QuietSpecs

The quietest handheld battery leaf blowers, for patios, decks and small yards

The quietest handheld battery leaf blowers, for patios, decks and small yards

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • On the ANSI B175.2 figure at 50 feet, the quietest handheld battery blower we found is the STIHL BGA 30 at 50 dB(A), a small 11 V blower with 250 cf/min.
  • Among full-size handhelds, the Milwaukee 3017-20 leads at 54 dB(A), then the STIHL BGA 50 at 55 and the BGA 60 and BGA 110 at 56.
  • At the operator's ear, STIHL's UK data give the BGA 30 73 dB(A), the lowest we found.
  • The Husqvarna 530iB has the lowest guaranteed sound power we found, 92 dB(A).
  • Bare "dB" figures from Worx, RYOBI, DEWALT and EGO are listed apart and not ranked.

Quietest handheld at 50 ft

STIHL BGA 30 Battery Blower Set (AS System, 2x AS 2 batteries, AL 1 charger)

Noise 50 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)

$189.99 maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    50 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)

  2. 2

    Quietest full-size handheld at 50 ft

    M18 FUEL Blower (Tool Only)

    54 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (manual)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  3. 3

    55 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)

  4. 4

    Joint quietest with a boost mode

    BGA 60 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

    56 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)

  5. 5

    Lowest guaranteed sound power

    Husqvarna 530iB (tool only)

    60 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2, at rated maximum speed (manual)

  6. 6

    The only stated boost penalty

    Husqvarna 525iB Mark II (tool only)

    64.4 dB(A) Normal, 66 Boost, at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (manual)

  7. 7

    78.4 dB(A) at operator's ear, K 2.5 (EU manual)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →

Our Picks

STIHL BGA 30 Battery Blower Set (AS System, 2x AS 2 batteries, AL 1 charger)

#1 · Quietest handheld at 50 ft

STIHL BGA 30 Battery Blower Set (AS System, 2x AS 2 batteries, AL 1 charger)

STIHL

Noise50 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)

STIHL USA lists a "Sound pressure level 15 m distance" of 50 dB(A) for the BGA 30, "Measured according to ANSI/OPEI B175.2-2012 (R2019)". That is the lowest 50 ft figure of any handheld battery blower we checked, fifteen decibels under a 65 dB(A) rule. It is also a much smaller tool than the rest of this list: STIHL rates it at 11 V on its AS system, with 250 cf/min, 96 mph and 5 N of blowing force from the round nozzle, and 8 to 25 minutes per AS 2 battery. The set comes with two AS 2 batteries and an AL 1 charger for $189.99, through STIHL dealers.

Buy it ifA patio, deck, path or garage next to close neighbors

Skip it ifYou clear leaves off a lawn, not just hard surfaces

What we like

  • 50 dB(A) at 15 m (50 ft) under ANSI/OPEI B175.2, the lowest we found
  • Two AS 2 batteries and a charger included for $189.99
  • 3.4 lb without battery, and STIHL approves it for indoor use

What to know

  • Half the Milwaukee's air: 250 cf/min against 500 CFM
  • 8 to 25 minutes per AS 2 battery, setting not stated
  • Marked not available online; buy from a STIHL dealer
Boost
None listed; stepless variable blowing force
Run time on low
8 to 25 min per AS 2, setting not stated
Weight
3.4 lb without battery
In the box
Two AS 2 batteries and AL 1 charger

$189.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on stihlusa.com

M18 FUEL Blower (Tool Only)

#2 · Quietest full-size handheld at 50 ft

M18 FUEL Blower (Tool Only)

Milwaukee

Noise54 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (manual)

Milwaukee's manual lists a "50' Bystander Sound Pressure Level" of 54 dB(A) for this M18 FUEL blower, and its product page says that figure is "per ANSI B175.2 standards". Only STIHL's much smaller BGA 30 has a lower 50 ft figure among the handhelds we checked, and this one moves twice its air, 500 CFM at 120 mph. It is eleven decibels under a 65 dB(A) rule. The catch for a small yard: it is sold tool only, and Milwaukee publishes no run time.

Buy it ifA tight lot with houses close on both sides, for an owner already on M18 batteries

Skip it ifYou want a complete kit with a published run time

What we like

  • 54 dB(A) at 50 ft under ANSI B175.2, lowest of the full-size handhelds
  • Variable speed trigger and sliding lock-on, so you can hold a low speed
  • 500 CFM, more air than the STIHL BGA 50

What to know

  • Tool only: an M18 battery and charger cost extra
  • No run time and no operator's ear figure published
  • Milwaukee shows no price on its own site
Boost
None listed; variable speed trigger
Run time on low
Not published
Weight
5.1 lb (Milwaukee listing)
In the box
Tool only

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
BGA 50 Battery Powered Blower (BGA 50 Set w/ AK 20 battery & AL 101 charger)

#3 · Quietest full-size kit

BGA 50 Battery Powered Blower (BGA 50 Set w/ AK 20 battery & AL 101 charger)

STIHL

Noise55 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)

STIHL lists a "Sound pressure level 15 m distance" of 55 dB(A), "Measured according to ANSI/OPEI B175.2-2012 (R2019)", and sells the BGA 50 as a set with an AK 20 battery and AL 101 charger for $199.99. STIHL gives 20 to 115 minutes per charge on that battery. At 4.9 lb without a battery and 455 cf/min, it is a light patio and deck blower, sold through dealers.

Buy it ifA patio, deck or short driveway, bought as one box from a local dealer

Skip it ifYou clear wet leaves off a lawn of any size

What we like

  • 55 dB(A) at 15 m (50 ft) under ANSI/OPEI B175.2
  • Battery and charger included for $199.99
  • Light, at 4.9 lb without battery

What to know

  • STIHL does not say which setting gives the 115 minute figure
  • Marked not available online; buy from a STIHL dealer
  • Modest air, 455 cf/min at 123 mph
Boost
None listed; variable-speed trigger
Run time on low
20 to 115 min on AK 20, setting not stated
Weight
4.9 lb without battery
In the box
AK 20 battery and AL 101 charger

$199.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on stihlusa.com

BGA 60 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

#4 · Joint quietest with a boost mode

BGA 60 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

STIHL

Noise56 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)

STIHL rates the BGA 60 at 56 dB(A) at 15 m under ANSI/OPEI B175.2, one decibel above the BGA 50, and adds a Boost mode for "more force". STIHL's BGA 110 lists the same 56 dB(A) with a Boost mode of its own. STIHL does not publish a boost figure, so the 56 cannot tell you what boost sounds like. It runs 13 to 105 minutes on an AK 20 and 16 to 130 on an AK 30, by STIHL's figures, and costs $219.99 unit only.

Buy it ifA medium yard where most clearing is light but a few spots need extra push

Skip it ifYou want to know the boost penalty before you buy

What we like

  • 56 dB(A) at 15 m (50 ft) under ANSI/OPEI B175.2
  • Boost mode for the occasional stubborn pile
  • Up to 130 minutes on an AK 30, by STIHL's figure

What to know

  • No noise figure for Boost mode
  • Unit only: battery and charger cost extra
  • STIHL's US page lists no airflow
Boost
Boost mode; no boost figure published
Run time on low
13 to 105 min AK 20; 16 to 130 min AK 30
Weight
5.1 lb without battery
In the box
Unit only

$219.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Husqvarna 530iB (tool only)

#5 · Lowest guaranteed sound power

Husqvarna 530iB (tool only)

Husqvarna

Noise60 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2, at rated maximum speed (manual)

Husqvarna's page gives the 530iB 76.9 dB(A) at the operator's ear and a guaranteed sound power of 92 dB(A), the lowest guaranteed figure we found on a handheld battery blower. Its manual adds 60 dB(A) at 50 ft under ANSI B175.2 and says the noise data are "determined on the basis of the rated maximum speed". At the ear, only STIHL's BGA 30 and BGA 60 list less, 73 and 76 dB(A) in STIHL's UK data. It costs $349.99 tool only and is classed for professional use.

Buy it ifSomeone who blows for long stretches with a full-size blower and cares about their own ears

Skip it ifYour only concern is the 50 ft figure a code officer reads

What we like

  • Publishes all three figures: 50 ft, operator's ear and sound power
  • 92 dB(A) guaranteed sound power, the lowest guaranteed figure we found
  • Continuous Boost: 537 cfm normal, 590 cfm Boost (manual)

What to know

  • Six decibels louder at 50 ft than the Milwaukee
  • Tool only: a BLi-X battery and charger cost extra
  • The manual calls its 50 ft figure a "sound power level", which it is not
Boost
Continuous Boost; no separate Boost figure
Run time on low
Not published as a single figure
Weight
5.95 lbs excluding battery
In the box
Tool only

$349.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon
Husqvarna 525iB Mark II (tool only)

#6 · The only stated boost penalty

Husqvarna 525iB Mark II (tool only)

Husqvarna

Noise64.4 dB(A) Normal, 66 Boost, at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (manual)

The 525iB Mark II manual is the one document we found that rates a handheld at both settings: "Sound level in Normal Mode, dB (A) 64.4" and "Sound level in Boost Mode, dB (A) 66", measured "by stander 50ft with method in ANSI B175.2:2012". So boost costs 1.6 decibels at 50 feet, and tips this blower over a 65 dB(A) line. Husqvarna's page adds 85 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 101.

Buy it ifAn owner under a 65 dB(A) rule who will keep it in Normal mode

Skip it ifYou expect to lean on boost

What we like

  • States 50 ft figures for both Normal and Boost mode
  • 64.4 dB(A) in Normal mode, under a 65 dB(A) line
  • $309.99 tool only, at 5.51 lbs excluding battery

What to know

  • Boost mode, at 66 dB(A), is over a 65 dB(A) line
  • 85 dB(A) at the operator's ear, well above the 530iB
  • Tool only, and no run time published
Boost
1.6 dB(A) louder at 50 ft (manual)
Run time on low
Not published
Weight
5.51 lbs excluding battery
In the box
Tool only

$309.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon
EGO POWER+ LB5804 580 CFM Blower (with 5.0Ah battery and charger)

#7 · Longest stated run time on low

EGO POWER+ LB5804 580 CFM Blower (with 5.0Ah battery and charger)

EGO

Noise78.4 dB(A) at operator's ear, K 2.5 (EU manual)

EGO's European manual for this blower, the LB5800E, lists 200 minutes on low, 30 on high and 18 in boost with a 5.0Ah battery, the clearest low-speed run time we found. The same manual declares 78.4 dB(A) at the operator's ear and a guaranteed 98 dB(A). EGO US prints no figure for it, only "4 times quieter than gas blowers", and lists up to 75 minutes on a 5.0Ah.

Buy it ifAn EGO battery owner who clears slowly on low and wants one charge to last

Skip it ifYour town wants a certified 50 ft rating

What we like

  • 200 min on low with a 5.0Ah, by the EU manual
  • 78.4 dB(A) at the ear, under most of the figures we found
  • Sold with a 5.0Ah battery and charger as the LB5804

What to know

  • No 50 ft figure, so it cannot be held against a 65 dB(A) rule
  • EGO US says up to 75 minutes; the EU manual says 200 on low
  • Every configuration marked Coming Soon on EGO's US site
Boost
Turbo; no turbo noise figure
Run time on low
200 min low, 30 high, 18 boost, 5.0Ah (EU manual)
Weight
2.18 kg without battery (EU manual)
In the box
5.0Ah battery and charger

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 3

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseBoostRun time on lowWeightIn the boxPrice
1.STIHL BGA 3050 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)None listed; stepless variable blowing force8 to 25 min per AS 2, setting not stated3.4 lb without batteryTwo AS 2 batteries and AL 1 charger$189.99 maker's list price
2.Milwaukee 3017-2054 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (manual)None listed; variable speed triggerNot published5.1 lb (Milwaukee listing)Tool onlyNot verified yet
3.STIHL BGA 5055 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)None listed; variable-speed trigger20 to 115 min on AK 20, setting not stated4.9 lb without batteryAK 20 battery and AL 101 charger$199.99 maker's list price
4.STIHL BGA 6056 dB(A) at 15 m, ANSI/OPEI B175.2 (maker)Boost mode; no boost figure published13 to 105 min AK 20; 16 to 130 min AK 305.1 lb without batteryUnit only$219.99 maker's list price
5.Husqvarna 530iB60 dB(A) at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2, at rated maximum speed (manual)Continuous Boost; no separate Boost figureNot published as a single figure5.95 lbs excluding batteryTool only$349.99 maker's list price
6.Husqvarna 525iB Mark II64.4 dB(A) Normal, 66 Boost, at 50 ft, ANSI B175.2 (manual)1.6 dB(A) louder at 50 ft (manual)Not published5.51 lbs excluding batteryTool only$309.99 maker's list price
7.EGO LB580478.4 dB(A) at operator's ear, K 2.5 (EU manual)Turbo; no turbo noise figure200 min low, 30 high, 18 boost, 5.0Ah (EU manual)2.18 kg without battery (EU manual)5.0Ah battery and chargerNot verified yet

Buying Guide

A handheld battery blower is the everyday tool: the patio after a windy night, the deck under the maple, the driveway before guests arrive. You use it close to the house, often within earshot of the neighbors' windows, and usually for ten or twenty minutes rather than an afternoon. That changes which numbers matter.

This guide narrows our quietest leaf blowers guide to handheld cordless blowers. We reopened the maker pages and manuals for twenty handheld battery blowers from eleven brands, EGO, Milwaukee, DEWALT, Makita, RYOBI, Greenworks, STIHL, Husqvarna, Toro, Worx and CRAFTSMAN, and sorted every noise figure by what it measures. The ranking is by the 50 ft figure, because that is what a blower rule is written in. The figures for your own ears come after, in their own list, and the bare "dB" figures sit apart, unranked.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Four kinds of number on a handheld box

Handheld battery blowers carry more kinds of noise figure than any other tool we cover, and they are never ranked against each other here.

The 50 ft bystander figure. Sound pressure 50 feet (15 m) from the blower, measured to ANSI B175.2. It is the nearest thing to what the house across the driveway hears, and it is the figure city rules use. Milwaukee, STIHL and Husqvarna's newer manuals publish it, and so does EGO for its commercial LBX1000. Our ranking uses only this figure.

The operator's ear figure, LpA. Sound pressure at the user's head. Husqvarna prints it on its US pages, EGO declares it in its European manuals, and STIHL lists it in its UK product data. It is always much higher than the 50 ft figure, because your ears are a couple of feet from the fan.

Guaranteed sound power, LWA. The total sound the blower puts out, with an allowance for variation between units, under the EU's outdoor noise directive 2000/14/EC. It is not a distance figure at all. Our sound power vs sound pressure explainer explains why it cannot sit beside either pressure figure.

A bare "dB". Worx's 57 dB, RYOBI's 57 dB, DEWALT's 62 db(a) and EGO's 64 dB for the LB6504 come with no distance, standard or speed. They may be honest numbers, but without a basis we cannot put them in a ranking.

The 50 ft ranking

Every figure below is dB(A) at 50 ft (15 m) under ANSI B175.2, in the maker's own page or manual:

  • STIHL BGA 30: 50 (a small 11 V blower, 250 cf/min)
  • Milwaukee 3017-20: 54
  • STIHL BGA 50: 55
  • STIHL BGA 60 and BGA 110: 56
  • STIHL BGA 86: 58
  • Husqvarna 530iB: 60 (at rated maximum speed)
  • Makita XBU03: 60 (from Makita's page as recorded in our catalog; the site would not load on our recheck)
  • Husqvarna 525iB Mark II: 64.4 in Normal mode, 66 in Boost
  • EGO LBX1000: 65

Read the gaps with the usual rule of thumb: about 10 dB(A) sounds twice as loud. The Milwaukee and the Husqvarna 530iB are six decibels apart, which is clearly audible across a yard. The BGA 30 is four decibels under the Milwaukee, but with half its air, so it is a choice for hard surfaces rather than a swap for a bigger blower. From 54 to 58, the full-size STIHLs and the Milwaukee are close enough that airflow, kit and price should decide between them. Our dBA explained page covers the A weighting behind every figure here.

What your own ears get

On a patio you stand closer to the blower than anyone, so the operator's figure deserves a look. By LpA at the operator's ear, quietest first:

  • STIHL BGA 30: 73 dB(A), K 2.0, STIHL UK data
  • STIHL BGA 60: 76 dB(A), K 2.0, STIHL UK data
  • Husqvarna 530iB: 76.9 dB(A), US page
  • STIHL BGA 50: 78 dB(A), K 2.0, STIHL UK data
  • EGO LB5804 (EU LB5800E): 78.4 dB(A), K 2.5, EU manual
  • Husqvarna 230iB: 79 dB(A), US page
  • Husqvarna 350iB: 79.4 dB(A), US page
  • STIHL BGA 110: 82 dB(A), K 2.0, STIHL UK data
  • Husqvarna 525iB Mark II: 85 dB(A), US page and manual
  • EGO LBX1000: 86 dB(A), K 3, EU manual

By guaranteed sound power, LWA: Husqvarna 530iB at 92 dB(A), EGO LB5804 and LBX1000 at 98, Husqvarna 350iB and 525iB Mark II at 101, and Husqvarna 230iB at 102. STIHL's UK data also give a sound power level for each STIHL blower, from 84 dB(A) for the BGA 30, but not as a guaranteed figure, so we leave them out of that order. Husqvarna's 525iB Mark II manual names EN ISO 11203 and ISO 22868 for the operator figure; STIHL gives only a K-value under Directive 2006/42/EC, and EGO's manuals name no standard for it, so read close rows as neighbors rather than a strict order. Our EGO decibels page and Husqvarna decibels page list every blower in each brand with all its figures.

The two lists do not agree, and that is the point. Among full-size handhelds, the Milwaukee leads at 50 feet but publishes nothing for the operator, and the 530iB leads in guaranteed sound power but is six decibels behind the Milwaukee at 50 feet. The small BGA 30 has the lowest figure we found on both pressure lists, at 50 feet and at the ear. If the neighbors are your worry, read the first list. If you blow the deck every morning, read the second.

The low setting and the boost button

Every handheld here has a variable speed trigger or a speed control, and most add a boost or turbo button. The quiet way to run any of them is the lowest speed that moves the leaves. But almost none of them publish a figure at that speed.

Husqvarna is the exception. Its 525iB Mark II manual gives 64.4 dB(A) at 50 ft in Normal mode and 66 in Boost, so boost costs 1.6 decibels at the neighbor's fence. That is a small step, but on a 65 dB(A) rule it is the difference between under and over. Husqvarna's pages also list guaranteed sound power in boost mode: the 230iB goes from 102 to 108 dB(A), six decibels more, and the 350iB from 101 to 110, nine more. Nine decibels is close to the ten that sounds twice as loud.

The other makers stay silent on boost. STIHL's BGA 60 and BGA 110 each have a Boost mode and one 56 dB(A) figure; STIHL does not say which mode that figure describes. EGO's turbo has no figure. And Husqvarna's 530iB manual says its 60 dB(A) is "determined on the basis of the rated maximum speed", which is the honest way to rate it: the published figure is the loud end, and the low setting can only be quieter.

Run time at the low setting

A quiet speed is also a long-lasting one. Here is what each maker publishes for a handheld on low:

  • EGO LB5804 (EU LB5800E): 200 minutes on low, 30 on high, 18 in boost with a 5.0Ah battery. EGO's US page says up to 75 minutes on a 5.0Ah, without naming a speed.
  • EGO LB6504: 200 minutes on low, 30 on high, 15 in boost with the included 5.0Ah, in its US manual.
  • EGO LBX1000: up to 100 minutes on low, 33 on high and 20 on turbo with a 10.0Ah battery.
  • STIHL BGA 50: 20 to 115 minutes on the included AK 20. STIHL says its working times "are indicative and may vary depending on the application and operating mode", and does not name the setting for the long figure.
  • STIHL BGA 60: 13 to 105 minutes on an AK 20, 16 to 130 on an AK 30.
  • STIHL BGA 30: 8 to 25 minutes per AS 2 battery; the set includes two.
  • Husqvarna 350iB: an estimated 45 minutes in normal mode with the included BLi30.
  • RYOBI RY404014K: over 45 minutes with a 4Ah battery, "using variable speed trigger on low".
  • Husqvarna 230iB: up to 30 minutes on lower variable speeds with the included 4 Ah battery.
  • Milwaukee 3017-20, Husqvarna 530iB and 525iB Mark II: no single run time published.

For a patio and a deck, even the short figures here cover a session. Run time starts to matter on a medium lawn in autumn, where a blower on low for an hour is far kinder to the street than one on boost for twenty minutes.

Weight in one hand

A handheld is held at arm's length on one wrist, so weight is part of whether you will run it slowly. The makers publish weight on different bases, which makes this tricky. Without a battery: STIHL BGA 30 at 3.4 lb, STIHL BGA 50 at 4.9 lb, STIHL BGA 60 at 5.1 lb, Husqvarna 525iB Mark II at 5.51 lbs and 530iB at 5.95 lbs, EGO LB5800E at 2.18 kg, Worx at 4.5 lbs bare. Milwaukee lists 5.1 lb for the 3017-20 without saying whether a battery is fitted. With a battery: Husqvarna's 350iB kit at 10 lbs. RYOBI's 9.60 lbs and DEWALT's 9.42 lbs do not say either way.

Most of these weights leave the battery out, and a battery can add a good share again. Pick one up with the battery you will use before you buy.

Blower rules that cite 65 dB(A) at 50 feet

Many towns write blower rules around the same figure. Two examples:

  • Portland, Oregon. From March 1 through October 31, only blowers on the city's certified list of 65 dBA or quieter may be used; from November 1 through February 28, the list is 70 dBA. The lists include only blowers certified by a third-party lab using ANSI B175.2-2000, and no blower may run in residential zones from 7:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.
  • Cupertino, California. Any leaf blower "with a noise level reading of 65 dBA or less, measured at 50 feet" is permitted. For an electric blower, that level must be "identified in its product information specifications". Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on weekdays and 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on weekends and holidays at most properties.

Here is where the handheld market gets awkward. Cupertino's wording asks for a figure at 50 feet in the product's specifications. Milwaukee, STIHL and Husqvarna's 530iB and 525iB manuals print exactly that. Worx's 57 dB, RYOBI's 57 dB and DEWALT's 62 db(a) do not say 50 feet, so they may not show what such a rule asks for, however low they look. And Portland goes further, with its own list. Check your town's wording and, where there is one, its list before you buy. Our parent guide covers Los Altos Hills and California's engine rules.

Quiet claims that come without a figure

Several makers sell handhelds on quietness without a number we can rank:

  • RYOBI's WHISPER SERIES blower is "85% quieter than gas", engineered "with noise dampening foam".
  • EGO says the LB5804 is "4 times quieter than gas blowers".
  • CRAFTSMAN's V20 Brushless RP blower offers "Up to 50% less noise than gas", footnoted as a bystander noise level at a 50-ft radius against its own 25cc gas blower, but the page gives no decibel figure for either.
  • Milwaukee says its blower is "Up To 40% Quieter than the competition", alongside its 54 dB(A).
  • Greenworks' Canadian page for the BL60L251 lists "Noise Level @ 50' (Long Range) 89.4 dB". That is far higher than any ANSI figure here and names no standard, so we cannot tell what it measures. We found no figure on Greenworks' US blower pages.
  • Toro's page for its 60V MAX blower, model 51820, gives no decibel figure at all. We found no maker figure for Kobalt's handhelds either.

None of these can be ranked, and a percentage of loudness is not something a rule is written in.

How to keep a handheld quiet on a small lot

Start on the lowest speed. Husqvarna's 525iB figures show boost costs 1.6 decibels at 50 feet; the guaranteed sound power figures for the 230iB and 350iB show it can cost six to nine. Save boost for the wet corner.

Use it for short sessions. A handheld is a ten minute tool on a patio. If you are clearing a lawn for an hour, our backpack blower guide covers the tools built for that.

Wear hearing protection anyway. EGO's LB5800E manual says "Always wear ear protection when operating this product". Even the quietest operator figure here, 73 dB(A), is measured at your head, not at 50 feet.

Time it with the neighbors. Our quiet yard overview sets the blower beside the mower and trimmer if you are planning a quieter weekend routine for the whole yard.

How we chose

We reopened each maker's US product page and, where we could, the operator's manual, plus EGO's European manuals for the operator and sound power declarations. We recorded each figure in the maker's own words with its basis and ranked only like with like: 50 ft ANSI against 50 ft ANSI, operator's ear against operator's ear, sound power against sound power. Prices are the maker's own, where one is shown; Milwaukee, Makita, DEWALT and EGO show none. Husqvarna's 120iB, which buyers still ask about, is no longer on Husqvarna's US blower listing, so we left it out.

We did not measure any of these blowers ourselves. Every figure here is the maker's, quoted with its distance, standard or setting where the maker gives one, and the bare "dB" figures are listed but never ranked. Makita's site would not load when we rechecked it, so its 60 dB(A) is the figure we recorded earlier from Makita's own page.

Common questions

What is the quietest handheld battery leaf blower?

On the ANSI B175.2 figure at 50 feet, the STIHL BGA 30 at 50 dB(A), a small 11 V blower with 250 cf/min. Among full-size handhelds, the Milwaukee 3017-20 at 54 dB(A), then the STIHL BGA 50 at 55 and the BGA 60 and BGA 110 at 56. Worx and RYOBI list 57 dB for some handhelds, but with no distance or standard, so those figures cannot be ranked with the ANSI ones.

How much louder is boost or turbo mode?

Only one maker says, at 50 feet. Husqvarna's 525iB Mark II manual gives 64.4 dB(A) in Normal mode and 66 in Boost, both under ANSI B175.2, so 1.6 decibels more. In guaranteed sound power, Husqvarna's pages list 102 rising to 108 dB(A) in boost for the 230iB, and 101 rising to 110 for the 350iB.

Is the 50 ft figure measured on the lowest speed?

No maker says so, and Husqvarna says the opposite: its 530iB manual says the noise data are "determined on the basis of the rated maximum speed". Running on a lower speed should be quieter than the rated figure, but no maker publishes a low-speed figure for a handheld.

How long does a handheld battery blower run on low?

EGO's manuals give 200 minutes on low with a 5.0Ah battery for the LB5800E and the LB6500 series. RYOBI says over 45 minutes on low with a 4Ah battery. Husqvarna says up to 30 minutes on lower speeds for the 230iB kit. STIHL gives ranges, 20 to 115 minutes for the BGA 50 on an AK 20 and 8 to 25 for the small BGA 30 on an AS 2, without naming the setting.

Will a handheld rated 57 dB meet a 65 dB(A) at 50 feet rule?

You cannot tell from the number alone. Cupertino says an electric blower's 65 dBA or less at 50 feet must be identified in its product information specifications, and Portland uses a list of blowers certified by a third-party lab under ANSI B175.2. A bare 57 dB with no distance or standard does not show either.

Why is the figure at my ear so much higher than the 50 ft figure?

They measure different things. The 50 ft figure is sound pressure where a neighbor might stand. The operator's figure, LpA, is sound pressure at your head, a couple of feet from the fan. Husqvarna's 530iB shows the gap: 60 dB(A) at 50 ft in its manual, 76.9 dB(A) at the ear on its page. STIHL's BGA 30 goes from 50 dB(A) at 50 ft to 73 at the ear.

Do I need hearing protection with a quiet handheld?

The makers say yes. EGO's LB5800E manual says "Always wear ear protection when operating this product", and its US LB6500 manual says to wear hearing protection during extended periods of operation. A short patio session is still close to the fan.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • STIHL BGA 110 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

    56 dB(A) at 15 m under ANSI/OPEI B175.2, tied with the BGA 60, with a Boost mode and 538 cf/min, more air than the Milwaukee. $219.99 unit only on STIHL's 36 V AP batteries; STIHL publishes no Boost noise figure. STIHL's UK data give 82 dB(A) at the operator.

    See it at Amazon
  • BGA 86 Battery Powered Blower (Unit Only)

    58 dB(A) at 15 m under ANSI/OPEI B175.2, 458 cf/min and 25 to 144 minutes on an AP 30.1, for $249.99 unit only. It sits between the BGA 60 and the 60 dB(A) blowers, at 6.2 lb without battery.

    See it at Amazon
  • 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Blower Kit (4.0Ah)

    Makita lists "Sound Pressure (per Ansi B175.2 standard) : 60 dB(A)" for this 18V kit with a 4.0Ah battery, at 6 lbs with battery. Makita's site would not load when we rechecked it, so we list it here rather than as a pick.

    See it at Amazon
  • EGO Commercial LBX1000 1000 CFM Handheld Blower (blower only)

    A 1000 CFM commercial handheld rated "65db(A) decibel rating at 50 feet meets ANSI standards", with 86 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 98 in its EU manual. Up to 100 minutes on low with a 10.0Ah battery, sold separately. More blower than a patio needs.

    See it at Amazon
  • Husqvarna 230iB (battery and charger included)

    A $319.99 kit at 79 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 102 dB(A), rising to 108 in boost mode. Husqvarna says up to 30 minutes on lower variable speeds with the included 4 Ah battery. No 50 ft figure.

    See it at Amazon
  • Husqvarna 350iB Leaf Blaster (battery and charger included)

    800 cfm for $379.99 with a battery, at 79.4 dB(A) at the ear and a guaranteed 101 dB(A), but 110 in boost mode, the biggest boost jump we found. No 50 ft figure.

    See it at Amazon
  • 40V 530 CFM 180 MPH brushless QuietTech leaf blower (WG581.1 kit)

    Worx lists "Decibel rating 57 dB" with no distance or standard, so we cannot rank it. A two battery kit for $219.99, up to 75 minutes, 4.5 lbs bare.

    See it at Amazon
  • 40V HP Brushless WHISPER SERIES 650 CFM 160 MPH Leaf Blower Cordless with 4.0 Ah Battery and Charger

    A WHISPER SERIES kit at $249.00 with a "Noise Rating" of 57 dB and no stated basis. RYOBI says over 45 minutes on low with the 4Ah battery. 9.60 lbs as listed.

    See it at Amazon
  • 20V MAX* XR Brushless Cordless Handheld Blower Kit

    DEWALT says "Low Noise During Operation - 62 db(a)" with no distance or standard. 450 CFM, no run time published.

    See it at Amazon
  • POWER+ 650 CFM Blower (LB6504, with 5.0Ah battery and charger)

    A popular 650 CFM kit with a bare "64 dB noise level". Its US manual gives 200 minutes on low, 30 on high and 15 in boost with a 5.0Ah battery.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides