QuietSpecs

The quietest electric chainsaws for storm cleanup and firewood near neighbors

The quietest electric chainsaws for storm cleanup and firewood near neighbors

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For cleanup and pruning with neighbors close by, the STIHL MSA 60 C-B declares the lowest ear figure measured under EN 62841-4-1, 83 dB(A), and a guaranteed 97 dB(A) under 2000/14/EC.
  • Among saws whose makers name no test, Husqvarna's 125i Power Axe prints 84 at the ear and a guaranteed 95.
  • For firewood, the 14 inch STIHL MSA 160 C-B declares 85 and a guaranteed 98.

Quietest at the ear (EN 62841-4-1)

STIHL MSA 60 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AK System)

Noise "LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 83 dB(A)", K 2 dB(A) (maker manual)

$329.99 maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Quietest at the ear (EN 62841-4-1)

    STIHL MSA 60 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AK System)

    "LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 83 dB(A)", K 2 dB(A) (maker manual)

  2. 2

    "Sound pressure level at operators ear" 84 dB(A) (maker US page, no test named)

  3. 3

    "LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 85 dB(A), uncertainty KpA: 2 dB(A)" (maker manual)

  4. 4

    "Sound pressure level at operator's ear LPA" 85.4 dB(A), KPA=2.5 dB(A) (EU manual for CS1600E, no test named)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  5. 5

    "Sound pressure level (LpA) : 89 dB(A)" per EN62841-4-1, K 3 dB(A) (EU manual for DUC357)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  6. 6

    "Sound pressure level (LpA): 95 dB (A)" per EN62841-4-1, K 3 dB(A) (EU manual, same model)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →

Our Picks

STIHL MSA 60 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AK System)

#1 · Quietest at the ear (EN 62841-4-1)

STIHL MSA 60 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AK System)

STIHL

Noise"LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 83 dB(A)", K 2 dB(A) (maker manual)

STIHL's international manual declares "Sound pressure level LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 83 dB(A)" with a K of 2, the lowest ear figure under that test for any electric saw here, tied with the MSA 70. Its guaranteed 97 dB(A) under 2000/14/EC is also the lowest that directive figure gets in this survey, shared with the MSA 80. A 30 cm bar on 1/4 inch chain at 14.0 m/s suits limbs and storm debris.

Buy it ifStorm cleanup and pruning with a house next door

Skip it ifYou cut firewood rounds wider than about 10 inches

What we like

  • 83 dB(A) at the ear, lowest under EN 62841-4-1 here
  • Guaranteed 97 dB(A), tied lowest under 2000/14/EC
  • Chain stops when the trigger is released, per the manual

What to know

  • Light duty: a 25 or 30 cm bar
  • Figures appear only in STIHL's international manual
  • Dealer channel only
Sound power
Guaranteed 97 dB(A) per 2000/14/EC Annex V; LwA 91 dB(A) per EN 62841-4-1
Bar
25 or 30 cm, 1/4 inch P
Chain speed
"Maximum chain speed: 14.0 m/s"
Power
STIHL AK battery, 36 V

$329.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Husqvarna 125i Power Axe Battery Chainsaw (Tool Only)

#2 · Quietest with no test named

Husqvarna 125i Power Axe Battery Chainsaw (Tool Only)

Husqvarna

Noise"Sound pressure level at operators ear" 84 dB(A) (maker US page, no test named)

Husqvarna's US page prints "Sound pressure level at operators ear" 84 dB(A), a measured 92 and a guaranteed 95 dB(A) for its 12 inch 125i Power Axe. Husqvarna names no standard or K value, so it ranks among the saws whose makers name no test, where it leads. Its guaranteed 95 is also the lowest guaranteed figure any maker prints here. Brushless, 47.9 ft/s chain speed, $199.99 tool only, sold through dealers.

Buy it ifPruning and small limbs on Husqvarna batteries

Skip it ifYou want a figure declared under a named test

What we like

  • 84 dB(A) at the ear, lowest where no test is named
  • Guaranteed 95 dB(A), the lowest guaranteed figure printed here
  • Automatic shutdown after 180 seconds left unattended

What to know

  • No standard, K value or directive named
  • Tool only; battery and charger extra
  • Marked for in-store purchase from dealers
Sound power
Guaranteed (LWA) 95 dB(A), measured 92 dB(A)
Bar
12 inch, 1/4 inch mini
Chain speed
47.9 ft/s at max power
Power
Husqvarna 40 V, tool only

$199.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon
STIHL MSA 160 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AP System)

#3 · Best for firewood

STIHL MSA 160 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AP System)

STIHL

Noise"LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 85 dB(A), uncertainty KpA: 2 dB(A)" (maker manual)

For rounds up to about a foot across, the MSA 160 C-B declares 85 dB(A) at the ear under EN 62841-4-1 with a KpA of 2 and a guaranteed 98 dB(A) under 2000/14/EC, two decibels above the MSA 60 at the ear and one in guaranteed power. It runs a 12 or 14 inch bar on 1/4 inch P chain at 16.3 m/s; the 3/8 inch MSA 220 from the same manual runs 23.3 m/s and declares 91 and 104.

Buy it ifBucking firewood and storm trunks with neighbors near

Skip it ifYour cutting is limbs and brush, where the MSA 60 is quieter

What we like

  • 85 dB(A) at the ear with a 14 inch bar
  • Guaranteed 98 dB(A), six below the MSA 220
  • Twin MSA 200 C-B declares identical figures

What to know

  • Needs STIHL AP batteries, bought separately
  • Dealer channel only
  • Figures appear only in STIHL's international manual
Sound power
Guaranteed LWAd 98 dB(A) per 2000/14/EC; LWA 93 dB(A) per EN 62841-4-1
Bar
12 or 14 inch, 1/4 inch P
Chain speed
"Maximum chain speed: 16.3 m/s"
Power
STIHL AP battery, tool only

$399.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
EGO POWER+ CS1604 16-Inch Battery Chainsaw (Kit)

#4 · Lowest guaranteed 16 inch

EGO POWER+ CS1604 16-Inch Battery Chainsaw (Kit)

EGO

Noise"Sound pressure level at operator's ear LPA" 85.4 dB(A), KPA=2.5 dB(A) (EU manual for CS1600E, no test named)

EGO prints no figures in the US, but its EU manual for the CS1600E declares 85.4 dB(A) at the operator's ear with a K of 2.5, a measured 96.4 and a guaranteed 99 dB(A) under 2000/14/EC. That 99 is the lowest guaranteed figure under the directive for any 16 inch saw here. The flag is age: EGO Europe has since replaced the CS1600E with the CS1610E, which declares 91.25 and 103.

Buy it ifEGO owners who need a 16 inch bar for firewood

Skip it ifYou want figures printed for the exact US model

What we like

  • Guaranteed 99 dB(A), lowest for a 16 inch saw under 2000/14/EC
  • 85.4 dB(A) at the ear with a K value
  • Runs on the common EGO 56 V batteries

What to know

  • Figures come from a 2021 EU manual for a mapped EU model
  • No test named for the ear figure
  • No US price on EGO's own site
Sound power
Guaranteed 99 dB(A) per 2000/14/EC; measured 96.4 dB(A)
Bar
16 inch (400 mm in the EU manual), 3/8 inch
Chain speed
Not stated; EGO US lists "Speed: 6800 RPM"
Power
EGO 56 V ARC Lithium

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 3

Check price on Amazon
Makita XCU11Z 18V LXT Brushless 14 Inch Chain Saw (Tool Only)

#5 · Quietest Makita

Makita XCU11Z 18V LXT Brushless 14 Inch Chain Saw (Tool Only)

Makita

Noise"Sound pressure level (LpA) : 89 dB(A)" per EN62841-4-1, K 3 dB(A) (EU manual for DUC357)

Makita's US page prints no figure, but its EU manual for the DUC357 declares "Sound pressure level (LpA) : 89 dB(A)" and a sound power of 97 dB(A) under EN62841-4-1 with a K of 3. The DUC357 matches the US XCU11Z on its 14 inch bar, single 18V battery and slow chain: 7.7 m/s in Europe, 1,520 FPM in the US. It is Makita's lowest ear figure for any rear handle saw we could map.

Buy it ifMakita 18V owners clearing limbs on a small lot

Skip it ifYou already run a battery platform with a quieter declared saw

What we like

  • 89 dB(A) at the ear, Makita's lowest for a mapped rear handle saw
  • Runs on one 18V LXT battery
  • 3-year limited warranty

What to know

  • Six decibels above the MSA 60 at the ear under the same test
  • Slowest chain here, so cuts take longer
  • No guaranteed sound power value printed
Sound power
LWA 97 dB(A) per EN62841-4-1; no guaranteed value printed
Bar
14 inch, 3/8 inch LP
Chain speed
1,520 FPM (EU twin: 7.7 m/s)
Power
One 18V LXT battery, tool only

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon
Makita UC4051A 16 Inch Corded Electric Chain Saw

#6 · Only declared corded saw

Makita UC4051A 16 Inch Corded Electric Chain Saw

Makita

Noise"Sound pressure level (LpA): 95 dB (A)" per EN62841-4-1, K 3 dB(A) (EU manual, same model)

The one corded saw we could tie to a declaration under its own US model number. Makita's EU manual for the UC4051A declares 95 dB(A) at the ear and 103 dB(A) sound power under EN62841-4-1, K 3. No battery saw under the same test here declares more, apart from the newer generation of STIHL's big MSA 300 at 96, so a cord buys runtime, not quiet. Electric chain brake and soft start, 16 inch bar at 2,900 FPM.

Buy it ifLong firewood sessions near an outlet

Skip it ifQuiet matters more than runtime, where a small battery saw declares less

What we like

  • Declared under its own US model number
  • No batteries to charge for a long firewood day
  • Electric chain brake and soft start

What to know

  • 95 dB(A) at the ear, twelve above the MSA 60
  • 12.3 lbs and a cord to manage
  • No guaranteed sound power value printed
Sound power
LWA 103 dB(A) per EN62841-4-1; no guaranteed value printed
Bar
16 inch, 3/8 inch
Chain speed
2,900 FPM
Power
Corded electric

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseSound powerBarChain speedPowerPrice
1.STIHL MSA 60 C-B"LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 83 dB(A)", K 2 dB(A) (maker manual)Guaranteed 97 dB(A) per 2000/14/EC Annex V; LwA 91 dB(A) per EN 62841-4-125 or 30 cm, 1/4 inch P"Maximum chain speed: 14.0 m/s"STIHL AK battery, 36 V$329.99 maker's list price
2.Husqvarna 125i Power Axe"Sound pressure level at operators ear" 84 dB(A) (maker US page, no test named)Guaranteed (LWA) 95 dB(A), measured 92 dB(A)12 inch, 1/4 inch mini47.9 ft/s at max powerHusqvarna 40 V, tool only$199.99 maker's list price
3.STIHL MSA 160 C-B"LpA measured according to EN 62841-4-1: 85 dB(A), uncertainty KpA: 2 dB(A)" (maker manual)Guaranteed LWAd 98 dB(A) per 2000/14/EC; LWA 93 dB(A) per EN 62841-4-112 or 14 inch, 1/4 inch P"Maximum chain speed: 16.3 m/s"STIHL AP battery, tool only$399.99 maker's list price
4.EGO CS1604"Sound pressure level at operator's ear LPA" 85.4 dB(A), KPA=2.5 dB(A) (EU manual for CS1600E, no test named)Guaranteed 99 dB(A) per 2000/14/EC; measured 96.4 dB(A)16 inch (400 mm in the EU manual), 3/8 inchNot stated; EGO US lists "Speed: 6800 RPM"EGO 56 V ARC LithiumNot verified yet
5.Makita XCU11Z"Sound pressure level (LpA) : 89 dB(A)" per EN62841-4-1, K 3 dB(A) (EU manual for DUC357)LWA 97 dB(A) per EN62841-4-1; no guaranteed value printed14 inch, 3/8 inch LP1,520 FPM (EU twin: 7.7 m/s)One 18V LXT battery, tool onlyNot verified yet
6.Makita UC4051A"Sound pressure level (LpA): 95 dB (A)" per EN62841-4-1, K 3 dB(A) (EU manual, same model)LWA 103 dB(A) per EN62841-4-1; no guaranteed value printed16 inch, 3/8 inch2,900 FPMCorded electricNot verified yet

Buying Guide

A chainsaw near the property line has an audience. Storm cleanup happens when everyone is home, firewood gets cut on weekends, and pruning is often done in the morning before it gets hot. Electric saws change the sound of those jobs, but less than the word "quiet" on a product page suggests, and in ways that only show up when you read the makers' declarations closely.

This guide ranks battery and corded saws for homeowners with houses nearby. Our main chainsaw guide covers the whole field, including the figures STIHL leaves out of its North American manuals. Here we narrow it to the saws a homeowner would buy, and ask what each number means for the people on the other side of the fence.

Two numbers, two audiences

Every declaration we use has up to two quantities. LpA is the sound pressure at the operator's ear: what you hear. LWA is the sound power, the total noise the saw puts out: what the street hears. The guaranteed LWA under the EU outdoor noise directive, 2000/14/EC, is a ceiling the maker promises no unit will exceed.

We rank LpA against LpA and LWA against LWA, and never one against the other. Within LpA we also keep the test apart. STIHL and Makita name EN 62841-4-1. Husqvarna's US pages and EGO's European manuals give no test for the ear figure, so those saws form a second group. Our sound power vs sound pressure explainer covers why the two quantities cannot be mixed.

The ranking at your ear

Under EN 62841-4-1, rear handle saws we could tie to a US model: STIHL MSA 60 C-B and MSA 70 C-B at 83 dB(A); MSA 80 C-B and MSA 160 C-B at 85; Makita XCU11Z at 89; STIHL MSA 220 C-B at 91; Makita XCU04Z at 92; Makita GCU05Z at 94; Makita UC4051A, corded, at 95. STIHL's MSA 300 declares 93 or 96 depending on generation.

With no test named: Husqvarna 125i Power Axe at 84; EGO CS1401 and CS1604 at 85.4; Husqvarna 225i Power Axe and EGO CS2005 at 89; Husqvarna Power Axe 350i at 91; EGO CS1611 at 91.25.

Every figure here carries a K, the maker's stated uncertainty, of 2 to 3 dB(A) where one is given. Saws a decibel or two apart may sound alike in use. The larger gaps are real: twelve decibels separate the MSA 60 from the UC4051A under the same test.

The neighborhood number

Guaranteed sound power under 2000/14/EC, for the saws whose makers name the directive: STIHL MSA 60 and MSA 80 at 97 dB(A); MSA 70 and MSA 160 at 98; EGO CS1401 and CS1604 at 99; EGO CS1815 at 102; EGO CS1611 at 103; STIHL MSA 220 at 104; EGO CS2005 at 105.

Husqvarna prints a guaranteed figure on its US pages without naming the directive: 95 for the 125i, 100 for the 225i and 102 for the 350i. We list those separately. Makita's manuals print no guaranteed value in their text, so for Makita we have only the measured LWA under EN62841-4-1: 97 for the XCU11Z twin up to 103 for the UC4051A.

Roughly every 10 decibels sounds twice as loud. A saw guaranteed at 97 against one at 105 is not a small difference to the house next door. Our quiet yard explainer sets these figures beside the mowers and blowers your neighbors also hear.

How much quieter than gas, by the makers' own terms

We compare battery and gas only where one maker prints both figures in the same terms. STIHL declares its gas MS 250 at a guaranteed 114 dB(A) under 2000/14/EC Annex V, and its battery MSA 60 at 97 under the same annex: 17 decibels. STIHL's ear figures for the two use different tests, ISO 22868 for the gas saw and EN 62841-4-1 for the battery one, so we do not subtract them.

Husqvarna's US pages use the same labels for gas and battery. Its quietest gas saw at the ear, the 16 inch 120, prints 95 dB(A) and a guaranteed 116. The 125i Power Axe prints 84 and 95, and the 14 inch 225i Power Axe 89 and 100. For top handles, the gas T525 prints 98 and 111 against 91 and 104 for the battery T542i XP. Our Husqvarna decibels page lists every Husqvarna saw with a figure.

Between cuts: the part neighbors notice

Storm cleanup is mostly not cutting. You move a limb, drag brush, reposition, and cut again. What a saw does in those gaps matters as much as its figure under load.

STIHL's MSA 60 manual says: "Release the trigger. The chain stops rotating." Its gas MS 250 manual asks you to "Check for correct idling, so that the saw chain stops moving when the throttle trigger is released", because the engine keeps running. Husqvarna's 125i page describes "automatic shutdown after 180s if left unattended", and its T542i XP shuts down "after 3 minutes of being idle". Makita lists an electric brake on the XCU04Z and an "Electric chain brake" with soft start on the corded UC4051A.

No maker publishes an idle figure for these saws, so we cannot rank what you hear between cuts. But a motor that stops has nothing to declare.

Chain speed and bar length

Within each maker's own range, the faster and bigger saws declare more. Makita's slowest chain, 7.7 m/s on the XCU11Z twin, comes with its lowest ear figure, 89; the 20 m/s XCU04Z twin declares 92 and the 25.5 m/s GCU05Z twin 94. STIHL's MSA 60 runs 14.0 m/s and declares 83; the MSA 160 runs 16.3 m/s and declares 85; the MSA 220, on 3/8 inch chain at 23.3 m/s, declares 91.

The practical rule is to buy the smallest bar that handles your wood. A 12 inch bar covers most storm limbs and pruning. A 14 inch handles most firewood rounds. An 18 or 20 inch saw adds noise you will hear on every cut, and the declarations bear that out. A slower chain also means longer cuts, so the quiet saw runs for more of the job.

Corded is not quieter

A corded saw has no battery to run down, which makes it tempting for a long firewood day. It does not make it quiet. Makita's UC4051A declares 95 dB(A) at the ear under EN62841-4-1, more than any battery saw under that test here apart from the newer generation of STIHL's MSA 300, at 96. It is the only corded saw we could tie to a declaration under its own US model number.

Top handle or rear handle

Top handle saws are compact, but they are built for trained arborists working in trees. STIHL's MSA 190 T declares 91 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 101, more than the rear handle MSA 160 on both. STIHL's warranty policy offers top handle MSA-T saws no consumer warranty. For work from the ground, a rear handle saw is the one the makers intend, and in these declarations the quieter choice too. For branches overhead, our pole saw guide ranks pruners that keep the motor at the top of the shaft.

The hearing protection the makers require

Every maker here tells you to protect your ears. STIHL: "STIHL recommends wearing ear defenders." Makita: "WARNING: Wear ear protection." EGO: "Wear safety glasses and hearing protection." Milwaukee: "Wear ear protectors!" STIHL's gas manual goes further and says to wear "personal" hearing protection, for example ear defenders. An 83 dB(A) battery saw is quieter than gas, not quiet.

Claims without conditions, and saws we could not map

Some makers describe noise without a number. EGO's US page says the CS1604 "delivers the performance of gas without the noise, fuss and fumes". Makita's US pages promise "low noise levels". Greenworks lists "Quiet Operation". None of these comes with a figure, a distance or a test, so none is ranked. Our EGO decibels page gathers what EGO does declare in Europe.

Milwaukee's European manual for the 35 cm M18 FCHS35 declares 77.67 dB(A) sound pressure and 97.69 dB(A) sound power under EN 62841, with a guaranteed 100 under 2000/14/EC. Milwaukee's US saw is the 16 inch 2727, whose European twin page printed no figure, and its US chain speed of 12.7 m/s does not match the 12.4 of the European saws. So we do not carry the figure over. DEWALT's European DCM565 declares 89.5 dB(A) and a guaranteed 102.0, but its 7.3 m/s chain speed did not match what we could find for the US DCCS620. Ryobi and Oregon print no figure on the US pages we checked, and Worx's US pages did not load for us.

The trade-offs

Quiet costs capacity. The quietest saws here carry 12 inch bars and slower chains, so a big round takes longer, and battery runtime limits a long session. STIHL sells through dealers only, and Husqvarna marks the 125i for in-store purchase. EGO and Makita figures come from European manuals mapped to US models by bar, pitch and chain speed. Wherever a mapping rests on an older manual, as with EGO's CS1604, we say so.

We did not measure any of these chainsaws. Every figure is the maker's own, quoted as published from a manual, declaration or product page, with the test, K value and directive identified wherever the maker identified them, and the evidence for each model mapping recorded in its catalog entry.

Common questions

What is the quietest electric chainsaw?

Under EN 62841-4-1, STIHL's MSA 60 C-B and MSA 70 C-B declare the lowest ear figure, 83 dB(A). Among saws whose makers name no test, Husqvarna's 125i Power Axe prints 84. Those groups are kept apart because the tests behind them are not stated to be the same. For guaranteed sound power under 2000/14/EC, the MSA 60 and MSA 80 lead at 97 dB(A).

Are battery chainsaws quieter than gas?

Where one maker prints both in the same terms, yes. STIHL guarantees 114 dB(A) for its gas MS 250 and 97 for its battery MSA 60, both under 2000/14/EC Annex V. Husqvarna's US pages give its gas 120 95 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 116, against 84 and 95 for the 125i Power Axe.

Is a corded chainsaw quieter than a battery one?

Not on the declarations we found. The only corded saw we could tie to a US model, Makita's UC4051A, declares 95 dB(A) at the ear under EN62841-4-1, more than any battery saw declared under that test here apart from the newer generation of STIHL's large MSA 300, at 96.

Do I need hearing protection with an electric chainsaw?

The makers say so. STIHL's MSA 60 manual says "STIHL recommends wearing ear defenders.", Makita's manuals say "Wear ear protection.", EGO's says "Wear safety glasses and hearing protection." and Milwaukee's says "Wear ear protectors!" An electric saw is quieter than gas, not quiet at the handle.

Which figure tells me what my neighbors will hear?

The sound power, LWA, which describes the whole saw's output. The guaranteed value under the EU outdoor noise directive, 2000/14/EC, is a ceiling the maker promises no unit will exceed. The LpA figure is pressure at your ear. Our sound power vs sound pressure explainer covers why the two are never ranked together.

Is a top handle saw quieter for small jobs?

Not by the declarations, and it is the wrong tool for most homeowners. STIHL's MSA 190 T declares 91 dB(A) at the ear, six more than the rear handle MSA 160, and STIHL offers it only a professional warranty. Top handle saws are built for trained arborists working in trees.

Do Milwaukee, DEWALT, Greenworks, Ryobi, Worx or Oregon publish figures?

Not on the US pages we checked. Milwaukee and DEWALT declare figures for European saws, but we could not tie those saws firmly to a current US model, so they are not ranked. Greenworks says "Quiet Operation" without a number, and Ryobi and Oregon print none. Worx's US pages did not load for us.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • STIHL MSA 70 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AK System)

    Declares the same 83 dB(A) at the ear as the MSA 60 under EN 62841-4-1, with a guaranteed 98.

    See it at Amazon
  • STIHL MSA 80 C-B Battery Chainsaw (AK System)

    The top AK saw declares 85 dB(A) at the ear and shares the lowest guaranteed figure under 2000/14/EC, 97.

    See it at Amazon
  • Husqvarna 225i Power Axe Battery Chainsaw (Battery and Charger Included)

    A 14 inch Power Axe at 89 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 100, with no test named; the battery and charger are included.

    See it at Amazon
  • Husqvarna Power Axe 350i Battery Chainsaw (Tool Only)

    The 18 inch Power Axe prints 91 at the ear and a guaranteed 102, with no test named.

    See it at Amazon
  • EGO POWER+ CS1401 14-Inch Battery Chainsaw (Kit)

    The 14 inch twin of the CS1604 in the same 2021 EU manual: 85.4 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 99.

    See it at Amazon
  • EGO POWER+ CS1611 16-Inch Battery Chainsaw (Kit)

    EGO's current 16 inch maps to the CS1610E at 91.25 dB(A) and a guaranteed 103, louder than the older CS1604 on both.

    See it at Amazon
  • Makita XCU04Z 36V (18V X2) LXT Brushless 16 Inch Chain Saw (Tool Only)

    The 16 inch 18V X2 saw maps to the DUC405 at 92 dB(A) at the ear and 100 sound power under EN62841-4-1, with a 20 m/s chain.

    See it at Amazon
  • Makita GCU05Z 40V max XGT Brushless 16 Inch Chain Saw (Tool Only)

    The 16 inch 40V max XGT saw maps to the UC016G at 94 dB(A) and 102, with the fastest chain here at 25.5 m/s.

    See it at Amazon
  • STIHL MSA 190 T Top Handle Battery Chainsaw

    A top handle saw for trained arborists: 91 dB(A) at the ear under EN 62841-4-1 and a guaranteed 101.

    See it at Amazon
  • STIHL MS 250 Gas Chainsaw (Loud Contrast)

    The gas contrast from STIHL: a guaranteed 114 dB(A) under 2000/14/EC Annex V, 17 above the MSA 60.

    See it at Amazon
  • Husqvarna 120 Gas Chainsaw, 16 Inch (Loud Contrast)

    Husqvarna's quietest gas saw at the ear prints 95 dB(A) and a guaranteed 116 on its US page, against 84 and 95 for the 125i.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides