QuietSpecs

The quietest chest and upright freezers

September 22, 2026 · 7 picks · 6 min read

Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

The quietest chest and upright freezers

By Stanley Alu · showing #1 Quietest chest freezer

The short answer

  • Most freezer brands publish no noise figure at all, and GE says outright that it does not rate them.
  • See the four brands that do, and what the numbers leave out.

Quietest chest freezer

Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Price

Price not verified yet
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Why QuietSpecs

QuietSpecs ranks home appliances by how loud they really are, using figures from manufacturers and certification bodies.

Ranked on noise

Every guide is ordered by the noise figure that matters in use, not the one on the box.

Maker-verified specs

Each figure comes from the manufacturer or a certification body, and we say which.

Downsides included

Every pick lists what is wrong with it, and who should skip it.

Commissions don't rank

We may earn when you buy through our links. It never changes the order.

Our Picks

Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

#1 · Quietest chest freezer

Hisense 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Hisense

Hisense lists 40 dB for this 5.0 cu ft chest freezer, the lowest chest figure we found, and it is small enough for an apartment or spare room. Its warranty is the best here: one year on parts and labor, plus five years on the sealed system. Hisense publishes no price.

What we like

  • 40 dB, the lowest chest figure published
  • Five year sealed system warranty, the longest here
  • Manual defrost with an easy access drain

What to know

  • Hisense publishes no price
  • No garage ready claim for this model
  • No interior light or lock

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on hisense-usa.com

Noise
40 dB, basis not stated (maker)
Type
Chest, manual defrost
Capacity
5.0 cu ft
Defrost
Manual, with drain
Efficiency
DOE class listed, not ENERGY STAR
Warranty
1 year parts and labor, 5 years sealed system
Buy it if
An apartment, spare room or small kitchen
Skip it if
It will live in an unheated garage
Kismile 3.2 Cubic Feet Chest Freezer with Removable Basket D5880

#2 · Best small freezer you can actually buy

Kismile 3.2 Cubic Feet Chest Freezer with Removable Basket D5880

Kismile

Kismile says this 3.2 cu ft chest freezer runs at noise below 40 db. It is the smallest and cheapest thing here with any published figure, at $249.99, and the only one that was in stock on the maker's own site when we checked.

What we like

  • Below 40 db, by Kismile's figure
  • $249.99 and in stock at the maker
  • Lid stays open between 45 and 90 degrees

What to know

  • No defrost type, garage rating or ambient range published
  • Warranty is one year, with a paid extension offered
  • 3.2 cu ft holds very little

$249.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on kismile.com

Noise
Below 40 db, basis not stated (maker)
Type
Chest, top opening
Capacity
3.2 cu ft
Defrost
Not stated
Efficiency
Claimed 0.68 kWh a day
Warranty
1 year, extension sold separately
Buy it if
A first freezer for a flat or a dorm
Skip it if
You need to store a bulk meat order
Midea 21 cu. ft. Convertible Upright Freezer

#3 · Lowest published figure

Midea 21 cu. ft. Convertible Upright Freezer

Midea

Midea prints 39 dBA for this convertible upright, the lowest number any maker in this category publishes. It is frost free, garage ready and ENERGY STAR listed at 493 kWh a year, and it can run as a fridge instead. Two catches: 21.1 cu ft is large, and Midea's own page showed it out of stock.

What we like

  • 39 dBA, the lowest figure we found
  • Frost free, garage ready, ENERGY STAR listed
  • Converts to a refrigerator

What to know

  • Midea's page showed it out of stock
  • 21.1 cu ft and 141 lbs
  • No measurement basis given, and no ambient range on the page

$949.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on midea.com

Noise
39 dBA, basis not stated (maker)
Type
Upright, convertible
Capacity
21.1 cu ft
Defrost
Automatic
Efficiency
ENERGY STAR listed, 493 kWh a year
Warranty
2 years limited
Buy it if
A big household that wants a frost free upright
Skip it if
You have no room for a 66 inch cabinet
Midea 17 cu. ft. Convertible Upright Freezer (White)

#4 · Best garage upright

Midea 17 cu. ft. Convertible Upright Freezer (White)

Midea

The 17 cu ft version of Midea's convertible upright, at 42 dBA and 438 kWh a year, with a garage ready row in its spec table. It is a more sensible size than the 21 cu ft model, and it was $829.00 list. It also showed out of stock on Midea's site.

What we like

  • 42 dBA with frost free operation
  • Garage ready, 438 kWh a year
  • Two year warranty

What to know

  • Showed out of stock at Midea
  • Midea prints no ambient temperature range for it
  • Frost free uses more energy than manual defrost

$829.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
42 dBA, basis not stated (maker)
Type
Upright, convertible
Capacity
17 cu ft
Defrost
Automatic
Efficiency
ENERGY STAR listed, 438 kWh a year
Warranty
2 years limited
Buy it if
A garage or utility room in a mild climate
Skip it if
Your garage drops below freezing in winter
Hisense 17.7 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

#5 · Best big chest freezer

Hisense 17.7 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Hisense

Hisense lists 42 dB(A) for this 17.7 cu ft convertible chest, which turns into a fridge with a knob. It publishes its air clearances (4 inches at the sides and top, 3 at the back), is garage rated from 0 to 110°F in freezer mode, and carries the five year sealed system warranty.

What we like

  • Clearances published, which matters more than the dB figure
  • Garage rated from 0 to 110°F in freezer mode
  • Interior light, lock and key, two sliding baskets

What to know

  • Hisense publishes no price
  • Manual defrost on a 17.7 cu ft cabinet is a chore
  • 64.8 inches wide

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)
Type
Chest, convertible
Capacity
17.7 cu ft
Defrost
Manual
Efficiency
DOE class listed, not ENERGY STAR
Warranty
1 year parts and labor, 5 years sealed system
Buy it if
Bulk storage in a garage or basement
Skip it if
You want frost free
Midea 20 cu. ft. 50/50 Flex 3-Way Convertible Freezer

#6 · Most flexible

Midea 20 cu. ft. 50/50 Flex 3-Way Convertible Freezer

Midea

Midea's three-way convertible runs as all freezer, all fridge, or one of each, at 41 dBA across 20 cu ft in two compartments. It publishes its temperature ranges for both modes, which most makers here do not, and it has Wi-Fi. It was $1,299.00 and out of stock.

What we like

  • 41 dBA with two independent compartments
  • Temperature ranges published for fridge and freezer modes
  • Frost free with a two year warranty

What to know

  • The most expensive pick, at $1,299.00
  • Showed out of stock at Midea
  • 524 kWh a year, the highest here

$1,299.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
41 dBA, basis not stated (maker)
Type
Upright, 3-way convertible
Capacity
20 cu ft, 10 per compartment
Defrost
Automatic
Efficiency
ENERGY STAR listed, 524 kWh a year
Warranty
2 years limited
Buy it if
A household that wants to switch between fridge and freezer space
Skip it if
You only ever need frozen storage
Element 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

#7 · Budget chest, with one big caveat

Element 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

Element Electronics

Element lists 42 dB for this 7.0 cu ft chest, with a two year warranty if you register within 90 days. The caveat is the temperature range: Element rates it from 50°F to 109.4°F, so despite the garage ready label it is not a cold-garage freezer.

What we like

  • 42 dB with a two year warranty after registration
  • Manual defrost with a drain, and levelling legs
  • Uses R600a refrigerant

What to know

  • Rated only down to 50°F, so not for a cold garage
  • Element prints the same 42 dB for its 5, 7 and 10 cu ft chests
  • Element publishes no price

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Noise
42 dB, basis not stated (maker)
Type
Chest, manual defrost
Capacity
7.0 cu ft
Defrost
Manual, with drain
Efficiency
CSA certified, no ENERGY STAR row
Warranty
1 year, 2 years if registered in 90 days
Buy it if
A heated basement or utility room
Skip it if
The room drops below 50°F in winter

Full Specifications

Noise

Hisense WFC050M6XWD
40 dB, basis not stated (maker)
Kismile D5880
Below 40 db, basis not stated (maker)
Midea MRU21F5BWW
39 dBA, basis not stated (maker)
Midea MRU17F5AWW
42 dBA, basis not stated (maker)
Hisense CFC177M6AWD
42 dB(A), basis not stated (maker)
Midea MRU21C7BST
41 dBA, basis not stated (maker)
Element Electronics ECF70MD2EW
42 dB, basis not stated (maker)

Type

Hisense WFC050M6XWD
Chest, manual defrost
Kismile D5880
Chest, top opening
Midea MRU21F5BWW
Upright, convertible
Midea MRU17F5AWW
Upright, convertible
Hisense CFC177M6AWD
Chest, convertible
Midea MRU21C7BST
Upright, 3-way convertible
Element Electronics ECF70MD2EW
Chest, manual defrost

Capacity

Kismile D5880
3.2 cu ft
Midea MRU21C7BST
20 cu ft, 10 per compartment

Defrost

Hisense WFC050M6XWD
Manual, with drain
Kismile D5880
Not stated

Efficiency

Hisense WFC050M6XWD
DOE class listed, not ENERGY STAR
Kismile D5880
Claimed 0.68 kWh a day
Midea MRU21F5BWW
ENERGY STAR listed, 493 kWh a year
Midea MRU17F5AWW
ENERGY STAR listed, 438 kWh a year
Hisense CFC177M6AWD
DOE class listed, not ENERGY STAR
Midea MRU21C7BST
ENERGY STAR listed, 524 kWh a year
Element Electronics ECF70MD2EW
CSA certified, no ENERGY STAR row

Warranty

Hisense WFC050M6XWD
1 year parts and labor, 5 years sealed system
Kismile D5880
1 year, extension sold separately
Midea MRU21F5BWW
2 years limited
Midea MRU17F5AWW
2 years limited
Hisense CFC177M6AWD
1 year parts and labor, 5 years sealed system
Midea MRU21C7BST
2 years limited
Element Electronics ECF70MD2EW
1 year, 2 years if registered in 90 days

Price

Hisense WFC050M6XWD
Not verified yet
Kismile D5880
$249.99 (maker's list price)
Midea MRU21F5BWW
$949.00 (maker's list price)
Midea MRU17F5AWW
$829.00 (maker's list price)
Hisense CFC177M6AWD
Not verified yet
Midea MRU21C7BST
$1,299.00 (maker's list price)

Buying Guide

Buy a freezer and you will find the specification sheets full of cubic feet, kilowatt hours and shelf counts, and almost never a decibel figure. That is not an oversight. GE says it outright: "We do not rate the sound level of our refrigerators or freezers, which means we are unable to provide a decibel level for while they are running."

We read the product pages, spec sheets and manuals for seventeen freezers, and found published figures from only four brands: Midea, Hisense, Element Electronics and Kismile. They run from 39 to 48 dB. Here is what those numbers are worth, and what actually decides how loud a freezer sounds in your house.

Our 7 picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The figures are thin, and one of them repeats

Take the published numbers at face value and you get a tidy range: 39 dBA at the quiet end, 48 dB at the loud end. Look closer and the picture falls apart.

  • No maker states a basis. Not a distance, not an ambient temperature, not a load, not a test standard. Not one of the seventeen.
  • Element repeats itself. It prints 42 dB for its 5.0, 7.0 and 10.0 cu ft chest freezers, and 45 dB for its 13.8, 17.0 and 21.0 cu ft uprights. Three sizes of cabinet, one number each, which reads as a family figure rather than a measurement.
  • Most brands publish nothing. We found no per-model figure from Danby, Galanz, Koolatron, Summit, Magic Chef or Arctic King, and GE confirms it does not rate them at all.

So we have treated the decibel figures as a tiebreaker and ranked on what else is published: clearances, temperature ranges, defrost type and warranty. On why numbers like these rarely line up, see why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands.

What actually makes a freezer noisy

The manuals are far more useful than the spec tables here. Hisense's lists three causes of unusual noise, and all three are things you control:

  • The cabinet is not level. Hisense says to place the freezer on a level, hard surface strong enough to hold it fully loaded, and to adjust the feet. Element's largest chest freezer lists "Leveling Legs No", so on an uneven garage slab it cannot be levelled at all.
  • The back is touching the wall. Hisense asks for 4 inches at each side and the top and 3 inches at the back. A cabinet pressed to drywall couples compressor vibration into the wall.
  • Bottles or containers have fallen or are rolling. The cheapest fix in this guide.

There is a trap with the rollers, too. Hisense says they are not castors and should be used only to move the freezer forward and backward, since moving it sideways can damage the floor and the rollers.

The sounds that are normal

Hisense's manual lists five normal sounds, and three of them are the ones people mistake for faults:

  • compressor running noises
  • air movement from the fan
  • a gurgling sound, like water boiling
  • a popping noise during automatic defrosting
  • a clicking noise before the compressor starts

A manual defrost chest freezer never makes the defrost popping sound, which is one practical reason a chest can seem quieter in a quiet room.

The manual also explains a compressor that seems to run constantly: the temperature is set colder than necessary, a large quantity of warm food went in recently, the room is hot, or the door has been opened too often.

Garage ready is not one thing

If the freezer is going in a garage, read the temperature range rather than the badge.

  • Hisense: rated 0 to 110°F, but garage ready "only for freezer mode". In fridge mode it needs 55°F or warmer.
  • GE: says its 2018 and newer freezers work from 0 to 110°F.
  • Danby: publishes the same 0 to 110°F range and defines a garage as enclosed, so the freezer is not exposed to rain or snow.
  • Element: labels its chests garage ready but rates them from 50°F to 109.4°F. In any real winter climate that is not a garage freezer.

ENERGY STAR's own advice pulls the other way: unless you live in a mild climate, keep the freezer indoors, because extreme temperatures are hard on the compressor.

Chest or upright

ENERGY STAR gives the clearest answer on running costs: a certified chest freezer uses about 215 kWh a year and an upright about 395 kWh, because a chest's lid opens from the top and lets less cold air escape. It also notes that manual defrost models use half the energy of automatic ones, provided you defrost before frost passes a quarter of an inch.

Against that, an upright is easier to organise and takes less floor space. The published noise figures do not settle it: our quietest figure is an upright at 39 dBA and our second quietest is a chest at 40 dB.

Warranty is where the money is

A compressor failure is the expensive repair, so the sealed system term matters more than the headline year.

  • Hisense chest freezers: one year parts and labor, plus five years parts and labor on the sealed system.
  • Element: one year, or two if you register within 90 days. No separate sealed system term.
  • Midea: two years limited, with no breakdown published.
  • Kismile: one year, with a paid extension offered.

Mistakes buyers make

Expecting a decibel figure at all. Most brands publish none, and GE says it does not rate them.

Trusting a repeated number. Element's 42 dB covers three different cabinets.

Reading "garage ready" as a promise. Check the temperature range: 50°F and 0°F are very different claims.

Pushing the freezer against the wall. Hisense asks for 3 inches at the back, and names wall contact as a noise cause.

Ignoring the sealed system term. One brand here covers it for five years; the rest do not break it out.

How we chose

We read each maker's US product page, spec sheet and, where available, the use and care manual and warranty card. We recorded every noise figure in the maker's own words and noted that none states a basis. We compared type, capacity, defrost, garage and ambient ratings, clearances, efficiency and warranty, and recorded prices where the maker published one.

We did not measure decibels ourselves. Because the figures are so thin, we ranked on what is verifiable: published clearances, stated temperature ranges, and warranty terms, with the dB figure as a tiebreaker. Hisense and Element publish no prices, and every Midea model showed out of stock on Midea's own site when we checked, so confirm availability before buying. Insignia, Frigidaire and Whirlpool are missing because their sites could not be read reliably on the day.

New to the units? Read dBA explained. Wondering why two brands' figures do not line up? See why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands. For cold storage you open daily, see the quietest mini fridges.

Common questions

Which freezer brands publish a noise figure?

Only four that we could verify: Midea, Hisense, Element Electronics and Kismile. GE states plainly that it does not rate the sound level of its refrigerators or freezers. We found no per-model figure from Danby, Galanz, Koolatron, Summit, Magic Chef or Arctic King.

Can I compare these dB figures?

Barely. Not one maker states a distance, an ambient temperature, a load or a test standard. Element prints the same 42 dB for its 5, 7 and 10 cu ft chests and 45 dB for its 13.8, 17 and 21 cu ft uprights, which looks like a family figure rather than a per-model measurement.

Is a chest freezer quieter than an upright?

The published figures do not show a clear pattern, and nobody explains how they measured. What ENERGY STAR does say is that a chest freezer is usually more energy efficient, because the door opens from the top and less cold air escapes.

What sounds are normal?

Hisense's manual lists five: compressor running noises, air movement from the fan, a gurgling sound like water boiling, a popping noise during automatic defrosting, and a clicking noise before the compressor starts. A manual defrost chest freezer will not make the defrost popping sound at all.

What sounds mean something is wrong?

The same manual lists three causes of unusual noise: the cabinet is not level, the back of the appliance is touching the wall, or bottles and containers have fallen or are rolling. All three are worth checking before calling for service.

How much space does a freezer need around it?

Hisense asks for 4 inches at each side and the top and 3 inches at the back on its chest freezers. That is about heat, but it matters for noise too, since a cabinet pressed against drywall passes compressor vibration into the wall.

Can I put a freezer in the garage?

Only if it is rated for it, and check the range rather than the label. Hisense rates its convertible for 0 to 110°F, but in freezer mode only. GE says its 2018 and newer freezers work from 0 to 110°F. Element labels its chests garage ready but rates them only from 50°F, which rules out a cold garage. ENERGY STAR advises keeping a freezer indoors unless your climate is mild.

Does ENERGY STAR or the government rate freezer noise?

No. ENERGY STAR covers efficiency, and says a certified chest freezer uses about 215 kWh a year against about 395 kWh for an upright. The Department of Energy's standards and test procedure cover energy and volume only. The yellow EnergyGuide label never mentions decibels.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Hisense 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    42 dB(A) in a 7.0 cu ft chest, with clearances published at 4 inches each side and top and 3 inches at the back.

    See it at Amazon
  • Element 5.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    The 5.0 cu ft version of our Element pick, at the same 42 dB and the same 50°F floor.

    See it at Amazon
  • Element 10.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer

    The 10.0 cu ft version, also 42 dB. Element prints one figure for all three sizes.

    See it at Amazon
  • Hisense 13.6 cu. ft. Full Size Upright Freezer

    47 dB(A) for a 13.6 cu ft convertible upright. Its manual is the best in this category for normal sounds and clearances.

    See it at Amazon
  • Hisense 21.2 cu. ft. Full Size Upright Freezer

    47 dB(A) for a 21.2 cu ft upright with a two year warranty.

    See it at Amazon
  • Midea 14 cu. ft. Convertible Upright Freezer (White)

    42 dBA in a 13.8 cu ft frost free convertible upright at $699.00, out of stock when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • Element 13.8 cu. ft. Upright Freezer - ENERGY STAR

    45 dB for a 13.8 cu ft convertible upright. Element prints 45 dB for its 13.8, 17.0 and 21.0 cu ft uprights alike.

    See it at Amazon
  • Element 17 cu. ft. Upright Freezer - ENERGY STAR

    The 17.0 cu ft version of the same upright, also 45 dB.

    See it at Amazon
  • Element 21.0 cu. ft. Two Door Chest Freezer

    At 48 dB this is the loudest figure here, and its spec sheet says "Leveling Legs No" on a 79 inch wide cabinet, so it cannot be levelled on an uneven floor.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for all 16 products

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Connect with us

Get the week's real price drops

One email a week. Only deals we'd take ourselves. Unsubscribe in one click.

Related Guides

The quietest dishwashers under $800

Nearly every dishwasher maker publishes a dBA figure, so this guide ranks on real numbers. See the quietest under $800, and what more money buys.

September 22, 2026 · 6 min read · top pick $1,199.00

Read guide

The quietest wine and beverage fridges

Wine fridge makers print dB figures from 32 to 42, but only one names a standard. See the quietest by published figure, and how to install one so it stays quiet.

September 22, 2026 · 5 min read

Read guide