QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

The quietest treadmills for an apartment, by what makers publish

Written by
· 10 min read

Illustration of a folding treadmill on an exercise mat in a small apartment living room

The LifeSpan TR1200Pro is the treadmill with the most credible published noise figure: under 60 dB, printed in its specification table, with six shocks under the deck. It is a walking treadmill only.

The UREVO CyberPad claims the lowest figure, 35dB, but its own manual promises only 65 dB or less and says noise is higher with someone on the belt.

If you want to run, the figures makers print for running treadmills are limits taken with nobody on the belt, a test with one runner or bare numbers, and none describes the footstrike your neighbors hear, so choose on cushioning: the SOLE F63 is our pick.

Whatever you buy, the noise your neighbors hear is your footsteps, not the motor, and a dense mat matters more than the model.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line
  7. Review history

A quick look at the quietest treadmills for an apartment

In an apartment, a treadmill has two audiences. You hear the motor and the belt. The person downstairs hears your feet. Most advice about the quietest treadmill for an apartment mixes the two up, and most of the decibel figures you will see online cannot be traced to anyone who measured anything.

Once the treadmill is sorted, our page on keeping an apartment quiet walks through every other machine a neighbor can hear.

Twelve treadmills and walking pads from ten brands went into this guide, and we read the product page and manual for each. Eight carry a published noise figure. Not one of those figures comes with the speed, the load and the measuring distance together.

Here is what each maker says, what it means, and what will make the biggest difference to your neighbors.

Where do these treadmill figures come from?

The treadmill figures come from each maker's product page, with the owner's manual wherever one is published, and we copied each noise figure as the maker printed it with whatever conditions it gave. We compared type, motor, speed range, user weight limit and warranty, and we preferred the manual wherever it disagreed with the product page.

We ranked a figure in a specification table above a figure in marketing copy, and a figure with stated conditions above one without. Where a maker publishes nothing, we say so and choose on what it does publish: cushioning, warranty and the quality of its manual.

The advice about floors, mats and buildings comes from NordicTrack's and Peloton's own published guidance, and we have quoted them because no independent body covers this ground.

We did not measure any of these treadmills or walking pads, empty or under load; every figure above comes from the maker's product page or owner's manual.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest treadmills for an apartment

Prices as of Nov 4. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Most credible published figure

TR1200Pro-GlowUp Under Desk Treadmill

  • Noise: Under 60 dB (maker spec table, conditions not stated)
  • Price: $1,299.00 maker's list price, checked Sep 20
  • Best for: Walking for hours a day at a standing desk in an apartment
  • Skip it if: You want to run

Most noise claims in this category live in marketing copy. LifeSpan puts its figure where specifications belong, in the spec table: Operating Noise, under 60 dB.

It does not give a speed or a distance, but it is the only maker we found that treats noise as a specification at all. Six compression shocks sit under the deck, which matters more to the people below you than the motor does.

See it at lifespanfitness.com

We found no Amazon listing for this exact model. Search Amazon for it

Lowest claimed figure

UREVO CyberPad for Office Smart Treadmill

  • Noise: 35dB claimed on page. Manual: 65 dB or less
  • Price: $479.99 maker's list price, checked Sep 28
  • Best for: A budget walking pad, if you read the 35dB as a best case
  • Skip it if: You weigh more than 300 lb, whatever the product page says

UREVO claims 35dB after what it calls extensive laboratory testing, and its FAQ says the figure applies under specified testing conditions that it does not specify. Read the manual as well.

Its safety page declares airborne noise of 65 dB or less, and adds that noise under load is higher than without load. The two are not a contradiction, but only one of them is a promise.

Most clearly labelled figure

WalkingPad C2 Foldable Walking Pad

WalkingPad C2 Foldable Walking Pad
  • Noise: 65 dB idling (maker)
  • Price: $449.00 maker's list price, checked Sep 20, out of stock
  • Best for: A small apartment where the pad has to disappear after use
  • Skip it if: You weigh more than 220 lb

KingSmith's number looks bad next to UREVO's: 65 decibels. But KingSmith says what it describes, which is idling noise, the belt running with nobody on it. A labeled 65 tells you more than an unexplained 35. The pad folds in half for storage.

Best for a tiny apartment

Egofit Walker Pro-M1 Under Desk Treadmill

Egofit Walker Pro-M1 Under Desk Treadmill
  • Noise: Under 70 dB at max speed (maker)
  • Price: $399.00 maker's list price, checked Sep 22, out of stock
  • Best for: A studio where floor space is the first problem
  • Skip it if: You want to walk briskly, or walk flat

The smallest machine here, at about 38 by 22 inches and 48.5 lb. Egofit says noise stays under 70 dB even at maximum speed, which is the only figure in this guide tied to a speed.

It is also the highest figure here, and the maker itself suggests a carpet or mat underneath.

Best cushioned running treadmill

SOLE F63 Treadmill

  • Noise: No figure published
  • Price: $1,199.99 maker's list price, checked Oct 13
  • Best for: Runners in a concrete building, or on a ground floor
  • Skip it if: You live above someone in a wood-framed building

SOLE publishes no noise figure for the F63, only that the brushless motor is engineered for quieter operation.

The 70 dB limit in BowFlex's and Horizon's manuals is taken with nobody on the belt, and no running treadmill figure we found describes the footstrike that reaches the floor below. We picked the F63 for what it does state.

It has an 18 mm cushioned deck, a lifetime warranty on frame and motor, and a manual that is explicit about flooring and lubrication, the two things that keep a treadmill quiet over time.

Best with no motor at all

SOLE C80 Curved Manual Treadmill

SOLE C80 Curved Manual Treadmill
  • Noise: No figure published
  • Price: $2,399.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 4
  • Best for: Interval training where motor whine is the complaint
  • Skip it if: Your neighbor's complaint is thumping, not humming

A curved treadmill is powered by your legs, so there is no drive motor to hum. That is as far as the evidence goes: SOLE publishes no noise figure for the C80, and neither does any other curved treadmill maker we checked.

Your footsteps are still there, and they are the part that travels downward.

Best value with incline

Pacer Smart Compact Auto Incline Treadpad Treadmill

Pacer Smart Compact Auto Incline Treadpad Treadmill
  • Noise: No figure published
  • Price: $524.25 at Amazon, checked Nov 4
  • Best for: Incline walking and light jogging on a budget
  • Skip it if: You want long warranty cover

Sunny publishes no noise figure, on the page or in the manual. What it offers is a jogging-speed treadmill with six automatic incline levels at about half the price of a full running machine.

Its manual tells you to put a mat under it, which you should do in an apartment anyway.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels. Hearing a noise from one you own? How to make a treadmill quieter or Can neighbors hear my washing machine or Why is my appliance so loud all of a sudden.

How many decibels is a treadmill, by its maker's own figures?

Treadmill decibel figures come only from the makers, and eight of the twelve treadmills and walking pads we read carry one, each with a different condition or none.

No independent body rates treadmill noise. ENERGY STAR covers appliances, heating and cooling, electronics and more, but not fitness equipment. Each treadmill and walking pad figure here comes from its own maker, with no outside audit.

Eight machines have a number:

  • UREVO CyberPad and FoldiMix 5L: 35dB, claimed on the product pages.
  • LifeSpan TR1200Pro: under 60 dB, in the specification table.
  • KingSmith WalkingPad C2: 65 decibels, described as idling noise.
  • Egofit Walker Pro-M1: under 70 dB, even at maximum speed.
  • BowFlex T9 and Horizon 7.0 AT: no greater than 70 dB, in their owner's manuals, with nobody on the belt at 12 km/h (7.5 mph), measured at typical head height.
  • Peloton Tread Flex: "Runs at 70db", with no speed, load or distance.

Four have none. SOLE, Echelon and Sunny publish no figure for the models we checked, and some use phrases like "whisper-quiet" instead.

Notice what each figure covers. The walking pad figures come with a best case, a ceiling, idling or top speed attached, or with no condition at all. BowFlex and Horizon give an empty-belt limit at 7.5 mph, and Peloton's 70 comes with no condition.

These have different bases, so we rank none against another, and none of them describes the footstrike that reaches the floor below.

Running in an apartment means a louder machine and a heavier footfall at once, which is why we cover the quietest treadmill for running on its own.

Our later guide to the quietest walking pads looked at more pads and more manuals, more than forty walking pads and under-desk treadmills from ten brands, and found some figures that say what they cover: idling, no load or top speed.

Why can a 35dB claim and a 65 dB manual both be true?

A 35dB claim and a 65 dB manual figure can both be true because UREVO's manual states a ceiling while its product page states a best case.

UREVO's product page says 35dB. The safety page of the same machine's manual says this: "On airborne noise: ≤65dB." The line before it reads: "Noise emission under load is higher than without load."

These do not strictly contradict each other. The manual states a ceiling, the most the machine should produce. The product page states a best case, under test conditions UREVO does not describe.

But it tells you how to read every figure in this category. A walking pad measured with nobody on it is not the walking pad you will hear at 9 pm.

KingSmith deserves credit here. Its 65 decibels is labelled as idling noise, which means the belt turning with no walker. That is a worse-looking number than 35, and a more useful one, because you know what it describes.

The same caution applies beyond noise. UREVO's pages list a 400 lb capacity for both of its machines here. Both manuals say 136 kg, which is 300 lb. When the marketing and the manual disagree, we quote the manual.

Can downstairs neighbors hear your treadmill?

Yes, downstairs neighbors can hear a treadmill, but mainly your footsteps: NordicTrack's advice for apartment owners says that footstrike impact, not motor hum, is the noise that travels to downstairs neighbors.

This is the most important point in the guide, and it comes from a treadmill maker. Impact travels from the deck, through the frame and into the floor.

A machine with no footstrike puts far less into the floor, which is the case for our guides to exercise bikes for an apartment and the quietest rowing machines.

Three things follow.

Walking is far gentler than running

NordicTrack points out that a sustained incline walk involves significantly less footstrike force than running. That is a good reason to value incline on a walking pad. LifeSpan takes the opposite view for desk use, and offers no incline because, it says, ergonomists do not recommend walking on an incline while working.

Your building matters more than your treadmill

In NordicTrack's words, a concrete slab building transmits very little vibration between floors. In a wood-joist building with a thin subfloor, setup matters more. It suggests placing the machine closer to an interior load-bearing wall, not in the middle of an open floor, and keeping it off shared walls.

A robot vacuum's self-empty dock raises the same shared-floor problem; see the apartment section of our robot vacuum guide.

No maker says its treadmill is safe for an upper floor

We looked. None of the manuals or product pages we read makes any promise about upstairs use.

How do you make a treadmill quieter in an apartment?

A treadmill gets quieter in an apartment on a dense rubber mat that extends beyond its footprint, on a hard floor or thin carpet and never on shag, because the mat matters more than the machine.

Peloton's support pages put it plainly: a hardwood or concrete floor can create more reverberation and noise than a carpeted floor or a heavy rubber mat. NordicTrack adds that the mat should extend beyond the machine's footprint on every side, and that thin foam mats don't do much.

Egofit tells buyers of its small walking pad that a carpet or mat will reduce vibration and sound further. Sunny's manual makes it an instruction.

Deep carpet is a different matter. SOLE's manual says not to operate the treadmill on deeply padded, plush or shag carpet, and warns of damage to both. LifeSpan says thick carpeting blocks the airflow under the machine. So the rule is a dense rubber mat on a hard floor or thin carpet, and never shag.

Level the machine as well. NordicTrack says to check that all four feet make solid contact with the floor, adjust the leveling feet, and make sure the frame bolts are snug. A treadmill that rocks will rattle.

How much should you spend?

Around $300 to $450 buys a walking pad: the UREVO CyberPad, the KingSmith C2 or the Egofit M1. These are light, they store under a sofa, and they carry short warranties and lower weight limits. Check the user limit in the manual, not on the product page.

Around $600, the Sunny Pacer adds jogging speed and automatic incline.

Around $1,100 to $1,300, the choice splits. The LifeSpan TR1200Pro is built for walking many hours a day, with a 10-year frame warranty. If it will sit under a desk, the desk's own motor is worth checking too; our guide to the quietest standing desks looks at the motor noise ceilings desk makers publish.

The SOLE F63 is a full running treadmill with a lifetime warranty on frame and motor. Neither does the other's job.

Above $2,000 you are paying for something other than quiet: a curved manual deck, a large screen or a subscription platform. Of the machines at that level, Peloton's Tread Flex prints "Runs at 70db" with no condition, and SOLE's curved C80 prints nothing.

How do you keep a treadmill belt quiet as it ages?

Keeping a treadmill quiet as it ages means lubricating the deck on the maker's schedule and tightening loose hardware.

A dry belt drags, and a belt that drags gets louder. Makers set schedules.

SOLE's F63 lights a lubrication reminder after 90 hours of use, and says failing to lubricate the deck at regular intervals may void the warranty. LifeSpan says every 50 hours or three months. Egofit says the same. Sunny's reminder appears every 188 miles.

New machines make noises that pass. Peloton describes a thump and a chirp as normal sounds while a new Tread breaks in, and says they fade with regular use.

Loose hardware is the other common cause. If a quiet treadmill starts to rattle, tighten the frame bolts and check the feet before you blame the motor.

Where do apartment treadmill buyers go wrong?

Apartment treadmill buyers go wrong in five common ways, from ranking walking pads by decibel claims to putting the machine on thick carpet to quiet it.

Ranking walking pads by decibel claims

The published figures describe different conditions: one is idling, one is at maximum speed, and two give no conditions at all. They cannot be placed in order, and any site that does so is guessing.

Shopping for a quiet motor when the problem is impact

If the complaint comes from downstairs, a quieter motor will not fix it. A mat, a better position in the room, and walking in place of running will.

Trusting the capacity on the product page

Two of the twelve machines we checked list a higher user limit on the page than in the manual.

Putting the treadmill on thick carpet to quiet it

Makers warn against it, for the sake of both the carpet and the machine.

Assuming a manual treadmill is silent

It has no motor. It still has you.

UREVO's 35dB best case and KingSmith's 65 decibels at idle describe different conditions, so a best-case figure and an idle figure from two treadmill makers cannot be ranked against each other.

Every published figure here describes the machine you hear, not the footfall downstairs, so judge each against the room you will be in, as our room-by-room page on how quiet is quiet enough explains.

If your treadmill has grown louder with age, its makers blame the dry belt and loose bolts covered above; both come up again in why your appliance got louder.

How the quietest treadmills for an apartment compare

ProductNoiseTypeMotorSpeed rangeMax user weightPrice
LifeSpan Fitness TR1200PRO-SC130Under 60 dB (maker spec table, conditions not stated)Under-desk walking treadmill3.5 HP peak, brushless0.4 to 4.0 mph330 lb$1,299.00 maker's list price
UREVO URTM05135dB claimed on page. Manual: 65 dB or lessUnder-desk walking pad with auto incline2.5 HP peak, dual brushless0.6 to 4.0 mph300 lb per manual (page says 400 lb)$479.99 maker's list price
KingSmith WalkingPad C265 dB idling (maker)Folding walking pad1 HP brushless0.5 to 3.7 mph220 lb$449.00 maker's list price
Egofit M1Under 70 dB at max speed (maker)Compact under-desk walking pad2.0 HP DC0.62 to 3.11 mph220 lb$399.00 maker's list price
SOLE F63-2026No figure publishedFolding running treadmill3.0 HP brushless0.5 to 12 mph325 lb$1,199.99 maker's list price
SOLE C80-2026No figure publishedCurved manual treadmillNone. Self-poweredSet by the runner330 lb$2,399.99
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-T722076No figure publishedFolding treadmill with auto incline2.0 HP peak DC0.5 to 6 mph265 lb$524.25

Prices as of Nov 4. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Frequently asked questions

How many decibels is a quiet treadmill?

There is no standard answer, because no certification body rates treadmill noise. ENERGY STAR does not cover fitness equipment. The walking pad and walking treadmill figures we could verify are 35dB (UREVO, conditions not given), under 60 dB (LifeSpan), 65 dB idling (KingSmith) and under 70 dB at maximum speed (Egofit). For running treadmills, the BowFlex T6, T9 and T16 and Horizon 7.0 AT and 7.4 AT manuals print no greater than 70 dB with no user on the belt at 12 km/h (7.5 mph), Life Fitness prints below 70 dB (A) unloaded at 8 km/h for its Run CX, and Technogym lists 57 dB at 10 km/h with an 85 kg user on its Run. They describe different things, so they cannot be ranked against each other.

Will a treadmill bother my downstairs neighbors?

It depends more on the building than the machine. NordicTrack's own guidance says the noise that reaches neighbors is footstrike impact, not motor hum. It adds that a concrete slab building transmits very little vibration between floors, while a wood-joist building with a thin subfloor makes setup matter more. It also says walking involves significantly less footstrike force than running.

What should I put under a treadmill in an apartment?

A dense mat that is bigger than the machine. NordicTrack says the mat should extend beyond the footprint on all sides, and that thin foam mats don't do much. Peloton says a hardwood or concrete floor creates more reverberation and noise than a carpeted floor or a heavy rubber mat. Sunny's manual simply instructs owners to place a mat under the treadmill.

Can I put a treadmill on carpet?

On thin carpet, yes. On deep pile, the makers say no. SOLE's manual says not to operate the treadmill on deeply padded, plush or shag carpet, because both the carpet and the treadmill may be damaged. LifeSpan says not to place its treadmill on thick carpeting, to keep air circulating underneath.

Are walking pads quieter than full treadmills?

Makers of both publish figures, but on different bases: walking pad figures are best cases, ceilings, idling or top-speed figures, while BowFlex and Horizon print an empty-belt limit at 7.5 mph for their running treadmills, so we cannot compare the two on paper. What we can say is that walking pads top out at around 3 to 4 mph, and NordicTrack notes that walking, including incline walking, involves much less footstrike force than running. Footstrike is the noise that travels.

My new treadmill thumps and chirps. Is it broken?

Probably not. Peloton's support pages describe a thump and a chirp as normal operating sounds while a new Tread breaks in, and say they fade with use. Walking or running above 3 mph helps the break-in along. If a noise gets worse with time, check the belt lubrication and the frame bolts.

How do I keep a treadmill quiet over time?

Lubricate the belt on schedule, keep the machine level and keep the bolts tight. SOLE's F63 shows a lubrication reminder after 90 hours and warns that skipping it may void the warranty. LifeSpan and Egofit both say every 50 hours or three months. NordicTrack advises checking that all four feet touch the floor and that the frame bolts are snug.

Is a manual or curved treadmill the quietest option?

It removes the drive motor, so there is no motor hum. But no maker publishes a noise figure for a curved treadmill, so nobody can say by how much. Your footsteps are unchanged, and those are what a downstairs neighbor hears.

The bottom line

The most useful sentence we found in this research is in a UREVO owner's manual: noise under load is higher than without load. The same machine is advertised at 35dB, and its manual promises only 65 dB or less. Read every walking pad figure with that in mind.

If you live above someone, we would spend less time choosing a quiet motor and more on a dense mat and a walking pace. Treadmill makers themselves say it is your footsteps that reach the neighbors, not the motor.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • 7.0 AT Treadmill

    Horizon sold it for $1,099 on October 13, 2026, against a regular $2,100, the same bracket as the SOLE F63 on sale, with three-zone cushioning and a lifetime frame and motor warranty. Its owner's manual prints no greater than 70 dB with nobody on the belt at 12 km/h (7.5 mph), measured at typical head height, a limit that leaves out the footstrike your neighbors hear.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • T9 Treadmill

    The widest deck here, at 22 by 60 inches, with a lifetime frame and motor warranty. Its owner's manual prints the same limit as the Horizon 7.0 AT, no greater than 70 dB with nobody on the belt at 12 km/h (7.5 mph), measured at typical head height. It was $1,399 on sale on October 13, 2026, against a regular $1,799.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Stride-6 Auto-Fold Pro Treadmill

    Echelon calls the motor whisper-quiet and publishes nothing to support it. The automatic folding is the real attraction.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Peloton Tread Flex

    Peloton no longer sells the Cross Training Tread we first checked; its US treadmills are now the Tread Flex, the Tread Vision and the Tread+ Vision. The Tread Flex page says it "Runs at 70db", with no speed, load or distance, so we rank it against no other figure here. Peloton's support pages still give the most useful advice we found on floors, mats and break-in sounds. $2,195 on October 13, 2026, plus a membership.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • UREVO FoldiMix 5L Smart Treadmill

    The same 35 dB claim as the CyberPad with a higher top speed. Its manual carries the same 65 dB declaration, and the same gap between the capacity on the page (400 lb) and in the manual (300 lb).

    Search Amazon for this model

How we reviewed this article

Every statement here comes from the 6 maker documents, standards and agency pages listed under Sources, quoted where the wording matters. We did not measure, inspect or repair anything ourselves. Each substantive revision is dated below. How we work

  1. Current version

    Reviewed against the cited sources and updated.

  2. First published, written by Stanley Alu.

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides