QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

Quietest handheld vacuum: five hand vacs and the decibel figures their makers print

Written by
· 7 min read

Illustration of a cordless hand vacuum cleaning crumbs from a car seat

No single hand vacuum can be called quietest on its maker's figures, because the five picks print three kinds of number. In sound pressure, DEWALT's DCV501HB declares 75 dB(A) and its DCV517B 76, a decibel apart.

Makita's XLC07 and RYOBI's PBLHV701 print 68 dB(A) without saying what was measured, and RYOBI's is an "As low as" figure for its gentlest setting, so neither is ranked.

Dyson's Car+Boat, the only pick sold for cars by name, is rated "HP82 dBa" of sound power with no mode named.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line

A quick look at the quietest handheld vacuums

Finding the quietest handheld vacuum is harder than it sounds, because a hand vac runs at arm's length from your head, pointed at a car seat, a stair tread or the crumbs under a toaster, and few of the brands on store shelves print a decibel number.

Five hand vacuums sold in the US carry a figure on their maker's own US page, manual or spec sheet: two DEWALTs, a Makita, a RYOBI and Dyson's Car+Boat, which is built for cars.

Those five print three different kinds of figure, from sound pressure with an uncertainty to sound power with an unexplained prefix, so each is read only beside figures of its own kind.

How did we pick these handheld vacuums?

A hand vacuum made the list only when its maker printed a decibel figure for that exact US model number, on a US product page, in a US manual or on a sheet linked from the US page.

We read the US product pages and linked manuals from DEWALT, Makita, RYOBI, Milwaukee and Black+Decker, Dyson's US spec sheets for business buyers, and Milwaukee Europe's pages, which we used only to explain why Milwaukee is absent from the picks.

Dyson's consumer store at dyson.com, sharkclean.com and bissell.com turned our requests away, and thisworx.com did not respond. We did not reach handheld manuals from Bosch, Metabo HPT, Tineco, Eureka, Hoover or Vacmaster, so none of them is counted here.

Figures are quoted as printed and grouped by kind, and only DEWALT's two sound pressure declarations are put in order. The only maker price we saw was RYOBI's $119.00 for the PBLHV701B, on October 24, 2026; DEWALT, Makita and Milwaukee show none, and Dyson's store pages would not load.

We did not measure a single hand vac on this page; each decibel number was lifted from a DEWALT, Makita, RYOBI or Dyson page, manual or spec sheet named in the sources.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest handheld vacuums

Dry HEPA hand vac with both figures in its US manual

DEWALT DCV501HB 20V Cordless Dry Hand Vacuum (Tool Only)

  • Noise: LPA 75 dB(A) (DEWALT US manual)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Drywall and concrete dust on a DEWALT 20V platform
  • Skip it if: You need to pick up spilled liquid, which the DCV517B handles

The DCV501 manual on dewalt.com prints LPA 75 dB(A) and LWA 87 dB(A) in its spec table, with no uncertainty and no standard beside them. Inside the sound pressure group that is a decibel under the DCV517B, too small a gap to choose on.

It moves 46 CFM, holds 0.7 L, runs about 22 minutes and weighs 2.2 lbs by the manual, with a HEPA filter meant for drywall and concrete dust.

Wet and dry hand vac with a named test

DEWALT DCV517B 20V MAX 1/2 Gallon Wet/Dry Portable Vacuum (Tool Only)

  • Noise: LpA 76 dB, KpA 2 (DEWALT emission sheet, EN60335-2-69)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Spills, wet dust and job trailers on DEWALT 20V packs
  • Skip it if: Your messes are always dry and a lighter tool suits you

DEWALT's emission sheet for the DCV517, linked from the US DCV517B page, gives LpA 76 and LWA 87 dB, each with an uncertainty of 2, and names EN60335-2-69 as the test. DEWALT files it under handheld vacuums.

It takes liquid as well as dust, through a 1/2 gallon tank with a Gore HEPA wet/dry filter, a front utility nozzle and a rubber hose that extends.

Bagged 18V hand vac with car nozzles

Makita XLC07Z 18V LXT Handheld Canister Vacuum (Tool Only)

  • Noise: "Working Sound Level : 68 dB(A)" (Makita USA)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Car interiors and upholstery, on Makita 18V LXT batteries
  • Skip it if: You want a bagless bin you can tip out

Makita USA prints "Working Sound Level : 68 dB(A)" for the XLC07 and leaves out whether it measured pressure or power, which speed was running, or how far away.

It has three speeds, moves 49 CFM, weighs 4 lbs with a battery and ships with upholstery, floor mat and blower nozzles plus a shoulder strap. Debris goes into a cloth dust bag or paper bags.

RYOBI's one hand vac with a sound level

RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Jobsite Hand Vacuum (PBLHV701B, Tool Only)

  • Noise: "As low as 68 dB(A)" (RYOBI US page)
  • Price: $119.00 maker's list price, checked Oct 24
  • Best for: RYOBI ONE+ owners who want a light hand vac with a HEPA filter
  • Skip it if: You will run it on its stronger setting most of the time, which RYOBI gives no figure for

RYOBI's spec table for the PBLHV701B reads "Sound Level": "As low as 68 dB(A)". That is a best case for its gentler setting rather than a working level, and RYOBI gives no figure for the stronger one or names the quantity.

At 2.9 lbs it is the lightest pick; it holds 4.22 cups, moves up to 34 CFM, runs up to 45 minutes and lists at $119.00 on RYOBI's site.

Hand vac sold for cars, rated in sound power

Dyson Car+Boat Cord-Free Handheld Vacuum

  • Noise: No sound pressure published
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Car seats, carpets and boat cabins, away from a tool battery platform
  • Skip it if: You already own Makita, DEWALT or RYOBI batteries

Dyson's US spec sheet gives the Car+Boat "Sound power level: HP82 dBa" and does not say what HP means or which of its two modes was running.

With no pressure figure and no mode, it is listed on its own rather than set against any other maker. It weighs 4.2 lbs, holds 0.54 L, ships with a mini motorhead for seats and mats and lasts 40 minutes in Powerful mode.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

Why are handheld vacuum figures kept in three groups?

Handheld vacuum figures are kept in three groups because makers print three kinds of number: sound pressure labeled as such, a bare dB(A) with no quantity named, and sound power on its own.

Only DEWALT labels sound pressure for a US hand vac. Its US manual gives the DCV501HB 75 dB(A), and the emission sheet on its DCV517B page gives 76 dB(A). Both are DEWALT 20V hand vacs from one maker, so they can be put in order.

Makita and RYOBI print 68 dB(A) on their US pages without saying whether it is pressure or power. RYOBI adds "As low as", which makes its figure a best case for one setting. These two stay unranked, against each other and against DEWALT.

Dyson's Car+Boat sheet gives sound power and nothing else, with an "HP" prefix it does not explain, so it stands alone too.

How many decibels is a handheld vacuum?

A handheld vacuum's maker figure ran from 68 dB(A), on pages that do not name the quantity, to 76 dB(A) of declared sound pressure, and from 82 to 87 dB(A) of sound power, in the US documents we read.

Inside the one group where an order holds, these are DEWALT's sound pressure declarations as printed:

  • DEWALT DCV501HB: LPA 75 dB(A), no uncertainty given
  • DEWALT DCV517B: LpA 76 dB, KpA 2, EN60335-2-69

A decibel separates them, half the uncertainty DEWALT states for the DCV517, so on paper the two DEWALTs sound much alike.

For sound power, DEWALT rates both at 87 and Dyson prints "HP82 dBa" for the Car+Boat. Dyson names no mode or test, so its number is listed, not ranked against DEWALT's. Makita and RYOBI publish no power figure for these hand vacs.

What a bare 68 dB(A) can and cannot tell you

Makita's XLC07 and RYOBI's PBLHV701 both print 68 dB(A) on their US pages, and the matching numbers mean less than they seem to.

Makita names no speed, quantity or distance. RYOBI says "As low as", so its 68 describes the gentlest setting only. Two figures built on unknown bases cannot be ordered, and neither can be set beside DEWALT's labeled sound pressure.

What is the quietest car vacuum?

No car vacuum can be named quietest from makers' figures. Dyson's Car+Boat, sold for cars by name, is rated "HP82 dBa" of sound power, and Makita's XLC07 prints 68 dB(A) with no quantity named.

The XLC07 ships with upholstery and floor mat nozzles, a blower nozzle and a shoulder strap, kit that suits a car, and its three speeds let you choose the gentlest one for a quick pass over the seats.

The Car+Boat comes with a mini motorhead, a crevice tool and a combination tool, weighs 4.2 lbs and lasts 40 minutes in Powerful mode. Its spec sheet gives no sound pressure, so it cannot be set beside the Makita.

Do 12V plug-in car vacuums publish decibels?

No, we found no 12V plug-in car vacuum with a decibel figure from its maker. Black+Decker's US store lists no figure on any of its vacuum pages, and thisworx.com did not answer our requests.

The 12V car vacuum figures our searches did find, from 68 to 80 dB, sat on retailer and marketplace listings that rarely say what was measured. We use none of them, so cordless hand vacs are the only car vacuums with a maker number on this page.

Is a hand vacuum quieter on its low setting?

Yes, where a maker rates both ends. None of the five picks does, but Makita's US page for its 40V GLC01, a compact stick vacuum rather than a hand vac, lists 65 dB(A) on high and 54 dB(A) on low.

That 11 decibel spread on one Makita is why a bare figure needs a setting beside it. Makita prints a single 68 for the XLC07 and names no speed.

RYOBI goes the other way, printing "As low as 68 dB(A)" for the PBLHV701, a best case with nothing for the stronger setting. DEWALT gives one figure per tool and names no speed, and Dyson's Car+Boat has two modes without saying which one its "HP82 dBa" describes.

What is the quietest handheld vacuum for pets?

No maker in this group publishes a figure measured with a pet tool or brush roll fitted, so no hand vacuum can be called quietest for pet hair on the makers' own numbers.

Dyson's Car+Boat ships with a mini motorhead, a powered brush that pulls hair from upholstery, and its "HP82 dBa" sound power figure names no tool.

RYOBI's PCL700B Powered Brush Hand Vacuum, the RYOBI model built for hair, prints no sound level, and Black+Decker's pet dustbusters print none either.

For long hair on stairs and sofas, the cordless stick vacuum guide covers machines rated with full size brush heads.

Which handheld vacuum makers print no decibel figure?

Black+Decker prints no decibel figure on its US dustbuster pages, Milwaukee prints none for its US hand vacs, and RYOBI prints one on only one of the five RYOBI hand vacuum models we opened.

RYOBI's US pages for the PCL705, PCL700, PCL704 and PCL702 hand vacuums, kits included, show no sound level. Shark, Bissell and Dyson's consumer site refused our requests.

Milwaukee's US page and parts list for the 0892-20 M18 Brushless Handheld Vacuum, and its manual for the 0850-20 M12 Compact Vacuum, carry no figure. Milwaukee Europe declares 70 dB(A) of sound pressure for a brushless hand vac it sells as the M18 BLCV2, but names no US model number for it, so that number stays with the European tool.

Two other Milwaukee Europe pages are no help either. The M18 CV gives sound power only as an upper bound below 83 dB(A), which is not a value, and the M12 HV page appears to swap its pressure and power labels.

How the quietest handheld vacuums compare

ProductNoiseSound powerFigure sourceAirflow and suctionWeightPrice
DEWALT DCV501HBLPA 75 dB(A) (DEWALT US manual)LWA 87 dB(A)US instruction manual, no K or standard46 CFM, 65 air watts2.2 lbs (US manual)Not verified yet
DEWALT DCV517BLpA 76 dB, KpA 2 (DEWALT emission sheet, EN60335-2-69)LWA 87 dB, KWA 2Emission sheet on the US page, standard namedNot stated by DEWALTNot stated by DEWALTNot verified yet
Makita XLC07Z"Working Sound Level : 68 dB(A)" (Makita USA)Not publishedUS product page, quantity and speed not named49 CFM, 22 in. water lift4 lbs with batteryNot verified yet
RYOBI PBLHV701B"As low as 68 dB(A)" (RYOBI US page)Not publishedUS product page, best case onlyUp to 34 CFM, up to 84 IOW sealed suction2.9 lbs$119.00 maker's list price
Dyson Car+BoatNo sound pressure published"HP82 dBa" (Dyson US spec sheet)US spec sheet, mode and standard not named19.8 AW Powerful, 116 AW Boost4.2 lbs (1.9 kg)Not verified yet

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest handheld vacuum?

The makers' own figures do not name one. DEWALT's DCV501HB declares 75 dB(A) of sound pressure, a decibel under its DCV517B. Makita's XLC07 and RYOBI's PBLHV701 print 68 dB(A) without naming the quantity, RYOBI's as a best case, and Dyson rates its Car+Boat in sound power only, so none of those is ranked against the DEWALTs.

Is there a silent car vacuum?

No maker we read calls a car vacuum silent. Makita prints 68 dB(A) for the XLC07, which ships with car upholstery and floor mat nozzles, without saying what was measured, and Dyson rates its Car+Boat at "HP82 dBa" of sound power.

Is the Dyson Car+Boat quieter than a Dyson stick vacuum in handheld mode?

Dyson's own sheets cannot settle it. The Car+Boat reads "HP82 dBa" with no mode named, while the V11 is rated 88 dBA in handheld Boost mode and the Cyclone V10 87 in handheld max mode. Without a mode on the Car+Boat sheet, the gap between them is not a like for like comparison.

Does Milwaukee publish decibels for its hand vacuums?

Not for US model numbers. The US pages and manuals we opened for the 0892-20 and 0850-20 print none. Milwaukee Europe lists 70 dB(A) of sound pressure for its M18 BLCV2, gives the M18 CV only an upper bound for sound power, and shows the M12 HV with sound power at 73,6 and sound pressure at 85,6, labels that look swapped.

What do LpA, LwA and K mean on a hand vacuum?

LpA is sound pressure, the level a person holding the vacuum would meet. LwA is sound power, a rating of everything the motor and airflow put out, wherever you stand. K, or KpA and KWA on DEWALT's sheet, is the maker's stated uncertainty. A pressure figure and a power figure for one tool describe different things and are never ranked together.

Do I need hearing protection with a jobsite hand vacuum?

The tool makers ask for it. DEWALT's DCV501 manual names ANSI S12.6 (S3.19) protection for the ears, and its DCV517 manual lists hearing protection among gear for appropriate conditions. Milwaukee's manual for the M12 Compact Vacuum says "Wear ear protectors. Exposure to noise can cause hearing loss."

Does Black+Decker publish dustbuster decibels?

Not in anything we could read. Black+Decker's US store carries 86 vacuum and dustbuster listings, including hand, pet and wet and dry models, and none of their product descriptions gives a decibel figure. Decibel numbers for dustbusters turn up on European retailer listings, which we do not use.

The bottom line

Hand vacuums are where the household brands go quiet on paper. Black+Decker, the name most people reach for, prints no decibel number on any dustbuster I could open, and RYOBI prints one on just one of the five hand vac models I opened. The numbers come mostly from tool makers.

I cannot crown one of these, because no two makers print the same kind of figure on the same basis. For a car I would lean toward Makita's XLC07, which ships with upholstery and floor mat nozzles and carries a 68 dB(A) on Makita's own US page, while accepting that Makita never says what that 68 measures. For drywall dust I would take DEWALT's DCV501HB, whose US manual prints both a pressure and a power figure.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Milwaukee M18 Brushless Handheld Vacuum (0892-20, Tool Only)

    Milwaukee's US page and parts list for the 0892-20 print no noise figure. Milwaukee Europe declares 70 dB(A) of sound pressure and 82 dB(A) of sound power for its M18 BLCV2 hand vac, but Milwaukee does not tie that model number to the 0892-20, so the European figure is not used for the US tool.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Dyson V11

    A stick vacuum, not a hand vac, though Dyson rates it "Handheld Boost mode 88 dBA" of sound power with the wand off. The Car+Boat sheet names no mode, so the two Dyson figures are not ranked.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Dyson Cyclone V10

    Also a stick vacuum that converts to a hand vac; Dyson's US sheet gives "Handheld max mode 87 dBA" of sound power, a mode the Car+Boat sheet never names.

    Search Amazon for this model

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 13 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides