QuietSpecs

The quietest walking pads, and what their decibel claims are worth

DeerRun Z10 12% Auto Incline Smart Walking Pad

The quietest walking pads, and what their decibel claims are worth

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • No walking pad can be named the quietest on published figures, because the makers do not measure the same way.
  • The DeerRun Z10 is the pad to pick if you want a figure with conditions: 65dB at no load and at full speed, though its own spec table also claims under 45 db.
  • The KingSmith WalkingPad C2 states 65 decibels idling and folds in half.
  • The Egofit Walker Pro-M1 stays under 70 dB at its 3.11 mph top speed and is the shortest pad with a stated condition.
  • For the people downstairs, a dense mat and a steady walking pace matter more than any of these numbers.

#1 · Only figure covering idle and top speed

DeerRun Z10 12% Auto Incline Smart Walking Pad

Noise (maker's words) "65dB during both no-load and full-speed conditions" (spec table also says under 45 db)

$199.00 maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Only figure covering idle and top speed

    DeerRun Z10 12% Auto Incline Smart Walking Pad

    "65dB during both no-load and full-speed conditions" (spec table also says under 45 db)

  2. 2

    Best fold-in-half walking pad

    WalkingPad C2 Foldable Walking Pad

    "idling noise is lowered to 65 decibels"

  3. 3

    "under 70DB, even at maximum speed"

  4. 4

    "below 70DB even at top speed"

  5. 5

    "On airborne noise: ≤65dB" (manual)

  6. 6

    "Low Noise <45 db"

Our Picks

DeerRun Z10 12% Auto Incline Smart Walking Pad

#1 · Only figure covering idle and top speed

DeerRun Z10 12% Auto Incline Smart Walking Pad

DeerRun

Noise (maker's words)"65dB during both no-load and full-speed conditions" (spec table also says under 45 db)

DeerRun is the only maker here that ties one figure to two conditions: the Z10 is "operating at just 65dB during both no-load and full-speed conditions", and its full speed is 3.8 mph. The same page also lists "Low Noise <45 db" in its spec table and never explains the gap, so read the 45 as a best case and the 65 as the figure to plan around. It adds a 12% automatic incline and a 300 lb limit for $199.

Buy it ifAnyone who wants a number with its conditions stated, plus incline

Skip it ifYou need to fold the pad in half to store it

What we like

  • One figure stated for both no load and full speed: 65dB
  • 12% automatic incline, controlled from the remote
  • 300 lb user limit at $199 on DeerRun's own store

What to know

  • The same page also claims under 45 db, with no condition
  • No measuring distance or walker weight is given
  • Top speed of 3.8 mph, walking only
What the figure covers
No load and full speed
Speed range
0.6 to 3.8 mph
Max user weight
300 lb
Footprint
43.8 x 20.7 x 5.6 in

$199.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
WalkingPad C2 Foldable Walking Pad

#2 · Best fold-in-half walking pad

WalkingPad C2 Foldable Walking Pad

KingSmith

Noise (maker's words)"idling noise is lowered to 65 decibels"

KingSmith says exactly what its figure describes: "idling noise is lowered to 65 decibels", which is the belt running with nobody on it. That is the same number DeerRun gives for its Z10 at no load, so on idle noise the two read the same. The C2 folds in half to about 32 inches, which is why we pick it for a small apartment.

Buy it ifA studio or shared flat where the pad has to disappear after use

Skip it ifYou weigh more than 220 lb

What we like

  • The figure is labelled: 65 decibels idling
  • Folds in half to 32 by 20 inches
  • 55 lb, light enough to roll away after work

What to know

  • An idling figure says nothing about walking on it
  • 220 lb user limit
  • Top speed of 3.7 mph
What the figure covers
Idling, no walker
Speed range
0.5 to 3.7 mph
Max user weight
220 lb
Footprint
57 x 20 x 5 in, folds to 32 in long

$449.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 20

Check price on Amazon
Egofit Walker Pro-M1 Under Desk Treadmill

#3 · Best for a tiny room

Egofit Walker Pro-M1 Under Desk Treadmill

Egofit

Noise (maker's words)"under 70DB, even at maximum speed"

Egofit promises noise "under 70DB, even at maximum speed", and the M1's maximum is 3.11 mph. It is a ceiling, not a reading, so it does not tell you whether the M1 is louder or quieter than DeerRun's 65dB. It is the shortest pad here with a stated condition, at about 38 by 22 inches, and Egofit itself suggests a carpet or mat underneath.

Buy it ifA small desk nook where floor space is the first problem

Skip it ifYou want to walk briskly or walk flat

What we like

  • A ceiling tied to the top speed: under 70 dB
  • About 38 by 22 inches and 48.5 lb
  • Egofit recommends a mat to cut vibration and sound

What to know

  • Top speed of 3.11 mph
  • Fixed 5% incline that you cannot change
  • 220 lb user limit
What the figure covers
Top speed (3.11 mph)
Speed range
0.62 to 3.11 mph
Max user weight
220 lb
Footprint
38.4 x 21.9 x 6.9 in

$399.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Egofit Walker Plus-M1T Under Desk Treadmill with Handrail

#4 · Best with a handrail

Egofit Walker Plus-M1T Under Desk Treadmill with Handrail

Egofit

Noise (maker's words)"below 70DB even at top speed"

The M1T is the M1 with a folding handrail. Egofit says noise "stays below 70DB even at top speed", but the M1T has two top speeds, 3.11 mph flat and 3.73 mph with the handlebar raised, and the page does not say which one the figure covers. The handrail is the reason to buy it: steadier walking when you are not holding a desk.

Buy it ifWalkers who want something to hold, at a desk or in front of a TV

Skip it ifYou only walk at a standing desk, where the M1 is smaller and cheaper

What we like

  • A ceiling tied to top speed: below 70 dB
  • Handrail folds down to slide under a desk
  • Up to 3.73 mph with the handlebar raised

What to know

  • Does not say which top speed the figure covers
  • Fixed 5% incline
  • 220 lb user limit, 59 lb to move
What the figure covers
Top speed (not stated which)
Speed range
0.62 to 3.11 mph, 3.73 with handlebar
Max user weight
220 lb
Footprint
40.6 x 26.2 x 6.9 in

$459.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
UREVO SpaceWalk 5L Smart Walking Pad

#5 · Most candid manual

UREVO SpaceWalk 5L Smart Walking Pad

UREVO

Noise (maker's words)"On airborne noise: ≤65dB" (manual)

The SpaceWalk 5L page makes no decibel claim. Its manual does: "On airborne noise: ≤65dB", directly after the line "Noise emission under load is higher than without load." That is a ceiling with no speed or distance, but it is the only document here that admits a walker makes the machine louder. It has a 9% automatic incline and tops out at 4.0 mph.

Buy it ifIncline walking where you want the maker's written ceiling, not a slogan

Skip it ifYou weigh more than 300 lb, whatever the product page says

What we like

  • The manual declares 65 dB or less and warns that load adds noise
  • 9% automatic incline and a 4.0 mph top speed
  • 2.5 HP brushless motor

What to know

  • No speed, load or distance behind the 65
  • Page says 400 lb, but the manual says 136 kg (300 lb)
  • Does not fold
What the figure covers
A ceiling, conditions not stated
Speed range
0.6 to 4.0 mph
Max user weight
300 lb per manual (page says 400 lb)
Footprint
48.8 x 20.3 x 6.1 in

$399.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon
DeerRun Q2 Urban 7% Incline Smart Walking Pad

#6 · Best budget pick

DeerRun Q2 Urban 7% Incline Smart Walking Pad

DeerRun

Noise (maker's words)"Low Noise <45 db"

The Q2 Urban costs $119 on DeerRun's store and carries a 300 lb limit and a 7% manual incline. Its only noise figure is "Low Noise <45 db" in the spec table, with no condition, and the same brand prints 65dB for the Z10 at no load, so treat the 45 as a best case. At 3.94 inches high it is the lowest profile among our picks, which helps under a low desk.

Buy it ifTrying a walking desk without spending much

Skip it ifYou want a noise figure with conditions attached, where the Z10 is the DeerRun to get

What we like

  • $119 with a 300 lb user limit
  • Under 4 inches high, and 35 lb to move
  • 7% incline set by hand

What to know

  • The 45 db figure has no stated condition
  • Belt is 35.4 by 15 inches, short for a long stride
  • Top speed of 3.8 mph
What the figure covers
Not stated
Speed range
0.6 to 3.8 mph
Max user weight
300 lb
Footprint
42.6 x 19.7 x 3.9 in

$119.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 28

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoise (maker's words)What the figure coversSpeed rangeMax user weightFootprintPrice
1.DeerRun Z10"65dB during both no-load and full-speed conditions" (spec table also says under 45 db)No load and full speed0.6 to 3.8 mph300 lb43.8 x 20.7 x 5.6 in$199.00 maker's list price
2.KingSmith WalkingPad C2"idling noise is lowered to 65 decibels"Idling, no walker0.5 to 3.7 mph220 lb57 x 20 x 5 in, folds to 32 in long$449.00 maker's list price
3.Egofit M1"under 70DB, even at maximum speed"Top speed (3.11 mph)0.62 to 3.11 mph220 lb38.4 x 21.9 x 6.9 in$399.00 maker's list price
4.Egofit M1T"below 70DB even at top speed"Top speed (not stated which)0.62 to 3.11 mph, 3.73 with handlebar220 lb40.6 x 26.2 x 6.9 in$459.00 maker's list price
5.UREVO URTM054"On airborne noise: ≤65dB" (manual)A ceiling, conditions not stated0.6 to 4.0 mph300 lb per manual (page says 400 lb)48.8 x 20.3 x 6.1 in$399.99 maker's list price
6.DeerRun Q2 Urban"Low Noise <45 db"Not stated0.6 to 3.8 mph300 lb42.6 x 19.7 x 3.9 in$119.00 maker's list price

Buying Guide

A walking pad is a small, flat treadmill with no console tower, built to slide under a standing desk or a sofa. Most top out at around 3 to 4 mph. They are sold hard on quiet: nearly every one we looked at claims to be quiet enough for a video call, and most print a decibel figure to prove it.

Those figures are the problem. Most are ceilings like "under 45 dB" or bare numbers like 35dB, with no speed, no walker on the belt and no distance to the microphone. Two brands even print two different numbers for the same machine. If you want a quiet walking pad, this guide sorts what the makers actually say from what can actually be compared.

We read the makers' own pages for more than forty walking pads and under-desk treadmills from ten brands, and the owner's manuals where the makers publish them. Sixteen carry a maker's noise figure. Six of them have a figure with a stated condition, or a written ceiling in a manual. None comes with a speed, a load and a measuring distance together.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

What changed since our treadmill guide

Our guide to the quietest treadmills for an apartment found five published figures and concluded that walking pad figures could not be put in order. That is still true of the category as a whole. What changed is that we looked at more pads and more manuals, and found figures that say what they cover.

DeerRun states that its Z10 runs at 65dB "during both no-load and full-speed conditions". Egofit states that its M1T stays below 70 dB "even at top speed", alongside the same promise for the M1. UREVO's manual for the SpaceWalk 5L declares 65 dB or less, as its CyberPad manual does. With those, some figures can finally be read side by side. Most still cannot.

Figures with a stated condition

Idling or no load. KingSmith says the WalkingPad C2's "idling noise is lowered to 65 decibels". DeerRun says 65dB for the Z10 at no load. These are the only two figures that describe the same condition, and they are the same number. Neither states a distance, so the fair reading is that they claim the same thing, not that either is quieter.

Top speed. DeerRun gives 65dB for the Z10 at full speed, which is 3.8 mph. Egofit promises under 70 dB for the M1 at its 3.11 mph maximum, and below 70 dB for the M1T at top speed without saying which of its two top speeds it means. DeerRun's number is lower on paper. But Egofit's figures are ceilings, which say only that the noise does not reach 70, and the top speeds differ. So these three cannot be put in a strict order either. What you can say is that all three makers expect a walking pad at full speed to sit somewhere in the 60s.

Written ceilings in a manual. UREVO's manuals for the SpaceWalk 5L and the CyberPad for Office both print "On airborne noise: ≤65dB" and, just above it, "Noise emission under load is higher than without load." There is no speed or distance, but it is the maker's own document, and it is candid about what a walker does to the number.

The bare claims, which cannot be ranked

The rest of the figures carry no condition at all:

  • UREVO CyberPad for Office: 35dB, from what UREVO calls laboratory testing "under specified testing conditions" that it does not specify.
  • KingSmith WalkingPad Z1: "noise levels below 40 dB".
  • DeerRun Q2 Urban, Q2 Urban Plus, Z20 and Z10: "Low Noise" at under 45 db in each spec table.
  • THERUN W1, Goplus and RHYTHM FUN: under 45 dB each.
  • LifeSpan TR1200Pro and Mobvoi Home Walking Treadmill: under 60 dB. Mobvoi says its figure comes from testing in its "simulated lab environment".
  • Egofit ComfortDeck-M2T: under 70dB, with no speed attached.

These cannot be placed in order. A ceiling of 45 from one brand and a ceiling of 60 from another tell you nothing about which pad is quieter, because neither brand says what it measured. And the brands that give two numbers show how wide the gap can be. DeerRun's Z10 is under 45 db in one part of its page and 65dB in another. UREVO's CyberPad is 35dB on the page and 65 dB or less in the manual. KingSmith's Z1 claims under 40 dB, while the same company's C2 states 65 decibels idling. Either the Z1 is far quieter than the C2, or the two figures describe different things. KingSmith does not say which.

Footsteps, not the motor, reach the neighbors

The most important fact about walking pad noise does not come from a walking pad maker. NordicTrack's advice for apartment owners, which we quoted in our treadmill guide, says footstrike impact, not motor hum, is what travels to downstairs neighbors. It moves from the belt, through the frame and into the floor.

That is good news for walking pads. NordicTrack says walking and light jogging are quiet enough for most apartment situations, and that running at speed generates more impact. Every pad here is a walking machine. It also means the decibel figures in this guide, all of them about motor and belt noise, say very little about what the people below you will hear. A quiet walking pad on a wooden floor can still thump.

Your building matters too. In NordicTrack's words, a concrete slab building transmits almost no vibration between floors, while a wood-joist building with a thin subfloor transmits noticeably more. Our page on keeping an apartment quiet covers the other machines neighbors hear through floors and walls.

Setting up a quiet walking pad under a desk

Most people buy a walking pad for a standing desk, so the noise that matters most may be the noise your microphone picks up. Our guide to a quiet home office covers the rest of the room, from the desk frame to the computer fans.

A few things make the most difference. Put a dense rubber mat under the pad, larger than its footprint. Egofit says its pads can go on a carpet or mat to reduce vibration and sound, and NordicTrack says thin foam mats do little. Level the pad so all its feet make solid contact with the floor, as NordicTrack advises for treadmills, because a pad that rocks will rattle. Walk at a steady pace during calls, since both idling figures here are already 65. And keep the belt lubricated on the maker's schedule: a dry belt drags, and a belt that drags gets louder.

If you also sit part of the day, pair the pad with a desk whose motor you will not hear over it. Our guide to the quietest standing desks lists what desk makers publish, and the same caution about bare ceilings applies there.

Check the weight limit in the manual

UREVO's product pages list a 400 lb maximum load for both the SpaceWalk 5L and the CyberPad for Office. Both manuals say 136 kg, which is 300 lb. When the page and the manual disagree, we quote the manual, and so should you. A pad run above its rated load is a pad run under strain, and UREVO's own manual says load raises the noise.

Weight limits across the picks run from 220 lb for the KingSmith C2 and the Egofit M1 and M1T to 300 lb for the DeerRun pads. Goplus lists 340 lb for its pad.

Brands that publish nothing

Several brands make no noise claim in numbers for the models we checked. Sunny Health & Fitness gives no figure in the descriptions of its walking pads. KingSmith gives none for its P1, A1 Pro, R3 and Z3 pads, only words like "Ultra-Silent". Egofit gives none for the ComfortDeck-M2. UREVO gives none on the pages or in the US-style manuals of the SpaceWalk E1L and E1L Pro. DeerRun gives none for the Sleek Fold 1 and Sleek Rise 1. LifeSpan's TR5000 and TX6 under-desk treadmills have no operating noise row, though the TR1200Pro does. Sperax's US store showed only a password page when we checked, so there was nothing to read. We found a figure for SuperFit pads only on retailer listings, not on a maker page, so we have left them out.

How we chose

We read the maker's product page for each walking pad and the owner's manual wherever the maker publishes one, and recorded each noise figure in the maker's exact words with whatever condition it gave. We grouped the figures by what they claim to cover: idling or no load, top speed, a written ceiling in a manual, or nothing stated. We compared figures only inside a group, and only where the conditions matched. We then chose on what the makers do publish: speed range, weight limit, size, folding and price on the maker's own store. Pads shown as unavailable on the maker's store went into the also considered list.

For the effect on neighbors we relied on NordicTrack's published apartment guidance, because no independent body rates treadmill or walking pad noise and no walking pad maker publishes anything comparable.

We did not measure any of these walking pads. Every figure is the maker's own, quoted as published, with the condition the maker gave or a note that it gave none.

Common questions

How loud is a walking pad?

The makers' own figures run from 35dB (UREVO CyberPad for Office, conditions unspecified) to under 70 dB (Egofit, at top speed). The figures with a stated condition sit higher than the bare claims: 65 decibels idling for the KingSmith C2, 65dB at no load and full speed for the DeerRun Z10, and under 70 dB at top speed for the Egofit M1 and M1T. UREVO's manuals declare 65 dB or less and add that noise is higher under load.

What is the quietest walking pad?

On published figures, nobody can say. The low numbers, 35dB, below 40 dB and under 45 dB, come with no speed, load or distance. The figures with conditions describe different things: idling, no load or top speed. Where two figures do match, the KingSmith C2 idling and the DeerRun Z10 at no load, both are 65, so they read the same.

Why does one walking pad have two different noise figures?

Because they describe different things, and makers rarely say what. DeerRun's Z10 page prints under 45 db in its spec table and 65dB at no load and full speed further down. UREVO's CyberPad for Office page says 35dB, while its manual declares 65 dB or less and says noise is higher under load. Plan around the figure with the condition or the ceiling, not the slogan.

Will a walking pad bother my downstairs neighbors?

It can, and the motor is not the main reason. NordicTrack's apartment guidance says footstrike impact, not motor hum, is the noise that travels to downstairs neighbors, and that walking and light jogging are quiet enough for most apartment situations, while running at speed generates more impact. It says a concrete slab building transmits almost no vibration between floors, and a wood-joist building with a thin subfloor noticeably more.

Is a walking pad quiet enough for video calls?

The makers say so, but none of them publishes a figure measured at a microphone or a headset. A pad at 65 dB idling, which is KingSmith's and DeerRun's stated figure, is not silent. A headset with a noise-cancelling microphone, a slower pace during calls and a mat under the pad will do more than a lower number on a product page.

What should I put under a walking pad?

A dense rubber mat bigger than the pad. Egofit says its pads can go on a carpet or mat to reduce vibration and sound further. NordicTrack says the mat should extend beyond the machine on every side and that thin foam mats do little. Check that all its feet make solid contact with the floor, so it does not rock and rattle.

Does a heavier walker make a walking pad louder?

UREVO's manuals say so directly: "Noise emission under load is higher than without load." No maker publishes a figure with a walker of a stated weight on the belt. KingSmith's 65 decibels is an idling figure, taken with nobody on the pad, so expect more than that in use.

Why don't all walking pad makers publish a noise figure?

We cannot say why, only who does not. Sunny Health & Fitness gives no figure in the descriptions of its walking pads. KingSmith gives none for its P1, A1 Pro, R3 and Z3 pads, UREVO none on the pages or in the US manuals of its SpaceWalk E1L and E1L Pro, and LifeSpan none for its TR5000 and TX6 under-desk treadmills. Sperax's US store showed only a password page when we checked.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • WalkingPad Z1 Folding Walking Pad

    KingSmith claims "noise levels below 40 dB" with no condition, a long way under the 65 decibels it states for the C2 idling. The Z1 folds in half, but it was shown as unavailable on KingSmith's store when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • DeerRun Z20 Foldable Walking Pad Treadmill

    Folds like a suitcase to about 31 inches long, and DeerRun says "Quiet Under 45 dB" with no condition. $269 on DeerRun's store.

    See it at Amazon
  • Egofit ComfortDeck-M2T Under Desk Treadmill with Handrail

    Egofit's larger handrail pad, with a 245 lb limit and honeycomb cushioning. Its "under 70dB" has no speed attached, unlike the M1 and M1T figures.

    See it at Amazon
  • TR1200Pro-GlowUp Under Desk Treadmill

    The only machine here whose noise figure sits in a specification table: "Operating Noise" under 60db, with no condition. Built for all-day office walking, with a 330 lb limit, but it was shown as unavailable on LifeSpan's store when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • Mobvoi Home Walking Treadmill

    Mobvoi says "less than 60 dB" and footnotes that the figure comes from testing in its simulated lab environment, without a speed or distance. We could not read a price on Mobvoi's US store.

    See it at Amazon
  • THERUN W1 2.5HP Under Desk Walking Pad

    THERUN claims "Ultra-Quiet < 45dB Operation" with no condition, on a 2.5 HP pad from $99. Every version was shown as unavailable on THERUN's store when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • Goplus Walking Pad 340 LBS Capacity Under Desk Treadmill

    Goplus claims "<45dB low noise" with no condition and a 340 lb limit. It was shown as unavailable on Goplus's store when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • RHYTHM FUN Walking Pad with Handle Bar and Incline

    RHYTHM FUN claims "quiet operation under 45 dB" with no condition, on a $199.99 pad with a handle bar and up to 5 mph. The maker gives no model number.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides