QuietSpecs

Quiet exercise bike for an apartment: what the dB claims cover

Quiet exercise bike for an apartment: what the dB claims cover

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • MERACH's S19 Pro recumbent carries the lowest figure any bike maker prints, "under 15dB", and JOROTO's X4S is the spin bike with the lowest, "Under 20 dB", on a 35 lb flywheel and a belt drive.
  • The YOSUDA EB1, now sold by FED Fitness, claims the same 20 dB ceiling for $299.99.
  • All three are ceilings with no cadence or resistance level, so they cannot be ranked against Yesoul's exact 30dB for the G1M Plus or the 45dB FED Fitness gives its EB5 upright.
  • Peloton, Schwinn, BowFlex and NordicTrack publish no figure at all.
  • Whatever you buy, the manuals point to the same fixes for the floor below: a heavy rubber mat, leveled feet and bolts checked once a month.

Lowest figure any bike maker prints

MERACH S19 Pro Recumbent Exercise Bike

Noise (maker's words) "under 15dB" (MERACH)

$529.99 maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Lowest figure any bike maker prints

    MERACH S19 Pro Recumbent Exercise Bike

    "under 15dB" (MERACH)

  2. 2

    Lowest figure on a spin bike

    JOROTO X4S Bluetooth Exercise Bike

    "Under 20 dB" (JOROTO)

  3. 3

    "<20 dB" (FED Fitness)

  4. 4

    No cord, so it can stand away from the walls

    MERACH S29 Eco Self-Powered & Auto-Resistance Exercise Bike

    "under 25 dB" (MERACH)

  5. 5

    An exact figure, not a ceiling

    Yesoul G1M Plus Bike

    "at just 30dB" (Yesoul)

  6. 6

    The upright bike with a figure

    FED Fitness EB5 Upright Exercise Bike

    "45dB" (FED Fitness)

Our Picks

MERACH S19 Pro Recumbent Exercise Bike

#1 · Lowest figure any bike maker prints

MERACH S19 Pro Recumbent Exercise Bike

MERACH

Noise (maker's words)"under 15dB" (MERACH)

MERACH says the S19 Pro runs "under 15dB", the lowest number we found for any exercise bike, and it is a recumbent: the rider sits back against a mesh backrest and pedals forward, so nobody stands on the pedals. The figure is a ceiling with no cadence, resistance level or distance, and 15 is half the 30 dB the NIDCD gives for whispering, so read it as MERACH's promise rather than a reading. A 6.6 lb magnetic flywheel, 8 resistance levels, battery power and a 330 lb limit complete it. It was $339.99 on MERACH's store on October 13, 2026, against a $529.99 regular price.

Buy it ifLow-impact riding in a flat with a neighbor below

Skip it ifYou want to ride out of the saddle the way a spin class does

What we like

  • The lowest ceiling we found: under 15 dB
  • A recumbent, so the rider stays seated
  • Battery powered, so no outlet decides where it stands

What to know

  • No cadence, resistance level or distance behind the figure
  • Only 8 resistance levels on a 6.6 lb flywheel
  • MERACH does not name the drive type
What the figure is
Ceiling, no cadence or level named
Type
Recumbent bike
Resistance and drive
Magnetic, 8 levels; drive not named
Flywheel
6.6 lb
Max user weight
330 lb

$529.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on merachfit.com

JOROTO X4S Bluetooth Exercise Bike

#2 · Lowest figure on a spin bike

JOROTO X4S Bluetooth Exercise Bike

JOROTO

Noise (maker's words)"Under 20 dB" (JOROTO)

JOROTO lists an "Ultra-Quiet Belt Drive System Operating Under 20 dB" for the X4S, the lowest ceiling we found on a spin bike, and like every bike figure here it names no cadence, resistance level or distance. The specification table adds the parts that decide how it rides: a "Multi-groove Silent Belt Drive", six-magnet resistance with an emergency brake, a 35 lb flywheel in iron and aluminum, a 2 mm commercial steel frame and a 330 lb limit. It was $479.99 on joroto.com on October 13, 2026, against an $849.99 regular price.

Buy it ifSpin workouts above a neighbor, on a rubber mat

Skip it ifYou want a screen and classes built into the bike

What we like

  • Under 20 dB, the lowest ceiling on a spin bike
  • 35 lb flywheel and a multi-groove belt drive
  • 330 lb limit on a 2 mm steel frame

What to know

  • No cadence, resistance level or distance behind the figure
  • Free replacement parts for one year only
  • At 97 lb, the heaviest spin bike among the picks to move
What the figure is
Ceiling, no cadence or level named
Type
Indoor cycle (spin bike)
Resistance and drive
Magnetic, 6 magnets; multi-groove belt
Flywheel
35 lb, iron and aluminum
Max user weight
330 lb

$849.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on joroto.com

FED Fitness YOSUDA Series EB1 Magnetic Indoor Cycling Bike

#3 · The same 20 dB ceiling for $299.99

FED Fitness YOSUDA Series EB1 Magnetic Indoor Cycling Bike

FED Fitness

Noise (maker's words)"<20 dB" (FED Fitness)

YOSUDA bikes are now sold by FED Fitness, whose page says it "is the parent brand of YOSUDA", and the EB1 is the one YOSUDA bike with a figure: a "Whisper-quiet magnetic drive" under 20 dB. That matches the X4S's ceiling for less money, on the same 35 lb of flywheel, and FED Fitness states a smaller footprint than any other bike here, 5.28 square feet. The trade is a 300 lb limit, a handlebar that adjusts two ways, and no named drive type or posted manual. $299.99 on fedfitness.com on October 13, 2026.

Buy it ifA small bedroom or the corner of a studio

Skip it ifYou ride above 300 lb, or want to read the manual before you buy

What we like

  • Under 20 dB for $299.99
  • 35 lb flywheel
  • Smallest stated footprint here: 5.28 sq ft

What to know

  • No cadence, resistance level or distance behind the figure
  • Drive type not named, and no manual posted
  • 300 lb limit and a 2-way handlebar
What the figure is
Ceiling, no cadence or level named
Type
Indoor cycle (spin bike)
Resistance and drive
Magnetic; drive not named
Flywheel
35 lb
Max user weight
300 lb

$299.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on fedfitness.com

MERACH S29 Eco Self-Powered & Auto-Resistance Exercise Bike

#4 · No cord, so it can stand away from the walls

MERACH S29 Eco Self-Powered & Auto-Resistance Exercise Bike

MERACH

Noise (maker's words)"under 25 dB" (MERACH)

MERACH's S29 Eco claims "under 25 dB" with automatic resistance, a ceiling 5 dB above the X4S's and just as silent on cadence and level. Its case is placement. It is self-powered, and MERACH says that "lets you place the bike anywhere in your home freely", which matters because Schwinn's manuals warn that a fitness product close to a wall gives more reflected noise. A 40 lb flywheel, 16 levels and a 350 lb limit, the highest among the picks, round it out. $399.99 on merachfit.com on October 13, 2026, against a $639.99 regular price.

Buy it ifA room whose only free spot is far from the outlets

Skip it ifYou want the lowest ceiling on paper

What we like

  • Self-powered: no cord ties it to an outlet
  • 40 lb flywheel and a 350 lb limit
  • Automatic resistance with 7 preset programs

What to know

  • Under 25 dB, a higher ceiling than the X4S or EB1
  • No cadence, resistance level or distance behind the figure
  • MERACH does not name the drive type
What the figure is
Ceiling, no cadence or level named
Type
Indoor cycle, self-powered
Resistance and drive
Magnetic, automatic, 16 levels
Flywheel
40 lb
Max user weight
350 lb

$639.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on merachfit.com

Yesoul G1M Plus Bike

#5 · An exact figure, not a ceiling

Yesoul G1M Plus Bike

Yesoul

Noise (maker's words)"at just 30dB" (Yesoul)

Yesoul writes its number differently: "a smooth, whisper-quiet ride at just 30dB", credited to a "Tesla-grade belt system". That is an exact figure rather than a ceiling, so it cannot be placed above or below the 20 and 25 dB ceilings, and Yesoul names no cadence or resistance level either. The G1M Plus suits anyone who wants classes on the bike: a 21.5 inch screen that turns 360 degrees, 100 magnetic levels and a cast iron flywheel with an aluminum ring, though its limit is 265 lb. $499.99 on yesoulfitness.com on October 13, 2026, against an $899.99 regular price.

Buy it ifScreen-led rides in a living room

Skip it ifYou weigh more than 265 lb

What we like

  • An exact figure, 30dB, rather than a ceiling
  • 21.5 inch screen that rotates 360 degrees
  • 100 magnetic levels and a belt drive

What to know

  • No cadence, resistance level or distance behind the figure
  • 265 lb limit, the lowest among the picks
  • Runs from a 24V adapter, so it needs an outlet
What the figure is
Exact figure, no condition named
Type
Indoor cycle with 21.5 in screen
Resistance and drive
Magnetic, 100 levels; belt
Flywheel
Cast iron and aluminum; weight not given
Max user weight
265 lb

$899.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on yesoulfitness.com

FED Fitness EB5 Upright Exercise Bike

#6 · The upright bike with a figure

FED Fitness EB5 Upright Exercise Bike

FED Fitness

Noise (maker's words)"45dB" (FED Fitness)

Of the upright bikes we read, only FED Fitness's EB5 prints a figure: "45dB Quiet Riding Experience". It is an exact number with no condition, the highest figure among the picks, and like Yesoul's 30dB it cannot be ranked against the ceilings. The EB5 is a plug-in bike with 24 electromagnetic levels, a step-through frame, an air-lift seat with 28 settings, a 15.7 inch display and a 330 lb limit. At 133 lb and $1,499.00 on fedfitness.com on October 13, 2026, it is the largest and most expensive pick.

Buy it ifRiders who want an upright position and an easy step-through

Skip it ifFloor space is tight; it measures 53 by 26.1 inches

What we like

  • The only upright bike with a published figure
  • Step-through frame and an air-lift seat
  • 24 electromagnetic levels and 30 programs

What to know

  • 45dB is the highest figure among the picks
  • Plug-in only, and 133 lb to move
  • No cadence, resistance level or distance behind the figure
What the figure is
Exact figure, no condition named
Type
Upright bike, step-through
Resistance and drive
Electromagnetic, 24 levels; plug-in
Flywheel
Not stated
Max user weight
330 lb

$1,499.00

maker's list price · checked Oct 13

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on fedfitness.com

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoise (maker's words)What the figure isTypeResistance and driveFlywheelPrice
1.MERACH S19 Pro"under 15dB" (MERACH)Ceiling, no cadence or level namedRecumbent bikeMagnetic, 8 levels; drive not named6.6 lb$529.99 maker's list price
2.JOROTO X4S"Under 20 dB" (JOROTO)Ceiling, no cadence or level namedIndoor cycle (spin bike)Magnetic, 6 magnets; multi-groove belt35 lb, iron and aluminum$849.99 maker's list price
3.FED Fitness EB1 (FEDBK001C)"<20 dB" (FED Fitness)Ceiling, no cadence or level namedIndoor cycle (spin bike)Magnetic; drive not named35 lb$299.99 maker's list price
4.MERACH S29 Eco (MR-S29R2)"under 25 dB" (MERACH)Ceiling, no cadence or level namedIndoor cycle, self-poweredMagnetic, automatic, 16 levels40 lb$639.99 maker's list price
5.Yesoul G1M Plus"at just 30dB" (Yesoul)Exact figure, no condition namedIndoor cycle with 21.5 in screenMagnetic, 100 levels; beltCast iron and aluminum; weight not given$899.99 maker's list price
6.FED Fitness EB5 (FEDBKLSJSC)"45dB" (FED Fitness)Exact figure, no condition namedUpright bike, step-throughElectromagnetic, 24 levels; plug-inNot stated$1,499.00 maker's list price

Buying Guide

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

MERACH prints the lowest noise figure we found for any exercise bike: "under 15dB" for its S19 Pro recumbent, with no cadence, resistance level, rider weight or distance attached. Among spin bikes, JOROTO says its X4S runs "Under 20 dB", and FED Fitness gives the YOSUDA EB1 the same ceiling. Yesoul writes an exact 30dB for its G1M Plus, and the one upright with a figure, the FED Fitness EB5, says 45dB.

The best-known brands publish nothing at all. Peloton, Schwinn, BowFlex, NordicTrack, Echelon, Keiser, Stages and Sunny Health & Fitness print no figure for any bike we read, so every number on this page comes from a direct-to-home brand. That is why the second half of the page is about what reaches the floor under an apartment bike: the resistance, the drive, the flywheel, and what Schwinn, BowFlex, Peloton and NordicTrack write about mats, leveling and floors.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Fifteen to forty-five decibels, and not one cadence

Every figure we found for an exercise bike, sorted by the kind of claim it is:

  • Under 15 dB: MERACH S19 Pro Recumbent and S19 Recumbent Cross Trainer.
  • Under 20 dB: JOROTO X4S and the YOSUDA EB1.
  • Under 25 dB: MERACH S26, S26 Aura, S36 and S29 Eco; JOROTO X2; Pooboo D525, D525X and D576.
  • Exactly 30dB: Yesoul G1M Plus and S3, from one block of copy that appears on both pages.
  • Exactly 45dB: FED Fitness EB5 Upright.

None of these makers says how fast the pedals were turning, which resistance level was set, how heavy the rider was or how far away the microphone stood, and every figure is in plain dB, with no A-weighting named. The only maker that mentions cadence at all prints no figure: NordicTrack's advice on bikes for small spaces says the most reliable way to confirm noise is "to review the model's instrument noise report", which it describes as "expressed in decibels at 60 and 90 RPM". We found no such report on the pages for NordicTrack's S24, X24 or 10 Recumbent.

For scale, the US National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) puts whispering at 30 dB and a humming fridge at 40 dB. Every ceiling on this page puts a bike in operation below a whisper, and MERACH's 15 is half that number. We report these figures as the makers' promises; none comes with the conditions that would let anyone check it.

Why a ceiling and an exact figure sit on separate lists

"Under 20 dB" and "30dB" are different kinds of claim. A ceiling says the bike stays below a number in whatever test the maker ran; an exact figure says what one test read. Neither maker describes its test, so Yesoul's 30dB could describe a harder ride than JOROTO's ceiling or an easier one, and the 10 decibels between the two numbers prove nothing. We rank the ceilings against each other, lowest first, and keep the exact figures apart.

Even among the ceilings, a lower number is a bolder promise, not a measured gap. The order means most inside one maker's list. MERACH puts its two S19 recumbents under 15 dB and every spin bike it rates under 25 dB, and JOROTO puts the X4S 5 dB below the X2, though both have six-magnet resistance and a 35 lb flywheel; the X4S adds a multi-groove belt. Since no maker names a distance or a weighting, a gap between two brands here is not a like-for-like difference either.

Magnetic, friction and air resistance

Magnetic resistance brakes the flywheel with magnets that do not touch it, and every bike with a figure on this page uses it. Schwinn's 2025 manual for the IC3.5 puts the case plainly: "Our Indoor Cycles are some of the quietest available because they use belt drives and magnetic brake resistance." The manuals for its 180 upright and 280 recumbent carry the same paragraph for their own bike types, and with it a warning. Because the resistance is so quiet, Schwinn says, "you will occasionally hear other slight mechanical noises", since "there are no fans, friction belts, or alternator noises to mask these sounds".

Friction resistance presses felt pads against the flywheel instead. Sunny Health & Fitness still sells one, the Smart Pro Belt Drive Indoor Cycling Exercise Bike, with a "dual felt pad resistance system", and calls its belt drive quiet without a figure. The care guide Johnson Health Tech publishes for its 2025 Schwinn cycles tells owners of a bike with "a felt resistance/brake pad" to lubricate it. No maker prints a figure for a friction bike, so the case for magnets in an apartment rests on the makers' words rather than on numbers.

Two bikes here set their resistance electrically. The FED Fitness EB5 lists "Electromagnetic" resistance and needs an outlet, and MERACH's S29 Eco sets its magnetic resistance automatically on power it makes itself. Air resistance, the third kind, gets a section of its own below.

Belt or chain, and how heavy the flywheel is

Where these makers name the drive, it is a belt. JOROTO's X4S has a "Multi-groove Silent Belt Drive (4.29:1 Ratio)", MERACH's S26 and S36 a "silent belt drive", and Yesoul credits its 30dB to a "Tesla-grade belt system". Keiser makes the same case for the Poly-V belt on its M3i, without a figure. MERACH does not name the drive on the S19 Pro or the S29 Eco, and FED Fitness does not on the EB1.

Chain drives are getting harder to find. Sunny's chain-drive SF-B901 and SF-B1203 were both marked unavailable on its store on October 13, 2026. Johnson Health Tech's care guide gives a chain a job a belt does not have: "Cycles with drive chains - clean and lubricate the chain." For a belt, the same guide's warning sign is a grinding noise when you pedal, which it says "is typically caused when a drive belt is misaligned or going bad."

Flywheel weights run from 6.6 lb on MERACH's S19 Pro to 40 lb on its S29 Eco and 45 lb on the YOSUDA EB2, with the JOROTO X2 and X4S and the YOSUDA EB1 at 35 lb. No maker ties a flywheel's weight to its figure, and the lightest flywheel here belongs to the bike with the lowest ceiling, so weight alone does not predict the number on the page. Yesoul names its flywheel's materials, cast iron with an aluminum ring, but not its weight.

Floors above other people: what the manuals say

A bike has no footstrike, unlike a treadmill, but the makers' documents still put the floor at the center of the noise question. Schwinn's 2025 manuals, and the care guide Johnson Health Tech publishes with them, answer why a delivered bike sounds louder than the one in the shop: "All fitness products seem quieter in a large store showroom because there is generally more background noise than in your home. Also, there will be less reverberation on a carpeted concrete floor than on a wood overlay floor. Sometimes a heavy rubber mat will help reduce reverberation through the floor. If a fitness product is placed close to a wall, there will be more reflected noise."

NordicTrack writes for apartments directly. Its advice on bikes for small spaces says "Quiet is relative to your building's construction, your neighbors' schedules, and the time of day you ride", and ends: "Place the bike on an anti-vibration mat to reduce transmitted vibration to floors below." Peloton puts a 72 by 36 inch mat in its bike packages and sums it up in one line: "Protective mat fits under Bike to improve stability and reduce noise."

BowFlex's manuals for the C6 and the IC Bike SE set the base rule: "For safe operation, the location must be on a hard, level surface." Taken together, a heavy rubber mat on a hard floor, with the bike a little way from shared walls, is the setup these makers describe for a flat with neighbors below or beside. None of them gives a figure for what the mat or the gap from the wall saves.

Leveling, loose bolts and the squeak that follows

A rocking bike is the one problem every manual here tells you how to fix. Schwinn's IC3.5 manual says: "If the Indoor Cycle rocks on the floor after being set down, turn the leveling feet underneath the front or rear stabilizer until the rocking motion is eliminated." BowFlex's C6 manual lists "Unit rocks/does not sit level" in its troubleshooting table, with the levelers as the fix, and warns that adjustment "may not be able to compensate for extremely uneven surfaces", in which case the bike should move to a level area.

On a new bike, the manuals blame loose hardware before the drive. The IC3.5 manual says parts that are not tightened "will seem loose and may cause irritating noises", and its answer to a squeaking or chirping bike is to check that it stands level, then loosen the assembly bolts, grease the threads and tighten them again. Johnson Health Tech's care guide adds that frame bolts can loosen after the first few rides "as the product settles to the floor", and asks owners to check them after those first uses and then monthly. BowFlex traces a clicking sound when pedaling to the pedal and crank connection.

Fan bikes belong on a list of their own

An air bike, or fan bike, makes its resistance by pushing air with a fan, so the harder you pedal, the more air it moves. Schwinn's Airdyne AD7 manual states the rule in one line: "To increase the air resistance and workload, increase your level of activity." The arms drive the same fan, since on the AD7 "the Pedals, Handlebars and Resistance Fan are connected". On a fan bike, then, a harder interval also means more air moving through the fan.

Concept2's BikeErg uses an air flywheel with a damper that Concept2 calls your "gearing", and describes the ride as "smooth, quiet and responsive" without a figure. Schwinn for the Airdyne AD7, Concept2 for the BikeErg, Sunny for its Tornado fan bikes and Pooboo for its S329 air bike print no decibel figure on the pages and manuals we read, so no fan bike appears among the picks or beside a magnetic bike's number.

The big names that print no figure

These makers give no decibel figure on the US pages we read for these bikes, or in the manuals we could open:

  • Peloton: Cross Training Bike and Cross Training Bike+.
  • Schwinn: IC4, IC3.5, 180 upright, 280 recumbent and the Airdyne AD7.
  • BowFlex: C6 and IC Bike SE.
  • NordicTrack: S24, X24 and 10 Recumbent, sold on "Silent Magnetic Resistance".
  • Echelon: EX-5s, EX-7s and EX-8s.
  • Sunny Health & Fitness: its indoor cycles, uprights and recumbents, with words such as "nearly silent" instead of numbers.
  • Keiser, Stages, Technogym and Garmin: Keiser calls the M3i's magnetic resistance smooth and quiet, and Garmin calls the Tacx NEO Bike Plus "virtually silent".

SOLE comes closest to a number. Its own blog says "SOLE spin bikes operate below 30 decibels using magnetic resistance and belt drives" and names the SB1200 and SB900, but neither appears on SOLE's US store, and the bikes it does sell, the LCB, LCR and R92, carry no figure.

How we chose

We read the US product pages of MERACH, JOROTO, FED Fitness, Yesoul, Pooboo, Sunny Health & Fitness, Echelon, Peloton, NordicTrack, SOLE, Keiser, Stages, Technogym, Garmin and Concept2 on October 13, 2026, and the owner's manuals Johnson Health Tech posts on its parts sites for Schwinn, BowFlex and Horizon bikes. We copied each decibel figure in the maker's words, with whatever condition it gave, and found none with a cadence, a resistance level or a distance.

We then grouped the figures by kind, ceilings in one list and exact figures in another, ranked the ceilings lowest first, and chose picks across recumbent, spin and upright bikes. Where two bikes from one maker made the same claim, we picked the one with something more to offer a flat, such as the S29 Eco's self-powered design or the G1M Plus's screen. Where a store showed a sale, the card shows the regular price and the summary gives the sale price we saw.

We did not measure any of these exercise bikes, on a floor or at a microphone. Every decibel figure on this page is a maker's claim from its US product page, and the advice on floors, mats and leveling is quoted from Schwinn's, BowFlex's, Peloton's and NordicTrack's own documents.

Common questions

What is the quietest exercise bike for an apartment?

On the makers' own numbers, MERACH's S19 Pro recumbent, which MERACH says runs "under 15dB". For spin bikes, JOROTO's X4S says "Under 20 dB", and FED Fitness gives the YOSUDA EB1 the same ceiling. All three are ceilings with no cadence, resistance level or distance, so they show what each maker promises rather than which bike is quieter.

How many decibels is a quiet exercise bike?

The figures bike makers print run from under 15 dB for the MERACH S19 Pro to 45dB for the FED Fitness EB5 upright. Yesoul's G1M Plus and S3 say 30dB, and a group of MERACH, JOROTO and Pooboo spin bikes say under 25 dB. None is tied to a cadence or a resistance level. For scale, the NIDCD puts whispering at 30 dB and a humming fridge at 40 dB.

Are magnetic exercise bikes quieter than friction bikes?

No maker prints figures that would show it. Schwinn's 2025 manuals credit "belt drives and magnetic brake resistance" for its quiet indoor cycles and count "friction belts" among older, louder technologies. Sunny Health & Fitness sells a belt-drive bike with a "dual felt pad resistance system", and Johnson Health Tech's care guide says a felt brake pad should be lubricated.

Are fan bikes too loud for an apartment?

No fan bike maker we read prints a figure, so the paperwork cannot settle it. On a fan bike the work and the air resistance rise together: Schwinn's Airdyne AD7 manual says "To increase the air resistance and workload, increase your level of activity." Concept2 calls the BikeErg's air flywheel quiet, without a number.

Will an exercise bike bother my downstairs neighbors?

The floor matters as much as the bike. Schwinn's manuals say "there will be less reverberation on a carpeted concrete floor than on a wood overlay floor" and that a heavy rubber mat can help. NordicTrack says quiet "is relative to your building's construction" and advises an anti-vibration mat to cut the vibration that reaches floors below.

Does Peloton publish a noise level for its bikes?

Not on its US bike pages. Peloton gives no decibel figure for the Cross Training Bike or the Cross Training Bike+, though its bike packages include a 72 by 36 inch mat that Peloton says improves stability and reduces noise. NordicTrack, Schwinn, BowFlex and Echelon publish no bike figure either.

Why does my exercise bike squeak or click?

Schwinn's IC3.5 manual gives two causes for a squeak or chirp: a bike that is not on a level surface, and assembly bolts whose threads need grease before they are tightened again. BowFlex's manuals trace a clicking sound to the pedal and crank connection, and Johnson Health Tech says frame bolts loosen on a new bike and should be checked monthly.

What should I put under an exercise bike in an apartment?

A heavy rubber mat, on the makers' advice. Schwinn's manuals say one "will help reduce reverberation through the floor", NordicTrack recommends an anti-vibration mat, and Peloton sells a 72 by 36 inch mat for its bikes. Level the bike on the mat as well: Schwinn says to turn the leveling feet until the rocking motion is eliminated.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • JOROTO X2 Magnetic Indoor Exercise Bike

    The X2 shares the X4S's 35 lb flywheel and six-magnet resistance on a "Near Silent Belt Drive System", but JOROTO gives it a higher ceiling, "Under 25 dB", and its page states the capacity two ways: 300 lbs in the description and 280 lbs in the specification table. $339.99 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon
  • MERACH S26 Magnetic Exercise Bike with Dumbbell Rack

    The smallest and lightest of the MERACH spin bikes here, 42.6 by 19.3 inches and 62 lbs, with a "silent belt drive" and "under 25dB". Its 13 lb flywheel is the lightest on any spin bike here, and it was $249.00 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon
  • MERACH S36 Magnetic Resistance Bike with 330lbs Capacity

    MERACH's S36 claims the same "under 25 dB" with a silent belt drive, on an 18 lb flywheel and a 330 lb frame, for $259.00 on October 13, 2026. Nothing on its page sets it apart from the S26 on noise.

    See it at Amazon
  • Yesoul S3 Exercise Bike

    The S3's page repeats the G1M Plus's "whisper-quiet ride at just 30dB" word for word, on a smaller, battery-powered bike of 39.76 by 20 inches with a 265 lb limit. $299.99 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon
  • Pooboo D525X Indoor Exercise Bike

    Pooboo prints "below 25dB" for the D525X, and the same ceiling for its D525 and D576, on magnetic resistance and a belt drive. It is the claim MERACH and JOROTO make for their cheaper bikes, for $259.99 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon
  • NordicTrack S24 Studio Bike

    NordicTrack prints no figure for the S24 and lists "24 levels of Silent Magnetic Resistance". Its own advice is to check "the model's instrument noise report" in decibels at 60 and 90 RPM, and we found none on its bike pages. $1,299.99 on October 13, 2026, against a $2,299.99 list price.

    See it at Amazon
  • Peloton Cross Training Bike

    Peloton prints no noise figure for either Cross Training Bike. Its bike packages add a 72 by 36 inch mat that Peloton says improves stability and reduces noise. $1,695 on October 13, 2026, with the All-Access Membership separate.

    See it at Amazon
  • Concept2 BikeErg

    An air bike, so it belongs with the fan bikes rather than the magnetic ones. Concept2 calls its air flywheel "smooth, quiet and responsive" and gives no figure; a damper changes the feel, and a clutch lets the flywheel spin on when you stop pedaling. $1,100.00 on October 13, 2026.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides