QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

The quietest robot vacuums, and how loud their docks get

Written by
· 14 min read

Illustration of a robot vacuum leaving its self-emptying dock in a living room

The Tapo RV30 Max Plus has the lowest published noise figures of any robot vacuum we checked, rated 52 dB on its Quiet setting and 55 dB on standard, with a self-empty dock, at a budget price.

For pet hair, the Narwal Freo 20 pairs a published quiet-mode figure, 56.9 dB(A), with anti-tangle brushes and a pet waste detection claim.

Ecovacs is the only brand that routinely publishes dock noise as well: the Deebot X11 lists 61.8 dBA for the robot and 73.3 to 78.9 dBA for the dock. iRobot publishes no noise figure at all.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line
  7. Review history

A quick look at the quietest robot vacuums

A robot vacuum runs while you are in the house, often while you are on a call, and that is when its noise matters. Finding the quietest robot vacuum runs into two problems.

The figures on the box usually describe a quiet mode that makers do not recommend for pet hair. And the loudest thing in the package is not the robot. It is the dock.

We read the product pages, spec tables and manuals for fourteen robot vacuums from seven brands. Nine carry a published noise figure for the robot. Only two brands publish a figure for the self-empty dock. Here is what each maker says, and what to buy for a quiet home with or without pets.

How did we choose these robot vacuums?

We began each entry with the manufacturer's US product page and spec table for every robot, and the manual or support articles wherever we could open them. Every robot's noise figure appears here exactly as its maker printed it, alongside the mode it describes, and we recorded dock noise wherever a maker publishes it.

We compared suction as published, hair handling claims and their certifiers, bin and bag sizes, pet waste claims and warranty. For a flat and for a pet home, we also noted what each do-not-disturb setting holds back, the voice and beep controls, each dock's footprint and the bag life Narwal gives with pets.

We did not measure any of these robots or their docks ourselves, so every figure above is the maker's own, whether it sits in a spec table, a manual, an FAQ, a blog post or an image on a product page.

Robots that publish a figure rank above robots that do not, and we gave credit to makers that name the mode or publish the dock figure. Hair and pet claims are reported as the makers' claims. One major brand, Shark, is absent: its sites first refused us, and the four robot pages we read later print no decibel figure.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest robot vacuums

Prices as of Nov 5. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Quietest we could verify

Tapo RV30 Max Plus 5300Pa Hyper Suction Robot Vacuum & Mop + Smart Auto-Empty Dock

Tapo RV30 Max Plus 5300Pa Hyper Suction Robot Vacuum & Mop + Smart Auto-Empty Dock
  • Noise: 52 dB Quiet Mode, 55 dB standard (maker)
  • Price: $249.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 5
  • Best for: A quiet daily clean on hard floors
  • Skip it if: You have a long-haired pet, or a pet that has accidents

Tapo lists two figures in its spec table: Quiet Mode at 52 dB, and 55 dB for the standard mode it defaults to.

Both are the lowest we found, and the standard-mode figure is the more useful one, since most makers publish only one or the other. It comes with a self-empty dock and costs far less than the premium robots here.

It is a simple machine: modest suction, no camera, and no claim about hair tangling.

Quietest with no dock to wake anyone

eufy RoboVac 11S MAX

  • Noise: 55dB (maker, mode not stated)
  • Price: $279.99 maker's list price, checked Sep 21
  • Best for: A small apartment, or a bedroom floor
  • Skip it if: You want the robot to look after itself for weeks

A slim, basic robot with a remote control and no dock. eufy lists it at 55dB without naming a suction mode. The absence of a self-empty dock is the point here: there is no loud burst at the end of a clean.

You empty the bin yourself.

Best for pet hair with a published figure

Narwal Freo 20 Robot Vacuum & Mop

Narwal Freo 20 Robot Vacuum & Mop
  • Noise: 56.9 dB(A), Quiet Mode, maker lab
  • Price: $1,099.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 5
  • Best for: A home with a shedding pet and someone who works from home
  • Skip it if: You want a noise figure for the mode you will really use on pet hair

Narwal states its figure with more care than most: 56.9 dB(A) during vacuuming in Quiet Mode, under Narwal laboratory conditions.

It claims 0% hair tangling on both the main brush and the side brush, and an image on its page now shows an SGS "Performance Tested" mark for "Anti-hair Entanglement" at all four suction levels.

Its FAQ says it can detect and navigate around pet waste. Remember that the figure is for Quiet Mode, which is not the mode makers recommend for pet hair.

Most complete noise disclosure

ECOVACS DEEBOT X11 OmniCyclone Bagless Robot Vacuum & Mop

ECOVACS DEEBOT X11 OmniCyclone Bagless Robot Vacuum & Mop
  • Noise: 61.8 dBA sweeping, standard mode (maker)
  • Price: $1,099.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 5
  • Best for: Someone who wants to know what the dock sounds like before buying
  • Skip it if: You are comparing quiet-mode figures, which Ecovacs does not give

Ecovacs puts noise rows in its spec tables, for the robot and for the dock. The X11 lists 61.8 dBA for sweeping in standard mode, and a dock that runs at 73.3 dBA in its quiet setting or 78.9 in standard.

Those robot figures look higher than Tapo's or Narwal's, but they describe standard mode, where the others quote quiet mode. The station is bagless.

Best view of every mode

Dreame X60 Max Ultra Complete Robot Vacuum

Dreame X60 Max Ultra Complete Robot Vacuum
  • Noise: 59 / 60 / 66 / 70 dB, Quiet to Max (maker blog)
  • Price: $1,699.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 5
  • Best for: A large home where you will use several modes
  • Skip it if: The price rules it out

Dreame gives four figures for this robot: 59 dB in Quiet Mode, 60 in Standard, 66 in Turbo and 70 at Max.

No other maker shows the whole range, and it is a useful lesson: 11 decibels separate the quietest and loudest settings of one machine. The figures appear in an article on Dreame's own site, not in the product page. It carries a three-year warranty.

Best value with a full dock and a figure

ECOVACS DEEBOT T50 PRO OMNI Robot Vacuum & Mop with LiDAR

ECOVACS DEEBOT T50 PRO OMNI Robot Vacuum & Mop with LiDAR
  • Noise: 63 dBA sweeping, standard mode (maker)
  • Price: $399.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 5
  • Best for: A first robot with a full dock
  • Skip it if: You want the quietest robot. The Tapo lists 55 dB in the same mode

A full mopping and self-emptying station for the price of a basic robot from the bigger names. Ecovacs lists 63 dBA in standard mode. This is one of the few Ecovacs models with no dock figure in its table.

Its brush is claimed to cut tangling to as little as zero, with no certifier named.

Best known brand, with nothing published

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Vac Robot + AutoEmpty Dock

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Vac Robot + AutoEmpty Dock
  • Noise: No figure published
  • Price: $699.97 at Amazon, checked Nov 5
  • Best for: Buyers who want the familiar brand and its app
  • Skip it if: A published noise figure matters to you, which is why you are here

iRobot publishes no noise figure for this Roomba, and no suction figure in pascals either, only a ratio against its own cheaper model. We include it because many buyers will only consider a Roomba.

It has rubber brushes, a claim to recognize pet waste, and suction you can adjust in the app. On noise, you are buying blind.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels. Hearing a noise from one you own? Robot vacuum making noise or What does sleep mode do on an AC or Can neighbors hear my washing machine or dBA meaning.

How loud is a robot vacuum, by the makers' own figures?

Robot vacuum noise depends on the mode: the robot figures we read run from Tapo's 52 dB in Quiet Mode to the Dreame X60 Max's 70 dB at Max. No maker we read states a measuring distance or names a noise test standard. Within that limit, they fall into four groups.

More than one mode.

For Tapo, Quiet Mode is 52 dB and standard mode is 55 dB. Dreame gives four figures for the X60 Max: 59, 60, 66 and 70 dB, from Quiet to Max. Roborock shows 65dB (Balanced) and 60dB (Mop Only) for the Q7 M5, in an image on its page.

One figure, with the mode named.

Narwal's Freo 20 is 56.9 dB(A) in Quiet Mode under its own lab conditions; our Narwal robot vacuum decibels page lists every Narwal figure.

eufy's comparison table gives the Omni S2, C20 and C28 54 to 54.89 dB in "Standard, Vacuum-only", and the Omni E25 under 55; our eufy robot vacuum decibels page lists them.

Ecovacs always quotes standard mode: 61.8 dBA for the X11, 63 for the T50 PRO, 63.4 for the T80. Roborock gives 62 to 65 dB for the Qrevo Curv 2 Flow in vacuum and mop mode. An image on the Saros 10R page says its quiet mop-only mode is as low as 55dB in a semi-anechoic chamber.

One figure, no mode.

eufy says 55dB for the RoboVac 11S MAX. Narwal says the Flow 2 runs under 56.5 dB.

Nothing.

iRobot publishes no figure. Neither does the Dreame D20 Plus, in the page text and manuals we read. Some of these makers put spec charts in images, so a figure could be hiding there.

Roborock is the clearest case: most of its figures sit inside product page images rather than its spec tables, and our Roborock robot vacuum decibels page lists every one we found, with the mode or dock action each describes.

We first listed the Roborock Q7 M5 and Saros 10R under nothing, because their figures appear only in images on Roborock's pages. Balanced and mop-only are not modes any other maker here gives a figure for, so we have not moved either robot up against the quiet-mode and standard-mode figures.

One brand is missing from this guide. Shark's websites blocked every attempt to read them at first, and on a later check none of the four Shark robot pages we could open gave a decibel figure, so there is no Shark number to rank.

Can you compare robot vacuum decibels across brands?

Robot vacuum decibels can be compared only mode for mode, and even then with care. The lowest figures in this category are quiet-mode figures. Ecovacs only publishes standard mode. Set its 61.8 dBA beside Narwal's 56.9 dB(A) and Ecovacs looks louder, but the two numbers describe different settings.

Dreame's four figures show how much the mode matters: the same robot runs at 59 dB in Quiet Mode and 70 dB at Max. That 11 decibel spread inside one machine is larger than the gap between most of the robots in this guide.

Regular vacuum cleaners tend the other way: most of their makers quote the loudest mode, as our guide to the quietest vacuum cleaners explains.

The only like-for-like comparison the published figures allow is standard mode: Tapo at 55 dB, Dreame at 60 dB, and the three Ecovacs models between 61.8 and 63.4 dBA. Even there, the units differ, and nobody states a distance.

If mopping matters as much as vacuuming, our guide to the quietest robot vacuum and mop combos groups each maker's mop-mode and sweep-and-mop figures by the label it prints, since a mopping figure usually describes a robot with its vacuum fan slowed or stopped.

Carpet boost is another variable. eufy's manual says its BoostIQ feature will increase the noise level, and that you can disable it if it disturbs you. iRobot's support pages say a Roomba will be louder on carpets in its more thorough cleaning settings, and that this is expected.

How loud is a self-emptying robot vacuum dock?

The emptying burst is the loudest sound the system makes. A self-empty dock spares you from emptying a small bin every day. It does it with a short, powerful burst of suction.

Only two brands put a number on it. Ecovacs lists dust collection noise in the spec table of most Deebot models, from 73.3 dBA up to 83 dBA across its range. Our ECOVACS robot vacuum decibels page lists every current DEEBOT with a figure, robot and dock rows side by side.

Roborock says in a product FAQ that emptying raises the noise to 70 dB, and that it lasts less than a minute.

Dreame prints no dock figure on its product pages, and its own site calls auto-emptying stations undeniably loud; its blog gives 78 dB for the D30 Ultra's auto-empty cycle, and our Dreame robot vacuum decibels page sorts every Dreame figure by where Dreame printed it.

Compare those with the robots: 52 to 65 in their quiet and standard modes. If you are choosing between two robots that differ by two or three decibels, the dock will matter more than the difference.

You can manage it. Some Ecovacs stations have a quiet dock setting: the X11 lists 73.3 dBA in quiet against 78.9 in standard. Roborock's manual says the robot will not auto-empty during do-not-disturb hours, which default to 22:00 to 08:00. And a robot with no dock, like the eufy 11S MAX, never makes the sound at all.

What matters most in a robot vacuum for an apartment?

In an apartment, what the do-not-disturb (DND) window holds back matters more than the robot's own noise figure. Through a shared wall or floor, the robot's hum matters less than the emptying burst, so in a flat we would choose on what the DND window holds back before comparing robot figures.

Roborock's manuals go furthest. For the Qrevo Curv 2 Flow and the Saros 10R, both among the robots we also considered, they let the app decide whether emptying, auto top-up and drying run inside the window, dim the indicator lights and turn the voice down, and the Q7 M5 plays no voice messages in DND at all.

Ecovacs says in its US manual that the Deebot X11 will not empty the dust after docking in Do Not Disturb mode, and Auto-Empty is an app function you can leave switched off.

Tapo's guide names Do Not Disturb as one reason the RV30 Max Plus dock fails to collect dust, and its auto-empty waits until the robot has cleaned for more than 30 minutes in total, so in a studio, where cleans are short, it may not empty after every run.

We found no DND or emptying control in the Narwal Freo 20's page text. Holding the dock has a price: the bin stays full until you empty it by hand or a later clean finishes outside the window.

Mopping stations keep working after the robot docks. Ecovacs lists the X11's mop washing at 54.9 dBA releasing water and 61.5 dBA pumping it, with no figure for its 2, 3 or 4 hours of hot air drying, and Roborock says washing and drying on the Qrevo run at about 56 to 57 dB.

Floor space by the door is the other limit. By the makers' figures, Tapo's empty-only dock is 228 x 164 x 330 mm, against 380 x 335 x 465 mm for the X11 station without its base, 390 x 423 x 499 mm for the Dreame X60 Max base and 431 x 402 x 461 mm for the Freo 20's.

The eufy 11S MAX needs only a charging base and never makes the burst, though its manual describes no way to silence its error beeps.

Is the quietest robot vacuum good for pet hair?

No, not in quiet mode: by the makers' own advice, pet hair calls for a robot vacuum's stronger, louder suction settings. Pet owners face a trade the makers describe themselves. eufy tells pet owners to set the suction to Turbo or Max, and to raise the self-empty frequency to every 15 minutes. That is the loudest robot setting and more dock bursts.

Narwal's own guide says quiet mode reduces suction significantly and cleans less effectively on pet hair.

So treat the quiet figure as the robot's weekday, working-from-home sound, and plan the heavy cleaning for when the house is empty. Dreame gives the same advice: run Max suction and auto-empty while you are out, and keep Quiet mode for the hours you are home.

On tangling, every claim is a maker claim. Some name a certifier. Roborock says the Q7's brushes are certified by TUV Rheinland for anti-entanglement. Dreame says the D20 Plus is certified by TUV SUD for hair detangling.

Narwal claims 0% tangling on both brushes of the Freo 20, and an image on its page shows an SGS "Performance Tested" mark for anti-hair entanglement. Ecovacs names nobody. Tapo and the eufy 11S MAX make no anti-tangle claim at all.

On pet accidents, only camera-equipped robots claim to avoid them: the iRobot 715, the Narwal Freo 20 and the Roborock Qrevo Curv 2 Flow. iRobot used to back this with a promise to replace the robot.

The page for that promise still names only the older Roomba j7+, so we cannot tell you it applies to anything sold today. The quietest budget robots here navigate by LiDAR and make no such claim.

How loud is a robot vacuum on its pet hair settings?

Only one maker we read prints a figure for the strong settings a fur home really runs: Dreame lists the X60 Max at 66 dB in Turbo and 70 dB at Max. If you want to know what pet-hair cleaning sounds like before you buy, that is the pick that tells you.

Tapo prints no figure for the RV30 Max Plus at its three other suction levels, makes no anti-tangle claim and has no camera, so its 52 dB Quiet Mode suits a short-haired cat on hard floors better than a heavy shedder. It does list a Child & Pet Lock, so a paw on the button cannot start a clean.

Fur also brings the dock on more often, because the bin fills faster. The Deebot X11 is the one station with a published quieter setting, 73.3 dBA against 78.9 dBA in standard, and it is bagless, which Ecovacs says saves up to $100 a year on dust bags.

Narwal shows how much faster fur fills a bag: it rates the Flow 2's at 120 days in a home without pets and 90 days with them.

For accidents and long hair, the Narwal Freo 20 pairs its waste avoidance claim with Pet Care Mode 2.0, which Narwal says "automatically boosts suction for fur and kibble" in pet zones, and it gives no figure for that louder setting.

Roborock says the Saros 10R's main brush is certified by SGS with a 0% hair entanglement rate. The Ecovacs T80's claim that it "avoids moving objects like pets instantly" is about not bumping the dog, and we found no pet waste claim for it.

None of the makers we read publishes any testing of how animals react to the noise. Narwal's guide suggests a daily 11:00 AM clean in Quiet or Standard for a pet household, saying it "avoids startling pets", which is advice rather than evidence.

How do you make a robot vacuum quieter?

Move the loud work to when you are out, and keep the brushes and the dock's airway clean.

Schedule the loud work

Set strong suction and dock emptying for when you are out, and use do-not-disturb hours so the dock stays silent at night.

Turn off carpet boost if it bothers you. eufy says you can, and Roborock makes it a setting in its app.

Clean the brushes. iRobot says to clean them at least once a week, and that the fix for grinding or rattling is to clean the brushes, including any debris at both ends. Roborock's manual lists jammed brushes and wheels as the cause of noise during cleaning.

Check the dock's airway. Roborock's manual says an unusual noise when emptying means the filter, air duct, dustbin or dust bag is blocked.

Give a new robot time. iRobot says a new Roomba can be noisier at first, and that the noise diminishes as the robot is used.

How much should you spend on a quiet robot vacuum?

Under $350 at list price buys the two quietest published figures in this guide, the Tapo and the eufy 11S MAX. Neither is a good match for a heavy shedder.

Around $400 to $550 buys an Ecovacs with a full mopping and self-emptying station and a standard-mode figure.

Around $1,100 buys the Narwal Freo 20 or the Ecovacs X11: a quiet-mode figure with pet features, or full disclosure including the dock.

Around $1,700 buys the Dreame X60 Max, with every mode published and a three-year warranty.

When we checked, most of these carried discounts at the makers' own stores, some of them steep, so treat list prices as a ceiling.

Which robot vacuum buying mistakes cost you quiet?

The common robot vacuum buying mistakes are comparing figures from different modes, forgetting the dock, buying on the quiet figure for a pet home, and trusting bare tangling or suction claims.

Comparing a quiet-mode figure with a standard-mode figure

Check which mode each number describes.

Forgetting the dock

Where both figures are published, the dock is 5 to 17 decibels above the robot, and most makers do not mention it.

Buying on the quiet figure for a home with pets

Makers tell pet owners to use the loud modes.

Trusting a bare "0% tangling" claim

Look for a named certifier, and even then nobody says how much hair was tested.

Comparing suction in pascals across brands

Only Roborock names a test method for its figure. The others cite their own labs or nothing, and iRobot publishes no figure.

Tapo's 55 dB and the Ecovacs X11's 61.8 dBA are both standard-mode figures, yet one is plain dB and the other A-weighted, with no distance behind either, so a plain dB rating and an A-weighted one cannot be ranked against each other.

Judge the dock's 70 to 83 alongside the robot's 52 to 65, against the room you will be in when they run; room-by-room noise targets help with that call.

If a robot you already own has started to grind or rattle, the brush and dock airway checks above are the makers' own fixes for a noisy robot, also covered in why your appliance got louder.

How the quietest robot vacuums compare

ProductNoiseDock noiseSuctionHair handlingBinPrice
Tapo RV30 Max Plus52 dB Quiet Mode, 55 dB standard (maker)Not published5,300 Pa max (maker)No anti-tangle claim300 ml bin, 3L dock bag$249.99
eufy RoboVac 11S MAX (T2126)55dB (maker, mode not stated)No dock2,000 Pa max (maker)No anti-tangle claimOnboard bin only, emptied by hand$279.99 maker's list price
Narwal Freo 2056.9 dB(A), Quiet Mode, maker labNot published31,000 Pa (maker lab)"0% hair tangling" on both brushes (maker claim)2.4 L dock bag$1,099.99
Ecovacs DEEBOT X11 OmniCyclone61.8 dBA sweeping, standard mode (maker)73.3 dBA quiet, 78.9 dBA standard (maker)19,500 Pa max (maker)ZeroTangle 3.0 (maker claim)0.22 L bin, bagless station$1,099.99
Dreame X60 Max Ultra Complete59 / 60 / 66 / 70 dB, Quiet to Max (maker blog)Not published for this model35,000 Pa max (maker lab)Detangling DuoBrush 2.0 (maker claim)235 ml bin, 3.2L dock bag$1,699.99
Ecovacs DEEBOT T50 PRO OMNI63 dBA sweeping, standard mode (maker)Not published for this model15,000 Pa max (maker)ZeroTangle 2.0 (maker claim)0.26 L bin, 3L dock bag$399.99
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Vac (W255020)No figure publishedNot publishedNo Pa figure. "4X" vs Roomba 105Dual rubber brushes (maker claim)Dock bag, "90 days". Litres not stated$699.97

Prices as of Nov 5. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Frequently asked questions

How loud is a robot vacuum?

On the makers' published figures, from 52 dB for the Tapo RV30 Max Plus in Quiet Mode to 70 dB for the Dreame X60 Max at full power. Standard modes fall between 55 and 65. No maker states the distance its figure was measured at, so use them to compare robots, not to predict your living room.

What is the quietest robot vacuum for an apartment?

By quiet-mode figures in plain dB, the Tapo RV30 Max Plus, at 52 dB in Quiet Mode, and its empty-only dock, at 228 x 164 x 330 mm, is the smallest self-empty base whose size we found. Through a shared wall the emptying burst counts for more than the robot, and among the robots in this guide only Roborock and Ecovacs print it: 70 dB for less than a minute on the Qrevo Curv 2 Flow, and 73.3 dBA in the Deebot X11's quiet dock setting. One is dB and the other dBA, so we rank neither above the other.

What is the quietest robot vacuum for pets?

The lowest quiet-mode figure in plain dB is the Tapo RV30 Max Plus at 52 dB, but makers tell pet owners to use the strong modes, and only Dreame prints those: 66 dB in Turbo and 70 dB at Max on the X60 Max. Our pick for pet hair is the Narwal Freo 20, which states 56.9 dB(A) in Quiet Mode and claims pet waste avoidance plus 0% tangling on both of its brushes.

What should a light sleeper check before buying a robot vacuum?

Check the dock before the robot: the self-empty burst is the sound that wakes people, and only a do-not-disturb setting holds it overnight. Ecovacs lists dust collection at 73.3 to 83 dBA across its range and Roborock puts its dock at 70 dB for under a minute, against 52 to 65 dB for the robots themselves in everyday modes. Roborock's default do-not-disturb window runs 22:00 to 08:00 and blocks auto-emptying, and some Ecovacs stations add a quiet dock setting about 5 dBA lower.

Why is the self-empty dock so loud?

The dock pulls the contents of the robot's bin into a bag with a short, strong burst of suction. Ecovacs lists 73.3 to 83 dBA for dust collection across its range, and Roborock says its dock reaches 70 dB for less than a minute. Dreame's own site says auto-empty stations are undeniably loud. Most makers publish no dock figure.

Can I stop the dock emptying at night?

On many robots, yes. Roborock's manual says the robot will not auto-empty after returning to the dock in do-not-disturb mode, which runs from 22:00 to 08:00 by default. Some Ecovacs stations have a quiet dock setting that the maker lists about 5 dBA lower. Check for a do-not-disturb setting before you buy.

Does quiet mode clean pet hair properly?

The makers suggest not. eufy tells pet owners to set suction to Turbo or Max and to raise the self-empty frequency. Narwal's own guide says quiet mode reduces suction significantly and cleans less effectively on carpets or pet hair. The practical answer is to run the strong modes while you are out, and quiet mode when you are home.

Does quiet mode save battery?

Yes, on the one maker that publishes both. Ecovacs lists the T80 OMNI at 297 minutes of sweeping on a hard floor in silent mode, against 223 minutes in standard mode.

Is mopping quieter than vacuuming?

Not when the robot sweeps and mops together, going by the one maker that prints both: Ecovacs lists the Deebot X11 at 61.8 dBA sweeping and 62.9 dBA sweeping and mopping, both in standard mode. Roborock prints a lower figure for mopping alone, in an image on the Q7 M5 page: 60dB (Mop Only) against 65dB (Balanced). A mopping station then washes the pads, which Ecovacs lists at 54.9 to 61.5 dBA on the X11.

Why has my robot vacuum got louder than when it was new?

Usually hair or debris. iRobot's support pages say to clean the brushes at least once a week, and to check that the brush bearings have not seized. Roborock's manual says noise during cleaning can mean the main brush, side brush or wheels are jammed. Dreame adds worn caster wheels and clogged filters to the list.

Are 0% hair tangle claims certified?

Some are. Roborock says the Q7's brushes are certified by TUV Rheinland for anti-entanglement, and Dreame says the D20 Plus is certified by TUV SUD for hair detangling. Narwal's Freo 20 page shows an SGS "Performance Tested" mark for anti-hair entanglement, and Ecovacs names no certifier. No maker we read says how much hair was used in the test.

Will a robot vacuum avoid pet accidents?

Only models with a camera claim to. iRobot says the Roomba Max 715 identifies pet waste, Narwal says the Freo 20 can detect and navigate around it, and Roborock says its Qrevo Curv 2 Flow avoids "pet surprises". iRobot once backed the claim with a replacement promise, but that page still names only the older Roomba j7+. Budget robots with LiDAR alone make no such claim.

The bottom line

The robot is not the loud part. Only two makers publish a figure for the self-empty dock, and those figures run from 70 to 83 decibels, against 52 to 65 for the robots in their everyday modes. If a robot vacuum has ever startled you, it was probably the dock.

For pet owners there is an awkward truth in the makers' own advice. The quiet figures describe quiet mode, and eufy tells pet owners to run Turbo or Max and empty every 15 minutes. So buy for the quiet figure if you like, and then schedule the loud work for when you are out. If it were our money, we would care more about a do-not-disturb setting that stops the dock than about two decibels on the robot. In a flat that goes double, since the burst is the sound a neighbor through the wall is most likely to hear.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Roborock Qrevo Curv 2 Flow Roller Mop Robot Vacuum With Multifunctional Dock

    Roborock is candid about the dock: emptying raises the noise to 70 dB, and it lasts less than a minute. The robot itself is listed at 62 to 65 dB in vacuum and mop mode.

    See it at Amazon
  • Narwal Flow 2 Robot Vacuum & Mop

    Narwal says it operates under 56.5 dB without naming a mode, and it costs more than the Freo 20, which states its mode and conditions.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Roborock Saros 10R

    Headlines a "0% Hair Tangling Rate", and its manual says the robot will not auto-empty during do-not-disturb hours. Its only noise figure sits in a page image: 55dB or less, with the robot mopping only in quiet mode inside a semi-anechoic chamber, and nothing for vacuuming.

    See it at Amazon
  • Roborock Q7 M5 Robot Vacuum and Mop with 10,000 Pa Power Suction

    A cheap robot whose brushes Roborock says are certified by TUV Rheinland for anti-entanglement. A page image gives 65dB (Balanced) and 60dB (Mop Only), mode labels no other maker here uses.

    See it at Amazon
  • Dreame D20 Plus Robot Vacuum

    A budget robot with a 5L dock bag, a three-year warranty and a hair detangling claim certified by TUV SUD. No noise figure is published.

    See it at Amazon
  • ECOVACS DEEBOT T80 OMNI Robot Vacuum & Mop with AI

    Lists 63.4 dBA for the robot and 78.3 dBA for the dock. It also shows what quiet mode buys in runtime: 297 minutes against 223 in standard.

    See it at Amazon
  • eufy X10 Pro Omni

    No noise figure in the page text or manual. eufy tells pet owners to use Turbo or Max and to self-empty every 15 minutes, which is the loudest way to run it.

    See it at Amazon

How we reviewed this article

Every statement here comes from the 7 maker documents, standards and agency pages listed under Sources, quoted where the wording matters. We did not measure, inspect or repair anything ourselves. Each substantive revision is dated below. How we work

  1. Current version

    Reviewed against the cited sources and updated.

  2. First published, written by Stanley Alu.

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides