QuietSpecs

The quietest air purifiers for a bedroom

September 22, 2026 · 6 picks · 7 min read

Blue Pure 411i+ Max

The quietest air purifiers for a bedroom

By Stanley Alu · showing #1 Quietest on low, with both ends labelled

The short answer

  • An air purifier's airflow rating is measured at its loudest speed, and its quiet figure at its slowest.
  • See who publishes both, and how to size for quiet.

Quietest on low, with both ends labelled

Blue Pure 411i+ Max

Price

$169.99 · maker's list price · checked Sep 22
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Why QuietSpecs

QuietSpecs ranks home appliances by how loud they really are, using figures from manufacturers and certification bodies.

Ranked on noise

Every guide is ordered by the noise figure that matters in use, not the one on the box.

Maker-verified specs

Each figure comes from the manufacturer or a certification body, and we say which.

Downsides included

Every pick lists what is wrong with it, and who should skip it.

Commissions don't rank

We may earn when you buy through our links. It never changes the order.

Our Picks

Blue Pure 411i+ Max

#1 · Quietest on low, with both ends labelled

Blue Pure 411i+ Max

Blueair

Blueair labels both of its figures: 19 dB on the low setting and 46 dB on high. Some makers print a bare range and leave you to guess which end is which. It has a night setting, a smoke CADR of 167, and Blueair rates it for 259 sq ft at the standard 4.8 air changes an hour.

What we like

  • Both ends labelled: 19 dB low, 46 dB high
  • Night setting and auto mode
  • Room size quoted at 4.8 air changes an hour, the AHAM basis

What to know

  • No distance or test standard is stated
  • Blueair names this filter three slightly different ways, so check the fit
  • One-year warranty, three years if you register it

$169.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
19 dB low, 46 dB high (maker)
CADR (smoke)
167 cfm (maker)
Room size (maker)
259 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Night mode
Night setting
Filter cost
$29.99, up to 1 year
Warranty
1 year, 3 with registration
Buy it if
A bedroom of up to about 250 sq ft
Skip it if
Your bedroom is large, where the 311i Max can run on a lower speed
BreatheSmart 35i

#2 · Quietest at full speed, with airflow at every speed

BreatheSmart 35i

Alen

Alen lists 23 dB at the lowest speed and 42 dB at the highest, the lowest full-speed figure among our picks. It also publishes the airflow at each of its four speeds, from 66 CFM up to 190. Most makers do not publish that number. One caution: ENERGY STAR lists its smoke CADR at 150, lower than Alen's own 190.

What we like

  • 42 dB at full speed, the lowest top-speed figure among our picks
  • Airflow published for every speed: 66, 98, 135 and 190 CFM
  • Lights dim in a dark room, and it draws as little as 0.9 W

What to know

  • ENERGY STAR lists smoke CADR 150, against Alen's 190 CFM
  • Alen's headline room sizes use 1 and 2 air changes an hour
  • The lifetime guarantee requires registration and a filter subscription

$289.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
23 dB lowest, 42 dB highest (maker)
CADR (smoke)
150 (ENERGY STAR); maker 190 CFM
Room size (maker)
233 sq ft (ENERGY STAR listing)
Night mode
Lights dim in a dark room
Filter cost
$54, 9 to 12 months
Warranty
Lifetime, with registration and subscription
Buy it if
Someone who runs a purifier at full speed during the day and low at night
Skip it if
You want the lowest price
MA-25 Air Purifier

#3 · A figure for every speed

MA-25 Air Purifier

Medify Air

Medify is the only maker here that publishes noise at every speed: 19.8 dBA, 37 and 49.3. It is AHAM Verifide for 172 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, so it is a small-room unit, whatever its headline 413 sq ft suggests. That larger figure assumes 2 air changes an hour.

What we like

  • Every speed published: 19.8 / 37 / 49.3 dBA
  • AHAM Verifide room size stated, at 4.8 air changes an hour
  • Sleep mode, a dimmer and a limited lifetime warranty on registered units

What to know

  • Filters last 3 to 4 months, the shortest interval here
  • Suits a small room: 172 sq ft at the standard basis
  • The headline 413 sq ft uses a much lower air change rate

$148.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
19.8 / 37 / 49.3 dBA, speeds 1 to 3 (maker)
CADR (smoke)
110 CFM (maker, at highest speed)
Room size (maker)
172 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Night mode
Sleep mode and dimmer
Filter cost
$49.99, 3 to 4 months
Warranty
Limited lifetime, registered units
Buy it if
A small bedroom where you want to know every setting
Skip it if
You want low running costs
Blue Pure 311i Max

#4 · Best for a large bedroom

Blue Pure 311i Max

Blueair

This is the size-up option. Blueair rates it for 439 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, with a smoke CADR of 283, and lists 23 dB on low and 50 dB on high. In an ordinary bedroom, a unit this size has room to run on a lower speed.

What we like

  • Smoke CADR 283, the most of our picks
  • Both ends labelled in the FAQ: 23 dB low, 50 dB high
  • Night setting and auto mode

What to know

  • Blueair does not publish the airflow at its low speed
  • Filter is $44.99 and lasts up to 9 months
  • More machine than a small room needs

$229.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
23 dB low, 50 dB high (maker)
CADR (smoke)
283 cfm (maker)
Room size (maker)
439 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Night mode
Night setting
Filter cost
$44.99, up to 9 months
Warranty
1 year, 3 with registration
Buy it if
A large bedroom, or a bedroom you want to keep on low
Skip it if
Your room is under 200 sq ft
Airmega 100

#5 · Best budget pick with a sleep mode

Airmega 100

Coway

Coway prints a range, 20 to 48 dB(A), without saying which speed is which. Its manual describes a sleep mode that lowers the fan and dims the buttons to half brightness. With a smoke CADR of 108, AHAM's rule of thumb puts it at a room of about 160 sq ft. Coway's own 405 sq ft figure assumes 2 air changes an hour.

What we like

  • Published range of 20 to 48 dB(A)
  • Sleep mode lowers the fan and dims the buttons, per the manual
  • Low price, a $39.99 yearly filter and a two-year warranty on the motor

What to know

  • Coway does not label which speed each end describes
  • A small-room unit: smoke CADR 108
  • Room size quoted only at 1 and 2 air changes an hour

$129.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
20 to 48 dB(A), ends not labelled (maker)
CADR (smoke)
108 (maker)
Room size (maker)
405 sq ft at 2 air changes an hour
Night mode
Sleep mode, buttons dim to 50%
Filter cost
$39.99 a year
Warranty
2 years motor and electronics, 1 year parts
Buy it if
A small bedroom on a budget
Skip it if
Your room is larger than about 160 sq ft
STARKVIND Air purifier, white/smart

#6 · Most complete low-speed data

STARKVIND Air purifier, white/smart

IKEA

IKEA publishes noise, airflow and power at both ends of the fan range: 24 dB and 29.4 CFM at the lowest speed, 51 dB and 141 CFM at the highest, with both filters fitted. No other maker shows so plainly what you give up for quiet. The catch is how much: at its lowest speed it moves about a fifth of its top airflow.

What we like

  • Noise, airflow and watts published at both ends of the range
  • AHAM Verifide smoke CADR of 123, per IKEA
  • Draws about 2 W at its lowest speed, and filters cost $25

What to know

  • Only 29.4 CFM at its quietest setting
  • Turning the light off needs the IKEA app and hub
  • No warranty term on the US product page

$199.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
24 dB lowest, 51 dB highest, both filters (maker)
CADR (smoke)
123 (AHAM Verifide, per IKEA)
Room size (maker)
Takes longer in rooms over 215 sq ft
Night mode
No sleep mode listed; light off via app
Filter cost
$25, within 6 months
Warranty
Not stated on the product page
Buy it if
A buyer who wants to see the trade-off in numbers
Skip it if
You want a unit that stays quiet while moving a lot of air

Full Specifications

Noise

Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max
19 dB low, 46 dB high (maker)
Alen BreatheSmart 35i
23 dB lowest, 42 dB highest (maker)
Medify Air MA-25
19.8 / 37 / 49.3 dBA, speeds 1 to 3 (maker)
Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max
23 dB low, 50 dB high (maker)
Coway Airmega 100
20 to 48 dB(A), ends not labelled (maker)
IKEA 004.619.49
24 dB lowest, 51 dB highest, both filters (maker)

CADR (smoke)

Alen BreatheSmart 35i
150 (ENERGY STAR); maker 190 CFM
Medify Air MA-25
110 CFM (maker, at highest speed)
IKEA 004.619.49
123 (AHAM Verifide, per IKEA)

Room size (maker)

Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max
259 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Alen BreatheSmart 35i
233 sq ft (ENERGY STAR listing)
Medify Air MA-25
172 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max
439 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Coway Airmega 100
405 sq ft at 2 air changes an hour
IKEA 004.619.49
Takes longer in rooms over 215 sq ft

Night mode

Alen BreatheSmart 35i
Lights dim in a dark room
Medify Air MA-25
Sleep mode and dimmer
Coway Airmega 100
Sleep mode, buttons dim to 50%
IKEA 004.619.49
No sleep mode listed; light off via app

Filter cost

Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max
$29.99, up to 1 year
Alen BreatheSmart 35i
$54, 9 to 12 months
Medify Air MA-25
$49.99, 3 to 4 months
Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max
$44.99, up to 9 months
Coway Airmega 100
$39.99 a year
IKEA 004.619.49
$25, within 6 months

Warranty

Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max
1 year, 3 with registration
Alen BreatheSmart 35i
Lifetime, with registration and subscription
Medify Air MA-25
Limited lifetime, registered units
Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max
1 year, 3 with registration
Coway Airmega 100
2 years motor and electronics, 1 year parts
IKEA 004.619.49
Not stated on the product page

Price

Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max
$169.99 (maker's list price)
Alen BreatheSmart 35i
$289.00 (maker's list price)
Medify Air MA-25
$148.99 (maker's list price)
Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max
$229.99 (maker's list price)
Coway Airmega 100
$129.99 (maker's list price)
IKEA 004.619.49
$199.99 (maker's list price)

Buying Guide

An air purifier in a bedroom runs all night, a few feet from the bed. The quietest air purifier is worth finding, and the box will seem to help: nearly every maker prints a low decibel figure. What the box does not say is that the low figure and the airflow rating describe opposite ends of the machine.

We read the product pages, spec sheets and manuals for fourteen bedroom-sized purifiers from eight brands, and checked them against the EPA, AHAM and ENERGY STAR. This guide covers noise and airflow only. We make no claims about health, and we have left out the health claims on the makers' pages.

Our 6 picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The number on the box describes the loudest speed

CADR, the clean air delivery rate, is the standard measure of how much filtered air a purifier delivers. AHAM, which runs the Verifide certification program, says the higher the CADR, the faster the unit filters the air.

The EPA adds the detail that matters here: the rating is typically measured at the air cleaner's highest speed. Its technical summary goes further. Ratings are determined at maximum airflow, and therefore typically at maximum noise. At lower settings, the EPA says, the CADR may not be known, and it could be considerably lower than the advertised figure.

The low decibel figure, meanwhile, describes the slowest speed. So the two headline numbers never describe the same moment.

Three makers publish enough to show the gap:

  • IKEA STARKVIND: 29.4 CFM at 24 dB on its lowest speed, and 141 CFM at 51 dB on its highest, with both filters.
  • Alen BreatheSmart 35i: 66 CFM at speed 1, rising to 190 CFM on Turbo.
  • Rabbit Air MinusA2: 58 to 218 CFM across its range.

What air purifier makers publish about noise

Every speed. Medify alone: 19.8, 37 and 49.3 dBA for the MA-25.

Both ends, labelled. Blueair (19 dB low and 46 high for the 411i+ Max), Alen (lowest and highest speed), IKEA (lowest and highest fan speed) and Rabbit Air.

A range, ends not labelled. Coway (20 to 48 dB(A) for the Airmega 100) and Levoit.

The slowest speed only. Winix, at 23.5dB for the 5510.

Nothing on the product page. Honeywell, for the model we read.

No maker states a measuring distance or names a test standard for its figure. AHAM says a separate standard exists for measuring the sound of room air cleaners, but no maker page we read cites it. The EPA's own summary says noise is seldom reported in a standardized way, which makes devices hard to compare. So treat a gap of a decibel or two between brands as unknown.

Two makers contradict themselves. Blueair's 511 page lists 24 to 49 dB in its spec table and 22 to 44 in its FAQ. Levoit's Core 400S page says 22 dB in one place and 24 in another. We quote both and do not rank either on the lower figure.

For scale, the EPA says a noise rating around 50 decibels is roughly the operating noise of a modern refrigerator. Most top speeds here are close to that.

Size up, and run it on low

This is the practical answer to the trade-off, and the official sources support it.

Start with the room. AHAM's rule of thumb is that the smoke CADR should be at least two-thirds of the room's area. A 10 by 12 foot room is 120 sq ft, so it wants a smoke CADR of at least 80. The EPA's sizing chart, for an 8-foot ceiling, gives 130 CFM for 200 sq ft and 195 for 300.

Then go bigger. The EPA says an air cleaner filters less air at a lower speed. AHAM says a higher CADR simply cleans the air more often and faster. So a unit rated well above your room can run on a quieter setting and still move a useful amount of air. The Blueair 311i Max, rated for 439 sq ft, is our size-up pick.

Compare room sizes on the same basis. AHAM's suggested room sizes assume 4.8 air changes per hour. Makers often headline a lower rate, which gives a bigger number. Medify's headline 413 sq ft is at 2 air changes an hour; at 4.8 it is 172 sq ft. Alen's 700 sq ft for the 35i is also at 2; ENERGY STAR lists that model at 233 sq ft. Levoit prints both, which is the honest way to do it.

Sleep modes, auto modes and lights

A purifier's own lights and settings can matter as much as its fan.

  • Sleep modes. Levoit's manual says its sleep mode uses a fan speed lower than low. Coway's manual says the Airmega 100's sleep mode lowers the fan and limits the buttons to half brightness.
  • Automatic dimming. The Winix 5510 enters sleep mode when the room goes dark. Rabbit Air and Alen dim their lights in a dark room.
  • Auto mode can get loud. Auto modes raise the fan when the sensor detects particles, as Rabbit Air describes. For a steady quiet level at night, choose a sleep mode or a fixed low speed.
  • Lights off. Blueair and Levoit have night or display-off settings. IKEA's STARKVIND needs its app and a hub to switch the light off.

Keeping it quiet

Give it space. Levoit asks for 15 inches of clearance on all sides and a flat, stable surface. Coway asks for 20 cm from walls.

Remove the packaging. Levoit and Honeywell both tell owners to take the plastic wrap off a new filter.

Clean the pre-filter. Coway says every 2 to 4 weeks for the Mighty. Rabbit Air says every 3 months or as needed. Levoit says a pre-filter clogged with hair or lint blocks airflow.

Replace the filter when it is due. Levoit's manual lists increased noise as one of the signs.

What it costs to run

Filters are the ongoing cost, and the makers' own prices and intervals vary widely:

  • About $25 to $30 a filter: the IKEA STARKVIND ($25, replaced within 6 months) and the Blueair 411i+ Max ($29.99, up to a year).
  • About $40 to $55: the Coway Airmega 100 ($39.99 a year), the Blueair 311i Max ($44.99, up to 9 months) and the Alen 35i ($54, 9 to 12 months).
  • The Medify MA-25 costs $49.99 a set but lasts 3 to 4 months, which makes it the most expensive to run here on its maker's interval.

Power is small at low speed where makers publish it: about 2 W for the IKEA at its lowest setting, and as little as 0.9 W for the Alen 35i.

What ENERGY STAR does not tell you

We searched the ENERGY STAR room air cleaner specification for noise, sound and decibel, and found none of them. It sets energy efficiency and an ozone limit. An ENERGY STAR listing is still useful here, because it gives each model's CADR and room size on one basis. For the Alen 35i, that listing shows a smoke CADR of 150, where Alen's page says 190 CFM.

Mistakes buyers make

Pairing the quiet figure with the airflow figure. They describe opposite ends of the machine.

Trusting a headline room size. Check the air change rate behind it, and prefer 4.8.

Buying exactly the size of the room. The unit will spend its life on the loud settings.

Leaving it on auto overnight. The fan rises whenever the sensor wakes it.

Reading a bare range as a quiet unit. Coway and Levoit do not say which speed each end of their ranges describes.

New to the units? Read dBA explained. To decide what figure to aim for, see how quiet is quiet enough, room by room. If a product you already own has become noisy, see why your appliance got louder.

How we chose

We read the manufacturer's product page for every purifier, and the spec sheet or manual wherever one is published. We recorded each noise figure in the maker's own words, with the speed each end describes when the maker says. We recorded CADR with its source, preferring AHAM Verifide or ENERGY STAR figures where they exist, and room sizes with the air change rate behind them. We read the EPA's guidance, AHAM's sizing rule and ENERGY STAR's criteria.

We did not measure anything ourselves. We ranked purifiers that label both ends of their noise range, or publish every speed, above those that print a bare range, and we gave credit to makers that publish airflow at low speed. This guide covers noise and airflow only. We make no claims about health, and we have left the makers' health claims out.

Common questions

What is the quietest air purifier?

On its lowest setting, the Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max at 19 dB and the Medify MA-25 at 19.8 dBA carry the lowest published figures. At full speed, Alen lists its BreatheSmart 25i at 40 dB and the larger 35i at 42. No maker states a measuring distance, so treat a difference of a decibel or two as a tie.

Is the decibel figure measured at the same speed as the CADR?

No. The EPA says the CADR rating is typically measured at the air cleaner's highest speed. The low decibel figure describes the slowest speed. The two numbers on the box describe opposite ends of the machine.

How much airflow do I lose on the quiet setting?

Most makers do not say. Three do. IKEA lists 29.4 CFM at the lowest speed against 141 at the highest for the STARKVIND. Alen lists 66 CFM at speed 1 against 190 on Turbo for the 35i. Rabbit Air lists 58 to 218 CFM for the MinusA2.

What size air purifier do I need for a bedroom?

AHAM's rule of thumb is that the smoke CADR should be at least two-thirds of the room's area, so a 10 by 12 foot room of 120 sq ft wants a smoke CADR of at least 80. The EPA's chart gives 130 CFM for 200 sq ft, for an 8-foot ceiling. If you want the unit to run quietly, buy above that.

Should I buy a bigger air purifier and run it on low?

The official sources support the reasoning. The EPA says an air cleaner filters less air at a lower speed, and AHAM says a higher CADR simply cleans the air more often and faster. A larger unit on low can move a useful amount of air at a lower setting than a small unit at full speed.

Why do room size claims differ so much between brands?

They assume different air changes per hour. AHAM's suggested room sizes assume 4.8 air changes an hour. Medify's headline 413 sq ft assumes 2, and its 4.8 figure is 172 sq ft. Compare room sizes at 4.8, or use the smoke CADR.

Does ENERGY STAR mean an air purifier is quiet?

No. We searched the ENERGY STAR room air cleaner specification for noise, sound and decibel and found none. It covers energy efficiency and an ozone limit.

Why did my air purifier get louder?

Levoit's manual lists a clogged pre-filter, a filter that needs replacing, plastic packaging left on a new filter and a surface that is not hard, flat and level. It names increased noise as a sign that the filter is due. Auto modes also raise the fan when the sensor detects particles, so a fixed low speed is quieter at night.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • MinusA2 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

    A wall-mountable premium unit with 25.6 to 51.3 dBA, an airflow range of 58 to 218 CFM, a light sensor that dims at night and a five-year warranty. At about $600 it costs several times our picks.

    See it at Amazon
  • 5510 4-Stage WiFi True HEPA Air Purifier with AOC Carbon Filter & PlasmaWave Technology

    The highest CADR here, 253 for smoke, and it drops into sleep mode automatically when the room goes dark. Winix publishes only its slowest speed, 23.5dB.

    See it at Amazon
  • Core 400S-P Smart Air Purifier

    Strong ENERGY STAR data and a sleep speed below low, but its own page says 22 dB in one place and 24 in another.

    See it at Amazon
  • Blue Pure 511

    The cheapest Blueair, but its page gives two sets of figures: 24 to 49 dB in the spec table and 22 to 44 in the FAQ.

    See it at Amazon
  • Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH

    A popular larger unit whose page says 24 to 53 dB(A) while Coway's own sheet says 24.4 to 55.1.

    See it at Amazon
  • Core 300-P Air Purifier

    Inexpensive, but its top figure of 54.5dB is the loudest here, and Levoit does not say whether its 143 CFM is for smoke, dust or pollen.

    See it at Amazon
  • BreatheSmart 25i

    The smaller Alen lists 20 to 40 dB and publishes airflow at every speed, but ENERGY STAR lists it for 150 sq ft.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for all 13 products

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Connect with us

Get the week's real price drops

One email a week. Only deals we'd take ourselves. Unsubscribe in one click.

Related Guides