QuietSpecs

The quietest air purifier for smoke, at the speed that actually clears it

The quietest air purifier for smoke, at the speed that actually clears it

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For wildfire smoke the EPA says run a purifier on its highest speed, so the top noise figure matters.
  • We rank purifiers by the maker's figure at the speed behind its smoke CADR, and at the lowest speed, like with like, and say who states how much carbon is inside.

Best smoke data at every speed

MA-50 V3.0 Air Purifier

Noise 60.6 dBA, Speed 4, where smoke CADR is rated (maker)

$299.99 maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Best smoke data at every speed

    MA-50 V3.0 Air Purifier

    60.6 dBA, Speed 4, where smoke CADR is rated (maker)

  2. 2

    Quietest at full speed, dBA group

    BioGS 2.0 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

    48.6 dBA, highest speed (maker)

  3. 3

    Best budget pick for a small smoky room

    MA-25 Air Purifier

    49.3 dBA, Speed 3, where smoke CADR is rated (maker)

  4. 4

    Best for cigarette and cigar smoke

    A3 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

    51.0 dBA, highest speed (maker)

  5. 5

    Quietest at full speed, dB group

    Blue Pure 411i+ Max

    46 dB, high setting (maker)

  6. 6

    Best for a living room in wildfire season

    Blue Pure 211i Max

    53 dB, high fan speed (maker)

  7. 7

    Quietest lowest setting, dB(A) group

    Airmega Halo

    Top of range 52.13 decibels, setting not named (maker)

Our Picks

MA-50 V3.0 Air Purifier

#1 · Best smoke data at every speed

MA-50 V3.0 Air Purifier

Medify Air

Noise60.6 dBA, Speed 4, where smoke CADR is rated (maker)

The only pick whose maker prints both the noise and the clean air delivery rate at every speed. Medify says its smoke CADR of 352 CFM is measured "when operating at highest fan speed", and lists that speed, Speed 4, at 60.6 dBA. The useful number is one step down: Speed 3 delivers 159.5 CFM at 42.7 dBA. No other maker here lets you work out what a quieter speed still gives you against smoke.

Buy it ifA living room or large bedroom during a wildfire smoke event

Skip it ifYou want a purifier that is quiet at the speed the EPA tells you to run in smoke

What we like

  • Noise and CADR published for every speed: 42.7 dBA at 159.5 CFM on Speed 3
  • Medify ties its 352 CFM smoke CADR to the highest fan speed in writing
  • AHAM Verifide room size of 550 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour

What to know

  • 60.6 dBA at full speed, the loudest top figure among our picks
  • Speed 1, at 21.2 dBA, delivers only 19.0 CFM
  • Filters last 2,500 hours, 3 to 4 months, at $69.99
Lowest setting
21.2 dBA, Speed 1 (maker)
Smoke CADR
352 CFM (maker)
Wildfire room (AHAM)
352 sq ft
Gas and odor filter
Carbon pellets; weight not stated

$299.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon
BioGS 2.0 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

#2 · Quietest at full speed, dBA group

BioGS 2.0 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

Rabbit Air

Noise48.6 dBA, highest speed (maker)

Rabbit Air labels all five speeds, and the BioGS 2.0 tops out at "5 - 48.6 dBA (Highest speed)", the lowest full-speed figure among the A-weighted purifiers here. Its smoke CADR is 136, so it is a small-room unit for wildfire smoke. Its second stage is a granular activated carbon filter that Rabbit Air says captures tobacco smoke and cooking odors.

Buy it ifA bedroom of up to about 130 sq ft in wildfire season, or a smoker's den

Skip it ifYour room is larger than about 140 sq ft and you need to clear wildfire smoke

What we like

  • 48.6 dBA on the highest speed, 22.8 dBA on the lowest, every step labelled
  • Granular activated carbon stage, which Rabbit Air lists for tobacco smoke and cooking odors
  • Filters every 18 months, per the manual; five-year warranty

What to know

  • Smoke CADR of 136, enough for about 136 sq ft by AHAM's wildfire guidance
  • No light sensor, per Rabbit Air's comparison table
  • Rabbit Air does not state the carbon weight
Lowest setting
22.8 dBA, lowest speed (maker)
Smoke CADR
136 (maker)
Wildfire room (AHAM)
136 sq ft
Gas and odor filter
Granular activated carbon; weight not stated

$369.95

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon
MA-25 Air Purifier

#3 · Best budget pick for a small smoky room

MA-25 Air Purifier

Medify Air

Noise49.3 dBA, Speed 3, where smoke CADR is rated (maker)

Medify lists 19.8 dBA on Speed 1, 37 dBA on Speed 2 and 49.3 dBA on Speed 3, and says its smoke CADR of 110 CFM is measured at the highest fan speed. So you know exactly what full smoke clearing sounds like: 49.3 dBA, by Medify's figure. It is AHAM Verifide at 172 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, a small room.

Buy it ifA small bedroom or study, or a room next to a kitchen

Skip it ifYou need to clear wildfire smoke from a room bigger than about 110 sq ft

What we like

  • Every speed labelled, and the smoke CADR tied to Speed 3 in writing
  • 19.8 dBA on Speed 1, the second lowest A-weighted figure here
  • $148.99, the lowest price among our picks

What to know

  • Smoke CADR of 110, enough for about 110 sq ft by AHAM's wildfire guidance
  • Filters last 3 to 4 months at $49.99
  • Carbon pellets, but Medify does not state their weight
Lowest setting
19.8 dBA, Speed 1 (maker)
Smoke CADR
110 CFM (maker)
Wildfire room (AHAM)
110 sq ft
Gas and odor filter
Carbon pellets; weight not stated

$148.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
A3 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

#4 · Best for cigarette and cigar smoke

A3 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

Rabbit Air

Noise51.0 dBA, highest speed (maker)

Rabbit Air sells the A3 with an Odor Remover filter that it says "Traps and adsorbs odors from pets, cigarettes and cigars, cooking, and mildew", on top of a granular activated carbon stage. Its comparison table runs from "1 - 20.3 dBA" on the lowest speed to "5 - 51.0 dBA" on the highest, and its smoke CADR is 257. The catch is the $749.95 price.

Buy it ifA living room of about 250 sq ft with a smoker, or a home in wildfire country

Skip it ifYour budget is under $500

What we like

  • Smoke CADR of 257 at 51.0 dBA on the highest speed
  • Odor Remover or Toxin Absorber filter chosen at purchase, same price
  • Auto sensor sensitivity can be set to Low, so cooking does not send it to high

What to know

  • The dearest pick by far
  • Rabbit Air publishes airflow by speed, not CADR by speed
  • Carbon weight not stated
Lowest setting
20.3 dBA, lowest speed (maker)
Smoke CADR
257 (maker)
Wildfire room (AHAM)
257 sq ft
Gas and odor filter
Granular carbon plus Odor Remover option

$749.95

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon
Blue Pure 411i+ Max

#5 · Quietest at full speed, dB group

Blue Pure 411i+ Max

Blueair

Noise46 dB, high setting (maker)

Blueair labels both ends: "Low setting: 19 dB High setting: 46 dB". That 46 dB on high is the lowest top figure among the purifiers that print plain dB. With a smoke CADR of 167, it covers about a 167 sq ft room on AHAM's wildfire guidance. Blueair offers a SmokeBlock filter with "2x more activated carbon than our original filter", though not the weight of either.

Buy it ifA bedroom of about 150 sq ft during wildfire season

Skip it ifYou want the noise at every speed, not just the two ends

What we like

  • 46 dB on high, with both ends of the range labelled
  • 19 dB on low, the lowest dB figure here
  • SmokeBlock filter option with twice the carbon of the standard filter, per Blueair

What to know

  • No distance or test standard stated
  • Smoke CADR of 167, a small to medium room
  • Blueair does not say whether SmokeBlock changes the noise or airflow
Lowest setting
19 dB, low setting (maker)
Smoke CADR
167 cfm (maker)
Wildfire room (AHAM)
167 sq ft
Gas and odor filter
SmokeBlock option, 2x carbon; weight not stated

$169.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on blueair.com

Blue Pure 211i Max

#6 · Best for a living room in wildfire season

Blue Pure 211i Max

Blueair

Noise53 dB, high fan speed (maker)

For an open living area, smoke CADR is what you need most, and the 211i Max has 435, the highest among our picks. Blueair's FAQ says it runs "on low at 23 db and is no louder than 53 dB on high fan speed". On AHAM's wildfire guidance that covers a room of about 435 sq ft at full speed, and a smaller room can run it on a lower step.

Buy it ifA living room or open plan space of 300 to 450 sq ft

Skip it ifYour room is under 200 sq ft, where a smaller unit will do

What we like

  • Smoke CADR of 435, the highest of our picks
  • Both ends labelled: 23 dB low, 53 dB high
  • Four speeds plus Night, so more steps to back off on

What to know

  • 53 dB on high, louder than the 411i+ Max
  • Blueair publishes no noise or CADR for speeds 2 and 3
  • SmokeBlock filter costs $84.99
Lowest setting
23 dB, low (maker)
Smoke CADR
435 cfm (maker)
Wildfire room (AHAM)
435 sq ft
Gas and odor filter
SmokeBlock option, 2x carbon; weight not stated

$349.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
Airmega Halo

#7 · Quietest lowest setting, dB(A) group

Airmega Halo

Coway

NoiseTop of range 52.13 decibels, setting not named (maker)

Coway ties its low figure to a setting: in Sleep Mode the Halo "drops to an industry-leading 17.8 dB(A)". That is the lowest A-weighted figure here, on a unit with a smoke CADR of 253.3. The weakness for smoke is the other end: Coway prints "17.8~52.13 decibels" and does not say which setting the top figure describes.

Buy it ifA bedroom of about 250 sq ft after the smoke has thinned, on Sleep Mode overnight

Skip it ifYou want to know what full speed sounds like before you buy

What we like

  • 17.8 dB(A) in Sleep Mode, the lowest A-weighted figure here
  • Smoke CADR of 253.3; Coway lists wildfire smoke among its uses
  • Sound mute and four light settings, per the manual

What to know

  • The top figure, 52.13 decibels, is not tied to a setting
  • Coway gives a room size only at 1 air change an hour
  • Deodorization carbon filter weight not stated
Lowest setting
17.8 dB(A), Sleep Mode (maker)
Smoke CADR
253.3 (maker)
Wildfire room (AHAM)
253 sq ft
Gas and odor filter
Deodorization carbon; weight not stated

$229.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 3

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseLowest settingSmoke CADRWildfire room (AHAM)Gas and odor filterPrice
1.Medify Air MA-50-V3.060.6 dBA, Speed 4, where smoke CADR is rated (maker)21.2 dBA, Speed 1 (maker)352 CFM (maker)352 sq ftCarbon pellets; weight not stated$299.99 maker's list price
2.Rabbit Air SPA-550A48.6 dBA, highest speed (maker)22.8 dBA, lowest speed (maker)136 (maker)136 sq ftGranular activated carbon; weight not stated$369.95 maker's list price
3.Medify Air MA-2549.3 dBA, Speed 3, where smoke CADR is rated (maker)19.8 dBA, Speed 1 (maker)110 CFM (maker)110 sq ftCarbon pellets; weight not stated$148.99 maker's list price
4.Rabbit Air SPA-1000N51.0 dBA, highest speed (maker)20.3 dBA, lowest speed (maker)257 (maker)257 sq ftGranular carbon plus Odor Remover option$749.95 maker's list price
5.Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max46 dB, high setting (maker)19 dB, low setting (maker)167 cfm (maker)167 sq ftSmokeBlock option, 2x carbon; weight not stated$169.99 maker's list price
6.Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max53 dB, high fan speed (maker)23 dB, low (maker)435 cfm (maker)435 sq ftSmokeBlock option, 2x carbon; weight not stated$349.99 maker's list price
7.Coway AP-1526DTop of range 52.13 decibels, setting not named (maker)17.8 dB(A), Sleep Mode (maker)253.3 (maker)253 sq ftDeodorization carbon; weight not stated$229.99 maker's list price

Buying Guide

Smoke changes what quiet means for an air purifier. In a bedroom you buy on the low figure and run the slowest speed all night. During a wildfire, the EPA's advice is the opposite: run the purifier as often as possible on its highest fan speed. Smoke from a pan or a cigarette is shorter, but the auto mode on most purifiers answers it the same way, by going to high.

So this guide ranks purifiers on two figures. The first is the maker's noise figure at the speed that delivers its stated smoke CADR, which is the top speed. The second is the figure at the lowest speed, for the long tail after the smoke thins. It is the smoke follow up to our main guide to the quietest air purifiers, which explains why the airflow rating and the quiet figure on the box describe opposite ends of the machine. We cover noise, airflow and filters only, and we have left the makers' health claims out.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Why smoke is about the top speed

AHAM, which runs the Verifide program, says CADR comes "with separate scores for tobacco smoke, pollen and dust", and that the higher the number, the faster the unit filters the air. The EPA explains why the smoke score is the one to read: the three pollutants "are used as examples to represent small-, medium-, and large-sized particles", and to remove small particles you should "choose a portable air cleaner that has a high CADR for tobacco smoke, which represents the smallest particles."

The catch for quiet is where that rating is measured. The EPA says CADR "is typically measured at the air cleaner's highest speed," and its guide adds that an air cleaner "will filter less air if it is set at a lower speed." Medify is the only maker here that says so on its own page, in a footnote on every model: "Smoke CADR when operating at highest fan speed."

So for each purifier, the noise that goes with its smoke CADR is the top figure. That is a problem, because many makers print a range without saying which setting the top end describes. Coway's Airmega Halo is an example: it ties 17.8 dB(A) to Sleep Mode but gives no setting for 52.13. Winix prints only its slowest speed. We can quote those, but we cannot rank them at full speed.

Sizing for wildfire smoke, as AHAM states it

AHAM's everyday rule of thumb is that "the CADR of your air cleaner should be equal to at least two-thirds of the room's area." Its example is a 10 by 12 foot room of 120 sq ft, which should have "a smoke CADR of at least 80."

Wildfire smoke gets a stricter line. On the same page AHAM says: "For wild fire smoke, AHAM recommends a Smoke CADR equal to the size of the room in square feet." It adds that "If your ceilings are higher than 8 feet, an air cleaner rated for a larger room will be necessary."

That is why our spec tables carry a "Wildfire room (AHAM)" line: it is simply the smoke CADR read as square feet. Here is how our picks fall:

  • About 110 to 170 sq ft, a typical bedroom: Medify MA-25 (110), Rabbit Air BioGS 2.0 (136), Blueair 411i+ Max (167).
  • About 250 sq ft, a large bedroom or small living room: Coway Airmega Halo (253.3), Rabbit Air A3 (257).
  • About 350 to 450 sq ft, a living room: Medify MA-50 V3.0 (352), Blueair 211i Max (435).

The bedroom units in the first group are fine for everyday use in a bigger room. On AHAM's two-thirds rule, the BioGS 2.0 covers about 204 sq ft. For wildfire smoke, by AHAM's own guidance, they belong in a smaller room. Our large room air purifier guide works through bigger spaces in more depth.

Ranking at full speed, like with like

Makers print noise in two ways. Some write dBA or dB(A), which says the figure is A-weighted to match human hearing. Others write plain dB. We do not rank one against the other, and no maker here states a measuring distance, so treat a gap of a decibel or two as a tie. Our dBA explainer covers the difference.

A-weighted figures, at the highest speed, with the smoke CADR:

  1. Rabbit Air BioGS 2.0: 48.6 dBA, smoke CADR 136
  2. Medify MA-25: 49.3 dBA, smoke CADR 110
  3. Rabbit Air A3: 51.0 dBA, smoke CADR 257
  4. Rabbit Air MinusA2: 51.3 dBA, smoke CADR 180
  5. Medify MA-40: 53.3 dBA, smoke CADR 239
  6. GermGuardian AC4825: 55 dBa, smoke CADR 99
  7. Medify MA-50 V3.0: 60.6 dBA, smoke CADR 352

Plain dB figures, on the high setting, with the smoke CADR:

  1. Blueair Blue Pure 411i+ Max: 46 dB, smoke CADR 167
  2. Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max: 50 dB, smoke CADR 283
  3. Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max: 53 dB, smoke CADR 435
  4. IKEA STARKVIND: 53 dB with the particle filter only, AHAM tobacco smoke CADR 123

Read both lists against the CADR, not just the decibels. The quietest full-speed figures belong to small units that clear small rooms. The Rabbit Air A3 is the interesting one: 51.0 dBA is only 2.4 dBA above the BioGS 2.0 for nearly twice the smoke CADR. The Medify MA-50 V3.0 sits at the other end. It is the loudest at full speed, but it has the most published data below full speed, which matters more than it seems.

We left Alen out of the ranking. Alen prints labelled figures, such as "Lowest Speed - 23 dB | Highest Speed - 42 dB" for the 35i, but its own page gives a single CADR of 190 CFM without saying whether that is smoke, dust or pollen. ENERGY STAR lists the 35i at a smoke CADR of 150, which is not the maker's figure. Our Alen air purifier decibels page has the full Alen line.

The speed below full, where Medify shows its working

A purifier rated well above your room can run one speed down and still keep up. The trouble is that almost no maker tells you what that lower speed delivers. Medify does, on two models, and it changes the choice.

The MA-50 V3.0 lists "Speed 3: 159.5 CFM (271 m³/h)" of CADR, and 42.7 dBA at that speed. On AHAM's wildfire guidance applied to that lower figure, which is our own extension of the rule, Speed 3 would carry a room of about 160 sq ft. That is more than the MA-25 delivers at full speed (110 CFM at 49.3 dBA). So in a small bedroom during a smoke event, Medify's own figures say the bigger unit, one speed down, is both quieter and moves more clean air.

The MA-40 shows the limit of that idea. Its CADR by speed starts at 144.3 CFM on Speed 1, but at 40.5 dBA, and Medify lists Sleep Mode at the same 40.5 dBA. Nothing on it goes below 40.5 dBA.

Rabbit Air publishes airflow at every speed, from 64 to 286 CFM on the A3, with the noise beside it: 40.4 dBA at 200 CFM on Speed 4, for example. Airflow is not CADR, so we do not set those numbers against Medify's. Every other maker here prints the two ends and nothing between.

Ranking at the lowest speed

When the smoke has cleared, or for a nightly run after a cooking session, the low figure matters again. Two caveats apply: many low figures belong to a sleep mode slower than the first speed, and the airflow there can be tiny. The MA-50 V3.0's Speed 1 moves 19.0 CFM.

A-weighted, lowest setting: Coway Airmega Halo 17.8 dB(A) in Sleep Mode; Medify MA-25 19.8 dBA on Speed 1; Rabbit Air A3 20.3 dBA; Medify MA-50 V3.0 21.2 dBA on Speed 1; Rabbit Air BioGS 2.0 22.8 dBA; Rabbit Air MinusA2 25.6 dBA.

Plain dB, lowest setting: Blueair 411i+ Max 19 dB; Blueair 311i Max and 211i Max 23 dB each; Winix 5510 23.5dB on its slowest speed; IKEA STARKVIND 24 dB.

If the purifier ends up running all night in a bedroom, our bedroom air purifier guide and the quiet bedroom checklist cover lights, sleep modes and placement.

Gases and odor: carbon, and how much

Smoke is not only particles. The EPA describes it as "a complex mixture of gases and fine particles." A HEPA filter is for the particles. For the rest, the EPA is plain: "The CADR rating system is for particles only." To filter gases, it says, choose an air cleaner with an activated carbon filter, and "Activated carbon filters can be effective, provided that there is a large amount of material used in the filter." It also notes that there are no widely used performance rating systems for gas filters.

So the useful question is how much carbon a filter holds, and very few makers answer it:

  • IQAir is the one maker we found that weighs its gas media. The HealthPro Plus XE's V5-Cell holds "MultiGas granulated activated carbon & impregnated activated alumina", "Weight: 5 lbs. (2.5 kg)". That is a blend, not all carbon. IQAir publishes no smoke CADR for it, and our IQAir decibels page covers its figures.
  • Blueair gives a ratio, not a weight: its SmokeBlock filter has "2x more activated carbon than our original filter."
  • Rabbit Air describes a Dual Hive filter of "high-grade granular activated carbon in two staggered layers", with no weight.
  • Medify says each pick has a "Substantial carbon filter with carbon pellets to remove odors and smoke", with no weight.
  • Coway lists a "Deodorization Carbon Filter" in the Halo's 3-in-1 filter, with no weight.

No maker here says whether a heavier carbon filter changes the noise. IKEA is the only one that shows a filter changing the figures at all: with its gas filter fitted, the STARKVIND's top airflow drops from 158 to 141 CFM and its top noise from 53 to 51 dB. Its AHAM tobacco smoke CADR of 123 was tested with the particle filter only, so it does not describe the unit with the gas filter fitted.

Cooking and tobacco smoke: short bursts, auto modes

Cooking and cigarette smoke come in bursts, and an auto mode reacts to each one. Rabbit Air describes what happens on the A3: when the sensor detects particles or odors, "The machine switches over to high speed until the air has been cleaned." That is 51.0 dBA, by Rabbit Air's figure, every time someone sears a steak. The A3 lets you turn the sensor sensitivity down to Low. The Medify picks have no auto mode, so they stay at the speed you choose.

For cooking, the purifier is the second line. A range hood takes smoke out at the stove, before it spreads, and our guide to quiet range hoods for an open kitchen ranks them in sones. If the purifier shares an open kitchen and living space, the quiet open plan kitchen checklist covers the other machines in that room.

What quiet costs when there is smoke

  • Size. Quiet at full speed comes from small units with small smoke CADRs. Enough CADR for a living room in wildfire smoke means 53 dB on the Blueair 211i Max or 60.6 dBA on the Medify MA-50 V3.0.
  • Filters. Smoke loads filters fast. Medify's MA-50 V3.0 filter lasts 2,500 hours, 3 to 4 months, at $69.99. Blueair's SmokeBlock filter for the 211i Max is $84.99, against $69.99 for the standard one.
  • Price. The A3, with the best balance of smoke CADR and full-speed noise here, is $749.95. The MA-25 is $148.99.

For every Medify and Rabbit Air model, speed by speed, see our Medify air purifier decibels page and Rabbit Air purifier decibels page. Blueair's full range is on our every Blueair page.

How we chose

We started from purifiers whose makers publish both a smoke CADR and a noise figure, and reopened each maker's product page, comparison table or spec sheet to confirm the figures quoted here. We ranked at the speed that delivers the smoke CADR only where the maker names that speed or labels its top figure, and at the lowest speed only where the maker names that setting. We kept dBA and dB(A) figures apart from plain dB figures, and left out makers whose CADR is not labelled for smoke. For general guidance on smoke, sizing and carbon we used only the EPA and AHAM.

We did not measure any of these purifiers ourselves. Every noise figure, CADR and filter description here comes from the maker's own page or document, no maker states the distance behind its noise figures, and where a maker gives no weight for its carbon we say so rather than guess.

Common questions

What is the quietest air purifier for smoke?

It depends which end you mean, and on the unit the maker prints. At the speed the smoke CADR is rated at, the Rabbit Air BioGS 2.0 lists 48.6 dBA, the lowest A-weighted figure here, and the Blueair 411i+ Max lists 46 dB, the lowest plain dB figure. On the lowest setting, the Coway Airmega Halo lists 17.8 dB(A) in Sleep Mode and the Blueair 411i+ Max 19 dB. No maker states a measuring distance, so treat a gap of a decibel or two as a tie.

What speed should I run an air purifier on during wildfire smoke?

The EPA says to place it where people spend the most time and "run it as often as possible on the highest fan speed." The EPA also says CADR is typically measured at the highest speed, so the top noise figure is the one you will live with during a smoke event.

How big an air purifier do I need for wildfire smoke?

AHAM's everyday rule of thumb is a CADR of at least two-thirds of the room's area, so a 10 by 12 foot room of 120 sq ft wants a smoke CADR of at least 80. For wildfire smoke, AHAM recommends a smoke CADR equal to the size of the room in square feet, so at least 120 for the same room. If your ceilings are higher than 8 feet, AHAM says a unit rated for a larger room will be necessary.

Why does smoke CADR matter more than dust or pollen CADR?

The EPA says the tobacco smoke, dust and pollen ratings represent small, medium and large particles, and that to remove small particles you should choose a high CADR for tobacco smoke. For every pick in this guide, the smoke CADR is the lowest of the three, so it is the one that limits the room size.

Does a HEPA air purifier remove smoke smell?

Not by itself. The EPA says most filters are designed for either particles or gases, that the CADR rating is for particles only, and that to filter gases you need an activated carbon filter or another filter designed for gases. It adds that activated carbon can be effective provided there is a large amount of material in the filter.

How much activated carbon should a smoke air purifier have?

No official figure exists, and the EPA notes there are no widely used rating systems for gas filters. Few makers say how much carbon they use. IQAir states 5 lbs of MultiGas carbon and alumina for the HealthPro Plus V5-Cell. Blueair says its SmokeBlock filter has twice the carbon of its standard one. Medify and Rabbit Air describe carbon pellets and granular carbon without a weight.

Will cooking smoke make my air purifier loud?

On auto mode it can, because the sensor raises the fan when it detects particles. Rabbit Air lets you set the A3's sensor sensitivity to Low, and Medify's picks here have no auto mode at all, so they stay where you set them. For cooking, a range hood removes smoke at the source; our open kitchen hood guide covers the quiet ones.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • MinusA2 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier (WiFi)

    Labels every speed, from 25.6 dBA to 51.3 dBA on the highest, with a smoke CADR of 180 and the same Odor Remover filter choice as the A3. The A3 has more smoke CADR at a slightly lower top figure, and the BioGS 2.0 is quieter for less money.

    See it at Amazon
  • MA-40 Air Purifier

    Medify prints CADR by speed here too: 144.3 CFM at 40.5 dBA on Speed 1, up to its 239 CFM smoke CADR at 53.3 dBA on Speed 3. Its quietest setting is 40.5 dBA, far above the others, so it is no pick for a bedroom.

    See it at Amazon
  • Blue Pure 311i Max

    Smoke CADR of 283 with "23-50 dB" labelled low and high. A sound middle choice between our two Blueair picks.

    See it at Amazon
  • STARKVIND Air purifier, white/smart

    Its AHAM tobacco smoke CADR of 123 is quoted with the particle filter only, where IKEA lists the highest speed at 53 dB. Adding the gas filter drops that to 51 dB but also cuts top airflow from 158 to 141 CFM, so the rated smoke CADR no longer applies.

    See it at Amazon
  • 5510 4-Stage WiFi True HEPA Air Purifier with AOC Carbon Filter & PlasmaWave Technology

    Smoke CADR of 253 and an AOC carbon filter Winix says reduces odors from cooking and smoke, but Winix publishes only its slowest speed, 23.5dB, so we cannot say what it sounds like clearing smoke.

    See it at Amazon
  • AC4825 HEPA PURE 22" Tower Air Purifier

    Labels both ends, 40 dBa low and 55 dBa high, with a smoke CADR of 99. Both figures are higher than the Medify MA-25's, for a lower smoke CADR.

    See it at Amazon
  • HealthPro Plus XE Air Purifier

    The one maker here that weighs its gas media: 5 lbs of MultiGas carbon and impregnated alumina in the V5-Cell. IQAir publishes no smoke CADR for it, and its figures are sound pressure at 3.3 ft, so we could not rank it with the others.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides