QuietSpecs

The quietest chest freezers for a garage, basement or apartment

The quietest chest freezers for a garage, basement or apartment

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For an apartment or living space, the Hisense WFC050M6XWD lists 40 dB, the lowest exact figure among the dB-labelled chest freezers we checked.
  • For a garage, the Hisense WFC070M6RWD (7.0 cu ft) and CFC177M6AWD (17.7 cu ft) both list 42 dB(A) and are rated from 0 to 110°F in freezer mode.
  • For a heated basement, the Element ECF10MD2EW lists 42 dB, against 48 dB for Element's 21 cu ft chest.

Quietest exact figure, for a living space

Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Noise 40 dB, basis not stated (maker)

Price not verified yet

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Quietest exact figure, for a living space

    Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    40 dB, basis not stated (maker)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  2. 2

    Below 40 db, basis not stated (maker)

  3. 3

    Best compact chest for a garage

    Hisense 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  4. 4

    Best full-size chest for a garage

    Hisense 17.7 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  5. 5

    Best full-size chest for a heated basement

    Element 10.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    42 dB, basis not stated (maker)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →

Our Picks

Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

#1 · Quietest exact figure, for a living space

Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Hisense

Noise40 dB, basis not stated (maker)

Hisense lists 40 dB for this 5.0 cu ft chest, the lowest exact figure among the chest freezers whose makers print their noise in dB. Element lists 42 dB for its 5.0 and 7.0 cu ft chests. Hisense makes no garage ready claim for this model, which is why it belongs indoors: an apartment kitchen, a spare room or a living room corner. Its spec sheet lists no door-open alarm, so nothing beeps at you, and a levelling leg to stop it rocking on a wood or vinyl floor.

Buy it ifAn apartment kitchen, spare room or living space

Skip it ifIt has to live in an unheated garage

What we like

  • 40 dB, the lowest exact dB figure among the chests we checked
  • Levelling leg and no door-open alarm to beep
  • Five year sealed system warranty on Hisense chest freezers

What to know

  • No garage ready claim, so keep it in a heated room
  • No clearances printed on its spec sheet
  • Hisense publishes no price
Capacity
5.0 cu ft
Room rating
No garage claim; indoor use
Clearance
Not printed on the sheet
Door alarm
No (spec sheet)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on hisense-usa.com

Kismile 3.2 Cubic Feet Chest Freezer with Removable Basket D5880

#2 · Smallest, for a kitchen corner

Kismile 3.2 Cubic Feet Chest Freezer with Removable Basket D5880

Kismile

NoiseBelow 40 db, basis not stated (maker)

Kismile says this 3.2 cu ft chest has "noise below 40 db", which is a ceiling rather than an exact figure, so we do not rank it against the Hisense. It is the smallest chest here, at 20.67 inches wide, and the only one with a maker price, $249.99, shown in stock on Kismile's site. It publishes no room temperature rating, so treat it as an indoor freezer.

Buy it ifA studio or a small kitchen with one free corner

Skip it ifYou want room for a bulk meat order

What we like

  • Kismile says noise below 40 db
  • Smallest footprint here, 20.67 inches wide
  • $249.99 and shown in stock at the maker

What to know

  • No room temperature rating published
  • No defrost type or clearance stated
  • 3.2 cu ft holds little
Capacity
3.2 cu ft
Room rating
Not published
Clearance
Not published
Door alarm
None described

$249.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on kismile.com

Hisense 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

#3 · Best compact chest for a garage

Hisense 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Hisense

Noise42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)

Hisense lists 42 dB(A) for this 7.0 cu ft chest and rates it for a garage, "designed and tested to perform in temperatures between 0 ° F - 110 ° F". It also prints its clearances, 4 inches at each side and the top and 3 inches at the back, and an adjustable leg for an uneven slab. Its dB(A) figure is a different unit from the 40 dB above, so we do not rank the two against each other.

Buy it ifAn attached garage or a utility room that freezes in winter

Skip it ifYou need more than about 7 cu ft

What we like

  • Rated from 0 to 110°F, a true cold-garage rating
  • Clearances printed: 4 inches sides and top, 3 inches back
  • Hisense says Temp Hold keeps it at 32°F for up to 135 hours

What to know

  • 42 dB(A), not directly comparable with the dB figures
  • No interior light
  • Hisense publishes no price
Capacity
7.0 cu ft
Room rating
0 to 110°F
Clearance
4 in sides and top, 3 in back
Door alarm
No (spec sheet)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Hisense 17.7 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

#4 · Best full-size chest for a garage

Hisense 17.7 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Hisense

Noise42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)

The big Hisense lists the same 42 dB(A) as its 7.0 cu ft sibling across 17.7 cu ft, and is garage ready in freezer mode, rated from 0 to 110°F. It prints the same clearances, has adjustable legs and wheels, and adds an interior light and a lock. It turns into a fridge with a knob, but the garage rating covers freezer mode only.

Buy it ifBulk storage in a garage or an unheated basement

Skip it ifYou want to run it as a garage fridge

What we like

  • 42 dB(A) across 17.7 cu ft
  • Rated from 0 to 110°F in freezer mode
  • Clearances, adjustable legs, light and lock all listed

What to know

  • Garage rating is for freezer mode only
  • 64.8 inches wide and 139 lbs
  • Manual defrost on a large cabinet takes an afternoon
Capacity
17.7 cu ft
Room rating
0 to 110°F, freezer mode
Clearance
4 in sides and top, 3 in back
Door alarm
No (spec sheet)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Element 10.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

#5 · Best full-size chest for a heated basement

Element 10.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Element Electronics

Noise42 dB, basis not stated (maker)

Element lists 42 dB for this 10.0 cu ft chest, against 48 dB for its own 21.0 cu ft chest, measured in the same unit by the same maker. Its environmental range is 50°F to 109.4°F, so it suits a basement or laundry room that stays heated, not a cold garage. Levelling legs and rollers are listed, and registration within 90 days doubles the warranty to two years.

Buy it ifA finished or heated basement, or a laundry room

Skip it ifThe room drops below 50°F in winter

What we like

  • 42 dB, 6 dB under Element's 21 cu ft chest
  • Levelling legs and rollers
  • Two year warranty if registered within 90 days

What to know

  • Rated only down to 50°F despite the garage ready label
  • Element prints the same 42 dB for its 5, 7 and 10 cu ft chests
  • No clearances printed and no price published
Capacity
10.0 cu ft
Room rating
50°F to 109.4°F
Clearance
Not printed on the sheet
Door alarm
None listed

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseCapacityRoom ratingClearanceDoor alarmPrice
1.Hisense WFC050M6XWD40 dB, basis not stated (maker)5.0 cu ftNo garage claim; indoor useNot printed on the sheetNo (spec sheet)Not verified yet
2.Kismile D5880Below 40 db, basis not stated (maker)3.2 cu ftNot publishedNot publishedNone described$249.99 maker's list price
3.Hisense WFC070M6RWD42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)7.0 cu ft0 to 110°F4 in sides and top, 3 in backNo (spec sheet)Not verified yet
4.Hisense CFC177M6AWD42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)17.7 cu ft0 to 110°F, freezer mode4 in sides and top, 3 in backNo (spec sheet)Not verified yet
5.Element Electronics ECF10MD2EW42 dB, basis not stated (maker)10.0 cu ft50°F to 109.4°FNot printed on the sheetNone listedNot verified yet

Buying Guide

A chest freezer rarely goes where anyone would choose to sit. It goes in the garage because that is where the space is, in the basement next to the water heater, in the laundry room, or, in a flat with no other option, against a living room wall. Each of those rooms changes what the noise figure means, and each one puts a different demand on the cabinet: the garage tests the temperature rating, the basement tests the floor, and the living room tests the figure itself.

Our main guide to the quietest chest and upright freezers covers which brands publish a figure at all. This one works only with chests, groups the figures by unit so nothing is ranked against a different measurement, and then sorts the picks by the room they suit.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The figures, grouped so they can be compared

We read the US product pages and spec sheets of chest freezers from Midea, Hisense, GE, Danby, Element, Kismile and others. Three makers print a per-model figure for a chest freezer, and they do not all print the same unit.

Figures printed in dB:

  • Hisense WFC050M6XWD, 5.0 cu ft: 40 dB
  • Element ECF50MD2EW, 5.0 cu ft: 42 dB
  • Element ECF70MD2EW, 7.0 cu ft: 42 dB
  • Element ECF10MD2EW, 10.0 cu ft: 42 dB
  • Element ECF21MDCW, 21.0 cu ft: 48 dB
  • Kismile D5880, 3.2 cu ft: "noise below 40 db", a ceiling rather than an exact figure

Figures printed in dB(A):

  • Hisense WFC070M6RWD, 7.0 cu ft: 42 dB(A)
  • Hisense CFC177M6AWD, 17.7 cu ft: 42 dB(A)

Not one of these makers states a distance, a load, an ambient temperature or a test standard. So "quietest" here only means the lowest number within one group. Among compact chests in dB, Hisense's 40 dB beats Element's 42 dB. Among full-size chests in dB, Element's own 10.0 cu ft at 42 dB beats its 21.0 cu ft at 48 dB. The two Hisense dB(A) figures stand on their own. Element prints 42 dB for three different cabinet sizes, which reads more like a family figure than three measurements. For why figures from different brands rarely line up, see why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands.

Everyone else publishes less. Midea's eight US chest freezer pages list capacity, temperature ranges and annual energy use, but no noise row, even though its upright freezer pages do carry one. GE says outright: "We do not rate the sound level of our refrigerators or freezers." Danby's product FAQ gives one range for everything it makes: "Danby's refrigerators and freezers operate at a sound level between 35 and 46 decibels." That cannot be pinned to any one chest. We found no per-model chest figure from Frigidaire, Whirlpool, Insignia, Haier or Arctic King. The Beko and Liebherr chest freezers we found are sold in other markets, where noise figures follow European label rules, a different kind of measurement from these, so we left them out.

What the room does to the number

The noise figure matters most where the room is quietest. In a garage, with a door to the outside and a car coming and going, a compressor at 40 or 48 dB is hard to pick out. In a basement, the bigger problem is usually vibration through the floor rather than the airborne figure, which our page on keeping a quiet basement covers in detail. In a living room or an apartment kitchen at night, the freezer may be the loudest thing running, and the figure is worth paying for.

Roughly every 10 dB is a doubling of perceived loudness, so a 2 dB gap within one unit is small and a 6 dB gap, like Element's 42 against 48, is something you would notice in a quiet room. Those comparisons only hold inside one maker's unit, and only if the maker measured each model the same way, which none of them says.

For a small space, the size problem comes first. The Kismile is 20.67 inches wide and the Hisense 5.0 is 24.6 inches; the Hisense 17.7 is 64.8 inches. If you only need a little frozen space by a sofa or a bed, a two-door mini fridge may do the job; our guide to the quietest mini fridges lists the ones with laboratory figures. If the cold storage has to sit under a counter, see the quietest undercounter refrigerators instead.

Garage ready: read the range, not the badge

The garage is where chest freezers most often end up, and the label means very different things from brand to brand.

  • Hisense 7.0 and 17.7 cu ft: rated from 0 to 110°F. The 17.7 is garage ready in freezer mode only.
  • Midea 10.4 cu ft convertible: "External Temperature Range: 38°F to 110°F in fridge mode, 0°F to 110°F in freezer mode."
  • GE: its 2018 and newer upright and chest freezers are "proven to perform at room temperatures ranging between 0 degrees Fahrenheit and 110 degrees Fahrenheit".
  • Danby: rated 0 to 110°F, and the garage "must be enclosed so that the freezer is not subject to snow, rain and other environmental weather conditions".
  • Element 5.0, 7.0 and 10.0 cu ft: "Garage Ready Yes" on the sheet, with an environmental temperature range of 50°F to 109.4°F. That is a heated room rating, not a cold garage rating.

Heat is the side of the range that affects noise. A freezer in a hot garage has more heat leaking in through the walls and lid, so the compressor runs for longer. Danby's chest freezer manual lists "Ambient temperature or humidity is very high" as a cause when the "Appliance runs continuously", and its fix is to move the freezer to another area. The same manual warns against direct sunlight or nearby heat sources, as this can increase electrical consumption. ENERGY STAR's advice goes further: unless you live in a mild climate, keep the freezer indoors, such as in the basement, because extreme temperatures are hard on the compressor and can reduce its life. A garage freezer in summer is louder in the sense that matters: it runs more of the time.

Manual defrost against frost free

Nearly every chest freezer, and every one we picked, is manual defrost. For noise that is an advantage. GE explains that the sizzling, popping, crackling and hissing sounds come from the automatic defrost cycle, which "normally lasts between 30 and 40 minutes and can occur at various times of the day", and that manual defrost freezers should not make those sounds apart from the liner expanding and contracting.

The trade is the chore. ENERGY STAR says manual defrost models use half the energy of automatic ones, but only if you defrost before the frost passes a quarter of an inch. Danby's manual says to defrost twice a year or when frost reaches about a quarter of an inch. Every pick here has a drain to make that easier, but on the 17.7 cu ft Hisense it still means finding somewhere to put everything for an afternoon.

Lids, alarms and beeps

A beeping freezer in a living room is worse than a humming one. Hisense's spec sheets list no door-open alarm on its 5.0, 7.0 and 17.7 cu ft chests. Element's sheets list no alarm of any kind, and Kismile's page describes only a power light and a run light. Whirlpool's help page explains how temperature alarms work on its chest freezers: depending on model, if the freezer reaches 10°F or more above normal for the setting, the alarm sounds, and on models with a switch it can be tested, turned on or turned off. If you are buying a chest with an alarm for a bedroom or living room, check that it can be switched off before you buy it.

The lid makes its own sound too. GE describes a whooshing sound for up to one minute after the lid is opened, while the pressure inside equalizes, and calls it confirmation that the freezer is sealing tightly.

Levelling and the floor

The floor is where most of the avoidable noise comes from. Whirlpool lists the causes of rattling or vibrating in a chest freezer: refrigerant flow, items stored on top of the freezer, and a cabinet that is not fully level, adding that the floor itself should be level. That middle cause is common with chests, because a lid is a convenient shelf.

All the Hisense chests list an adjustable or levelling leg, and Element lists levelling legs on its 5.0, 7.0 and 10.0 cu ft chests. Its 21.0 cu ft two-door chest lists "Leveling Legs No", which on a garage slab that falls toward the door means nothing can take up the slope. Fill matters too. GE says that placing more food in the freezer "can dampen the noise and diminish the compressor's run time", since cold foods insulate each other.

Clearance around the cabinet

Hisense prints its clearances on the 7.0 and 17.7 cu ft spec sheets: 4 inches at each side and the top and 3 inches at the back. Danby's chest manual asks for 5 inches between the back and sides for proper ventilation. ENERGY STAR says to leave a few inches between the wall or cabinets and the freezer. A chest pushed hard against drywall passes compressor vibration into the wall, and one boxed into a tight laundry alcove has less air to shed heat into, which means longer runs. In a laundry room, also keep it clear of the dryer vent: Danby says not to place the freezer near sources of heat.

What quiet costs

The quietest exact dB figure here, the Hisense 5.0 cu ft, has no garage claim, so the quietest freezer for a living room is not the one for a garage. The garage-rated Hisense chests list 42 dB(A) and the Element chests that list 42 dB will not promise to work below 50°F. A bigger chest holds more food, which helps run time, but takes more floor: the 17.7 cu ft Hisense is over five feet wide. Manual defrost keeps the defrost noises away and halves the energy, at the cost of a regular chore. And two of the three brands with figures publish no price at all, so you are buying through a retailer either way.

How we chose

We started from the chest freezers in our catalog, re-read each maker's spec sheet and product page, and checked the US chest freezer pages from Midea, Danby and GE for figures we did not already have. We grouped the figures by the unit each maker printed, ranked only within a group, and then matched the picks to rooms using each maker's own room temperature rating, clearance, levelling and alarm specs, plus GE, Danby and Whirlpool support material on sounds and running time. ENERGY STAR supplied the energy and placement guidance. For machines that share an apartment with a freezer, see our page on keeping a quiet apartment.

We did not measure any of these freezers ourselves. Every figure here is the maker's own, quoted with the unit it printed, and none of the makers says how it measured. Hisense and Element publish no prices, and Kismile was the only maker showing a price and stock when we checked, so confirm availability with a retailer before you buy.

Common questions

Which chest freezer has the lowest published noise figure?

Among chests whose makers print an exact figure in dB, the Hisense WFC050M6XWD at 40 dB. Kismile says its 3.2 cu ft D5880 is below 40 db, which is a ceiling, not an exact figure. Hisense prints its 7.0 and 17.7 cu ft chests at 42 dB(A), a different unit, so we keep those in their own group.

Why can I not compare 40 dB with 42 dB(A)?

A plain dB figure and an A-weighted dB(A) figure are not the same measurement, and none of these makers states a distance, a load or a test standard. A difference of 2 between two different units tells you nothing reliable, so we only rank figures that share a unit.

Will a hot garage make my chest freezer louder?

It makes it run longer, which is what you hear. Danby's manual lists high ambient temperature or humidity as a cause of the appliance running continuously, and Midea and Hisense rate their garage models only up to 110°F. ENERGY STAR adds that extreme temperatures are hard on the compressor and can shorten the freezer's life.

Is a manual defrost chest freezer quieter than a frost free one?

It has fewer sounds. GE says the sizzling, popping, crackling and hissing sounds come from the automatic defrost cycle, which normally lasts 30 to 40 minutes, and that manual defrost freezers should not make them apart from the liner expanding and contracting. Every chest we picked is manual defrost.

Do chest freezers beep?

Few of the ones here do. Hisense lists no door-open alarm on all three of its chest spec sheets. Whirlpool says the temperature alarm on some of its chest freezers sounds when the freezer reaches 10°F or more above normal for the setting, and on its models with a switch you can turn it off.

How much space should I leave around a chest freezer?

Hisense asks for 4 inches at each side and the top and 3 inches at the back on its 7.0 and 17.7 cu ft chests. Danby asks for 5 inches between the back and sides. ENERGY STAR simply says to leave a few inches between the freezer and the wall or cabinets.

Why does my chest freezer rattle?

Whirlpool lists the causes: refrigerant flowing through the system, items stored on top of the freezer, and a cabinet that is not fully level, adding that the floor itself should be level too. Clear the lid and level it before calling for service.

Does a fuller freezer run quieter?

GE says that placing more food in the freezer can dampen the noise and reduce the compressor's run time, because cold foods insulate each other. A half empty chest in a warm garage is the worst case for run time.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Element 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    42 dB in 5.0 cu ft, 2 dB above the Hisense of the same size, and rated only from 50°F.

    See it at Amazon
  • Element 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    42 dB in 7.0 cu ft with levelling legs, but its 50°F floor keeps it out of a cold garage, where the Hisense 7.0 is rated to 0°F.

    See it at Amazon
  • Element 21.0 cu. ft. Two Door Chest Freezer

    At 48 dB it is the loudest chest figure we found, and its spec sheet says "Leveling Legs No" on a 79.1 inch cabinet, which makes it a poor fit for an uneven garage slab.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides