QuietSpecs

The quietest cordless stick vacuums, mode by mode, for apartments and early cleaning

The quietest cordless stick vacuums, mode by mode, for apartments and early cleaning

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For most apartments, the Roborock H60: Roborock publishes a figure for every mode (75 dB(A) or less in ECO, 81 or less in MAX, both sound power), it has no auto-empty dock to make a burst of noise, and it was $169.99.
  • If you want a dock, the H60 Hub Ultra has the same ECO figure and a manual emptying mode, so the dock empties only when you press the button.

Best for an apartment, with every mode published

Roborock H60

Noise 75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 81 MAX (maker)

$169.99 maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Best for an apartment, with every mode published

    Roborock H60

    75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 81 MAX (maker)

  2. 2

    Best with an auto-empty dock

    Roborock H60 Hub Ultra

    75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 83 MAX (maker)

  3. 3

    Smallest auto-empty dock

    Roborock H60 Hub

    75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 81 MAX (maker)

  4. 4

    Lowest figure at a named low setting

    SEBO BALANCE A1

    69 dB on Power Level 1 (maker; page also says 70 dB)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  5. 5

    Best documented Auto mode

    Dyson V15 Detect

    82 dBA Boost on carpet, 87 dBA on hardwood (maker)

Our Picks

Roborock H60

#1 · Best for an apartment, with every mode published

Roborock H60

Roborock

Noise75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 81 MAX (maker)

Roborock gives the H60 a figure for each mode: 75 dB(A) or less in ECO, 77 in MED and 81 in MAX, all described as sound power by hemispherical measurement and all upper limits. No other stick maker we checked prints the low mode and the top mode side by side. It charges from its power supply or an optional wall dock, with no auto-empty, so there is no emptying burst to time around your neighbors. It was $169.99 on Roborock's store, against a compare-at price of $299.99.

Buy it ifA one or two bedroom flat cleaned in short early or late sessions

Skip it ifYou want the bin emptied for you

What we like

  • Figures for ECO, MED and MAX, all the same kind of measurement
  • No auto-empty dock, so no emptying burst
  • $169.99, the lowest price among the picks

What to know

  • Starts in MED every time it is turned on, per the manual
  • 45 minutes in ECO with the multi-surface brush, and 8 in MAX
  • One year warranty
Figure type
Sound power, upper limit
Low-mode run time
45 min ECO, multi-surface brush
Dock
No auto-empty; optional wall dock

$169.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on us.roborock.com

Roborock H60 Hub Ultra

#2 · Best with an auto-empty dock

Roborock H60 Hub Ultra

Roborock

Noise75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 83 MAX (maker)

The same 75 dB(A) or less in ECO as the rest of the H60 family, with a full-size auto-empty dock. The useful part for a flat is in the manual: hold the dust evacuation button for 3 seconds and the dock switches from automatic to manual emptying, so it empties only when you press the button. Roborock publishes no figure for the emptying itself. Its MAX figure, 83 dB(A) or less, is the highest in the family, and it was $399.99.

Buy it ifA flat where you want the bin emptied but choose when it happens

Skip it ifFloor space by the door is tight

What we like

  • 75 dB(A) or less in ECO, with MED and MAX also published
  • Manual emptying mode, so the dock never empties at 7am unless you ask
  • 60 minutes in ECO with the multi-surface brush

What to know

  • No published figure for the dock emptying
  • 83 dB(A) or less in MAX, the highest top-mode figure in the H60 family
  • Dock takes 290 x 290 mm of floor and weighs in at 21.61 lbs with the vacuum
Figure type
Sound power, upper limit
Low-mode run time
60 min ECO, multi-surface brush
Dock
Full-size auto-empty, 290 x 290 x 850 mm, manual mode

$399.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on us.roborock.com

Roborock H60 Hub

#3 · Smallest auto-empty dock

Roborock H60 Hub

Roborock

Noise75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 81 MAX (maker)

The entry model of the H60 Hub range has a semi-size dock, 261.5 x 262 x 836.85 mm by Roborock's figures, and the same manual emptying switch as the Ultra. Its figures are the H60's: 75 dB(A) or less in ECO and 81 or less in MAX, lower in MAX than the Ultra's 83 on the same basis. It was $299.99.

Buy it ifA studio or narrow hallway where the dock has to fit

Skip it ifYou want the longest run time in the range

What we like

  • Semi-size dock, the smallest auto-empty base here
  • Manual emptying mode, per the manual
  • 81 dB(A) or less in MAX, against 83 for the Hub Ultra

What to know

  • 115AW, the lowest suction in the range
  • 45 minutes in ECO with the multi-surface brush
  • No published figure for the dock emptying
Figure type
Sound power, upper limit
Low-mode run time
45 min ECO, multi-surface brush
Dock
Semi-size auto-empty, 261.5 x 262 x 836.85 mm, manual mode

$299.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on us.roborock.com

SEBO BALANCE A1

#4 · Lowest figure at a named low setting

SEBO BALANCE A1

SEBO

Noise69 dB on Power Level 1 (maker; page also says 70 dB)

SEBO says the BALANCE A1 "operates quietly at only 69 dB on Power Level 1", its lowest of three levels, though the same page says 70 dB further down. SEBO does not say whether that is sound power or sound pressure, so it cannot be lined up against the Roborock figures. It weighs 5 lbs, runs 48 minutes on level one, has a soft start, and a trigger switch you do not have to hold. SEBO publishes no price.

Buy it ifA buyer with a dealer nearby who cleans on the lowest level

Skip it ifYou want a price and a figure for every level

What we like

  • Figure quoted at Power Level 1, the setting you would run early
  • 48 minutes on level one
  • Soft start, and a seven year motor warranty

What to know

  • The page gives both 69 dB and 70 dB
  • No figure for level two or three
  • Dealer only, with no published price
Figure type
Not stated
Low-mode run time
48 min, Power Level 1
Dock
Wall mount and stand, no auto-empty

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Dyson V15 Detect

#5 · Best documented Auto mode

Dyson V15 Detect

Dyson

Noise82 dBA Boost on carpet, 87 dBA on hardwood (maker)

Dyson prints only its loudest mode: "In Boost mode 82dBA on carpet, 87dBA on hardwood floor", as sound power. What earns it a place here is the manual, which explains exactly how Auto behaves: suction "automatically adapts to dust levels", you can turn the particle counting off, and you can change how sensitive it is. That makes it the stick whose ramp-up you can actually control.

Buy it ifA buyer who wants Auto but control over when it ramps up

Skip it ifYou need a published low-mode figure

What we like

  • Manual lets you turn off dust-driven suction changes
  • Boost figure split by floor, the only one here
  • Three modes: Eco, Auto or Med, Boost

What to know

  • No Eco or Auto figure published
  • Floor-type adjustment continues with particle counting off, on the High Torque head
  • The highest published price among the picks
Figure type
Sound power
Low-mode run time
Up to 60 min, mode not split out
Dock
Wall Dok in the Professional edition, no auto-empty

$849.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseFigure typeLow-mode run timeDockPrice
1.Roborock H10A3A75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 81 MAX (maker)Sound power, upper limit45 min ECO, multi-surface brushNo auto-empty; optional wall dock$169.99 maker's list price
2.Roborock H9A1A75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 83 MAX (maker)Sound power, upper limit60 min ECO, multi-surface brushFull-size auto-empty, 290 x 290 x 850 mm, manual mode$399.99 maker's list price
3.Roborock H9A3A75 dB(A) or less ECO, 77 MED, 81 MAX (maker)Sound power, upper limit45 min ECO, multi-surface brushSemi-size auto-empty, 261.5 x 262 x 836.85 mm, manual mode$299.99 maker's list price
4.SEBO BALANCE A169 dB on Power Level 1 (maker; page also says 70 dB)Not stated48 min, Power Level 1Wall mount and stand, no auto-emptyNot verified yet
5.Dyson V15 Detect82 dBA Boost on carpet, 87 dBA on hardwood (maker)Sound powerUp to 60 min, mode not split outWall Dok in the Professional edition, no auto-empty$849.99 maker's list price

Buying Guide

A stick vacuum in an apartment gets used at the edges of the day: a quick pass before work, crumbs after dinner, the hallway once the baby is asleep. At those hours the figure that matters is the one at the low setting you would actually run. Most makers do not print it.

We re-read the product pages, spec sheets and manuals for stick vacuums from thirteen brands and sorted every published figure by the mode it describes. Only three makers name a mode at all, and only one gives a figure for more than one mode. For the wider category, including canisters and uprights, see the quietest vacuums; this guide stays with cordless sticks and with what changes when you live close to neighbors.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Which makers name the mode

Here is every stick vacuum figure we could find, grouped by what it describes. Read across a row, never down the whole list.

  • Every mode, one basis: Roborock. The H60 family: "ECO mode (Sound power level by hemispherical measurement): ≤ 75 dB (A)", MED "≤ 77 dB (A)", and MAX "≤ 81 dB (A)" for the H60 and H60 Hub, "≤ 83 dB (A)" for the Ultra models and "≤ 82 dB (A)" for the Pro models.
  • Lowest setting only: SEBO. The BALANCE A1 "operates quietly at only 69 dB on Power Level 1". The same page later says 70 dB. SEBO does not say whether it is sound power or sound pressure.
  • Loudest mode only: Dyson. V15 Detect: "Sound power level: In Boost mode 82dBA on carpet, 87dBA on hardwood floor". V11: "Handheld Boost mode 88 dBA". Cyclone V10: "Handheld max mode 87 dBA".
  • No mode, sound power: Bosch. The Unlimited 8 Gen2 UK sheet lists "Noise level: 78 dB(A) re 1pW". The "re 1pW" tells you it is sound power; nothing tells you the mode.
  • No mode, no basis: Miele, Samsung, Tineco. Miele's data sheets say "Volume in dB 74.0" for the Triflex HX3. Samsung Australia lists "Noise Level 86 dBA" for the Bespoke Jet Complete Extra. Tineco says the PURE ONE S12 "reduces noise to as low as 71 dB(A)" and the PURE ONE AIR "Operates at less than 75dB(A)".
  • Nothing we could find. No figure on the Shark PowerDetect, Dreame Z30, LG CordZero or Hoover HF9 pages we read. Bissell blocked our requests and Electrolux's site would not load, so we cannot say either way.

What the one full table tells you

Roborock's H60 figures are the only place you can see Eco against Boost from one maker, on one basis. From ECO to MAX the upper limit rises by 6 dB on the H60 and H60 Hub, and by 8 dB on the Ultra. Roughly every 10 dB sounds about twice as loud, so a 6 to 8 dB step is one you would notice.

Two cautions. These are upper limits, marked "≤", so a machine may come in under them, and Roborock does not say by how much. And they are sound power: the total noise the machine puts out, not what reaches your ear at any distance. Our explainer on sound power vs sound pressure covers why the two cannot be swapped.

That is also why we do not rank across this list. SEBO's 69 dB at Power Level 1 is not 6 dB quieter than Roborock's 75 in ECO in any meaningful sense, because we do not know what SEBO measured. Dyson's 82 dBA in Boost and Roborock's 81 or less in MAX are both top-mode sound power figures, but one is a declared value and the other an upper limit, and the modes are each maker's own. Put them side by side, not in a ranking.

Auto modes that ramp up

An Auto mode sounds like the sensible choice until you remember it chooses the power for you. At 7am that is the wrong person deciding.

  • Dyson says of the V15 Detect: "Attach your cleaner head or Hair screw tool to activate Auto mode. Suction power automatically adapts to dust levels." A sensor counts particles and the machine will "automatically increase suction power when needed". You can turn the particle counting off, and you can adjust "reactive suction power sensitivity". But "automatic adjustment between hard floors and carpets will continue, when using the High Torque cleaner head".
  • Bosch says its Auto mode "adjusts the performance depending on floor type: carpet or hard floor".
  • Miele describes the Duoflex HX1's "Intelligent electrobrush with automatic power adjustment".
  • Tineco says the PURE ONE AIR's sensor can "automatically adjust the suction according to the mess detected".

None of these makers publishes a figure for Auto. If you clean early or late, pick the fixed low mode and stay in it. Roborock's H60 range has no Auto mode, only ECO, MED and MAX, which makes it predictable.

The mode it starts in

Roborock's manuals for the H60 and H60 Hub say "The MED mode is used by default every time the vacuum cleaner is turned on." So the quiet mode is one button press away, every time. Make it a habit before you pull the trigger, not after.

Docks, beeps and the burst

A plain stick charges quietly on a wall bracket. An auto-empty dock adds a second, louder moment when it pulls the bin into a bag. Roborock publishes no figure for that on the H60 Hub models. For the robot vacuum docks where makers do publish it, see the quietest robot vacuum for an apartment.

What Roborock does document is control. Both the H60 Hub and H60 Hub Ultra manuals say: "Press and hold the Dust Evacuation button for 3 seconds to switch between automatic dust evacuation mode and manual dust evacuation mode." In manual mode the dock empties only when you press the button, so you can leave it for a sociable hour.

On beeps, we found nothing. The Roborock manuals describe status through lights and, on the Ultra models, a screen that turns off after 2 minutes, and none of the manuals we read mentions a chime when charging starts or finishes. If a tone matters to you, ask the retailer before you buy.

How your flat changes the numbers

As our apartment explainer sets out, what reaches the neighbors is mostly vibration through floors and shared walls, while airborne noise from a vacuum motor mostly stays in your rooms. See how to keep an apartment quiet for the difference and for picking considerate hours.

Two maker facts matter here. Dyson's own figures put hard floor 5 dB above carpet in Boost, so a flat with bare boards is the louder case. And LG's support page for the CordZero A9 says that when "the nozzle, pipe, or filter is not attached properly, gaps may form and cause an air-leaking sound", and that dust or a blockage makes "the motor to overwork and become louder". A clean filter and a clear head are the cheapest quiet you can buy.

The trade-offs

Run time. Low mode lasts. Roborock gives the H60 45 minutes in ECO with the multi-surface brush against 8 minutes in MAX, and the Hub Ultra 60 against 8.

Suction. The makers sell ECO as the long-run mode, not the deep-clean mode. Bosch calls its Eco mode "extensive runtime for longer cleaning" and saves "ultimate performance" for Turbo.

Floor space and running costs. The Hub Ultra's dock is 290 x 290 x 850 mm and the pair weighs 21.61 lbs. Roborock sells a 12 pack of dust bags for $49.99. The plain H60 needs neither.

Price. The fully documented Roborock H60 was the cheapest pick here, at $169.99. SEBO publishes no price at all.

How we chose

We started from the stick vacuums in our main vacuum guide and added the other big names in cordless sticks: Shark, Samsung, LG, Tineco, Dreame, Roborock, Bosch, Electrolux, Hoover and Bissell, alongside Dyson, Miele and SEBO. We read US product pages, EU and UK specification sheets, support articles and user manuals, and recorded each figure in the maker's words with its mode, its unit and whether it was sound power, a single value or an upper limit.

We ranked for apartment use: a figure at a named low mode counted most, then how the machine behaves around neighbors (no dock, or a dock you can hold), then size and price. We compared figures only within the same maker, the same basis and the same mode.

We did not measure any of these vacuums ourselves. Every figure here is the maker's own, none of them states a listening distance, and how a stick vacuum sounds in your flat will depend on your floors, your walls and the mode you choose.

Common questions

Which stick vacuum makers say which mode their noise figure is for?

Of the brands we checked, three: Roborock gives a figure for each of ECO, MED and MAX on the H60 family, SEBO quotes Power Level 1 on the BALANCE A1, and Dyson quotes Boost, or handheld max on older models. Bosch, Miele, Samsung and Tineco print a figure with no mode. We found no figure on the Shark, Dreame, LG or Hoover pages we read, and Bissell and Electrolux would not load for us.

How much quieter is Eco than Boost?

Only Roborock lets you work it out from one maker's figures on one basis: 75 dB(A) or less in ECO against 81 or 83 in MAX, a gap of 6 to 8 dB of sound power. Roughly every 10 dB sounds about twice as loud, so that is a clear step down. Both are upper limits, so the real gap could differ.

Can I compare Roborock's 75 dB(A) with SEBO's 69 dB?

No. Roborock states sound power and an upper limit. SEBO does not say whether its figure is sound power or sound pressure, or how it was measured. They are different measurements, and the 6 dB between the numbers means nothing on its own.

Does Auto mode get louder on carpet?

The makers say Auto changes suction by itself. Dyson's V15 manual says suction "automatically adapts to dust levels" and that adjustment between hard floors and carpets continues with particle counting turned off when using the High Torque cleaner head. Bosch says its Auto mode "adjusts the performance depending on floor type". No maker publishes a figure for Auto, so we cannot say by how much.

Will my stick vacuum start in its quietest mode?

Not necessarily. Roborock's H60 manuals say "The MED mode is used by default every time the vacuum cleaner is turned on", so you have to press the mode button each time to get ECO.

Is an auto-empty dock a problem in an apartment?

It adds a second, short noise, and Roborock publishes no figure for it on the H60 Hub models. Their manuals let you switch the dock to manual emptying by holding the dust evacuation button for 3 seconds, so it only empties when you press it. The plain H60 has no emptying dock at all.

Why did my stick vacuum get louder?

LG's support page for the CordZero A9 gives two reasons: gaps from a nozzle, pipe or filter not attached properly cause "an air-leaking sound", and dust or a blockage makes the motor "overwork and become louder". Clearing the nozzle and pipe is the first thing to try.

Does the floor change how loud it is?

Dyson is the only maker that publishes it: 82 dBA on carpet and 87 dBA on hardwood for the V15 Detect in Boost, the same machine and mode. If your flat is mostly hard floor, expect the higher of those two.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Bosch Unlimited 8 Gen2

    Bosch lists 78 dB(A) re 1pW, a sound power figure, but names no mode. Its Auto mode "adjusts the performance depending on floor type". Sold in the UK, with no US maker price.

    See it at Amazon
  • Miele Triflex HX3

    74.0 dB on Miele's data sheet, the lowest cordless Miele figure, but with no mode, so it tells you nothing about the low setting.

    See it at Amazon
  • Miele Duoflex HX1

    79.0 dB with no mode, and an "Intelligent electrobrush with automatic power adjustment", so the brush sets the level for you.

    See it at Amazon
  • Dyson V11

    88 dBA in handheld Boost mode, sound power. A top-mode figure only.

    See it at Amazon
  • Dyson Cyclone V10

    87 dBA in handheld max mode, sound power. A top-mode figure only.

    See it at Amazon
  • Tineco PURE ONE STATION

    Tineco's page says both 78 dB(A) and 76dB(A), with no mode for either, and the dock burst is not published.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides