QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

The quietest leaf blowers, ranked on the 50 ft rating

Written by
· 10 min read

Illustration of a cordless leaf blower on a lawn beside fallen leaves and a fence

STIHL's BGA 30 is the quietest leaf blower here, 50 dB(A) at 50 ft under ANSI B175.2, and the Milwaukee 3017-20 the quietest full-size one at 54 dB(A).

Makers publish three kinds of noise figure; we rank on the one your neighbors hear, and read what handheld makers say about boost, run time on low and your own ears.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line
  7. Review history

A quick look at the quietest leaf blowers

A leaf blower is the loudest thing on many streets, and it is one of the few appliances where the noise is regulated. Some cities cap blowers at 65 dB(A) at 50 feet, measured to an ANSI standard. So a quiet blower matters beyond your own ears. It can decide whether you may use it at all.

We read the maker pages, spec sheets and manuals for twenty leaf blowers from nine brands, plus the city rules and California's engine rules. Here is how to read the numbers, which blowers are quietest, and how to run one more quietly. Our quiet yard overview sets the blower beside the mower, the trimmer and the rest of the tools your street hears.

How did we pick these blowers?

Every blower here was checked against its maker's US product page and specifications, and against the operator's manual when that would open for us. Each blower's decibel claim is copied as the maker phrased it, labelled with its basis: ANSI 50 ft, operator's ear, or not stated.

We compared airflow and air speed as published, weight, what comes in the box and warranty. Prices are from the brands' own stores; Milwaukee, Makita, EGO and DEWALT list none, so look up those four at a retailer before you buy.

The ranking uses the ANSI B175.2 figure at 50 feet alone, the Worx kit stays in as a labelled exception without one, and where a maker's own figures disagree we say so. We also read the city rules in Portland and Los Altos Hills and California's engine rules.

Worx prints a plain dB where Milwaukee prints dB(A), and dBA explained covers what that A-weighting adds. The 50 ft ANSI figures are the only ones here that line up from brand to brand, while a bare dB or an operator's-ear figure from one brand cannot be set against another's, for the reasons in comparing decibel ratings.

We did not measure any of these blowers; every figure is the maker's own, from the product pages, specification sheets and operator's manuals of STIHL, Milwaukee, Makita, ECHO, Husqvarna, EGO, Worx, RYOBI and DEWALT.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest leaf blowers

Prices as of Nov 6. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Quietest we found

STIHL BGA 30 Battery Blower Set (AS System, 2x AS 2 batteries, AL 1 charger)

  • Noise: 50 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)
  • Price: $189.99 maker's list price, checked Oct 4
  • Best for: Patios, decks, paths and garages next to close neighbors
  • Skip it if: You clear a lawn of autumn leaves

STIHL lists a "Sound pressure level 15 m distance" of 50 dB(A) for the BGA 30, "Measured according to ANSI/OPEI B175.2-2012 (R2019)".

That is the lowest 50 ft figure of any blower we checked, fifteen decibels under the 65 dB(A) limit that Portland and Los Altos Hills use.

But it is a small blower, not a like-for-like swap for the others here: STIHL rates it at 11 V on its AS system, with 250 cf/min and 96 mph from the round nozzle, and each AS 2 battery lasts 8 to 25 minutes.

The set comes with two AS 2 batteries and an AL 1 charger for $189.99, through STIHL dealers.

See it at stihlusa.com

We found no Amazon listing for this exact model. Search Amazon for it

Quietest full-size blower

M18 FUEL Blower (Tool Only)

M18 FUEL Blower (Tool Only)
  • Noise: 54 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (maker)
  • Price: $159.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: A suburban yard, anyone already on Milwaukee M18 batteries
  • Skip it if: You own no M18 batteries and want a complete kit

Measured 50 feet away to ANSI B175.2, this M18 FUEL blower is rated 54 dB(A). Only the much smaller STIHL BGA 30 has a lower 50 ft figure among the blowers we checked, and this one moves twice its air, 500 CFM at 120 mph.

It is eleven decibels under the 65 dB(A) limit that Portland and Los Altos Hills use, and weighs 5.1 lb.

Quietest full-size kit

BGA 50 Battery Powered Blower (BGA 50 Set w/ AK 20 battery & AL 101 charger)

  • Noise: 55 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI B175.2 (maker)
  • Price: $199.99 maker's list price, checked Sep 22
  • Best for: A small or medium yard, bought from a local STIHL dealer
  • Skip it if: You want to buy online

STIHL rates the BGA 50 at 55 dB(A) at 15 m, measured to ANSI/OPEI B175.2, and sells it as a set with a battery and charger for $199.99. It moves 455 cubic feet a minute at 123 mph.

Note that STIHL sells through dealers, and its warranty covers only products bought from authorized STIHL dealers in the US.

See it at stihlusa.com

We found no Amazon listing for this exact model. Search Amazon for it

Quiet kit, easy to buy

18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Blower Kit (4.0Ah)

18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Blower Kit (4.0Ah)
  • Noise: 60 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: A buyer who wants a complete, quiet kit from a hardware store brand
  • Skip it if: You need to move wet leaves across a big lot

Makita rates this 18V blower at 60 dB(A) under ANSI B175.2, and sells it as a kit with a 4.0Ah battery and charger. It moves 459 CFM at 116 mph and weighs 6 lbs with the battery. Makita's site lists it without a price.

Quietest backpack

40V max XGT Brushless Backpack Blower, Tool Only

  • Noise: 60 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: A large property, or anyone replacing a gas backpack
  • Skip it if: Your yard is small enough for a handheld

A backpack blower with 675 CFM and 215 MPH, rated at the same 60 dB(A) under ANSI B175.2 as Makita's small handheld. Makita compares its power to a 65 cc gas engine. It takes two 40V XGT batteries, which are not included.

Quietest gas handheld

PB-255LN Low-Noise Handheld Blower

  • Noise: 64 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker; catalog also says 65)
  • Price: $249.99 maker's list price, checked Sep 22
  • Best for: A buyer who wants gas and lives under a 65 dB(A) rule
  • Skip it if: You live in California or want the quietest blower overall

ECHO says this low-noise gas blower emits only 64 decibels, and its catalog marks its figures as measured to ANSI B175.2. One caution: the same catalog lists 65 for this model in one place and 64 in another.

Either way it is the only gas handheld we found at or under the 65 dB(A) city limit.

Quiet gas backpack for big properties

PB-760LNT Low-Noise Backpack Blower

  • Noise: 65 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker)
  • Price: $529.99 maker's list price, checked Sep 22
  • Best for: An acre or more, where a gas backpack still makes sense
  • Skip it if: A battery backpack like the Makita GBU04Z would do the job

ECHO rates this 63.3 cc backpack blower at 65 dB(A) under ANSI B175.2, right at the common city limit, while moving 535 CFM at 214 MPH. It is heavy at 26.2 lbs dry, and its $529.99 list price is the highest of our picks.

Quiet two-battery kit, basis not stated

40V 530 CFM 180 MPH brushless QuietTech leaf blower (WG581.1 kit)

40V 530 CFM 180 MPH brushless QuietTech leaf blower (WG581.1 kit)
  • Noise: 57 dB, basis not stated (maker)
  • Price: $179.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: A buyer who wants a complete battery kit online
  • Skip it if: Your town requires a certified 50 ft rating

Worx lists 57 dB for this 40V blower but does not say how or where it was measured, so we cannot rank it against the ANSI figures above.

It is a complete kit with two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger for $219.99, it was in stock on Worx's site, and it weighs 4.5 lbs bare.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels. Hearing a noise from one you own? How loud are power tools or Yard work noise or Compare decibel levels.

How many decibels is a leaf blower?

Leaf blower decibel figures depend on which of three kinds the maker prints: a 50 ft bystander figure, an operator's ear or sound power figure, or a bare dB. Makers publish three different kinds of number, and they cannot be compared with each other. This is the most important thing to know before comparing leaf blowers.

The 50 ft bystander figure

This is the sound level 50 feet (15 m) away, measured to the ANSI B175.2 standard. It is roughly what your neighbor hears, and it is what city rules use.

STIHL, Milwaukee, Makita and ECHO publish it, and so does EGO for its commercial models. Milwaukee prints it for five current US blowers, and our Milwaukee outdoor tool decibels page ranks all of them, along with what its trimmers, saws and mower leave out. Our ranking uses only this figure.

The operator's ear and sound power figures

Husqvarna's US pages publish these instead. They are always much higher numbers, and they are the kind walk-behind mowers carry, which is why our lawn mower guide ranks on the operator figure instead.

Husqvarna's own 125B manual shows the gap: in its June 2026 edition, the person holding the 125B gets 92.6 dB(A) at the ear, against 72 dB(A) where a bystander stands under ANSI B175.2. Our Husqvarna decibels page lists those figures for every current Husqvarna blower.

A bare "dB"

Worx, RYOBI, DEWALT and EGO's consumer models print a number with no distance or standard. Worx's 57 dB may be excellent, but without a basis we cannot put it next to Milwaukee's 54 dB(A) at 50 ft.

Our EGO decibels page explains what the bare EGO figures are: rows in EGO's 2026 US catalog with no distance, standard or speed, which cannot be compared with the declarations in EGO's European manuals.

Several blower brands leave the noise line blank. Greenworks' blower pages had nothing, and neither did EGO's LB6003 backpack, ECHO's battery blower or DEWALT's DCBL777.

Are electric leaf blowers quieter than gas?

Yes, battery leaf blowers are clearly quieter than gas on the 50 ft figures. The quietest battery models here are rated at 50 to 60 dB(A), and the 50 is STIHL's small BGA 30. The quietest gas models are ECHO's low-noise line at 64 and 65 dB(A), and ECHO's standard PB-2520 and STIHL's BG 50 are both at 70 dB(A).

Gas still leads on sustained power for big properties, and ECHO's PB-760LNT shows that a gas backpack can meet a 65 dB(A) limit. But Makita's GBU04Z backpack is rated at 60 dB(A) with more air than the ECHO: 675 CFM against 535.

Our guide to the quietest backpack leaf blowers ranks every backpack we found on the same 50 ft figure, with Husqvarna's 550iBTX at 61 dB(A) in its manual and the Milwaukee 3009 and STIHL BGA 300 at 62.

The cordless blowers you hold in one hand get their own section below, with what the makers publish about boost and run time on low.

A handheld for the patio and deck: boost, run time on low and your own ears

Most of us own a handheld and use it for ten or twenty minutes on the patio, the deck or the driveway, within earshot of our own windows and the neighbors'.

The 50 ft rating still decides what the street hears, and among the handhelds above the order holds: STIHL's BGA 30 at 50 dB(A), the Milwaukee 3017-20 at 54, the STIHL BGA 50 at 55, the BGA 60 and BGA 110 at 56, the BGA 86 at 58 and the Makita XBU03 at 60, each at 50 ft under ANSI B175.2.

Three things it leaves out matter on a small lot.

What boost costs

Most handhelds have a boost or turbo button; almost no maker says what it adds.

The exception is a blower we have not ranked, Husqvarna's 525iB Mark II, whose manual lists 64.4 dB(A) in Normal mode and 66 dB(A) in Boost mode, both at 50 ft under ANSI B175.2: 1.6 decibels, enough to cross a 65 dB(A) line.

STIHL's BGA 60 and BGA 110 each have a Boost mode and a single 56 dB(A) figure, and STIHL does not say which mode it describes. Husqvarna's 530iB manual, 60 dB(A) at 50 ft, is the instructive case: its noise data are "determined on the basis of the rated maximum speed", so the published figure is the loud end.

Run time at the low setting. The quiet speed is also the long one, and EGO publishes run time by speed: its LB6500 manual gives the LB6504 200 minutes on low, 30 on high and 15 in boost with a 5.0Ah battery.

RYOBI says the RY404014K runs over 45 minutes with a 4Ah battery using the variable speed trigger on low. STIHL gives ranges without naming the setting, 20 to 115 minutes for the BGA 50 on an AK 20 and 8 to 25 for the BGA 30 on an AS 2, and Milwaukee publishes none for the 3017-20.

The operator's ear figure is what you hear; it stays in its own list, apart from the 50 ft ratings. STIHL's UK product data give 73 dB(A) at the operator for the BGA 30, 76 for the BGA 60, 78 for the BGA 50 and 82 for the BGA 110, each with a K-value of 2.0 dB(A); Husqvarna's page gives 76.9 dB(A) for the 530iB, and Milwaukee publishes no operator figure.

The small BGA 30 has the lowest figure on both lists, weighs 3.4 lb without battery, and STIHL approves it for indoor use. Even 73 dB(A) is measured at your head, which is why EGO's LB5800E manual says to "Always wear ear protection when operating this product".

What do leaf blower noise ordinances say?

The leaf blower noise ordinances we read, in Portland and Los Altos Hills, both cap blowers at 65 decibels at 50 feet under the ANSI standard, and both limit the hours of use. Here is how each rule works.

Portland, Oregon.

From March 1 through October 31, the city allows only blowers on its certified list of 65 dBA or quieter at 50 feet. The list includes only blowers certified by a third-party lab using the ANSI B175.2 method. Residential use is not allowed between 7:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m.

Los Altos Hills, California.

Blowers cannot exceed 65 decibels at 50 feet under the ANSI standard, and residents must carry the maker's sticker certifying it. Blowers may be used from 8:00 am to 5:30 pm, Monday through Saturday, and not on Sundays or holidays.

If your town has a rule, check its exact wording. A blower with no stated basis, however low its number, may not satisfy it.

Are gas leaf blowers banned in California?

No, California has not banned gas leaf blowers outright, though most new ones must meet a zero-emission standard. The California Air Resources Board set emission standards of zero for most new small off-road engines, including leaf blowers, from model year 2024, but CARB says Californians can keep using their current gas equipment, and that older models on store shelves can still be bought. If you are in California, check that a gas model is sold there before you buy it.

How do you make a leaf blower quieter?

To make a leaf blower quieter, run it at the lowest speed that does the job, use one machine at a time and keep to sensible hours.

Use the lowest speed that does the job. ECHO's manual says never to use a higher speed than a task needs, because the higher the engine speed, the louder the blower. Husqvarna says the same: run at the lowest throttle that does the work. Most battery picks here have a variable speed trigger for exactly this.

Run one machine at a time. EGO and ECHO both advise limiting the number of pieces of power equipment used at once, to reduce sound levels.

If the patio is next in line for a pressure washer, our pressure washer guide explains why only two brands publish a figure for one.

Our guide to electric pressure washers for close neighbors found a third that does: Karcher, whose US manuals print 75 dB(A) at the operator, with an uncertainty of 3 dB(A), for four models.

Keep to sensible hours. ECHO says to use a blower only during appropriate hours. Husqvarna suggests 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and says to obey local rules.

Do you need ear protection for a leaf blower?

Yes, you need ear protection for a leaf blower, because a blower rated at 54 dB(A) at 50 feet is still loud where you stand. The manuals agree on this.

EGO says to wear hearing protection during extended periods of operation. Husqvarna says battery products are relatively quiet, but that noise and long use together can cause damage, and recommends hearing protectors. DEWALT says to always wear hearing protection that conforms to ANSI S12.6.

What leaf blower buying mistakes should you avoid?

The common leaf blower buying mistakes are comparing figures measured in different ways, buying a tool-only blower or a STIHL outside its dealers by mistake, and running at full speed out of habit.

Comparing a bare "dB" with a 50 ft ANSI figure

They are not the same measurement.

Comparing an operator's ear figure with a 50 ft figure

The operator's number will always look far louder.

Buying a tool-only blower by mistake

The Milwaukee and Makita backpack picks come without batteries or a charger.

Buying STIHL outside its dealer network

Its warranty covers only authorized US dealer purchases.

Running at full speed out of habit

The makers say a lower speed is quieter.

How the quietest leaf blowers compare

ProductNoisePowerAirflowWeightBatteryPrice
STIHL BGA 3050 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)Handheld, 11 V battery (STIHL AS)250 cf/min, 96 mph3.4 lb without batteryTwo AS 2 batteries and AL 1 charger included$189.99 maker's list price
Milwaukee 3017-2054 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (maker)Handheld, 18 V battery500 CFM, 120 mph5.1 lbTool only$159.99
STIHL BGA 5055 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI B175.2 (maker)Handheld, 36 V battery455 cf/min, 123 mph4.9 lb without batteryAK 20 battery and charger included$199.99 maker's list price
Makita XBU03SM160 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker)Handheld, 18V battery459 CFM, 116 MPH6 lbs with battery4.0Ah battery and charger includedNot verified yet
Makita GBU04Z60 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker)Backpack, 40V max, two batteries675 CFM, 215 MPH11 lbs without batteriesTool onlyNot verified yet
ECHO PB-255LN64 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker; catalog also says 65)Handheld, 25.4 cc gas354 CFM, 191 MPH10.2 lbs dryNone, gas$249.99 maker's list price
ECHO PB-760LNT65 dB(A), ANSI B175.2 (maker)Backpack, 63.3 cc gas535 CFM, 214 MPH26.2 lbs dryNone, gas$529.99 maker's list price
Worx WG581.157 dB, basis not stated (maker)Handheld, 40 V (2 x 20 V)530 CFM, 180 MPH with concentrator4.5 lbs bareTwo 4.0Ah batteries and charger included$179.99

Prices as of Nov 6. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest leaf blower?

By the ANSI B175.2 rating at 50 feet, the STIHL BGA 30 at 50 dB(A), a small 11 V blower with 250 cf/min. Among full-size blowers, the Milwaukee M18 FUEL 3017-20 at 54 dB(A), then the STIHL BGA 50 at 55 dB(A). Worx and RYOBI list 57 dB for some models, but they do not say how or where they measured it, so those numbers cannot be ranked against the ANSI figures.

What does 65 dB at 50 feet mean?

It is the sound level a bystander 50 feet (15 m) away would measure, under the ANSI B175.2 standard. STIHL, Milwaukee, ECHO and Makita publish figures on this basis. It is also the basis cities such as Portland and Los Altos Hills use for their 65 dB(A) limits.

Why does Husqvarna list 79 to 112 dB(A)?

Those are different measurements: sound pressure at the operator's ear, and sound power. Husqvarna's 125B manual lists both kinds alongside a 72 dB(A) bystander figure measured to ANSI B175.2 (71 in its earlier edition), which shows how far apart the numbers are for one blower. Never compare an operator's ear figure with a 50 ft figure.

Will a quiet blower meet my city's rules?

Check your city's wording. Portland requires blowers on a certified list of 65 dBA or quieter at 50 feet from March 1 through October 31. Los Altos Hills requires 65 dB at 50 feet under the ANSI standard, and residents must carry the maker's sticker certifying it. Every ANSI-rated pick here is at or under 65 dB(A).

Can I still buy a gas leaf blower in California?

The California Air Resources Board set emission standards of zero for most new small off-road engines from model year 2024. It says Californians can keep using their current gas equipment, and that older models on store shelves can still be bought. Check a gas model's California availability before you buy.

Do I need hearing protection with a battery blower?

The makers say yes. EGO's manual says to wear hearing protection during extended periods of operation. Husqvarna says battery products are relatively quiet but recommends hearing protectors for long use. DEWALT says to always wear hearing protection that conforms to ANSI S12.6.

Does running a blower on low make it quieter?

Yes, by the makers' own advice. ECHO's manual says never to use a higher speed than a task needs, because the higher the engine speed, the louder the blower. Husqvarna says to run at the lowest throttle that does the work.

Why is STIHL not sold online?

STIHL's US pages mark these blowers not available online and send buyers to a dealer. Its 2026 battery warranty applies only to products bought from authorized STIHL dealers in the US, so buy from a dealer to keep the warranty.

How much louder is boost or turbo mode?

Husqvarna is the only maker we found that says so at 50 feet: its 525iB Mark II manual lists 64.4 dB(A) in Normal mode and 66 dB(A) in Boost mode under ANSI B175.2, a step of 1.6 decibels that crosses a 65 dB(A) line. On the sound power basis, Husqvarna's pages give a guaranteed 102 dB(A) rising to 108 in boost mode for the 230iB and 101 rising to 110 for the 350iB. STIHL and EGO publish no boost figure at all.

Is the 50 ft figure measured on the lowest speed?

No maker we read says it is, and Husqvarna says the opposite in its 530iB manual, where the 60 dB(A) at 50 ft is "determined on the basis of the rated maximum speed". Treat each 50 ft rating as the loud end of the blower. A lower speed can only be quieter, but no maker publishes a figure for it on a handheld.

How long does a handheld battery blower run on low?

EGO is the clearest: its LB6500 manual gives 200 minutes on low, 30 on high and 15 in boost with a 5.0Ah battery, and its European LB5800E manual 200 on low, 30 on high and 18 in boost. RYOBI says over 45 minutes with a 4Ah battery using the variable speed trigger on low. STIHL gives ranges without naming the setting: 20 to 115 minutes for the BGA 50 on an AK 20, 13 to 105 for the BGA 60, and 8 to 25 for the small BGA 30 on an AS 2. Milwaukee publishes no run time for the 3017-20.

The bottom line

Leaf blowers are the one appliance where noise is often the law. Some cities cap them at 65 dB(A) at 50 feet, measured to an ANSI standard, and many makers publish that exact figure. That makes this a fair fight, as long as you compare like with like. Some makers print a figure measured at the user's ear, which always looks far louder. Others print a bare "dB" with no basis at all.

We ranked only on the 50 ft ANSI figure. The quietest we found is STIHL's little BGA 30 at 50 dB(A), fifteen decibels under the common city limit, but it is a small 11 V patio and path blower. The quietest full-size blower is a Milwaukee at 54 dB(A). For our own yard, we would pick a handheld rated at 56 dB(A) or less, run it below full speed and keep boost, 1.6 decibels more at 50 feet by Husqvarna's manual, for the wet pile. Ear protection still applies, as the makers' manuals instruct.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • BGA 86 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

    58 dB(A) ANSI with more air speed, 154 mph with the round nozzle, for $249.99 tool only. Dealer only, with the same warranty condition as the BGA 50.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • STIHL BGA 110 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

    56 dB(A) ANSI with 538 cf/min, more air than the Milwaukee, and a Boost mode, for $219.99 unit only. Dealer only, on STIHL's 36 V AP batteries.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • BGA 60 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

    56 dB(A) ANSI, but STIHL's US page lists no airflow, so we could not compare its power.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • M18 FUEL Dual Battery Backpack Blower Kit

    A 62 dB(A) ANSI backpack with 650 CFM, sold as a kit with four HD12.0 batteries. Louder than the Makita backpack on paper, and Milwaukee shows no price.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Commercial 800 CFM Backpack Blower with Peak Power (LBPX8000, blower only)

    A commercial backpack at 65 dB(A) at 50 ft with 800 CFM. More than most homes need.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • 40V HP Brushless WHISPER SERIES 650 CFM 160 MPH Leaf Blower Cordless with 4.0 Ah Battery and Charger

    57 dB with 650 CFM for $249.00 as a kit, but RYOBI gives no distance or standard for the figure.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • POWER+ 650 CFM Blower (LB6504, with 5.0Ah battery and charger)

    A popular 650 CFM kit, but EGO's 64 dB has no stated distance or standard, unlike its commercial models.

    See it at Amazon
  • 20V MAX* XR Brushless Cordless Handheld Blower Kit

    62 dB with no stated basis, and 450 CFM. The Makita kit has an ANSI figure at 60.

    See it at Amazon
  • PB-2520 Handheld Leaf Blower

    A cheaper gas handheld at $199.99, but 70 dB(A) at 50 ft, over a 65 dB(A) limit.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Husqvarna 230iB (battery and charger included)

    Husqvarna publishes only an operator's ear figure, 79 dB(A), which cannot be compared with the 50 ft figures here.

    See it at Amazon

How we reviewed this article

Every statement here comes from the 20 maker documents, standards and agency pages listed under Sources, quoted where the wording matters. We did not measure, inspect or repair anything ourselves. Each substantive revision is dated below. How we work

  1. Current version

    Reviewed against the cited sources and updated.

  2. First published, written by Stanley Alu.

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 20 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides