QuietSpecs

The quietest treadmill for running, and what 70 dB means

Check price

The quietest treadmill for running, and what 70 dB means

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For most runners, the BowFlex T9 is our pick.
  • Its owner's manual promises no more than 70 dB at 7.5 mph with nobody on the belt, measured at head height, the same limit BowFlex prints for the T6 and T16 and Horizon for its 7.0 AT and 7.4 AT, and it pairs that with a 22 by 60 inch deck and a 3.5 hp motor rating for $1,399 on sale.
  • The Technogym Run is the only treadmill measured with someone running, 57 dB at 10 km/h, but it costs $14,350.
  • Peloton's 70 dB and DeerRun's under 45 dB come with no speed, load or distance, so they cannot be ranked against either.

Only figure taken with a runner on the belt

Technogym Run

Noise (maker's words) "57 dB at a 10 km/h speed (on average - 85kg user)"

$14,350.00 maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Only figure taken with a runner on the belt

    Technogym Run

    "57 dB at a 10 km/h speed (on average - 85kg user)"

    $14,350.00Check price →
  2. 2

    Best for most runners

    T9 Treadmill

    "no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)

  3. 3

    Same limit, thickest deck and longest cover

    7.4 AT Treadmill

    "no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)

  4. 4

    Lowest price with the 70 dB limit

    T6 Treadmill

    "no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)

  5. 5

    Stated limit for heavier runners

    Run CX Treadmill

    "below 70 dB (A)" (owner's manual)

Our Picks

Technogym Run

#1 · Only figure taken with a runner on the belt

Technogym Run

Technogym

Noise (maker's words)"57 dB at a 10 km/h speed (on average - 85kg user)"

Technogym's US spec table lists the Run's noise as "57 dB at a 10 km/h speed (on average - 85kg user)". That is 6.2 mph with a 187 lb runner on the belt, and it is the only running treadmill figure we found taken with someone running. It gives no distance, and it cannot be set against the empty-belt limits below. The Run is a slat belt treadmill with a sled mode, 15.5 mph and a 353 lb limit, at $14,350 delivered and installed.

Buy it ifRunners for whom a documented figure from an actual run is worth the price

Skip it ifYour budget is in four figures, not five

What we like

  • The one figure measured with a runner: 57 dB at 10 km/h, 85 kg user
  • A 60-slat belt that Technogym says reduces impact for quieter runs
  • Delivery and installation included in the price

What to know

  • $14,350, several times the price of any other pick
  • No measuring distance given
  • 456 lb, with a 12 inch step-up height
Condition the maker gives
85 kg runner on the belt, 10 km/h (6.2 mph), average
Top speed
15.5 mph
Running area
20 x 68 in, slat belt
Motor
5,800 W (7.78 hp) peak
Deck
Slat belt, 60 slats
Max user weight
353 lb

$14,350.00

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
T9 Treadmill

#2 · Best for most runners

T9 Treadmill

BowFlex

Noise (maker's words)"no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)

The T9's owner's manual carries the sentence BowFlex shares with Horizon: with nobody on the treadmill and the belt at 12 km/h (7.5 mph), the A-weighted sound pressure "is no greater than 70 dB when sound level is measured at typical head height". Of the five treadmills that print it, the T9 pairs a 22 by 60 inch FlexZone XL deck with a 3.5 hp motor rating for $1,399 on sale, against a regular $1,799. BowFlex says that rating comes from a test setting and is not the motor's output in use.

Buy it ifRunners who want a figure with a stated test and a full-width deck

Skip it ifYou weigh more than 350 lb

What we like

  • A manual limit with a speed and position: 70 dB at 7.5 mph, no user
  • 22 x 60 inch deck with three cushioning zones
  • Lifetime frame and motor warranty, 350 lb limit

What to know

  • The limit is set with nobody running; the manual says load adds noise
  • 3-year mechanical parts and 1-year labor warranty
  • An 18 mm deck, against 20 mm on the Horizon 7.4 AT
Condition the maker gives
No user, 12 km/h (7.5 mph), typical head height
Top speed
12 mph
Running area
22 x 60 in
Motor
3.5 hp, rated in a test setting
Deck
FlexZone XL, three zones, 18 mm
Max user weight
350 lb

$1,799.00

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
7.4 AT Treadmill

#3 · Same limit, thickest deck and longest cover

7.4 AT Treadmill

Horizon Fitness

Noise (maker's words)"no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)

Horizon's 7.4AT-04 manual prints the same 70 dB limit as the T9, word for word. The 7.4 AT differs in its deck and its warranty: 20 mm of deck under 3-Zone Variable Response Cushioning, against 18 mm, and 5 years on parts and 2 on labor, against 3 and 1. Horizon publishes no horsepower for its RapidSync motor and says the treadmill is not compatible with GFCI outlets. It was $1,799 on Horizon's store, against a regular $2,399.

Buy it ifRunners who want the 70 dB limit with the thickest deck and longest parts cover

Skip it ifThe only outlet near your spot is GFCI protected

What we like

  • The same manual limit: 70 dB at 7.5 mph, no user, at head height
  • 22 x 60 inch deck, 20 mm thick, thicker than the BowFlex decks
  • 5-year parts and 2-year labor warranty, 350 lb limit

What to know

  • No horsepower rating published
  • $400 more than the T9 on sale when we checked
  • Not compatible with GFCI outlets
Condition the maker gives
No user, 12 km/h (7.5 mph), typical head height
Top speed
12 mph
Running area
22 x 60 in
Motor
DC, horsepower not published
Deck
3-Zone Variable Response, 20 mm
Max user weight
350 lb

$2,399.00

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
T6 Treadmill

#4 · Lowest price with the 70 dB limit

T6 Treadmill

BowFlex

Noise (maker's words)"no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)

The T6 is the least expensive of the five treadmills whose manuals print the 70 dB limit at 7.5 mph: $899 on sale on BowFlex's store, against a regular $1,299. Its FlexZone deck is 20 by 60 inches, two inches narrower than the T9's, with the same 18 mm thickness and three cushioning zones, and its motor is rated at 3.0 hp. On paper it carries exactly the limit the dearer machines do, with nobody on the belt.

Buy it ifRunners on a budget who still want a maker figure with a stated test

Skip it ifYou want a 22 inch wide belt

What we like

  • The same manual limit as the T9 for $899 on sale
  • 20 x 60 inch deck, 12 mph and 15% incline
  • Lifetime frame and motor warranty

What to know

  • A 20 inch belt and a 325 lb limit
  • 3.0 hp rating, the lowest among the picks
  • 3-year parts and 1-year labor warranty
Condition the maker gives
No user, 12 km/h (7.5 mph), typical head height
Top speed
12 mph
Running area
20 x 60 in
Motor
3.0 hp, rated in a test setting
Deck
FlexZone, three zones, 18 mm
Max user weight
325 lb

$1,299.00

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
Run CX Treadmill

#5 · Stated limit for heavier runners

Run CX Treadmill

Life Fitness

Noise (maker's words)"below 70 dB (A)" (owner's manual)

The Run CX manual says that, unloaded, it "runs at sound pressure levels below 70 dB (A)" at 8 km/h for home units, and the same manual classes the Run CX as a home treadmill. That is about 5 mph, a slower test than the 7.5 mph in the BowFlex and Horizon manuals, with no listening position, so the two limits cannot be ranked. It does not fold, takes 400 lb users on a 22 by 60 inch FlexDeck, has a 3.0 HP continuous-duty DC motor and was $4,899.

Buy it ifHeavier runners who want a non-folding home treadmill with a stated limit

Skip it ifYou need it to fold away

What we like

  • A manual limit with a speed: below 70 dB(A) at 8 km/h, no user
  • 400 lb user limit and a 10-year motor warranty
  • 3.0 HP continuous-duty DC motor, 22 x 60 inch belt

What to know

  • Tested at about 5 mph, slower than most runs
  • No listening position given
  • Does not fold, and weighs 341 lb
Condition the maker gives
No user, 8 km/h (5 mph) for home units, position not stated
Top speed
12 mph
Running area
22 x 60 in
Motor
3.0 HP continuous-duty DC
Deck
FlexDeck, 19 mm, reversible
Max user weight
400 lb

$4,899.00

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoise (maker's words)Condition the maker givesTop speedRunning areaMotorPrice
1.Technogym DGK01U0"57 dB at a 10 km/h speed (on average - 85kg user)"85 kg runner on the belt, 10 km/h (6.2 mph), average15.5 mph20 x 68 in, slat belt5,800 W (7.78 hp) peak$14,350.00 maker's list price
2.BowFlex T9"no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)No user, 12 km/h (7.5 mph), typical head height12 mph22 x 60 in3.5 hp, rated in a test setting$1,799.00 maker's list price
3.Horizon Fitness HTM1380-01"no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)No user, 12 km/h (7.5 mph), typical head height12 mph22 x 60 inDC, horsepower not published$2,399.00 maker's list price
4.BowFlex T6"no greater than 70 dB" (owner's manual)No user, 12 km/h (7.5 mph), typical head height12 mph20 x 60 in3.0 hp, rated in a test setting$1,299.00 maker's list price
5.Life Fitness RRR-TR-0000-03"below 70 dB (A)" (owner's manual)No user, 8 km/h (5 mph) for home units, position not stated12 mph22 x 60 in3.0 HP continuous-duty DC$4,899.00 maker's list price

Buying Guide

The quietest running treadmill you can verify with someone actually running on it is the Technogym Run. Technogym's US spec table gives "57 dB at a 10 km/h speed (on average - 85kg user)": 6.2 mph, with a 187 lb runner on its slat belt. No other maker we checked publishes a figure taken that way, and the Run costs $14,350.

For a fraction of that, five treadmills from BowFlex and Horizon, both Johnson Health Tech brands, share one sentence in their owner's manuals: with nobody on the belt and the deck running at 12 km/h (7.5 mph), the sound at typical head height is no greater than 70 dB. Our pick among them is the BowFlex T9. The other figures we found are an empty-belt limit at a slower speed, figures with only part of a condition, or numbers with none at all, like DeerRun's under 45 dB.

On October 10 and 13, 2026, we read the US product pages, spec tables and owner's manuals of more than 100 treadmills from 30 brands, from 8 mph compact folders to a 15.5 mph slat belt machine. About 30 of the models that reach 10 mph carry a maker's noise figure. Only Technogym, BowFlex, Horizon and Life Fitness say at what speed theirs was taken.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The sentence BowFlex and Horizon print in their manuals

Five current treadmills carry this line, word for word, in their owner's manuals: the BowFlex T6, T9 and T16 and the Horizon 7.0 AT and 7.4 AT. "When there is no user on the treadmill (unloaded condition) and when the treadmill is running at 12 km/ hour (7.5 mph), the A-weighted sound pressure level is no greater than 70 dB when sound level is measured at typical head height." Johnson Health Tech owns both brands, and its own server hosts both sets of manuals.

Each clause narrows what the number covers. Nobody on the belt means no footfall, only the motor, the rollers and the belt. 7.5 mph is an eight-minute mile, a steady run for many people, and the sentence says nothing about the 12 mph all five can reach. Head height means the runner's own ears, not the room below. And "no greater than" makes it a limit the machine stays under, not a reading, so a T6 and a 7.4 AT could sit well apart beneath it and the sentence would still be true of both.

Because it is sound pressure at a stated listening position, it describes what reaches an ear rather than the total sound a machine gives off; our explainer on sound power and sound pressure sets out why the two are not interchangeable. It also gives an owner something to check. Run the treadmill empty at 7.5 mph and take a reading at head height, using the method in our guide to measuring noise at home, and you have a rough check against the maker's own sentence. A phone reading will not match a test rig, but a result far above 70 dB on an empty belt is worth a call to the maker.

Horizon's other documents are less precise and more candid. The Treadmill Guide posted with its owner's manuals says the noise is "less than 70 dB when there is no user on it and may be louder with a user running on the running surface". Horizon's online Treadmill Safety Warnings go further: "less than 70 dB when there is no user on it and more than 70 dB when it is in use". The two disagree about running, may be louder against more than 70 dB, and neither gives a speed. We rank on the owner's manual sentence, the one with a speed and a position, and read the safety warning as Horizon's own forecast for a runner.

Horizon's 7.8 AT and T202 carry only the Treadmill Guide's line. The T202-06 owner's manual has no noise sentence, and the only owner's manual Horizon lists for the 7.8 AT dates from 2019 and has none either, so both sit below the picks. Matrix, another Johnson Health Tech brand, prints the same guide line for its T30, TF30, T50, TF50 and T75, without the 7.5 mph test.

Life Fitness tests slower, and Technogym tests with a runner

Life Fitness prints a limit in different words: "this equipment unloaded runs at sound pressure levels below 70 dB (A) at the average operating speed of 12 km/hr (commercial units) and 8 km/hr (home units)". Which speed applies depends on the class each document gives. The Run CX manual says "Home EN ISO 20957 Class H", so its test speed is 8 km/h, about 5 mph, or a twelve-minute mile. The assembly instructions for the Club Series+ class it as a home treadmill too, and only the commercial Integrity models as Class S, tested at 12 km/h. Life Fitness gives no listening position, so even its 12 km/h limit is not the same test as BowFlex's and Horizon's.

Technogym's figure is the only one that includes a runner. Its US spec table for the Run reads "57 dB at a 10 km/h speed (on average - 85kg user)". That is an average with an 85 kg (187 lb) runner at 6.2 mph, not a ceiling over an empty belt, and Technogym does not say how far from the treadmill it measured. It is the most useful number in this guide for a runner, and it still cannot be ranked against the 70 dB limits: a different speed, a different load and a different kind of figure.

Two commercial makers print figures without any speed. TRUE's owner's manuals for six treadmills, from the Launch to the Apex, give "A-weighted emission sound pressure level at the trainer's ear: 67 dBA", and each says the unit "is intended for commercial use only". Precor's getting started guide for the TRM 500 gives "Noise level: 60 dbA". Neither maker sells these through a home store with a price, so neither is a pick.

What the makers say happens once you run

Every maker that prints an empty-belt limit adds the same warning. The BowFlex and Horizon manuals say "Noise emission measurement of treadmill under load is higher than with no load", and the Life Fitness manuals say "Noise emission under load is higher than without load". Nobody says by how much.

Two makers come closer. KingSmith's WalkingPad FAQ says walking-focused models "generally operate at under 65 dB, while some running-capable treadmills may operate at under 75 dB". DeerRun, which claims under 45 dB for its X50, answers its own question about the A1 Pro Move+ in an apartment with "A1 Pro Move+ is not silent. Motor sound, footfalls, and vibration can be noticeable, particularly during running."

Horizon's belt check shows what a stride does to the machine. To test the tension, its help center says to walk at 3 mph and "stomp your foot on the belt. You are emulating a runner with a heavy foot." If the belt hesitates, it needs tightening. A treadmill that meets a 70 dB limit with nobody on it is then asked to take that stomp on every stride of a run.

Under 45 dB at 12.5 mph, with nothing attached

The lowest numbers on running treadmills come with no conditions at all:

  • DeerRun X50 (12.5 mph): "Whisper-Quiet Operation Under 45dB", on a page that says its motor stays quiet "whether you're jogging easy or sprinting hard".
  • DeerRun Flex Rise 1 (10 mph): "Quiet Operation Under 45 dB".
  • Echanfit's 20% incline treadmill (10 mph): "noise levels under 50dB".
  • Peloton Tread Flex (12.5 mph): "Runs at 70db."
  • OVICX X3+ (12.4 mph, sold out when we checked): "Noise Rating ≤70 dB".
  • Goplus's 4.75HP folding treadmill (12 mph): "Noise Level: 5dB".

The last shows how little a bare number promises. Five decibels is quieter than rustling leaves, which the National Park Service puts at 20 dBA on our decibel chart, so it cannot describe a 12 mph motor; it reads like a misprint nobody caught.

None of these can be ranked against the manual limits, because none says at what speed, with what load or at what distance it was taken. They cannot be ranked against each other either. DeerRun's 45 and Peloton's 70 may describe a 25 dB gap or the same kind of treadmill measured two ways, and neither maker says which. That is why they sit below the picks, not in them.

Decks, belts and motors in the makers' own words

For a runner the deck is where the force goes, and the makers say more about decks than about decibels. BowFlex describes three zones on its FlexZone decks: "enhanced cushioning at the front for softer impacts", a supported middle and a "firmer zone at the back for powerful push-offs". Horizon's 3-Zone Variable Response Cushioning follows the same plan, an impact zone "Flexible to absorb impact", a neutral middle and a push-off zone "Firm to provide reinforcement". The decks differ in size and thickness: 20 by 60 inches on the T6 and the 7.0 AT, 22 by 60 on the T9, the T16 and the 7.4 AT, 18 mm thick on the BowFlex machines and the 7.0 AT, and 20 mm on the 7.4 AT.

The Run CX's FlexDeck sits on a reversible 19 mm deck under a 22 by 60 inch belt, and Life Fitness says its shock absorption "reduces knee and joint stress by 30% compared to non-treadmill running". Technogym's Run has no deck in the usual sense: it runs on a belt of 60 slats, and Technogym says its "Slat Belt™ reduces impact for smoother, quieter runs".

Motor ratings are harder to compare than they look. BowFlex rates the T6 at 3.0 hp and the T9 and T16 at 3.5 hp, and footnotes that the figure "is a rating based on measurement in a test setting" that "does not reflect the operational HP of the motor in use". Horizon publishes no horsepower at all and says only that its treadmills use DC motors. Life Fitness lists the Run CX's motor as "3.0 HP continuous-duty DC", Technogym gives the Run 5800 W peak, and DeerRun lists the Flex Rise 1's motor as "3.5 HP Rated Marketing Power".

Compact folders that stop short of 10 mph

Many treadmills sold as quiet enough to run on top out between 8 and 9.5 mph, and we kept them out of the picks on speed alone. Their figures are as bare as the faster machines':

  • UMAY L10 and L20 (8.7 mph): "runs under 45dB" and "runs below 45dB". UMAY's U80 reaches 9.5 mph on a 55 by 18 inch belt, "Operating under an ultra-quiet 45dB profile".
  • WELLFIT TM032 (8.6 mph) and TM007 (8.8 mph): "less than 45 dB" and "below 45dB".
  • WalkingPad X214 (8.5 mph): "low noise at under 65 dB".
  • OVICX Q2S+ (8.7 mph): "Noise Rating ≤70 dB".

Two makers selling 8.7 mph folders put their ceilings 25 dB apart, UMAY under 45 and OVICX at 70 or less, and neither says how it measured. Peloton's buying advice gives a yardstick for the belts on machines like these: it says many compact or folding treadmills "support running at speeds up to 10 mph with belt lengths of 50 to 55 inches, which accommodates most recreational runners comfortably". The L10's belt is 42.5 inches long, short of that range.

Where a running treadmill stands, and what goes under it

BowFlex's and Horizon's care guides explain why a new treadmill can sound louder at home than in a store: "there will be less reverberation on a carpeted concrete floor than on a wood overlay floor. Sometimes a heavy rubber mat will help reduce reverberation through the floor. If a fitness product is placed close to a wall, there will be more reflected noise." Horizon's own Fitness Mat, out of stock on its store when we checked, is 82 by 39 inches of 5 mm foam that Horizon says "reduces noise and vibration from equipment"; the 7.0 AT's 76 by 35 inch footprint and the 7.4 AT's 76 by 37 both fit on it.

Peloton sets a limit on softness. Its Tread Flex FAQ says the treadmill "should be installed on a hard, flat, stable surface", to "Avoid high pile carpets", and, if you use a mat, to "choose a hard, thick mat that won't curl up or interfere with the incline mechanism". A running treadmill's deck tilts on that mechanism, so the warning is about the machine as much as the noise.

Power decides the spot as well. Horizon's Studio Series treadmills are "Not compatible w/ GFCI outlets", the Run CX manual says "In North America use a dedicated 15 amp circuit for Consumer Units", and Peloton asks for "a dedicated, grounded circuit capable of carrying 15 or more amps". Check the outlet before you settle on the quiet corner. If that corner is in a basement, the carpeted concrete line above is the case for running on the slab; see keeping a basement quiet before you choose the spot.

Keeping a running treadmill quiet past the first few hundred miles

Horizon sets deck lubrication in miles as well as months: lubricate a silicone deck "every 150 miles (241 km) or every 3 months". A runner covering 25 miles a week reaches 150 miles in six weeks, so for runners the mileage, not the calendar, sets the schedule. Horizon's and BowFlex's care guides add that frame bolts loosen on a new machine and "can cause noise issues"; check them after the first few uses and then monthly.

The same guides separate normal sounds from warnings. A thump from the belt riding over the rollers is normal on a new treadmill and "will diminish over time". "If you can also feel the noise, it typically means something has come loose or there is a foreign object touching the running belt." Creaking on an incline is "typically caused by dry joints on the elevation rack or a dry incline motor screw". Peloton calls minor screen vibration on the Tread Flex "normal, particularly at higher speeds", and points to loose bolts or an uneven floor when it is more than that.

Running treadmills sold without a noise figure

These makers publish no figure for the running treadmills we checked, on their pages or in their manuals: NordicTrack (T Series, Commercial 1250, 1750 and 2450, X16, X24), SOLE (F63, F65, F80, F83, F85, F89, ST90, TT8), Spirit (XT285 to XT685), Landice (L7, L8, L10), Woodway (4Front, Vive, Pro), Echelon (Stride-6, Stride-8s), Sunny Health & Fitness (T10, Platinum, Excel), AssaultRunner, LifeSpan (TR1200i to TR7000iM), DeerRun's X20 and Apex series, UREVO's 12.5 mph CyberMega, Yesoul and Toputure. Some use words instead of numbers: Echelon calls the Stride-6's motor "whisper-quiet", SOLE's F80 page promises "a quiet brushless 3.25 HP motor", and UREVO mentions a "low noise design". Peloton gives a figure for the Tread Flex and none for the Tread Vision or the Tread+ Vision. ProForm's and XTERRA's sites blocked us, so we could not check them.

How we chose

We read each maker's US product pages, spec tables, owner's manuals and support articles on October 10 and 13, 2026, for more than 100 treadmills from 30 brands. A running treadmill, for this guide, is one its maker sells for running with a top speed of at least 10 mph. We recorded every noise figure in the maker's words with any speed, load or listening position it gave, and grouped the figures by that condition: a figure with a runner on the belt (Technogym), an empty-belt limit at 7.5 mph measured at head height (BowFlex and Horizon), an empty-belt limit at a speed set by the machine's class (Life Fitness), a figure at the trainer's ear with no speed (TRUE), and bare numbers.

Only treadmills whose maker states a speed made the picks. We ordered them by how much the figure tells a runner: the figure with someone running first, then the limits with a speed and a listening position, then the limit with a speed alone. That order is not a claim that one treadmill is quieter than another. Within the BowFlex and Horizon group, where the figure is identical, we chose on deck size and thickness, the maker's motor rating, user limit, warranty and the price on the maker's own store. Bare numbers were never ranked against a stated limit or against each other.

Every figure here is the maker's own, quoted as published, with the condition the maker gave or a note that it gave none. We did not measure any of these treadmills ourselves.

Common questions

How loud is a treadmill when you are running on it?

Only one maker publishes a figure with a runner on the belt. Technogym lists 57 dB for its Run at 10 km/h (6.2 mph), on average, with an 85 kg runner. Horizon's safety warnings say its treadmills are less than 70 dB with nobody on them and more than 70 dB in use. The BowFlex, Horizon and Life Fitness manuals all add that noise under load is higher than without load, and none says by how much.

What does the 70 dB limit in a BowFlex or Horizon manual mean?

That with nobody on the belt and the treadmill running at 12 km/h (7.5 mph), the A-weighted sound pressure at typical head height is no greater than 70 dB. It is a ceiling, not a measurement, and the same sentence appears in the BowFlex T6, T9 and T16 and the Horizon 7.0 AT and 7.4 AT manuals. It says nothing about faster speeds or about footfall.

Is a treadmill rated under 45 dB quieter than one rated 70 dB?

The figures cannot tell you. DeerRun's under 45 dB for the X50 and Flex Rise 1, and Peloton's 70 dB for the Tread Flex, come with no speed, load or distance. The BowFlex and Horizon 70 dB is a ceiling at 7.5 mph with no user, measured at head height. They are different tests, so the smaller number is not evidence of a quieter treadmill.

Is the Life Fitness limit the same test as the BowFlex and Horizon one?

No. Life Fitness says its treadmills run below 70 dB(A) unloaded at 12 km/h for commercial units and 8 km/h for home units, with no listening position. Its Run CX manual classes the Run CX as a home treadmill, so its test speed is about 5 mph. BowFlex and Horizon test at 7.5 mph at head height, so neither limit is the quieter one on paper.

Does Peloton publish a noise figure for its treadmills?

For the Tread Flex only. Peloton's US page says it "Runs at 70db" and that its standard belt has "Ultra-quiet power measured at 70 dB", with no speed, load or distance. We found no figure for the Tread Vision or the Tread+ Vision.

What should go under a running treadmill?

BowFlex and Horizon say a heavy rubber mat can help reduce reverberation through the floor, and that a carpeted concrete floor reverberates less than a wood overlay floor. Peloton says to put the Tread Flex on a hard, flat, stable surface, avoid high pile carpet, and use only a hard, thick mat that won't curl up or interfere with the incline mechanism.

How often should a running treadmill be lubricated to keep it quiet?

Horizon says to lubricate a silicone deck every 150 miles (241 km) or every three months. At 25 miles a week, 150 miles comes round in six weeks, half the three-month interval. BowFlex's and Horizon's care guides also say loose frame bolts on a new machine can cause noise and should be checked after the first few uses and then monthly.

Why does my new treadmill thump?

BowFlex and Horizon say all treadmills make a thumping noise as the belt rides over the rollers, especially new ones, and that it diminishes as the belt stretches. Horizon treats a sound as normal if it is no louder than a normal conversational tone of voice, and a noise you can also feel as a sign that something has come loose or is touching the belt.

Which running treadmill makers publish no noise figure?

For the models we checked: NordicTrack, SOLE, Spirit, Echelon, Landice, Woodway, Sunny Health & Fitness, AssaultRunner and LifeSpan, plus DeerRun for its X20 and Apex series and UREVO for its 12.5 mph CyberMega. Echelon calls the Stride-6's motor "whisper-quiet" and SOLE's F80 page mentions "a quiet brushless 3.25 HP motor", with no number. ProForm's and XTERRA's sites blocked us.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • 7.0 AT Treadmill

    Its 7.0AT-05 manual prints the same 70 dB limit at 7.5 mph with no user, and it adds a reader that syncs with an Apple Watch or Samsung Galaxy Watch. We list the BowFlex T6 above it because the T6 matches its 20 by 60 inch, 18 mm deck for $200 less on sale when we checked, $899 against $1,099.

    See it at Amazon
  • T16 Treadmill

    The same 70 dB manual limit and the T9's 22 by 60 inch deck and 3.5 hp rating, with a 375 lb limit and a 16 inch touchscreen, for $1,899 on sale against a regular $2,299.

    See it at Amazon
  • 7.8 AT Treadmill

    Horizon's top Studio Series model has the 7.4 AT's 22 by 60 inch, 20 mm deck, a thicker 2.2 mm belt and a 375 lb limit. Horizon lists only a 2019 owner's manual for it, with no noise sentence, so its only figure is the Treadmill Guide's "less than 70 dB when there is no user on it", with no speed.

    See it at Amazon
  • T202 Treadmill

    Reaches 12 mph on a 20 by 60 inch deck for $899 on sale, but its T202-06 manual has no noise sentence, its only figure is the guide's no-user line without a speed, and Horizon's help center points regular runners to the Studio Series instead.

    See it at Amazon
  • Peloton Tread Flex

    Peloton says the Tread Flex "Runs at 70db", with no speed, load or distance on its US pages. It folds to 37.8 inches deep and reaches 12.5 mph on a 59 by 20 inch belt for $2,195, plus a membership.

    See it at Amazon
  • DeerRun X50 18% Auto Incline Smart Treadmill

    DeerRun claims "less than 45dB" for this 12.5 mph, 4.0 HP treadmill with no speed, load or distance, and the page does not give the belt size. It was listed as a pre-order shipping from December 10, for $1,399.

    See it at Amazon
  • DeerRun Flex Rise 1 Walk-to-Run Auto Incline Treadmill

    "Quiet Operation Under 45 dB", again with no condition, on a 10 mph treadmill whose 16.1 by 47.2 inch belt is more than a foot shorter than any pick's. DeerRun lists its motor as "3.5 HP Rated Marketing Power".

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides