before you buy

What we like

  • ECO mode steps down through MAX, MED and MIN to off, per the manual
  • Display dims to a level you choose from three
  • Delayed start and delayed stop timer, 0.5 to 24 hours

What to know

  • No published noise figure
  • The product title says "with TOS", but neither the page nor the manual we read describes a tip-over switch
  • The page shows a 2-year warranty, the site banner 3 years, and the manual 1 year
Power
700 W min, 1,500 W max, 3 levels
Fins
6
Controls
Digital, ECO, 0.5 to 24 h timer
Safety
Thermal shutoff, safety thermostat, child lock

$189.95

maker's list price · checked Sep 20

Check price on Amazon
DREO Oil-filled Radiator 521 (OH521)

#2 · Best for a nursery

DREO Oil-filled Radiator 521 (OH521)

Dreo

NoiseNo figure. Maker lists "Silent"

Dreo lists the 521's sound level as "Silent" and its features as "low noise", which are words, not measurements. For a nursery the useful details are the ones Dreo spells out: a mute function for the button beeps, a remote so you can change it from the door, a 24-hour timer, a 600 watt low setting and tip-over protection. Dreo's FAQ is honest that convection heats slowly, and suggests using the timer to heat the room beforehand, which is how a nursery heater should be used.

Buy it ifWarming a nursery before bedtime or a feed, with the timer set to switch it off

Skip it ifYou cannot keep three feet clear around it in the room

What we like

  • Mute function and remote control
  • Settings of 600, 900 and 1,500 W, plus ECO
  • Tip-over and overheat protection, per Dreo

What to know

  • No measured noise figure, only "Silent"
  • Dreo says the surface may reach 80°C, so it needs a guard of space around it
  • 12-month warranty
Power
600, 900 or 1,500 W, plus ECO
Fins
Count not stated (M-shaped fins)
Controls
Digital, 1 to 24 h timer, remote, mute
Safety
Tip-over and overheat protection

$129.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 20

Check price on Amazon
Costway 1500W Oil Filled Radiator Heater with Remote Control 3 Modes 24H Timer

#3 · Best value, with a screen you can turn off

Costway 1500W Oil Filled Radiator Heater with Remote Control 3 Modes 24H Timer

Costway

NoiseNo figure. Manual: "slight sound" when heating

This Costway radiator does most of what the Dreo does for $77.99: three power levels, a thermostat in 1°F steps, a 24-hour timer and a remote. Its remote has a Display button that turns the LED screen off, which Costway says keeps light from disturbing sleep. Costway lists 300 square feet of coverage. Its own manual is the most candid about sound: it promises "No noise" in the features, then says a slight sound during heating is normal.

Buy it ifA home office or nursery on a budget, where a glowing display would bother you

Skip it ifYou want a heater from a maker that publishes a figure

What we like

  • Remote turns the LED screen off
  • 45° tip-over and overheat protection, ETL certified
  • $77.99, the lowest price among the full-size radiators here

What to know

  • No published noise figure
  • Costway does not say whether the buttons beep, or whether they can be muted
  • 365-day warranty
Power
600, 900 or 1,500 W
Fins
7
Controls
Digital, 0 to 24 h timer, remote, screen off
Safety
45° tip-over, overheat, ETL

$77.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on costway.com

Costway 700 W Portable Mini Electric Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

#4 · Only radiator with a decibel figure

Costway 700 W Portable Mini Electric Oil-Filled Radiator Heater

Costway

Noise"Lower than 45 db" (maker, no setting)

The one fanless heater here with a number. Costway says the noise of this 700 watt mini radiator "is lower than 45 db". That is an upper limit in plain dB, with no distance, test standard or setting, and there is nothing comparable to rank it against. What makes it worth a look for a home office is the size: 7 fins, 8.6 lbs and 700 watts, which is about 6 amps at 120 volts by simple arithmetic, so it is gentler on a shared circuit than a 1,500 watt heater.

Buy it ifBackground warmth beside a desk in a small home office

Skip it ifYou need to heat a whole living room

What we like

  • A published figure: "lower than 45 db"
  • 700 W, light enough to carry by its handle
  • $67.99

What to know

  • The figure has no distance, setting or standard
  • The page lists overheating protection only; tip-over protection appears only in a Costway answer in the Q&A
  • Mechanical knob, no timer, and an "ECO mode" Costway does not explain
Power
700 W, single level
Fins
7
Controls
Mechanical thermostat knob
Safety
Overheat protection, flame-retardant shell

$67.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on costway.com

Pelonis 1,500-Watt Oil-Filled Radiant Electric Space Heater with Thermostat HO-0279

#5 · Simplest controls, with no display

Pelonis 1,500-Watt Oil-Filled Radiant Electric Space Heater with Thermostat HO-0279

Pelonis

NoiseNo figure. Maker claims "ultra-quiet"

Two dials and a power light. There is no screen to glow and the manual describes no beeps, which suits anyone who wants a radiator that just works. Pelonis claims "ultra-quiet operation" with no figure. Its manual is candid about limits: it says the heater is designed for finite space heating or as a supplementary source, and that it draws 12.5 amps, so it should not share a circuit with other appliances.

Buy it ifA living room or office where you want a dial, not a menu

Skip it ifYou want a timer or a remote

What we like

  • No display and no beeps described in the manual
  • Tip-over switch and overheat protection
  • Settings of 600, 900 and 1,500 W

What to know

  • No published noise figure
  • No timer, so you switch it off yourself
  • Pelonis's US site shows no price, and the warranty is 1 year
Power
600, 900 or 1,500 W
Fins
Count not stated
Controls
Two dials, mechanical thermostat
Safety
Tip-over switch, overheat protection

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 20

Check price on Amazon
DREO Convection Heater 711S

#6 · Best fanless heater that is not a radiator

DREO Convection Heater 711S

Dreo

NoiseNo figure. Maker claims "0dB Unheard"

Not every fanless heater is filled with oil. Dreo's 711S is a slim convection heater that stands on the floor or screws to the wall, with no fan. Dreo's claim is "HyperSilent 0dB Unheard Quietness", which is a description, not a measurement. It has three heat levels, ECO mode, a thermostat in 1°F steps, a remote and tip-over protection. With no oil to warm first, it is a different trade-off from a radiator, though Dreo publishes no heat-up time for it.

Buy it ifA living room or office where floor space is tight and the wall is free

Skip it ifYou want the slow, lingering warmth of oil after the heater switches off

What we like

  • Wall-mountable, with screws, anchors and a level in the box
  • Tip-over and overheat protection, IP24 splash resistance
  • Remote control, with a Smart WiFi version offered

What to know

  • No measured figure, only "0dB Unheard"
  • Dreo lists no room size
  • $169.99 and a 12-month warranty
Power
1,500 W, 3 heat levels, ECO
Fins
None (convection panel)
Controls
Digital, remote, ECO, Wi-Fi option
Safety
Tip-over, overheat, IP24

$169.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on dreo.com

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoisePowerFinsControlsSafetyPrice
1.De'Longhi TRD40615E-6ANo figure. Manual notes creaking on first run700 W min, 1,500 W max, 3 levels6Digital, ECO, 0.5 to 24 h timerThermal shutoff, safety thermostat, child lock$189.95 maker's list price
2.Dreo OH521No figure. Maker lists "Silent"600, 900 or 1,500 W, plus ECOCount not stated (M-shaped fins)Digital, 1 to 24 h timer, remote, muteTip-over and overheat protection$129.99 maker's list price
3.Costway ES10374USNo figure. Manual: "slight sound" when heating600, 900 or 1,500 W7Digital, 0 to 24 h timer, remote, screen off45° tip-over, overheat, ETL$77.99 maker's list price
4.Costway ES10216US"Lower than 45 db" (maker, no setting)700 W, single level7Mechanical thermostat knobOverheat protection, flame-retardant shell$67.99 maker's list price
5.Pelonis HO-0279No figure. Maker claims "ultra-quiet"600, 900 or 1,500 WCount not statedTwo dials, mechanical thermostatTip-over switch, overheat protectionNot verified yet
6.Dreo 711SNo figure. Maker claims "0dB Unheard"1,500 W, 3 heat levels, ECONone (convection panel)Digital, remote, ECO, Wi-Fi optionTip-over, overheat, IP24$169.99 maker's list price

Buying Guide

An oil-filled radiator is the heater people buy when they are tired of fan noise. It has no motor and no blades, and it warms a room the slow way: an element heats sealed oil, the oil heats the fins, and the fins warm the air, which rises and circulates by itself. In a living room in the evening, a home office during calls or a nursery at bedtime, that is exactly the appeal.

Our guide to the quietest space heaters compares every heater figure we could find and concludes that no maker measures a fanless heater. Our bedroom heater guide reads night modes and lights for sleeping. This guide stays with radiators and other fanless heaters, and asks what their makers actually say about the sounds they do make, how fast they heat, and how they behave once the room is warm. We read product pages and manuals from De'Longhi, Dreo, Costway and Pelonis, and quote them as written.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

What the makers say about sound

Here is every noise statement we found, word for word, grouped by what kind of claim it is.

A figure. Costway says the noise of its 700 watt mini radiator "is lower than 45 db". It is the only number we found for any radiator. It is an upper limit in plain dB, with no distance, weighting, test standard or setting, so it tells you less than it seems to.

Words without a figure. Dreo lists the 521 as "Sound Level: Silent" and describes it as "low noise". It calls the 711S convection heater "HyperSilent 0dB Unheard Quietness". Pelonis claims "ultra-quiet operation" for the HO-0279. Costway's page for the ES10374US promises "Quiet operation for an enhanced sleeping experience", and another Costway radiator page says it "runs without noise, wind or dazzling light". De'Longhi says nothing about quiet at all, only that there is "no fan to stir up dust, pollen and dander".

What the manuals admit. De'Longhi's manual for the Dragon says: "It is completely normal for the appliance to emit 'creaking' sounds the first time it is run." Costway's manual for the ES10374US lists "No noise" among its features and, a page later, says: "It is normal for the product to have a slight sound and odor during heating." Those two lines are the most honest description of a radiator we found.

Because only one maker publishes a figure, there is nothing to rank. Two figures would need the same unit, the same setting and the same distance before one could be called quieter, and we have one figure with none of those. So the picks above are ordered by what each room needs, not by decibels, and no award claims a radiator is the quietest. If you want to know why dB figures from different makers rarely line up even when they exist, see why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands.

A word on 0 dB. It marks the threshold of human hearing on the decibel scale. A heater that claims it is describing itself as inaudible, not reporting a test.

The sounds a fanless heater does make

Creaking and ticking. Steel fins and the oil inside them expand as they heat and contract as they cool. In a quiet room you can hear it. De'Longhi ties it to the first run; Costway's manual describes a slight sound during heating in general. Owners say the same on the makers' own pages: one review on Costway's 700 watt page says it "makes a few creaks as it's heating up, but it's nowhere near as loud as anything with a fan."

Thermostat switching. A radiator holds a temperature by switching the element on and off. Pelonis says its mechanical thermostat "will automatically turn the heater on and off to maintain this selected temperature", and Costway's manual says the heater stops heating at the set temperature and switches itself back on when the room cools. No maker we read says whether that switching clicks, so we make no promise either way. We did not find a maker statement about relay noise for any radiator.

Beeps. De'Longhi's Dragon sounds two short beeps when you change the temperature scale and a double signal when you lock the keys. Dreo lists a mute function on the 521, and its FAQ says the overheat alarm beeps and shows FF on the display. Pelonis's manual describes dials and a power light, and no beeps. Costway does not say whether the ES10374US beeps.

Settling after a move. Costway's manual asks you to stand the radiator upright on its casters and rest it for 3 to 5 minutes before use. Oil that has been sloshed around needs to settle; give it the time before you judge the sound.

Why oil-filled radiators heat slowly

The oil is the point and the problem. It stores heat, so a radiator keeps warming the room for a while after the element switches off, and it has no hot element exposed to the air. But the element has to warm the oil and the fins before the room feels any of it. Dreo's FAQ says it directly: the heater "uses convection, which may take longer", and suggests "You can use the timer function to heat your room beforehand."

The makers disagree in tone. De'Longhi advertises "Quicker Heat Up" for the Dragon, and Costway says its radiator will "Warm up to 300 sq.ft of space quickly". Neither publishes a time. We found no radiator maker that gives a heat-up time in minutes, so treat "quick" as a comparison with other radiators, not with a fan heater.

In practice, that makes a timer the most useful feature on a radiator. The Dragon has a delayed start, so the living room can be warm before you come home. The Dreo and the Costway ES10374US have 24-hour timers. The Pelonis and the Costway 700 watt mini have none.

Watts, fins and room size

Every full-size radiator here tops out at 1,500 watts. Pelonis and Costway both state 12.5 amps, and Pelonis's manual says not to plug the heater into a circuit that already has other appliances working. The low settings matter more than the top: 600 watts on the Dreo, the Pelonis and the Costway ES10374US, and 700 on the De'Longhi.

Room size is thinly documented. Costway lists 300 square feet for the ES10374US. De'Longhi says not to use the Dragon in rooms under 43 square feet, and its product pages add that the heater "is only suitable for well insulated spaces or occasional use". Its specification tables list a "Working capacity" of 23.2 square feet for both the Dragon and the ComfortTemp, which looks like a site error, so we do not use it. Pelonis's manual says its radiator "is designed for finite space heating or as a supplementary heating source. It can not replace the main heat source during the winter."

Fins spread heat; they do not create it. De'Longhi lists 6 fins on the Dragon and 7 on the ComfortTemp, Costway lists 7 on both of its radiators, and Dreo gives no count but says its M-shaped fins provide "59.5% more dissipation area". A 700 watt radiator with 7 small fins still puts out 700 watts.

Eco modes and thermostat cycling

An ECO mode on a radiator changes the pattern of switching, which is what you hear if you hear anything. De'Longhi's manual says the Dragon "will automatically select the most convenient power level (MAX-MED-MIN-OFF)", stepping down as the room approaches the set temperature, and its display shows red, yellow or green for the level it is using. Dreo says the 521 and the 711S stop heating in ECO mode once the set temperature is reached and come back on when the room cools; if they switch off too often, Dreo suggests raising the set temperature or using Power Heat mode. Costway mentions an ECO mode on its 700 watt mini but describes only a mechanical knob, so we cannot tell you what it does.

Room by room

Living room. You want enough heat for a larger space, controls you can set once, and a display that does not glow across the room during a film. The Dragon fits: ECO stepping, a delayed-start timer and three display brightness levels. The Dreo 711S suits a living room with no floor to spare, since it can go on the wall. If you are heating the same room every winter evening, a heat pump is the long-term answer, and our guide to mini-splits for a living room compares the indoor figures makers publish.

Home office. A heater on a call needs to be silent more than it needs to be powerful, and an office circuit is often shared with a computer, monitors and a printer. The Costway 700 watt mini draws about half the current of a 1,500 watt radiator and is the only one with a figure. Our page on setting up a quiet home office covers the other machines that add noise at a desk.

Nursery. Quiet matters, and so do heat, light and supervision. Dreo says its radiator's surface "may reach 80°C maximum". Pelonis's manual says: "DO NOT leave product running unattended in a confined space around infants". The CPSC says to keep heaters three feet from anything that can burn and to turn them off when sleeping. So the right use is to warm the room before the baby goes in, with the timer set, and to keep the heater well clear of the cot and of curtains. A mute button and a screen you can turn off, as on the Dreo 521 and the Costway ES10374US, help with the last check before you leave the room. Our page on setting up a quiet nursery goes through the other machines that end up in a nursery.

Tip-over and overheat protection

Dreo lists tip-over and overheat protection for the 521 and the 711S. Costway lists "45° tip-over protection and overheat protection" for the ES10374US. Pelonis lists a tip-over switch and an overheat protection sensor. De'Longhi's manual describes a safety device that switches the heater off if it overheats, and the product title says "with TOS", but we found no description of a tip-over switch in the manual or on the page. Costway's page for the 700 watt mini lists overheating protection only, and a Costway answer in its Q&A says it has tip-over protection inside.

Every manual we read says to plug the heater directly into a wall outlet. The CPSC says the same: never an extension cord or a power strip.

The optional fan

Some radiators add a small fan to push the warm air out faster. It solves the slow heat-up and brings back the noise you bought a radiator to avoid. We found no US maker page we could open for a fan-assisted radiator, and no maker figure for one. If you buy one, assume any "silent" claim describes it with the fan off.

How we chose

We started from the fanless heaters in our space heater catalog and added four from maker documents: the Costway ES10374US and 700 watt mini radiators, Dreo's 711S convection heater and De'Longhi's ComfortTemp. We reopened each maker's product page and, where the maker publishes one, its manual, and recorded every statement about sound, heat-up, power, fins, controls, safety and room size. We looked for radiators from Honeywell, but its site refused our requests, and we found no Vornado radiator. We ranked nothing on noise, because no two makers publish comparable figures; the picks are chosen for the room each one suits.

We did not measure any of these heaters, and we did not listen to them in a living room, office or nursery. Every noise statement here is the maker's own, quoted as the maker words it, and every feature comes from the maker's product page or manual. Owner comments are quoted from reviews on the makers' own pages. Prices and stock are as the makers' sites showed them when we checked.

Common questions

Are oil-filled radiators silent?

Close, but not completely. They have no fan, so there is no motor or blade noise. De'Longhi's manual says it is completely normal for its radiator to make creaking sounds the first time it runs, and Costway's manual for the ES10374US says a slight sound during heating is normal. Words like "Silent" and "0dB" on product pages are claims, not measurements.

Which oil-filled radiator has the lowest decibel rating?

We cannot say, because only one maker we checked publishes a figure. Costway says its 700 watt mini radiator is "lower than 45 db", with no distance or setting. Dreo, De'Longhi and Pelonis publish no figure for their radiators, so there is nothing to rank it against.

Why does my oil-filled heater creak or tick?

The metal body and the oil expand as they heat and contract as they cool, and that movement can be heard in a quiet room. De'Longhi says creaking on first use is completely normal and suggests running a new heater at maximum power for at least two hours. We found no maker statement about clicking from the thermostat during normal use, so we cannot promise any radiator never clicks.

Why is my oil-filled radiator so slow to heat up?

The element has to heat the oil and the fins before the fins warm the air. Dreo's FAQ says its radiator uses convection, which may take longer, and suggests using the timer to heat the room beforehand. No maker we checked publishes a heat-up time in minutes.

Is an oil-filled heater safe for a nursery?

Only with care. Dreo says its radiator's surface may reach 80°C, and Pelonis's manual says not to leave a heater running unattended in a confined space around infants. The CPSC says to keep heaters three feet from anything that can burn and to turn them off when sleeping. Warm the room before the baby goes in, and let the timer switch the heater off.

How big a room can an oil-filled radiator heat?

Few makers say. Costway lists 300 square feet for its 1,500 watt ES10374US. De'Longhi says not to use the Dragon in rooms under 43 square feet and calls its radiators suitable only for well insulated spaces or occasional use. Pelonis calls its radiator a supplementary heat source that cannot replace the main heating in winter.

Do I need a radiator with a fan?

Not if quiet is the point. A fan speeds up the warmth but brings back the motor noise a radiator avoids, and we found no US maker page we could open that publishes a figure for a fan-assisted radiator. Every pick in this guide is fanless.

How many fins should an oil-filled radiator have?

Fin count alone does not tell you much. De'Longhi's Dragon has 6 fins and the ComfortTemp 7, Costway lists 7 for both its radiators, including the 700 watt mini, and Dreo gives no count but says its M-shaped fins add 59.5% more dissipation area. Wattage decides the heat output; fins spread it over more surface.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • De'Longhi ComfortTemp Radiant Heater KH390715CB-6A

    A cheaper De'Longhi radiator with 7 fins, mechanical controls and a ComfortTemp setting De'Longhi says is up to 20% more efficient than the thermostat at max. It has no timer listed, no noise figure, and it showed as out of stock on delonghi.com when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • Envi 120v Plug-in Electric Panel Wall Heater - 500 Watts - 3rd Gen (LE5012P)

    A 500 watt fanless wall panel that Envi says operates at 0 dB, and heats up to 150 square feet by Envi's figure. It is covered in our bedroom heater guide, lists no timer, and is too small for most living rooms.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides