QuietSpecs

The quietest self-cleaning litter boxes

September 26, 2026 · 7 picks · 3 min read

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too

The quietest self-cleaning litter boxes

By Stanley Alu · showing #1 Lowest published figure

The short answer

  • Fourteen automatic litter boxes publish a decibel figure and the market leader publishes none.
  • See the quietest machines on paper, the one figure tied to the cleaning cycle, and the maker that disagrees with itself on its own page.

Lowest published figure

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too

Price

$599.99 · maker's list price · checked Sep 26
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Why QuietSpecs

QuietSpecs ranks home appliances by how loud they really are, using figures from manufacturers and certification bodies.

Ranked on noise

Every guide is ordered by the noise figure that matters in use, not the one on the box.

Maker-verified specs

Each figure comes from the manufacturer or a certification body, and we say which.

Downsides included

Every pick lists what is wrong with it, and who should skip it.

Commissions don't rank

We may earn when you buy through our links. It never changes the order.

Our Picks

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too

#1 · Lowest published figure

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too

Casa Leo

Casa Leo publishes "Whisper-quiet motor purrs at just ~30 dB - quieter than a library" for the Leo's Loo Too, the lowest figure in the category, and backs the machine with named safety hardware: radar motion detection before each cycle, four weight sensors confirming the cat has left, and an anti-pinch sensor that stops the drum.

What we like

  • About 30 dB, the lowest maker figure here
  • Radar, four weight sensors and anti-pinch, all named
  • UV-C treatment and voice assistant support

What to know

  • The figure describes the motor, with no cycle phase or distance
  • $599.99, the most expensive pick
  • One year warranty unless you pay for the extension

$599.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
About 30 dB, motor (maker)
Cat weight
Up to 20 lbs
Waste drawer
Pull-out drawer
App
iOS, Android, Alexa, Google
Warranty
1 year
Buy it if
The lowest number in the category, in a bedroom-adjacent spot
Skip it if
Your cat is over 20 lbs
Meowant MW-SC10

#2 · The only cycle figure

Meowant MW-SC10

Meowant

Meowant's FAQ says "The maximum stated operating noise is 35 dB or lower, helping reduce disruption during automatic cleaning cycles". That is the only figure in this category explicitly tied to the cleaning cycle, which is the phase you will actually hear, and it is stated as a maximum rather than a boast.

What we like

  • The figure names the cleaning cycle, unique here
  • Stated as a ceiling, 35 dB or lower
  • 11.9 L waste drawer and a two year warranty

What to know

  • No measuring distance or standard, like everyone
  • Open top design suits some cats and not others
  • The brand is younger than Whisker or PETKIT

$459.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
35 dB or lower, cleaning cycle (maker)
Cat weight
3.3 lbs and up
Waste drawer
11.9 L
App
App plus on-device display
Warranty
2 years
Buy it if
A buyer who wants the number to describe the right moment
Skip it if
Your cat prefers an enclosed globe
CATLINK Scooper Open-X

#3 · Cheapest with a figure

CATLINK Scooper Open-X

CATLINK

CATLINK publishes "Quiet Operation: <35dB noise level won't startle cats" for the Scooper Open-X, at $199 for the multi-cat version and $169 single-cat, the cheapest machine in this survey with any figure at all. The safety story is specific too: infrared, weight and anti-pinch sensors, and a drum that turns at 2 to 3 RPM.

What we like

  • Under 35 dB claimed at a third of the flagship prices
  • 2 to 3 RPM drum speed, stated as a safety property
  • Up to 15 days of waste capacity claimed

What to know

  • A ceiling with no phase, distance or standard
  • 48.5 lbs packaged, a big unit
  • One year warranty

$199.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
Under 35 dB, operation (maker)
Cat weight
Not stated as a range
Waste drawer
Up to 15 days claimed
App
App control
Warranty
1 year
Buy it if
Trying automatic litter without flagship money
Skip it if
You want an established app ecosystem
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2

#4 · Big brand, consistent claim

PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2

PETKIT

PETKIT publishes "Relax in 35 dB Whisper Quiet" for the Purobot Max Pro 2, and unlike its own Max 3, whose page says 35dB in the description and 45dB in the FAQ, this page agrees with itself. A 76 L cylinder, an 8 L waste bin, and a 1080p camera, at $499.99 with the pet fence included.

What we like

  • A consistent 35 dB claim from the category's biggest publisher
  • 76 L cylinder with a 22 lb cat limit
  • Kitten protection mode in the app

What to know

  • No phase, distance or standard
  • The AI camera is a feature or a concern, depending on you
  • PETKIT's own flagship Ultra publishes no figure at all

$499.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
35 dB, operation (maker)
Cat weight
3.3 to 22 lbs
Waste drawer
8 L bin
App
App plus 1080p camera
Warranty
Not stated on the page
Buy it if
The mainstream choice with a claim that holds still
Skip it if
You want no camera pointed at your utility room
ELS PET Orbitie

#5 · Best for multi-cat homes

ELS PET Orbitie

ELS PET

ELS PET publishes "Whisper-Quiet Operation at 35dB" for the Orbitie and repeats it in the spec list with a sleep mode. A 65 L drum, a 12 L waste drawer the maker says needs emptying about every 20 days, and marketing for up to five cats make it the volume play at $439.99.

What we like

  • 35 dB claimed, repeated in the spec list rather than only the blurb
  • 12 L drawer, about 20 days between empties claimed
  • Kitten mode and four weight sensors

What to know

  • No phase, distance or standard
  • Five cats through one machine is a cleaning schedule, not a miracle
  • One year warranty

$439.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
35 dB, operation (maker)
Cat weight
Kitten mode under 2.5 lbs
Waste drawer
12 L, about 20 days
App
App with dual safety sensors
Warranty
1 year
Buy it if
Two or more cats sharing one machine
Skip it if
You have one tidy cat and less floor space
Neakasa M1 Plus

#6 · Honest higher ceiling

Neakasa M1 Plus

Neakasa

Neakasa's spec table says "Operation Noise ≤ 50dB (Whisper Quiet)" for the M1 Plus, the highest ceiling among our picks and printed in the specification rather than the marketing. It pairs that with the widest published cat range in the survey, 2.2 to about 33 lbs, and a two week waste bin.

What we like

  • The figure lives in the spec table, as a ceiling
  • 2.2 to 33 lbs, the widest cat range here
  • 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days, two year warranty

What to know

  • 50 dB is 15 to 20 dB above the category's lowest claims
  • Its spec table is identical to the cheaper M1 Lite's
  • Open tray design throws some litter

$399.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
Up to 50 dB, operation (maker)
Cat weight
2.2 to about 33 lbs
Waste drawer
11.23 L, up to 14 days
App
iOS and Android
Warranty
2 years
Buy it if
Very small or very large cats the globes exclude
Skip it if
The lowest possible number is the point
Furbulous Box

#7 · The only worst-case figure

Furbulous Box

Furbulous

Furbulous publishes the most honest sentence in the category: "The highest noise level of Furbulous Box in operation is 60dB, which only appears for seconds", with a comparison to conversation at one metre. Sixty is the biggest number on this page, and it is also the only one shaped like a measurement of the worst moment.

What we like

  • A stated maximum with a duration and a comparison
  • Packs and seals waste automatically
  • Seven-sensor safety system as published

What to know

  • 60 dB is the highest figure in the guide
  • Waste bags are an ongoing cost other machines skip
  • One year warranty

$439.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
Highest 60 dB, for seconds (maker)
Cat weight
Not stated as a range
Waste drawer
6 L, auto-sealing
App
App control
Warranty
1 year
Buy it if
A reader who trusts a worst case over a best case
Skip it if
You want the smallest number rather than the frankest one

Full Specifications

Noise

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too
About 30 dB, motor (maker)
Meowant MW-SC10
35 dB or lower, cleaning cycle (maker)
CATLINK Scooper Open-X
Under 35 dB, operation (maker)
PETKIT P9904
35 dB, operation (maker)
ELS PET Orbitie
35 dB, operation (maker)
Neakasa M1 Plus
Up to 50 dB, operation (maker)
Furbulous Furbulous Box
Highest 60 dB, for seconds (maker)

Cat weight

Meowant MW-SC10
3.3 lbs and up
CATLINK Scooper Open-X
Not stated as a range
PETKIT P9904
3.3 to 22 lbs
ELS PET Orbitie
Kitten mode under 2.5 lbs
Neakasa M1 Plus
2.2 to about 33 lbs
Furbulous Furbulous Box
Not stated as a range

Waste drawer

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too
Pull-out drawer
CATLINK Scooper Open-X
Up to 15 days claimed
ELS PET Orbitie
12 L, about 20 days
Neakasa M1 Plus
11.23 L, up to 14 days
Furbulous Furbulous Box
6 L, auto-sealing

App

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too
iOS, Android, Alexa, Google
Meowant MW-SC10
App plus on-device display
PETKIT P9904
App plus 1080p camera
ELS PET Orbitie
App with dual safety sensors
Neakasa M1 Plus
iOS and Android

Warranty

PETKIT P9904
Not stated on the page

Price

Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too
$599.99 (maker's list price)
Meowant MW-SC10
$459.99 (maker's list price)
CATLINK Scooper Open-X
$199.00 (maker's list price)
PETKIT P9904
$499.99 (maker's list price)
ELS PET Orbitie
$439.99 (maker's list price)
Neakasa M1 Plus
$399.99 (maker's list price)
Furbulous Furbulous Box
$439.00 (maker's list price)

Buying Guide

An automatic litter box runs its motor when your cat has just left it, several times a day, often at night, often one room from where you sleep. Quietness is the whole sales pitch, and for once most of the category actually publishes numbers: fourteen machines from seven makers carry a maker figure.

The two biggest names are the exceptions, and the honest details live in strange places. Here is the category as published.

Our 7 picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The market leader has a trademark instead of a number

Whisker's Litter-Robot 4 is the machine this category is famous for. Its page offers "QuietSift® technology that minimizes noise during the cleaning cycle" and quiet cycles that "benefit skittish cats", and no decibel figure, anywhere, for any model.

PETKIT, the other giant, publishes 35 dB claims across its mid range and then nothing at all for its $799.99 flagship Purobot Ultra.

This is now a familiar pattern on this site: the massage gun leader trademarks QuietForce and prints no number, the shredder leader trademarks SilentShred and prints no number, and here the litter box leader does the same with QuietSift. A trademark is a promise to the trademark office, not to you. Both machines sit in our also considered list with the reason stated, not because we think they are loud, but because there is nothing to rank.

One maker names the moment that matters

A litter box's noise is not continuous. It is a cleaning cycle: a motor turning a drum for a couple of minutes after each visit. Standby is effectively silent everywhere. So the only number worth having is the cycle number.

Meowant is the single maker in this survey that says so: "The maximum stated operating noise is 35 dB or lower, helping reduce disruption during automatic cleaning cycles." A ceiling, tied to the right phase. Everyone else prints a number against the word operation and lets you guess which minute it describes.

Furbulous, at the other end, publishes the category's only worst case: "The highest noise level of Furbulous Box in operation is 60dB, which only appears for seconds", helpfully compared to a conversation at one metre. Sixty is the biggest number on this page and arguably the most trustworthy, because it describes the loudest moment rather than the quietest.

A page that disagrees with itself

PETKIT's Purobot Max 3 listing says "whisper-quiet 35dB operation" in the description. Its own FAQ, further down the same page, answers a noise question with "engineered to operate at a whisper-quiet 45dB".

Ten decibels is not a rounding error; it is the difference between the category's best claims and its middle. We quote both in our catalog, and our PETKIT pick is the Max Pro 2, whose page carries one figure and sticks to it. When a maker publishes two numbers for one machine, the page is telling you how much weight the numbers were built to carry.

What the figures leave out

No maker in this category names a measuring distance. None names a standard. One names the cycle phase. Most figures are ceilings, best cases or bare numbers in marketing prose rather than spec rows, and the cluster at 35 dB across five brands looks more like a marketing convention than five coinciding measurements.

So read the table the way we built it: the shape of each claim first, the safety hardware second, the digits last. For the general problem, see why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands.

We did not measure any of these machines, and nothing here is a claim about your cat's behaviour. Every figure is the maker's own, quoted as published, with the condition attached in the one case where the maker attached one.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Whisker Litter-Robot 4

    The market leader publishes no decibel figure for any Litter-Robot, only the QuietSift trademark, so there is nothing to rank. It may be quiet; Whisker has not said how quiet.

    See it at Amazon
  • PETKIT Purobot Ultra

    PETKIT's $799.99 flagship publishes no figure while its cheaper siblings publish 35 dB.

    See it at Amazon
  • PETKIT Purobot Max 3

    The description says 35dB and the FAQ on the same page says 45dB. Both are quoted in our catalog; we picked the sibling instead.

    See it at Amazon
  • Neakasa M1 Lite

    "Operation Noise: 50dB" on a spec table identical to the M1 Plus's, for $20 less.

    See it at Amazon
  • CATLINK Scooper Luxury Pro-X

    "Operating at 40dB", CATLINK's mid globe.

    See it at Amazon
  • CATLINK Scooper Pro Ultra

    The same 40dB claim on the larger Pro Ultra.

    See it at Amazon
  • CATLINK Scooper SE

    "Whisper-Quiet 40dB Operation" at $259.

    See it at Amazon
  • Meowant MW-SC01

    "noise as low as 40dB", Meowant's budget model, phrased as a best case rather than the SC10's ceiling.

    See it at Amazon
  • Meowant MW-SC09

    "operates at only 36dB" on the premium SC09 at $649.99.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for all 16 products

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Connect with us

Get the week's real price drops

One email a week. Only deals we'd take ourselves. Unsubscribe in one click.

Related Guides

The quietest aquarium air pumps and filters

The gear that hums beside a fish tank all night. Amazon-native brands print decibel figures freely while Tetra, Eheim and Fluval publish none, and the genuinely quiet technology has no motor at all.

September 26, 2026 · 3 min read · top pick $28.99

Read guide