QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

Quietest electric shaver: 61 dB(A) for Panasonic's ARC5, 63 for Braun's Series 7

Written by
· 7 min read

Illustration of an electric foil shaver on a bathroom shelf beside a mirror

Each maker states noise on its own basis, so there are three answers.

Among Panasonic shavers, the ARC5 ES-LV97 and ES-LV67 declare 61 dB(A) re 1 pW in shaving mode; the ES-LV97 adds a clean and charge station for $239.99 and the ES-LV67 lists at $179.99.

Among Braun shavers, the Series 7 7085cc and Series 9 Pro 9465cc declare 63 dB(A), though Braun's US store showed both out of stock on October 24, 2026.

Among Norelco shavers, Philips prints the same 69 dB(A) maximum for every model we traced, so none is quieter than another; the $69.96 Shaver 3600 is the cheapest.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line

A quick look at the quietest electric shavers

Finding the quietest electric shaver matters because the head buzzes inches from your ears, usually first thing in the morning, in a tiled bathroom that throws the sound back at you and through the wall to whoever is still asleep.

We matched maker noise figures to seven shavers sold in the US: three Panasonic, two Braun and two Philips Norelco, with five more set aside below. Not one of those figures appears in the US English manual for the shaver.

The three makers state noise on different bases, so each is ranked only against itself. Panasonic's lowest is 61 dB(A) in shaving mode, Braun's lowest is 63, and every Norelco prints the same 69 dB(A) maximum.

Where do the Panasonic and Philips figures come from?

Panasonic's figures come from its European manuals and Philips' from international manuals, because the US English manuals we opened from both makers print none. Both were matched to US shavers by printed model numbers.

Panasonic keeps one model number for the US and Europe, and its US and European manuals for the ES-LV97, ES-LV67, ES-LV65 and ES-LS9A list the same 3.6 V motor and one hour charge. The European editions add a noise line that the US ones drop.

For Philips, the S3243/91 page in the US links a multi-language S3000 manual, in English and Asian languages, that prints the figure and names the S3243. The X3052 and XP9400 figures come from manuals on Philips UK support pages whose model lists cover those numbers.

How did we pick these electric shavers?

To make the list, a shaver needed its maker's own noise declaration and paperwork tying that declaration to a US model, by printed model number or, for Braun, by one type code and edition.

We pulled Philips' US and UK product data and every manual it lists for the Norelco shavers on Philips' US store, and Braun's US product and service pages for each type number, then the matching European manuals from Braun UK.

Panasonic's US manuals came from its North American manual library; its European manuals came from Panasonic UK's support site, which, like Panasonic's UK and French product pages, refused our scripted requests and opened only in a browser. Remington's manuals came from its US store.

Prices are the makers' US store prices on October 24, 2026. Braun shows a list price and a sale price, and we record the list price.

We did not measure a single shave; each decibel figure is copied from the Czech, Slovak, Romanian or English pages of Braun's, Panasonic's and Philips' own manuals.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest electric shavers

Lowest Panasonic figure, with a cleaning dock

Panasonic ARC5 Advanced 5-Blade Men's Electric Shaver with Clean and Charge Station (ES-LV97-K)

  • Noise (sound power): "61 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" shaving, "62" trimming (Panasonic European manual, ES-LV97)
  • Price: $239.99 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: Early shavers who want Panasonic's lowest declaration and an automatic cleaning dock
  • Skip it if: You rinse the head under the tap anyway, where the ES-LV67 gives the same 61 for less

Panasonic's European manual for the ES-LV97 lists "Airborne Acoustical Noise In shaving mode: 61 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" and 62 in trimmer mode, the lowest pair Panasonic prints for any shaver we traced.

The US ES-LV97-K shares the model number, the 3.6 V motor and the one hour charge, but its US manual leaves the noise line out. It is a five-blade ARC5 with a 14,000 CPM linear motor, sold with a clean and charge station for $239.99.

Same 61 dB(A) for less

Panasonic ARC5 Advanced 5-Blade Men's Electric Shaver (ES-LV67-K)

  • Noise (sound power): "61 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" shaving, "62" trimming (Panasonic European manual, ES-LV67)
  • Price: $179.99 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: Anyone who wants Panasonic's lowest figure at the lower price
  • Skip it if: You want the head cleaned and dried for you after each shave

The ES-LV67 is the ES-LV97 without the cleaning dock, and Panasonic's European manual gives it identical figures: 61 (dB (A) re 1 pW) shaving and 62 trimming. Panasonic's US store sells both on one ARC5 Advanced page, the ES-LV67-K at $179.99.

If quiet mornings matter more than an automatic wash cycle, this is the cheaper route to Panasonic's lowest declaration.

Panasonic's six-blade flagship at 64 dB(A)

Panasonic ARC6 Luxury 6-Blade Men's Electric Shaver with Clean and Charge Station (ES-LS9A-K)

  • Noise (sound power): "64 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" shaving, "65" trimming (Panasonic European manual, ES-LS9A)
  • Price: $499.99 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: Heavy beards where shave speed outranks the lowest figure
  • Skip it if: Quiet is your first priority, where the $179.99 ES-LV67 declares 3 dB less

The ARC6 ES-LS9A is Panasonic's top shaver, and its European manual lists 64 (dB (A) re 1 pW) shaving and 65 trimming, 3 dB above the ARC5 pair in each mode. Panasonic UK and France sell the ES-LS9A under the US model number.

Six blades and 84,000 cross-cutting actions a minute buy speed on a heavy beard, not quiet. Panasonic's US store listed it at $499.99 but showed it unavailable.

Lowest Braun figure, at Braun's lowest price

Braun Series 7 Electric Shaver with Beard and Stubble Trimmer (7085cc)

  • Noise (sound power): 63 dB(A) re 1 pW, mode not stated (Braun European Series 7 manual, Type 5764)
  • Price: $169.99 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: Braun buyers who want the lowest figure Braun prints at the lowest price
  • Skip it if: You want a Series 9 head, where the 9465cc declares the same 63

Braun's European Series 7 manual for Type 5764 states, in Slovak, a declared noise emission of 63 dB(A) as A-weighted sound power re 1 pW, and its Romanian page says "valoarea de zgomot dB(A) pentru acest aparat este de 63 dB(A)". No mode is named.

We matched the US 7085cc to that manual by its type code, 5764, and the manual edition, not by a printed model number; both European editions under 5764 give 63. Braun's US store listed it at $169.99 but out of stock.

Series 9 at Braun's lowest figure

Braun Series 9 Pro Electric Shaver with SmartCare Center (9465cc)

  • Noise (sound power): 63 dB(A) re 1 pW, mode not stated (Braun European 94XX Series 9 Pro manual)
  • Price: $359.99 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: Thick beards that want a Series 9 head at Braun's lowest declaration
  • Skip it if: You only care about the Braun figure, which the cheaper Series 7 matches

Braun's 94XX Series 9 Pro manual for Europe gives 63 dB(A) in Czech and Romanian, the Czech line defining it as A-weighted sound power re 1 pW.

We matched the US 9465cc by Braun's type code, 5793, and the 94XX edition, not by a printed model number.

Type 5793 also covers the 2024 Series 9 PRO+ at 67, but the 9465cc falls in the 94XX range and both 94XX European editions say 63.

Cheapest Norelco with a US-linked figure

Philips Norelco Shaver 3600 Wet and Dry Electric Shaver (S3243/91)

  • Noise (sound power): "Maximum sound power level: Lc = 69 dB(A)" (Philips Shaver S3000 manual)
  • Price: $69.96 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: Rotary fans on a budget who want a published figure
  • Skip it if: You want a ranked figure, which Philips' single maximum cannot give

Philips links a multi-language Shaver S3000 manual from the US S3243/91 page, and its English section says "Maximum sound power level: Lc = 69 dB(A)." The manual's model list names the S3243.

Every other Norelco we traced prints the same 69 maximum, so the Shaver 3600 earns its place on price: $69.96 on Philips' US store, with 27 self-sharpening blades and 60 minutes of cordless run time.

Norelco flagship, same 69 maximum

Philips Norelco i9000 Prestige Ultra Wet and Dry Electric Shaver with SenseIQ Pro (XP9400/89)

  • Noise (sound power): "Maximum sound power level: Lc = 69 dB(A)" (Philips i9000 Prestige Ultra manual, XP94xx/xx)
  • Price: $429.96 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: Rotary shavers who want Philips' sensor features
  • Skip it if: You are paying for quiet, which this declares no more of than the cheapest Norelco

The i9000 Prestige Ultra manual on Philips UK's XP9400/31 page covers XP94xx/xx and prints "Maximum sound power level: Lc = 69 dB(A)." That is the figure the $69.96 Shaver 3600 prints too.

The US XP9400/89 adds five shaving modes, an app link, a color display and a seven-year warranty at $429.96, and Philips does not say which of the five modes its 69 describes.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

Why are the shavers split into three groups by maker?

The shavers are split by maker because Panasonic, Braun and Philips each print a different kind of figure: one per mode, one with no mode, and one stated maximum. Figures on different bases are never ranked against each other here.

Panasonic's European manuals list "Airborne Acoustical Noise" in dB (A) re 1 pW, split into a shaving mode and a trimmer mode. Braun's European manuals give a single declared noise emission in dB(A), which the Czech and Slovak sections define as A-weighted sound power re 1 pW, and never say whether the trimmer was running.

Philips writes "Maximum sound power level: Lc = 69 dB(A)" for the Norelcos. Philips frames its number as an upper limit, whereas Panasonic and Braun print declared values. Each group is ordered within itself, and no sentence on this page puts one maker's shaver above another's.

Which Panasonic shaver is quietest?

The ARC5 ES-LV97 and ES-LV67 are the quietest Panasonic shavers we traced, each listing 61 dB(A) re 1 pW in shaving mode and 62 in trimmer mode.

Panasonic's European declarations, lowest shaving figure first:

  • ES-LV97: 61 shaving, 62 trimming
  • ES-LV67: 61 shaving, 62 trimming
  • ES-LV65: 63 shaving, 64 trimming
  • ES-LS9A: 64 shaving, 65 trimming

The ES-LV97 and ES-LV67 are one shaver, sold with and without a cleaning dock. Panasonic's own top model, the six-blade ARC6, declares 3 dB more in each mode than the five-blade ARC5 pair. Panasonic names no test code or uncertainty, so read the 1 dB step between modes as small.

Which Braun shaver is quietest?

The Series 7 7085cc and Series 9 Pro 9465cc are the quietest Braun shavers we could match, each declaring 63 dB(A) of sound power with no mode named. The NEVO 11000c, matched the same way, declares 67.

Braun's declarations for the US models we could match, lowest first:

  • Series 7 7085cc: 63, Type 5764
  • Series 9 Pro 9465cc: 63, Type 5793, 94XX edition
  • NEVO 11000c: 67, Type 5799, one edition

How the Braun figures were matched to US models

No Braun manual prints a US model number. Braun gives each shaver a type code, which its US product and service pages show, and publishes a European and a North American manual for each generation under that code. Only the European ones carry a figure.

We matched each US Braun to a European figure by type code plus manual edition, not by a printed model number. A Braun stays a pick only where that pairing leads to one figure. The Series 8 8567cc does not: two European Series 8 editions under its Type 5795 declare 68 and 63. Nor does the Series 9 Pro+ 9677cc, whose Type 5793 has editions at 63 and 67, with only a P25 tag on Braun's US page, and no manual, pointing to the 67. Both sit in the also considered list, unranked.

Why does every Norelco shaver print 69 dB(A)?

Every Norelco shaver with a figure we could find prints "Lc = 69 dB(A)" because Philips states a maximum, and that maximum holds across the range, from the $49.96 Shaver 2600 to the $429.96 i9000 Prestige Ultra.

We found it in the manuals for the Shaver 3000 (S31XX to S33XX), the Shaver 3000X (X300X and X305X), the i9000 and i9000 Prestige, the i9000 Prestige Ultra, and the 500 and 700 Series compact shavers. Philips' hair clipper manuals carry the same kind of line, which the hair clipper guide covers.

A single ceiling across a whole catalog tells you no Norelco should exceed it. It cannot tell you that one Norelco is quieter than another, so we picked the Shaver 3600 for its US-linked manual and price, and the i9000 Prestige Ultra for what its features add.

How loud is an electric shaver?

An electric shaver declares 61 to 64 dB(A) of sound power in shaving mode on Panasonic's European paperwork and 63 to 67 dB(A) on Braun's, while Philips sets a 69 dB(A) ceiling. None of these makers gives a level at the ear.

Sound power describes the total acoustic output of the shaver, measured in a lab and expressed against a reference of 1 picowatt. It is not what a meter at your cheek would show, and it cannot be compared with the decibel readings people quote from a phone app.

What it does well is sort one maker's shavers against each other. Our sound power and sound pressure explainer shows how the two quantities differ.

Does a pricier Braun shaver run quieter?

No, a pricier Braun does not declare less noise. The $169.99 Series 7 and the $359.99 Series 9 Pro both declare 63 dB(A), and the $549.99 NEVO, Braun's dearest shaver, declares 67.

Generation matters more than tier. Braun's 2022 manuals for the 94XX Series 9 Pro give 63, while its 2024 P25 manuals for the Series 9 PRO+, filed under the same Type 5793, give 67. Within Type 5795, an older 83XXs Series 8 edition says 63 and the Killi Series 8 edition says 68.

So the edition behind a Braun model matters more than its series name. Where Braun's paperwork cannot tie a US model to one edition, as with the 9677cc and the 8567cc, we leave its figure unranked.

Which shaver makers print no noise figure?

Remington prints no noise figure in the US manuals we read, and some current Norelco and Panasonic models had no figure we could trace.

Remington's use and care manuals for the F5 Power Series, the R5 Sensicut RC5390US and the Balder XR8000US say nothing about decibels. Philips' US manuals for the Shaver 5000, Shaver 7000 and S9000 Prestige print no figure, and we found no European edition for those US model numbers that did.

Panasonic's ARC6 ES-LS8A and ARC5 ES-LV9N turned up no European manual on Panasonic UK's support site, so they have no figure here either.

How the quietest electric shavers compare

ProductNoise (sound power)Maker pricePrice
Panasonic ES-LV97-K"61 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" shaving, "62" trimming (Panasonic European manual, ES-LV97)$239.99 (Panasonic US store)$239.99 maker's list price
Panasonic ES-LV67-K"61 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" shaving, "62" trimming (Panasonic European manual, ES-LV67)$179.99 (Panasonic US store)$179.99 maker's list price
Panasonic ES-LS9A-K"64 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" shaving, "65" trimming (Panasonic European manual, ES-LS9A)$499.99 (Panasonic US store)$499.99 maker's list price
Braun 7085cc63 dB(A) re 1 pW, mode not stated (Braun European Series 7 manual, Type 5764)$169.99 list, $119.99 sale (Braun US store)$169.99 maker's list price
Braun 9465cc63 dB(A) re 1 pW, mode not stated (Braun European 94XX Series 9 Pro manual)$359.99 list, $259.99 sale (Braun US store)$359.99 maker's list price
Philips S3243/91"Maximum sound power level: Lc = 69 dB(A)" (Philips Shaver S3000 manual)$69.96 (Philips US store)$69.96 maker's list price
Philips XP9400/89"Maximum sound power level: Lc = 69 dB(A)" (Philips i9000 Prestige Ultra manual, XP94xx/xx)$429.96 (Philips US store)$429.96 maker's list price

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest electric shaver?

There is one answer per maker, because each states noise differently. Panasonic's lowest is the ARC5 ES-LV97 and ES-LV67, at 61 dB(A) re 1 pW in shaving mode. Braun's lowest is the Series 7 7085cc and Series 9 Pro 9465cc, at 63 dB(A) with no mode named. Philips gives every Norelco the same 69 dB(A) maximum.

What is the quietest electric shaver for men?

Within Panasonic's range, the $179.99 ES-LV67, declaring 61 dB(A) in shaving mode. Within Braun's, the $169.99 Series 7 7085cc, declaring 63 dB(A). Within Philips Norelco, no model declares less than another, so the $69.96 Shaver 3600 is the cheapest way to that 69 dB(A) maximum.

How should I read quietest electric shaver reviews?

Ask where each number came from. A phone meter reading depends on how far the phone sat from the head, the room and the beard being cut. A maker's sound power declaration follows a fixed method and describes the shaver itself, which is why this guide uses only those.

Is the trimmer louder than the shaver?

Yes, by 1 dB on every Panasonic we traced. The ES-LV97 and ES-LV67 list 62 in trimmer mode against 61 shaving, the ES-LV65 64 against 63, and the ES-LS9A 65 against 64. Braun and Philips print one number with no mode, so their trimmers have no separate figure.

Is a foil shaver quieter than a rotary shaver?

The makers' numbers cannot settle it. Every rotary figure we found is Philips' 69 dB(A), labelled a maximum, while Braun and Panasonic print declared values for foil shavers on bases of their own. Those are different statements, so this guide ranks each maker only against itself.

Why does Braun print shaver noise only in Czech, Slovak and Romanian?

Braun does not say. Its European booklets carry the figure in those sections and nowhere in English, German or French. The Romanian text names a Romanian government decision on airborne noise from household appliances, which suggests a local rule asks for it.

Do Remington shavers have a decibel rating?

Not in the manuals we read. Remington's US manuals for the F5 Power Series, the R5 Sensicut RC5390US and the Balder XR8000US print no noise figure, and its European HC7110 clipper manual prints none either.

Is a 3 or 4 dB difference between two shavers noticeable?

Yes, though only just. Three decibels of sound power is double the acoustic output, and most listeners notice a step of that size when the two run one after the other. That is the gap between Panasonic's ES-LV67 and ES-LS9A, and Braun's NEVO declares 4 more than its Series 7.

The bottom line

I assumed Braun's flagships would be its quietest heads, since they cost the most. Braun's own European manuals say otherwise: the $549.99 NEVO declares 67 dB(A), while the $169.99 Series 7 and the older Series 9 Pro declare 63. At Panasonic, the $179.99 ARC5 ES-LV67 declares 61 in shaving mode, 3 below the $499.99 ARC6.

What irritates me is where those numbers hide. None of the US English manuals I opened from Braun, Panasonic or Philips prints one, and Braun's turns up only in the Czech, Slovak or Romanian pages of its European booklets. Because the three makers state their figures on different bases, I would choose a brand first, then take its lowest declaration: the ES-LV67 for Panasonic, the Series 7 for Braun.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Panasonic ARC5 5-Blade Men's Electric Shaver (ES-LV65-S)

    Panasonic's European manual lists 63 (dB (A) re 1 pW) shaving and 64 trimming, 2 dB above the ES-LV67 in both modes, at the same $179.99.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Braun Series 8 Electric Shaver with 5-in-1 SmartCare Center (8567cc)

    Braun's Type 5795 covers Series 8 editions that disagree: the Killi Series 8 manual declares 68 dB(A), the 83XXs manual 63, and Braun's US service page links three North American Series 8 manuals without naming the 8567cc. We cannot tell which figure, if either, belongs to it.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Braun Series 9 Pro+ Electric Shaver with PowerCase (9677cc)

    Not ranked. Two European editions under the 9677cc's Type 5793 print different figures, 63 dB(A) for the 94XX shaver with PowerCase and 67 for the 2024 P25 Series 9 PRO+. No manual names the 9677cc; only a P25 tag on Braun's US product page points to the 67, so neither figure is treated as its own.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Braun NEVO Electric Shaver (11000c)

    Braun's one European NEVO edition, under the 11000c's type code 5799, declares 67 dB(A), 4 above Braun's Series 7, and the NEVO costs $549.99, the most of any shaver we traced.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Philips Norelco Shaver 2600 Wet and Dry Electric Shaver (X3052/91)

    Philips' Shaver 3000X manual covers X305X and prints "Maximum noise level: Lc = 69 dB(A)", the same as every Norelco here; at $49.96 it undercuts the Shaver 3600 but runs on NiMH with a 50 minute run time.

    Search Amazon for this model

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 19 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides