QuietSpecs

Quietest rowing machine: what each maker's decibel figure covers

Quietest rowing machine: what each maker's decibel figure covers

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • Wenoker's R10 is the quietest rowing machine we can verify on its maker's own terms: Wenoker says it operates at under 30 dB and does not get louder as rowing speed increases, the only rower figure tied to anything like a stroke rate.
  • MERACH's Q1S Interactive and Pooboo's H015 are labelled under 20 dB in product images with no condition, and MERACH prints its NovaRow RS3 as 25 dB in one image and under 25 dB in another.
  • Aviron's Strong Series, which adds a fan to its magnets, says about 60 decibels.
  • Concept2, Hydrow, Ergatta and Peloton print no figure at all.
  • Above someone else's ceiling, Aviron's own advice applies to any of them: a mat, a solid level floor and steady rows at quiet hours.

Only figure said to hold as the pace rises

Wenoker Magnetic Rowing Machine R10

Noise (maker's words) "under 30 dB" (page text and image)

$259.99 maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Only figure said to hold as the pace rises

    Wenoker Magnetic Rowing Machine R10

    "under 30 dB" (page text and image)

  2. 2

    Fan and magnets, at about 60 decibels

    Aviron Strong Series Rower

    "~60 decibels" (page and FAQ)

  3. 3

    Under 20 dB in an image, with a 15.6-inch screen

    MERACH Q1S Interactive Rowing Machine with 15.6-inch HD Display

    "Silent Rowing <20dB" (image)

  4. 4

    Under 20 dB, with push-up bars and 14 levels

    Pooboo H015 Magnetic Rowing Machine

    "<20db" (image)

  5. 5

    "25dB" and "<25 dB" (two images)

Our Picks

Wenoker Magnetic Rowing Machine R10

#1 · Only figure said to hold as the pace rises

Wenoker Magnetic Rowing Machine R10

Wenoker

Noise (maker's words)"under 30 dB" (page text and image)

Wenoker's page says the R10 "operates at under 30 dB" through "recovery rows, steady cardio, and higher-intensity workouts", and that its magnetic resistance works "without becoming louder as rowing speed increases". It is still a ceiling with no distance and no resistance level, but it is the one rower figure whose maker says what it covers. An image in French repeats it as "Faible bruit < 30 DB". The R10 has 16 magnetic levels, stands on end to free about 70% of its floor space, and was $199.99 against a $259.99 compare-at price.

Buy it ifA small apartment where the rower stands on end between sessions

Skip it ifYou are taller than 6 ft 2 in, the top of Wenoker's stated range

What we like

  • Under 30 dB, which Wenoker says does not rise with rowing speed
  • Stands on end, freeing about 70% of its floor space
  • $199.99, the lowest price among the picks

What to know

  • A ceiling, with no distance or resistance level
  • The rail fits users from 4 ft 5 in to 6 ft 2 in
  • The images on Wenoker's US page are in French and German
What the figure covers
Said not to rise with rowing speed
Resistance
Magnetic, 16 levels
Storage
Stands on end, about 70% less floor
Max user weight
350 lb

$259.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
Aviron Strong Series Rower

#2 · Fan and magnets, at about 60 decibels

Aviron Strong Series Rower

Aviron

Noise (maker's words)"~60 decibels" (page and FAQ)

Aviron puts a number on a rower that has an air fan as well as magnets: "~60 decibels or conversational volume", in its FAQ, and "~60 decibels" in its feature list, with no stroke rate or distance. Aviron's own blog then says it will not quote a decibel figure, because the number depends on stroke rate, floor and room, and that the air side gets louder in a hard sprint. We list the product page's figure and keep it apart from every ceiling here. It stores upright with no wall mount, takes 507 lbs and was $1,999 against $2,549.

Buy it ifHard intervals by day and steady rows at quiet hours

Skip it ifYou plan hard sprints late at night above a neighbor

What we like

  • About 60 decibels, stated on the page and in the FAQ
  • Upright storage with no wall mount, per Aviron
  • 507 lb capacity in 7 ft front to back

What to know

  • An approximate figure with no condition
  • Aviron's blog declines to quote any decibel figure
  • The fan gets louder in hard intervals, Aviron says
What the figure covers
Not stated; the blog declines to give one
Resistance
Air fan plus magnetic, up to 100 lb
Storage
Upright, no wall mount needed
Max user weight
507 lb

$2,549.00

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
MERACH Q1S Interactive Rowing Machine with 15.6-inch HD Display

#3 · Under 20 dB in an image, with a 15.6-inch screen

MERACH Q1S Interactive Rowing Machine with 15.6-inch HD Display

MERACH

Noise (maker's words)"Silent Rowing <20dB" (image)

MERACH labels this magnetic rower "Silent Rowing" at under 20 dB on a product image, and says nowhere at what resistance level, stroke rate or distance; the page text speaks only of "reduced workout noise". The 15.6-inch screen casts shows and rotates for stretching or Pilates beside the rower, and the rower stores upright on about 1.6 by 2.1 feet. It takes users up to 350 lbs and was $359.99, shown against a compare-at price of $729.99.

Buy it ifRowing with a show on, in a room where the rower is put away after

Skip it ifYou want a figure with a stated scope, which only the Wenoker R10 has

What we like

  • Under 20 dB, on MERACH's own product image
  • Stores upright on about 1.6 by 2.1 ft
  • A 15.6-inch screen that casts and rotates

What to know

  • No condition, distance or level behind the figure
  • The figure appears only in an image, not the page text
  • Resistance is set on a 16-level tension dial
What the figure covers
Not stated
Resistance
Magnetic, 16 levels on a dial
Storage
Upright, about 1.6 x 2.1 ft
Max user weight
350 lb

$729.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
Pooboo H015 Magnetic Rowing Machine

#4 · Under 20 dB, with push-up bars and 14 levels

Pooboo H015 Magnetic Rowing Machine

Pooboo

Noise (maker's words)"<20db" (image)

Pooboo prints its figure as a large "<20db" beside the words "Powerful and Quiet Magnetic System", on an image with no condition, distance or level. Another image shows the H015 stood on end, 50.39 inches tall on a base of about 21.2 by 37.4 inches, with "Quiet Wheels" to move it. Its 14 magnetic levels, two push-up racks and cable moves off the rail suit a mixed workout. The page text says 360 lb capacity and an image says 350, and it was $329.99 against $599.99.

Buy it ifA home gym corner that mixes rowing with strength moves

Skip it ifThe room cannot spare 83 inches of length while you row

What we like

  • Under 20 dB, on Pooboo's own product image
  • Stands on end on about 21 by 37 inches
  • Push-up racks and cable exercises beside the rowing

What to know

  • No condition, distance or level behind the figure
  • Capacity is 360 lb in the text and 350 lb in an image
  • Needs 83 inches of floor in use
What the figure covers
Not stated
Resistance
Magnetic, 14 levels
Storage
Stands on end, about 21.2 x 37.4 in base
Max user weight
350 lb (image), 360 lb (text)

$599.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon
MERACH NovaRow RS3 Double-Scull Magnetic Rowing Machine

#5 · One figure, printed two ways

MERACH NovaRow RS3 Double-Scull Magnetic Rowing Machine

MERACH

Noise (maker's words)"25dB" and "<25 dB" (two images)

MERACH gives the RS3 its figure twice on one page: "25dB" above the words "Silent Rowing" in the headline image, and under 25 dB in a later image. We read it as a ceiling of 25 dB, like the other magnetic figures here, with no condition behind it. The rower is unusual: two oar-style arms swing out through 120° for one-arm and alternating rows, with 16 magnetic levels and up to 80 lbs of resistance. It was $339.99 against $529.99.

Buy it ifSculling-style rowing in a room too short for a long rail

Skip it ifYou want to stand the rower on end after each session

What we like

  • 25 dB on MERACH's images, with no fan or water tank
  • Two oar arms for one-arm and alternating rows
  • 350 lb capacity on a 65-inch frame

What to know

  • Printed as a value on one image and a ceiling on another
  • No condition, distance or level behind either
  • No upright storage shown
What the figure covers
Not stated
Resistance
Magnetic, 16 levels, up to 80 lb
Storage
Compact storage, no upright position shown
Max user weight
350 lb

$529.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoise (maker's words)What the figure coversResistanceStorageMax user weightPrice
1.Wenoker R10 (formerly H300)"under 30 dB" (page text and image)Said not to rise with rowing speedMagnetic, 16 levelsStands on end, about 70% less floor350 lb$259.99 maker's list price
2.Aviron Strong Series (SSR)"~60 decibels" (page and FAQ)Not stated; the blog declines to give oneAir fan plus magnetic, up to 100 lbUpright, no wall mount needed507 lb$2,549.00 maker's list price
3.MERACH Q1S (MR-R02B10)"Silent Rowing <20dB" (image)Not statedMagnetic, 16 levels on a dialUpright, about 1.6 x 2.1 ft350 lb$729.99 maker's list price
4.Pooboo H015 (SH01504)"<20db" (image)Not statedMagnetic, 14 levelsStands on end, about 21.2 x 37.4 in base350 lb (image), 360 lb (text)$599.99 maker's list price
5.MERACH NovaRow RS3 (MR-R26B1)"25dB" and "<25 dB" (two images)Not statedMagnetic, 16 levels, up to 80 lbCompact storage, no upright position shown350 lb$529.99 maker's list price

Buying Guide

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

Wenoker's R10 magnetic rower is the quietest rowing machine we can verify on its maker's own terms. Wenoker says it "operates at under 30 dB" through "recovery rows, steady cardio, and higher-intensity workouts", and that its magnetic resistance works "without becoming louder as rowing speed increases". No maker we read names a resistance level, a stroke rate or a measuring distance, so a ceiling its maker says holds as the pace rises is as close to a stated condition as rowing machine figures come.

Smaller numbers exist, and they say less. MERACH labels its Q1S Interactive under 20 dB and Pooboo labels its H015 the same, both inside product images with no condition, and Wenoker's own image for the R20 Pro claims under 10 dB. The best-known names in rowing, Concept2, Hydrow, Ergatta and Peloton, print no decibel figure at all, and no rower that relies on air or water alone carries one from its maker. Below, the figures are sorted by resistance type, followed by what the makers say about stroke rate, floors, mats and standing a rower on end.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

What each maker prints, by resistance type

Rower figures turn up in two places, the text of a product page or the pictures on it. Wenoker for the R10 and Aviron are the only makers that put a number in the page text; every other figure on this page is printed on a product image.

Magnetic rowers carry nearly all of the numbers:

  • Wenoker R10: "under 30 dB" in the page text, repeated on a French-language image as "Faible bruit", low noise.
  • Wenoker R20 and R20 Pro: under 10 dB, on one image beside "32 Level" resistance.
  • MERACH Q1S Interactive: under 20 dB, on an image headed "70% Space Saving".
  • MERACH NovaRow RS3: "25dB" on its headline image, and under 25 dB on a later one.
  • MERACH NovaRow R7 and R7 Aura: under 40 dB, on the same image on both pages.
  • Pooboo H015: under 20 dB, on an image headed "Double Wheels Design".
  • Peloton Row+ and NordicTrack RW700 and RW900: no figure. Peloton calls the Row+ "near-silent", and NordicTrack credits Silent Magnetic Resistance with a pull that is "smooth, fluid, and quiet".
  • Sunny Health & Fitness, Stamina, JOROTO and Echelon: no figure on any rower page or product image we read, only words such as whisper-quiet and silent.

Fan and magnet together produce two figures that cannot be lined up with each other:

  • Aviron Strong Series: "~60 decibels" in its feature list, and "~60 decibels or conversational volume" in its FAQ.
  • Pooboo H188: under 20 dB, on an image that shows the fan beside the magnetic flywheel.

Electromagnetic resistance comes with words only. Hydrow lists the Wave's operating noise as "Nearly silent operation" and the Origin's and Arc's as "Whisper quiet operation", and MERACH describes the R15 Pro's electromagnetic flywheel as giving "a robust and silent performance".

Air and water rowers carry no figure from any maker we read. Concept2 gives none on its RowErg page, spec sheet or manual, and MERACH's NovaRow R50, JOROTO's MR56, Stamina's air rowers and Sunny's air rower give none either. On the water side, neither Ergatta, whose rowers are handcrafted by WaterRower, nor MERACH, JOROTO, Wenoker, Stamina or Sunny prints a figure for a water rower.

Why under 20 dB and about 60 decibels cannot be ranked

Every figure here leaves out the three things that would let two of them be compared: how hard the handle was pulled, at what resistance setting, and how far away the sound was measured. The figures also come in three forms. Most are ceilings, such as under 20 dB, which say only that the sound stays below a line. MERACH's "25dB" for the RS3 reads as a value until a later image on the same page prints it as a ceiling, so we read it as one. Aviron's "~60 decibels" is an approximation.

So nothing is ranked across those forms, and no rower with a fan or a water tank is set against a magnetic one, because no two makers name the same condition. Even inside one brand the numbers say little: MERACH claims a lower ceiling for the Q1S Interactive, under 20 dB, than for the R7, under 40 dB, on images that give a condition for neither. The R10 comes first because Wenoker is the only maker to say what its figure covers, not because 30 is the smallest number on the page.

Some of the claims are hard to square with everyday sounds. The NIDCD puts whispering at 30 dB, and the National Park Service lists leaves rustling in Canyonlands National Park at 20 dBA and the crater of Haleakala National Park at around 10 dBA. On the reference scale of our decibel chart, Wenoker's under 10 dB would put a 32-level rower, seat rollers and all, beside that volcano crater. The park service's figures are A-weighted and Wenoker's is not labelled either way, so the comparison is loose, but it shows how far below a whisper the claim sits. Aviron's "conversational volume" is easier to place, since the NIDCD gives normal conversation as 60 to 70 dBA.

What stroke rate and resistance do to the sound

No maker gives a figure at more than one effort, so what changes with the pace comes only from their descriptions.

Air. Aviron says of an air rower: "The harder you row, the faster the fan spins, and the louder it gets." Hydrow describes the whoosh of air moving through the flywheel, and adds that the chain can rattle or clink if it is not maintained. Concept2 deals with chain noise in the hardware, through a Quiet Cog system of urethane washers, and its manual asks for the chain to be oiled every 50 hours of use. The same manual describes the damper only in terms of feel: it "affects the feel of your workout but does not directly affect the resistance". Marcy's page for its California Fitness NS-7874RW air rower goes further, saying the damper control "also adjusts the amount of noise produced by the fan".

Water. Hydrow says a water rower's noise "will increase as the intensity of your rowing does". Ergatta describes the sound as "a gentle, rhythmic whoosh" and says it is significantly quieter than a treadmill and most air rowers, with no figure for any of them.

Magnetic. Wenoker's R10 claim is the only one that speaks to the pace directly. Aviron says magnetic resistance "stays quiet and consistent no matter how hard you pull", and its Strong Series pairs that with a fan: in Aviron's words, a hard sprint "moves more air and makes more sound than an easy recovery row".

Resistance levels. The rowers with figures that list their levels run from 14 on Pooboo's H015 to 32 on Wenoker's R20 Pro, and no maker says at which level its figure was taken. Wenoker's R20 images sort the 32 levels into four bands, from Leisure Sports to Physical Training, and MERACH's Q1S dial groups its 16 the same way, so a level could easily have been named.

The floor under the rail

Aviron is the most direct about what reaches the flat below: "The main thing your neighbors below would notice is vibration through the floor, not the resistance sound itself." Its blog calls a dedicated rower mat "the single most effective change" for an apartment, asks for a solid, level floor, and suggests keeping the machine off a shared wall if you can. It adds: "A smooth, controlled stroke is quieter than a jerky one that slams the seat at each end of the rail."

Concept2's manual asks for "a stable, level surface" and warns against fixing the RowErg down: it "should NOT be bolted or permanently fixed to the floor", which Concept2 says may damage the frame. Ergatta says its water rowers are "safe for all floor types, including hardwood and carpet", and treats a mat as optional, for catching sweat. Hydrow sells a Machine Mat for the Wave under the line "Protect your floor", and Aviron puts a rower mat in its Premium Package.

None of these makers gives a figure for what a mat changes, so the mat is a maker's recommendation rather than a measured result. Of the makers here, Aviron is the one that says what the people downstairs are likely to hear, and its answer is the floor, not the fan.

Standing a rower on end

Upright storage is where the manuals disagree most. Concept2's manual says "DO NOT stand the RowErg up on end as it may tip over"; the RowErg splits into two pieces without tools instead, and takes 25 by 33 by 54 inches stored with standard legs.

Most of the others are built to stand. Aviron calls the Strong Series' upright storage "Safety tested" and says it needs no wall mount. Ergatta says its rowers fold and store upright "with no additional equipment", in about 2 by 2 feet. Peloton ships the Row+ with an Upright Wall Anchor, while Hydrow sells the Wave's Vertical Anchor separately and gives its upright size as 26.5 by 30 inches and 82 inches tall.

Among the rowers with figures, MERACH gives the Q1S Interactive about 1.6 by 2.1 feet upright and the R7 3.23 square feet, Wenoker says standing the R10 on end frees about 70% of its floor space, and Pooboo's image shows the H015 at 50.39 inches tall on end. MERACH shows no upright position for the RS3, so plan for it to keep its 65 inches of floor.

How we chose

We read the US product pages of Concept2, Hydrow, Ergatta, Aviron, Peloton, NordicTrack, Echelon, MERACH, Sunny Health & Fitness, Stamina, JOROTO, Pooboo, Wenoker and Marcy, plus Concept2's spec sheet and owner's manual and Life Fitness's rower manuals. Because the budget brands print their figures inside pictures, we read every product image on their rower pages too. CITYROW's site now offers its app rather than a rower, YOSUDA's US site returned an error page, and WaterRower's showed a human-verification check that we did not try to pass, so none of the three is counted.

A rower made the picks only with a decibel figure from its own maker, and the picks run in order of how much each maker says about its figure, not of how small the number is: Wenoker's claim for the R10 sits in the page text and names its scope, Aviron's sits in the page text and the FAQ, MERACH's for the Q1S Interactive and Pooboo's appear only on images, and MERACH prints the RS3's in two forms. We copied each figure with its unit and the words around it, noted whether it sat in the page text or on an image, kept ceilings, values and approximations apart, and set no rower with a fan or water tank against a magnetic one. Prices are those on the makers' own stores on October 13, 2026, with the regular price wherever a sale was showing.

We did not measure any of these rowing machines; every decibel figure here was copied from the maker's own US product page, product image or FAQ, and every floor and storage rule from the maker's page, blog or manual.

Common questions

What is the quietest rowing machine?

On makers' own figures, no rower can be named outright, because no maker gives the stroke rate, resistance level or distance behind its number. The claim that says the most is Wenoker's for the R10 magnetic rower: under 30 dB, which Wenoker says does not rise as rowing speed increases. MERACH's Q1S Interactive and Pooboo's H015 are labelled under 20 dB in product images, with no condition at all.

Are magnetic rowing machines quieter than air or water rowers?

Every maker here says so, and none backs it with figures taken the same way. Hydrow says air and water rowers make noise that increases as you row harder, Aviron says magnetic resistance stays quiet however hard you pull, and Wenoker says the R10 does not get louder with speed. No air or water rower maker we read, Concept2 and Ergatta included, prints a decibel figure to compare.

How loud is a Concept2 RowErg?

Concept2 does not say in decibels: its US product page, spec sheet and owner's manual give no noise figure. The spec sheet credits a Quiet Cog system with urethane washers for reduced chain noise, and the manual asks for the chain to be oiled every 50 hours of use. The damper, Concept2 says, changes the feel of the stroke but does not directly affect the resistance.

How quiet is a Hydrow rower?

Hydrow answers in words. Its comparison page lists the Wave's operating noise as "Nearly silent operation" and the Origin's and Arc's as "Whisper quiet operation", and the Wave FAQ calls the Wave "our quietest rower yet". None of the three carries a decibel figure on Hydrow's US site.

Can a rowing machine be stored standing up?

Most of these can, and one maker says no. Concept2's manual says "DO NOT stand the RowErg up on end as it may tip over" and has you split it in two instead. Aviron says the Strong Series needs no wall mount, Ergatta says its rowers fold and store upright with no extra equipment, Peloton ships the Row+ with a wall anchor, and Hydrow sells the Wave's Vertical Anchor separately.

Do I need a mat under a rowing machine in an apartment?

Aviron says yes: its blog calls a dedicated rower mat the single most effective change for an apartment, because it dampens vibration into the floor. Ergatta says its water rowers are safe on hardwood and carpet and treats a mat, which some owners use to catch sweat, as optional. Concept2 asks only for a stable, level surface and says not to bolt the RowErg down.

Can a rowing machine really run under 10 dB?

Wenoker's image for the R20 Pro claims "Low Noise < 10 DB", with no condition or distance. The National Park Service lists the threshold of human hearing at 0 dB and the crater of Haleakala National Park at around 10 dBA, and the NIDCD puts whispering at 30 dB. We list Wenoker's claim but would not plan a quiet room around it.

Why does Aviron give 60 decibels on one page and no figure on another?

Its product page and FAQ say the Strong Series operates at "~60 decibels or conversational volume". Its blog post on rower noise says Aviron will not quote a decibel figure, because the number depends on stroke rate, floor and room. We list the product page's approximate figure, keep it apart from the ceilings other makers print, and read it with the blog's warning in mind.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Wenoker Magnetic Rowing Machine R20 Pro

    Wenoker's image for this 32-level magnetic rower reads "Low Noise < 10 DB", the smallest number any rower maker printed, with no condition. The National Park Service puts the crater at Haleakala National Park at around 10 dBA, so we list the claim and do not plan around it. $239.99 against $315.99; the R20 was $219.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • MERACH NovaRow R7 Self-powered Magnetic Rowing Machine

    MERACH labels this self-powered magnetic rower under 40 dB, and the R7 Aura with its 21.5-inch screen carries the same image, with no condition on either. It stands on end on 3.23 square feet. $399.99 against $599.99, and the Aura $549.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • Pooboo H188 Adjustable Magnetic Rowing Machine

    Pooboo shows a fan beside this rower's magnetic flywheel and labels it under 20 dB, the same ceiling it gives the fanless H015, with no condition. A rower with a fan cannot be set against a magnetic one without a shared condition, so it sits apart. The page text says 350 lb capacity and an image 400. $439.99 against $699.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • Concept2 RowErg

    Concept2 calls the RowErg "the rowing machine of choice for on-water rowing programs", and prints no decibel figure on its page, spec sheet or manual. The spec sheet credits a Quiet Cog system with urethane washers for reduced chain noise, and the manual says not to stand it on end because it may tip over; it splits in two for storage instead. $990 with standard legs.

    See it at Amazon
  • Hydrow Wave Rower

    Hydrow calls the Wave "our quietest rower yet" and lists its operating noise as "Nearly silent operation", with no decibel figure anywhere on its US site. It stores upright with a Vertical Anchor sold separately. $1,995.

    See it at Amazon
  • The Ergatta Luxe Rower

    A water rower handcrafted by WaterRower for Ergatta, with no decibel figure; Ergatta says its whoosh will not bother neighbors above or below, which is a promise rather than a measurement. It folds and stores upright with no extra equipment and suits hardwood or carpet, per Ergatta. $2,199 against $2,499.

    See it at Amazon
  • Peloton Cross Training Row+

    Peloton says the Row+ gives "a smooth and near-silent ride" and prints no figure for it. It comes with an Upright Wall Anchor for storing it on end. $3,495, before Peloton's membership.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides