QuietSpecs

The quietest air purifiers for a large room, at a speed you can sit next to

The quietest air purifiers for a large room, at a speed you can sit next to

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • A living room purifier is judged at the speed it holds while people talk and watch TV, not the boost speed on the box.
  • How to size 400 to 700 sq ft so a middle speed carries the room, who publishes airflow there, and why auto mode ramps to high when someone cooks.

Best for a large living room

Blue Pure 211i Max

Noise 23 dB low, 53 dB high (maker)

$349.99 maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Best for a large living room

    Blue Pure 211i Max

    23 dB low, 53 dB high (maker)

  2. 2

    Best for an open-plan kitchen and living room

    BreatheSmart 75i

    25 dBa lowest, 51 dBa highest (maker)

  3. 3

    Best middle-speed data for a medium open space

    BreatheSmart 45i

    24 dB lowest, 50 dB highest (maker)

  4. 4

    Best hands-off modes for a big room

    Airmega 400

    22 ~ 52 dB(A), ends not labelled (maker)

  5. 5

    Best value for a medium living room

    Blue Pure 311i Max

    23 dB low, 50 dB high (maker)

  6. 6

    Best at going dark for movie night

    EverestAir-P Smart Air Purifier

    24 to 56dB; as low as 24dB, speed not named (maker)

Our Picks

Blue Pure 211i Max

#1 · Best for a large living room

Blue Pure 211i Max

Blueair

Noise23 dB low, 53 dB high (maker)

Blueair rates the 211i Max for 674 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, the biggest figure on that basis among our picks, and labels both ends of its range: 23 dB on low and 53 dB on high. With a smoke CADR of 435 and four speeds plus Night, it has more steps to retreat down than most, so a 400 sq ft room can live on the lower half of the dial. Blueair itself pitches it at large living rooms and open floor plans.

Buy it ifA living room or open-plan space of about 400 to 650 sq ft

Skip it ifYour room is under about 300 sq ft, where the 311i Max costs less

What we like

  • Both ends labelled: 23 dB low, 53 dB high
  • 674 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, the AHAM basis
  • Four speeds plus Auto and Night, so the steps between settings are smaller

What to know

  • No figures for speeds 2 and 3, where it would sit in the evening
  • No distance or test standard stated
  • A 16.2 lb, 22.7 inch tower that needs floor space near an outlet
CADR (smoke)
435 cfm (maker)
Room size (maker)
674 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Middle speeds
Speeds 2 and 3: no figures published
Filter cost
$69.99, up to 9 months

$349.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
BreatheSmart 75i

#2 · Best for an open-plan kitchen and living room

BreatheSmart 75i

Alen

Noise25 dBa lowest, 51 dBa highest (maker)

Alen names the 75i's ideal room itself: "Large open kitchen and living room". It lists 25 dBa at the lowest speed and 51 dBa at the highest, and it publishes the airflow at all five speeds, from 100 CFM to 375. ENERGY STAR lists the 75i_V2 at 574 sq ft with a smoke CADR of 370, so its middle speeds still move more air than many units' top speeds.

Buy it ifAn open-plan floor where the kitchen, dining and sofa share the air

Skip it ifYour room is a plain rectangle under 400 sq ft

What we like

  • Airflow published at every speed: 100, 185, 255, 300 and 375 CFM
  • Speed 3 moves 255 CFM, more than most picks' top speeds
  • Ends labelled: 25 dBa lowest, 51 dBa highest

What to know

  • No noise figure for the middle speeds, only airflow
  • The dearest pick at $799, with a $99 filter
  • The biggest machine here: 27 inches tall and 27 lbs
CADR (smoke)
370 (ENERGY STAR, 75i_V2); maker 375 CFM
Room size (maker)
574 sq ft (ENERGY STAR listing, 75i_V2)
Middle speeds
185, 255 and 300 CFM published; no dB
Filter cost
$99, 12 to 15 months

$799.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
BreatheSmart 45i

#3 · Best middle-speed data for a medium open space

BreatheSmart 45i

Alen

Noise24 dB lowest, 50 dB highest (maker)

The 45i is the size below the 75i, listed at 24 dB on its lowest speed and 50 dB on its highest, with airflow printed for each of its four speeds: 80, 120, 190 and 255 CFM. That is the clearest picture any maker here gives of what the in-between settings do. Alen files it under medium open spaces; by AHAM's two-thirds rule its 255 CADR suits a room of about 380 sq ft.

Buy it ifA living room or family room of about 250 to 380 sq ft

Skip it ifYou want a second, independent source for the CADR

What we like

  • Airflow at every speed: 80, 120, 190 and 255 CFM
  • Ends labelled: 24 dB lowest, 50 dB highest
  • Draws as little as 1.6 W, and the panel dims in a dark room

What to know

  • It did not appear in our ENERGY STAR product finder search, so no second source for its CADR
  • The Forever Guarantee needs registration and a filter subscription
  • No noise figure for speeds 2 and 3
CADR (smoke)
255 (maker; no ENERGY STAR listing found)
Room size (maker)
950 sq ft at 2 air changes an hour
Middle speeds
120 and 190 CFM published; no dB
Filter cost
$69, 9 to 12 months

$449.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
Airmega 400

#4 · Best hands-off modes for a big room

Airmega 400

Coway

Noise22 ~ 52 dB(A), ends not labelled (maker)

The Airmega 400 prints "22~52 dB(A)" without labelling the ends, but its settings are the most automatic here: an auto mode, an automatic eco mode, an automatic sleep mode and a light-off button. With a smoke CADR of 328, AHAM's rule puts it at about 490 sq ft. The caution for a living room is the same automation: Coway does not publish what Low or Medium sounds like, so you cannot know on paper where auto mode will leave it.

Buy it ifA large room where nobody wants to touch the controls

Skip it ifYou want a published figure for the setting the room will actually run on

What we like

  • Smoke CADR of 328, and 1,560 sq ft at 2 air changes an hour
  • Auto, eco and sleep modes are all automatic, plus a light-off button
  • One filter set a year, with a washable pre-filter

What to know

  • Neither end of the 22~52 dB(A) range is labelled
  • No 4.8 air changes an hour room size published
  • The $129 filter set is the dearest yearly filter here
CADR (smoke)
328 (maker)
Room size (maker)
1,560 sq ft at 2 air changes an hour
Middle speeds
Low and Medium: no figures published
Filter cost
$129, 1 year

$649.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
Blue Pure 311i Max

#5 · Best value for a medium living room

Blue Pure 311i Max

Blueair

Noise23 dB low, 50 dB high (maker)

At $229.99 the 311i Max is the cheapest way here to put a 439 sq ft rating in a 300 sq ft room, which is exactly the margin this guide argues for. Blueair labels both ends: 23 dB on low and 50 dB on high, with a smoke CADR of 283. It has three speeds plus Night rather than the 211i Max's four, so the steps between settings are bigger.

Buy it ifA living room of about 250 to 400 sq ft

Skip it ifThe room is open to the kitchen and pushes past 450 sq ft

What we like

  • Both ends labelled: 23 dB low, 50 dB high
  • 439 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour for $229.99
  • The cheapest filter here: $44.99, up to 9 months

What to know

  • Three speeds, so the jump between settings is coarser than the 211i Max
  • No figure for speed 2, the likely evening setting
  • No distance or test standard stated
CADR (smoke)
283 cfm (maker)
Room size (maker)
439 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Middle speeds
Speed 2: no figures published
Filter cost
$44.99, up to 9 months

$229.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
EverestAir-P Smart Air Purifier

#6 · Best at going dark for movie night

EverestAir-P Smart Air Purifier

Levoit

Noise24 to 56dB; as low as 24dB, speed not named (maker)

The EverestAir-P is rated for 549 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, with a CADR of 354 CFM, and it is the pick that handles a dark room by itself: a light sensor turns off the display lights, and Sleep Mode drops the fan below low. The catch is the paperwork: Levoit prints a 24 to 56dB range, says "as low as 24dB", and never ties that figure to a named speed.

Buy it ifA living room that becomes a home cinema after dark

Skip it ifYou want the low figure pinned to a named setting

What we like

  • Light sensor turns off the display lights on its own
  • Sleep Mode uses a fan speed even quieter than low, per Levoit
  • 549 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, with CADR published on the page

What to know

  • The 24dB figure is not tied to any named speed
  • 56dB at the top of the range is the highest printed figure here
  • Levoit does not say whether the 354 CFM is smoke, dust or pollen
CADR (smoke)
354 CFM, type not stated (maker)
Room size (maker)
549 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour
Middle speeds
No figures published; Sleep Mode below low
Filter cost
$99.99, life not stated on the page

$499.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseCADR (smoke)Room size (maker)Middle speedsFilter costPrice
1.Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max23 dB low, 53 dB high (maker)435 cfm (maker)674 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hourSpeeds 2 and 3: no figures published$69.99, up to 9 months$349.99 maker's list price
2.Alen BreatheSmart 75i25 dBa lowest, 51 dBa highest (maker)370 (ENERGY STAR, 75i_V2); maker 375 CFM574 sq ft (ENERGY STAR listing, 75i_V2)185, 255 and 300 CFM published; no dB$99, 12 to 15 months$799.00 maker's list price
3.Alen BreatheSmart 45i24 dB lowest, 50 dB highest (maker)255 (maker; no ENERGY STAR listing found)950 sq ft at 2 air changes an hour120 and 190 CFM published; no dB$69, 9 to 12 months$449.00 maker's list price
4.Coway Airmega 40022 ~ 52 dB(A), ends not labelled (maker)328 (maker)1,560 sq ft at 2 air changes an hourLow and Medium: no figures published$129, 1 year$649.00 maker's list price
5.Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max23 dB low, 50 dB high (maker)283 cfm (maker)439 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hourSpeed 2: no figures published$44.99, up to 9 months$229.99 maker's list price
6.Levoit LAP-EL551S-AUS24 to 56dB; as low as 24dB, speed not named (maker)354 CFM, type not stated (maker)549 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hourNo figures published; Sleep Mode below low$99.99, life not stated on the page$499.99 maker's list price

Buying Guide

Buy an air purifier for a living room and the box will sell you its biggest numbers: a coverage figure measured at full blast and a decibel figure measured at a crawl. Neither describes an evening in the room. A large room runs its purifier while people talk, eat and watch TV a few feet away, and the setting that has to do the work is not the whisper-quiet lowest speed or the boost speed, but one of the speeds in the middle that almost no maker will put a number on.

This guide is the large-room follow up to our main guide to the quietest air purifiers, which explains why the airflow rating and the quiet figure describe opposite ends of the machine. Here we apply that to living rooms and open-plan spaces: how big a unit has to be before a polite speed can carry 400 to 700 sq ft, which makers publish anything about the settings in between, what the auto modes do when someone starts cooking, and where a machine this size can physically go. As always, every figure is the maker's own, we make no health claims, and we have left the makers' health claims out.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The boost speed is for the box, the middle speed is for the room

The EPA says CADR, the clean air delivery rate, is typically measured at the air cleaner's highest speed, and that an air cleaner will filter less air if it is set at a lower speed. AHAM, which runs the Verifide program, says a higher CADR simply cleans the air more often and faster. Put those together and the large-room strategy writes itself: buy a unit whose rating is comfortably above the room, so that a low or middle speed still moves a useful amount of air.

The difference from a bedroom is what "comfortably above" means. A 130 sq ft bedroom can be covered several times over by a mid-sized unit. A 500 sq ft open-plan space needs a smoke CADR of at least 334 by AHAM's two-thirds rule of thumb, and the EPA's own chart asks for 325 CFM at that size and 390 at 600 sq ft, for an 8-foot ceiling. Those are minimums measured at top speed. If you want the machine to hold a speed you can sit next to, the rating has to go higher still, which is why every pick in this guide is rated for at least 439 sq ft on some published basis, and why the small units that headline the lowest decibel figures never appear here.

What the makers publish about the speeds in between

Here is the uncomfortable finding of this guide: for large units, nobody prints a noise figure for the middle speeds.

  • Blueair labels both ends. The 211i Max is 23 dB on low and 53 dB on high, the 311i Max 23 and 50. Speeds 2 and 3 (and 2 on the 311i) have no figures.
  • Alen labels both ends, 24 dB to 50 dB for the 45i and 25 dBa to 51 dBa for the 75i, and then does something no other maker here does: it publishes the airflow at every speed. The 45i moves 80, 120, 190 and 255 CFM across its four speeds; the 75i moves 100, 185, 255, 300 and 375.
  • Coway prints a bare range for the Airmega 400, 22~52 dB(A), across four settings named Sleep, Low, Medium and High, without saying which setting either end describes.
  • Levoit prints 24 to 56dB for the EverestAir-P and says "as low as 24dB", tied to no named speed.

Alen's per-speed airflow is worth more than it looks. If the 75i's speed 3 moves 255 CFM, then its middle speed alone clears the EPA's line for a 300 sq ft room and most of the way to 400. You still do not know what speed 3 sounds like, but you know it is doing real work, which is the half of the trade-off most makers hide. In our whole catalog, the only per-speed noise figures belong to Medify's MA-25, at 19.8, 37 and 49.3 dBA, and that is a bedroom unit rated for 172 sq ft.

Sizing an open-plan space, on one basis

Room-size claims are where large purifiers mislead most, because the air change rate behind the headline is a choice. AHAM's suggested room sizes assume 4.8 air changes an hour; a maker quoting 2, or 1, doubles or quadruples the number. The picks compare like this on the 4.8 basis, where one is published:

  • Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max: 674 sq ft
  • Alen BreatheSmart 75i: 574 sq ft (ENERGY STAR listing for the 75i_V2)
  • Levoit EverestAir-P: 549 sq ft
  • Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max: 439 sq ft

Coway publishes no 4.8 figure for the Airmega 400, only 1,560 sq ft at 2 air changes an hour; its smoke CADR of 328 puts it at about 490 sq ft by AHAM's rule. Alen publishes the 45i's coverage at 1 and 2 air changes an hour, 1,900 and 950 sq ft; its 255 CADR works out to about 380 sq ft on the two-thirds rule. When a big number surprises you, look for the air change rate under it.

One more open-plan wrinkle: the room is rarely a rectangle. An L of kitchen, dining and sofa shares one body of air, so size to the whole footprint, not the corner the machine stands in.

A room people talk in

A bedroom purifier is judged against near silence. A living room purifier is judged against speech, and that changes which end of the spec sheet matters.

The NIDCD puts normal conversation at 60 to 70 dBA. The EPA says a noise rating around 50 decibels is roughly the operating noise of a modern refrigerator, and the National Park Service describes every 10 decibel step as a doubling of perceived loudness. So a purifier's labelled low end in the 20s sits far beneath the room's own sound and disappears under conversation. The top speeds here, 50 to 56, land right at refrigerator level and within a doubling of quiet speech, which is why a boost speed during a movie reads as a roar even though the same figure in a workshop would be unremarkable.

The usual cautions apply, and at large-room distances they cut both ways. No maker here states how far away its figure was measured, and sound pressure falls with distance, so a unit across a 25 foot room is gentler on your ears than the same unit on a bedside table. We still do not rank one maker's figure against another's, and a decibel or two of difference between brands tells you nothing.

Auto mode meets the kitchen

All six picks run an auto mode that raises the fan when the air worsens. Blueair says auto mode sets the fan by real-time air quality. Levoit's EverestAir-P uses a three-channel laser dust sensor to do the same. Coway's Airmega 400 goes further and makes eco and sleep behavior automatic too.

In a sealed study that is a feature. In an open-plan room it has a schedule: the EPA names cooking among the indoor activities that produce particle pollution, so the sensor sees dinner the moment the pan heats, and the purifier climbs toward its top speed exactly when the room is fullest and the range hood is already running. If the purifier lives where the cooking noise already lands, our page on planning a quiet open-plan kitchen walks through what runs when in that shared air.

Our advice mirrors the bedroom rule but for different hours: let auto mode ramp during the workday when nobody is home, and pin a fixed low or middle speed for the evening. On the Coway, that means taking it out of Smart Mode; on the Blueairs, choosing a numbered speed rather than Auto.

Where a machine this size can go

These are not desktop gadgets. The Airmega 400 is 24.7 lbs, the Alen 75i is 27 inches tall and 27 lbs, and the Blueair 211i Max is a 22.7 inch tower. The makers' own placement rules take more space still: Levoit asks for 15 inches of clearance on all sides, and Coway asks for at least 20 cm from walls on the Mighty. Tucking a tower behind the sofa starves the intake, and a starved filter is a louder filter.

Two placement notes specific to living rooms. First, put the unit where its sound is masked, near the TV wall rather than beside the quietest seat; a source 10 decibels below the rest of the room adds almost nothing to it. Second, if the floor is genuinely full, the Rabbit Air MinusA2 in our also-considered list can be wall mounted, which no pick here can.

What quiet costs at this size

  • Price. The value path is Blueair: $229.99 for the 311i Max and $349.99 for the 211i Max. The Alen 75i is $799 and the Coway Airmega 400 is $649.
  • Filters. Bigger boxes, bigger filters: $129 a year for the Coway, $99 for the Alen 75i (12 to 15 months) and $99.99 for the Levoit. The 311i Max's $44.99 filter is the cheapest here.
  • Power. Where both ends are published, low speeds sip: the Alen 45i runs from 1.6 W and the 75i from 1.36 W. Top settings draw 46 to 70 W on the makers' figures.
  • Steps between speeds. More speeds mean gentler jumps. The 211i Max and the Alens have four or five; the 311i Max has three, so its next step up from low is a bigger change in both air and noise.

New to the units, start with dBA explained and why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands. For a target level room by room, see how quiet is quiet enough.

How we chose

We started from the large end of our air purifier catalog and added five machines whose makers rate them for big rooms: the Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max, the Alen BreatheSmart 45i and 75i, the Coway Airmega 400 and the Levoit EverestAir-P. For each we reopened the maker's product page and recorded the noise figures in the maker's own words with the settings they describe, the CADR with its source, the room size with the air change rate behind it, anything published about the middle speeds, and the filter price on the maker's store. We ranked for a large shared room: coverage well above the room on a stated basis, labelled ends rather than bare ranges, any data at all about the in-between speeds, and controls that can hold a fixed speed through an evening.

We did not measure any of these purifiers ourselves. Every figure comes from the maker's page or store, or from the ENERGY STAR product finder, quoted with the unit and setting the maker states. No maker here publishes a measuring distance or a test standard, and none publishes a noise figure for its middle speeds, so where this guide reasons about the evening setting it reasons from the makers' airflow and coverage figures, not from numbers that do not exist.

Common questions

What is the quietest air purifier for a large room?

No single answer is fair, because makers quote different settings and units and none states a measuring distance. Among our picks, the lowest printed figures are 22 dB(A) at the unlabelled end of the Coway Airmega 400's range, 23 dB on the Blueair 211i Max's and 311i Max's low settings, 24 dB on the Alen 45i's lowest speed and 24dB from Levoit, speed unnamed. Those are figures for the quietest settings, which a large room will often not be running on.

What size air purifier do I need for a 500 sq ft living room?

AHAM's rule of thumb is a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the floor area, so at least 334 for 500 sq ft. The EPA's sizing chart, based on an 8-foot ceiling, gives 325 CFM for 500 sq ft. Of our picks, the Blueair 211i Max (435), the Alen 75i (370 in its ENERGY STAR listing) and the Levoit EverestAir-P (354) clear that line, and the Coway Airmega 400 (328) sits just under it. To run at a quieter speed, buy above the minimum.

Can I run an air purifier while watching TV?

The published numbers say a large unit on a low or middle speed sits well under speech. The NIDCD puts normal conversation at 60 to 70 dBA, and the EPA says a noise rating around 50 decibels is roughly a modern refrigerator. Every pick here prints a top figure at or above 50, so the boost speed competes with dialogue, while the labelled low ends, 22 to 25, are far below it. The middle speeds, which is where a movie night likely runs, are the ones nobody publishes.

Why does my air purifier get loud when someone cooks?

Auto mode. The EPA names cooking among the indoor activities that produce particle pollution, and every auto mode among our picks raises the fan when its sensor detects worse air. Blueair says auto mode sets the fan by real-time air quality, and Levoit's laser dust sensor does the same. In an open-plan room the purifier sits in the same air as the stove, so dinner sends it to a top speed. A fixed speed during the evening avoids the ramp.

Do any makers publish noise figures for the middle speeds?

For the large units in this guide, no. Blueair and Alen label the two ends, Coway and Levoit print a range, and none of them states a figure for the speeds in between. Alen is the only maker here that publishes airflow at every speed, which tells you what the middle speeds move but not what they sound like. In our catalog the only per-speed noise figures come from Medify's small MA-25: 19.8, 37 and 49.3 dBA, a bedroom-sized unit.

Is one big air purifier better than two small ones for an open space?

The arithmetic of decibels favors fewer, bigger machines run slower. The National Park Service explains that doubling the sound energy adds about 3 decibels, so two identical units together are only slightly louder than one. But two small units at their high speeds are each near 50 dB, while one large unit sized well above the room can run at a low setting in the 20s. CADR does add up, so two units work; they are just rarely the quiet way to reach a given CADR.

Where should an air purifier go in a large room?

Follow the clearances the makers state. Levoit asks for 15 inches of clearance on all sides and a flat, stable surface, and Coway asks for at least 20 cm from walls for the Mighty. In a living room that argues against squeezing a tower behind the sofa or under a console. Rabbit Air's MinusA2 is the exception in our list: it can be wall mounted, which puts it out of the walkway in a room short on floor.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • 5510 4-Stage WiFi True HEPA Air Purifier with AOC Carbon Filter & PlasmaWave Technology

    AHAM Verifide for 392 sq ft, which covers many living rooms, and cheaper than most picks. But Winix publishes a figure for only its slowest speed, 23.5dB, and in a room this size the evening setting will not be the slowest speed.

    See it at Amazon
  • Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH

    Rated 361 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour with a smoke CADR of 233. Coway's own documents disagree with each other, 24 ~ 53 dB(A) on the page against 24.4 ~ 55.1 on its one sheet, so we cannot say which range to quote.

    See it at Amazon
  • Core 400S-P Smart Air Purifier

    ENERGY STAR lists it at 358 sq ft with a smoke CADR of 231, and its manual has a clear auto mode chart. But its page says 22 dB in one place and 24 in another, and a bigger room deserves a bigger unit.

    See it at Amazon
  • MinusA2 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier

    The one pick-grade unit you can hang on a wall, useful when a living room has no spare floor, and it publishes its airflow range of 58 to 218 CFM. But Rabbit Air sizes it at 408 sq ft only at 4 air changes an hour, and it costs about $600.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides