QuietSpecs

The quietest mini fridge for a dorm room

The quietest mini fridge for a dorm room

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For most dorm rooms, the Summit CP34W: "Sound Level 33.2 dB", 3.2 cu ft with a real freezer, UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified and rated at 1.1 amps, inside every college limit we checked.
  • For the smallest room or a fridge you want to lock, the 1.6 cu ft Summit MB41B lists 32.9 dB and defrosts itself.
  • For a roommate who needs the room dark, the Danby DAG033A5BDH lists 37 dB and dims its own display.
  • On a budget, the Danby DAR022A1BDB lists 40 dB and was in stock at $249.99.

Best for most dorm rooms

Summit CP34W Two-Door Compact Refrigerator-Freezer, 3.2 cu ft

Noise 33.2 dB (Summit)

Price not verified yet

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    33.2 dB (Summit)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  2. 2

    Quietest for a small shared room

    Summit MB41B Compact Refrigerator, 1.6 cu ft

    32.9 dB (Summit)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  3. 3

    Best for a room that has to stay dark

    Danby 3.2 cu ft Glass Door Mini Refrigerator

    37 dB (Danby)

  4. 4

    32.3 dB (Summit)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  5. 5

    40 dB (Danby)

  6. 6

    42 dBA (Midea)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →

Our Picks

Summit CP34W Two-Door Compact Refrigerator-Freezer, 3.2 cu ft

#1 · Best for most dorm rooms

Summit CP34W Two-Door Compact Refrigerator-Freezer, 3.2 cu ft

Summit

Noise33.2 dB (Summit)

Summit lists "Sound Level 33.2 dB" for this two-door fridge, within a decibel of its quietest compact models, and it is the one that clears every housing rule we read. It holds 3.2 cu ft, the most Arkansas allows, and because it is ENERGY STAR certified it fits under the 4.0 cu ft limit Illinois Tech allows for ENERGY STAR fridges. Summit lists it as UL listed, rated at 1.1 amps. The freezer has its own door, so ice cream and frozen meals stay frozen.

Buy it ifA dorm room where the fridge has to pass inspection and hold a week of food

Skip it ifYour college caps fridges at 3.0 cu ft whatever their energy rating

What we like

  • 33.2 dB on Summit's spec table
  • UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified, 1.1 amps
  • A separate freezer door, and a refrigerator that defrosts itself

What to know

  • The freezer needs manual defrosting, which Summit says may take a few hours
  • 322 kWh a year, the most of our picks
  • Summit shows no price; you buy it through dealers
Capacity
3.2 cu ft
Freezer
Separate door, manual defrost
Rated current
1.1 A
Listing and energy
UL; ENERGY STAR

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 19

Check price on Amazon
Summit MB41B Compact Refrigerator, 1.6 cu ft

#2 · Quietest for a small shared room

Summit MB41B Compact Refrigerator, 1.6 cu ft

Summit

Noise32.9 dB (Summit)

A 1.6 cu ft minibar Summit sells to hotels, with "Sound Level 32.9 dB" on its spec table and a page that says it runs at just 32.9 dB. It is small enough for every size cap we found, it draws 0.7 amps, and it defrosts itself, so there is no meltwater to deal with. It also has a factory-installed lock with two keys, which matters in a room you share.

Buy it ifA double room where the fridge sits near a bed and only holds drinks and snacks

Skip it ifYou need to freeze anything, or your college accepts only UL listed appliances

What we like

  • 32.9 dB, the lowest Summit figure among our all-refrigerator picks
  • Factory-installed lock with two keys
  • Automatic defrost, 0.7 amps, two levelling legs

What to know

  • Listed by ETL, not UL; ask your housing office if ETL is accepted
  • No freezer, and Summit does not state ENERGY STAR
  • Summit shows no price on its own site
Capacity
1.6 cu ft
Freezer
None; automatic defrost
Rated current
0.7 A
Listing and energy
ETL; ENERGY STAR not stated

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 19

Check price on Amazon
Danby 3.2 cu ft Glass Door Mini Refrigerator

#3 · Best for a room that has to stay dark

Danby 3.2 cu ft Glass Door Mini Refrigerator

Danby

Noise37 dB (Danby)

Danby says its inverter compressor "delivers ultra-quiet operation at just 37 dB". For a shared room the useful part is in the manual: the display panel dims off 2 minutes after you last touch it, and the interior light turns itself off after 5 minutes. It is ENERGY STAR Certified Most Efficient, at 200 kWh a year on its EnergyGuide label, and it stands on four levelling legs.

Buy it ifA light sleeper whose roommate wants cold drinks and a dark room

Skip it ifYou need a freezer or a solid door

What we like

  • Display and interior light switch themselves off
  • 200 kWh a year, the lowest of our picks
  • Four levelling legs, automatic defrost and 24 months of parts cover

What to know

  • Out of stock on danby.com when we checked, at $379.99
  • A glass door shows everything inside, and there is no freezer
  • Danby puts the amps only on the rating plate, not the page
Capacity
3.2 cu ft
Freezer
None; automatic defrost
Rated current
On the rating plate only
Listing and energy
Listing not stated; ENERGY STAR Most Efficient

$379.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 4

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on danby.com

Summit CM42PL Compact Refrigerator, 3.1 cu ft

#4 · Lowest published figure

Summit CM42PL Compact Refrigerator, 3.1 cu ft

Summit

Noise32.3 dB (Summit)

At "Sound Level 32.3 dB" this is the lowest figure on any compact fridge we found, and Summit says it is ideal for use in hotels, student housing and offices. It is UL listed and rated at 1.06 amps. The catch for a dorm is size: at 3.1 cu ft, with no ENERGY STAR claim from Summit, it is over the 3.0 cu ft limit Illinois Tech sets for fridges that are not ENERGY STAR rated.

Buy it ifA college with a 4.0 cu ft or larger limit and no ENERGY STAR rule

Skip it ifYour college caps fridges at 3.0 cu ft or asks for ENERGY STAR

What we like

  • 32.3 dB, the lowest maker figure we found on a compact fridge
  • UL listed, 1.06 amps
  • Summit names student housing as a use

What to know

  • Manual defrost, and the manual says the ice compartment is not for storing frozen food
  • Its SuperFreeze setting keeps the compressor running continuously
  • No ENERGY STAR claim and no verified price
Capacity
3.1 cu ft
Freezer
Ice compartment, manual defrost
Rated current
1.06 A
Listing and energy
UL; ENERGY STAR not stated

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 19

Check price on Amazon
Danby 2.2 cu ft Compact All-Refrigerator

#5 · Best value

Danby 2.2 cu ft Compact All-Refrigerator

Danby

Noise40 dB (Danby)

Danby lists a "40 dB sound rating" for this 2.2 cu ft all-refrigerator, 3 dB above its own glass door model. It was in stock on danby.com at $249.99, it is ENERGY STAR certified, and Danby's page calls it the perfect fridge for spaces such as dorm rooms. At 2.2 cu ft it fits under every size limit we read.

Buy it ifA first dorm fridge on a student budget

Skip it ifThe fridge has to sit by the head of a bed

What we like

  • In stock at $249.99 on danby.com
  • ENERGY STAR certified, 208 kWh a year
  • Automatic defrost and adjustable levelling legs

What to know

  • 40 dB is Danby's higher figure of the two we found
  • No freezer
  • Amps only on the rating plate, and a 12 month warranty
Capacity
2.2 cu ft
Freezer
None; automatic defrost
Rated current
On the rating plate only
Listing and energy
Listing not stated; ENERGY STAR

$249.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Midea 3.1 cu ft Double-Door Compact Refrigerator

#6 · Cheapest with a real freezer

Midea 3.1 cu ft Double-Door Compact Refrigerator

Midea

Noise42 dBA (Midea)

Midea is one of the few mainstream brands with a noise row in its spec table, and it reads "Noise Level(dB) 42 dBA". That is a different unit from the Summit and Danby figures, so it stands on its own. The same table says UL Listed and ENERGY STAR, and Midea's page names dorms first. Its 0.9 cu ft freezer has its own door. Midea listed it at $219.99 but out of stock.

Buy it ifA shared room where frozen food matters more than the last few decibels

Skip it ifThe fridge will be within a few feet of a light sleeper

What we like

  • UL Listed and ENERGY STAR on Midea's own table
  • A 0.9 cu ft freezer behind its own door
  • $219.99 on midea.com, the lowest list price here

What to know

  • Out of stock on midea.com when we checked
  • Manual defrost, and Midea publishes no amps on the page
  • 42 dBA is a figure in a different unit, with no condition stated
Capacity
3.1 cu ft
Freezer
0.9 cu ft, separate door, manual defrost
Rated current
Not stated
Listing and energy
UL Listed; ENERGY STAR

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 19

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseCapacityFreezerRated currentListing and energyPrice
1.Summit CP34W33.2 dB (Summit)3.2 cu ftSeparate door, manual defrost1.1 AUL; ENERGY STARNot verified yet
2.Summit MB41B32.9 dB (Summit)1.6 cu ftNone; automatic defrost0.7 AETL; ENERGY STAR not statedNot verified yet
3.Danby DAG033A5BDH37 dB (Danby)3.2 cu ftNone; automatic defrostOn the rating plate onlyListing not stated; ENERGY STAR Most Efficient$379.99 maker's list price
4.Summit CM42PL32.3 dB (Summit)3.1 cu ftIce compartment, manual defrost1.06 AUL; ENERGY STAR not statedNot verified yet
5.Danby DAR022A1BDB40 dB (Danby)2.2 cu ftNone; automatic defrostOn the rating plate onlyListing not stated; ENERGY STAR$249.99 maker's list price
6.Midea WHD-113FSS142 dBA (Midea)3.1 cu ft0.9 cu ft, separate door, manual defrostNot statedUL Listed; ENERGY STARNot verified yet

Buying Guide

A dorm room puts a mini fridge in the hardest spot in any home. It runs all night, a few feet from someone who is asleep, in a room that may hold two beds, two desks and nothing else that makes a sound. And before it gets that far, it has to pass the housing office, which sets limits on its size, the current it draws and the listing on its label.

Our guide to the quietest mini fridges ranks the compact fridges whose makers publish a noise figure and explains the three ways a small fridge can cool. This guide starts from the dorm room instead. We re-read each maker's page and manual, checked them against four real college policies, and looked for the things that bother a roommate at night: the compressor starting, the display light, a door left ajar and a fridge that rocks on the floor.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The figures, grouped so they can be compared

Three makers in this guide publish a number, and they do not publish the same kind of number. So we only rank a figure against another from the same maker, in the same unit.

Summit prints a "Sound Level" in dB on its spec tables: 32.3 dB for the CM42PL, 32.9 for the MB41B, 33.2 for the CP34W and 33.4 for the FF29K. Within that group, the spread is about one decibel. That is too small a gap to hear as a difference, so pick a Summit by the other things in this guide, not by its last decimal.

Danby gives 37 dB for its inverter glass door fridges and a "40 dB sound rating" for the DAR022A1BDB, and says that its refrigerators and freezers in general operate between 35 and 46 decibels. Within Danby, the glass door model is 3 dB lower.

Midea prints "Noise Level(dB) 42 dBA" for the WHD-113FSS1. That is A-weighted, and the others do not say whether theirs are, so it stands on its own.

None of the three states a distance or a test method. That is why we do not say a 33 from Summit is quieter than a 37 from Danby, even though the gap looks large. Our explainer on why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands shows what a missing distance does to small gaps, and dBA explained covers the units.

For the room itself, our page on setting up a quiet bedroom explains the night-time reference: the World Health Organization recommends less than 30 dB(A) in bedrooms at night, for the whole room. No fridge figure here is below that, and a maker's figure cannot predict what your room will read. What the figures do tell you is which fridges a maker believes are its quietest.

What the housing office allows

Most colleges publish a list of what you can bring, and fridges are on it. The four we read show how much they vary:

  • Illinois Tech: "Approved refrigerators should not exceed 3.0 cubic feet (or 4.0 cubic feet if Energy Star rated) and should not draw more than 2.0 amps. All wiring should be UL-approved and properly grounded." One fridge per room.
  • University of Arkansas: "One refrigerator per bedroom not to exceed 3.2 cubic feet."
  • Xavier University: refrigerators "that do not exceed 4.3 cubic feet and use less than four amps of power", plugged directly into the wall or the only appliance on a power strip.
  • Kalamazoo College: refrigerators with a "maximum of 4.5 cubic feet in capacity" that pull "no more than 1.5 amps".

So the safe size for a dorm is the smallest cap you might meet. A fridge of 3.2 cu ft or less passes Arkansas, and passes Illinois Tech only if it is ENERGY STAR rated. That is why the CM42PL, the lowest figure we found, is not our first pick: at 3.1 cu ft, with no ENERGY STAR claim on Summit's page, it is over Illinois Tech's 3.0 limit for fridges that are not ENERGY STAR rated.

Amps are easier. Summit prints them for every model here, from 0.6 for the FF29K to 1.1 for the CP34W, all under the strictest limit we found, Kalamazoo's 1.5. Danby says the figure is on the rating plate on the unit, and Midea's page gives no figure, so check the label in the store or ask the seller before move-in day.

Then the listing. Summit lists the CP34W and CM42PL as UL, and the MB41B and FF29K as ETL. Midea's table says UL Listed. Danby's pages do not say. If your college names UL, as Illinois Tech does for wiring, ask whether an ETL mark is accepted before you buy.

Compressor or thermoelectric in a shared room

Every pick in this guide uses a compressor, because that is what keeps food properly cold. The compressor is also what your roommate hears. Summit's CM42PL manual lists a short cracking noise when the thermostat switches the compressor on or off, and says the compressor may cause more noise for a short time when it is first activated. The CP34W manual adds that the thermostat control will click when it cycles on and off. Those changes are what a light sleeper notices, more than a steady hum.

Thermoelectric coolers, the small cube fridges from brands like Cooluli and AstroAI, have no compressor, so there is no start-up click. But they are not silent and they are not really fridges. Cooluli says its Infinity 10 liter cools 35 to 40°F below the room and that its fan makes a slight whirring sound. AstroAI's 25 DB Sleep Mode appears only as an answer in a question and answer section, not in a spec table. Neither maker says whether the fan stops between cycles, so assume it may run whenever the unit is cooling. In a warm dorm in September, a cooler that works relative to the room may not keep milk safe.

Absorption fridges, which our main guide covers, avoid both the compressor and the fan, but the one we found holds only 36 liters and uses more electricity than the larger Danby here.

Freezer compartments and defrost

A dorm fridge with a freezer is the only freezer most students have, and it changes the upkeep.

The all-refrigerators here, the Summit MB41B and FF29K and both Danby models, defrost themselves. The two-door Summit CP34W uses what Summit calls cycle defrost: the refrigerator defrosts itself and the freezer does not. Summit's manual says freezer defrosting may take a few hours, and suggests leaving the door open with a bowl of warm water inside. Midea lists manual defrost for the WHD-113FSS1.

The CM42PL is different again. Its small compartment is for ice, and Summit's manual says the ice-making compartment is not suitable for storing frozen food. It asks you to defrost when the frost exceeds 0.2 inches. The same fridge has a SuperFreeze setting that, in Summit's words, ensures the compressor operates continuously, so do not leave that on overnight in a shared room.

Arkansas tells residents leaving for winter break that they do not need to defrost and unplug their refrigerators. Other colleges may ask, so check yours.

If you need more frozen space than a dorm allows, our guide to the quietest chest freezers is for a later apartment, not a residence hall.

Lights, displays and door alarms

In a dark shared room, a lit display can bother someone as much as a sound. Every pick except the Danby glass door model uses a dial or mechanical thermostat with no display at all, which is the simplest answer. The Danby glass door models are the exception, and Danby has thought about it: the manual says the display panel dims off 2 minutes after you last use the controls, and the interior light turns off after 5 minutes unless you hold the button to keep it on.

The interior lights in the Summit CP34W and CM42PL come on only when the door opens. Midea lists LED lighting.

We found no door-open alarm on any pick's page or in any manual we read. That means nothing beeps at night, but it also means nothing warns you when a roommate leaves the door ajar. Danby's glass door model has a self-closing hinge, and its manual warns that a door left open can lead to condensation and water on the floor. Summit's MB41B has a lock with two keys, useful when a room is shared.

Levelling on a dorm floor

A quiet fridge that rocks is a noisy fridge. Every maker here says the same thing about levelling:

  • Danby's DAG033A5BDH manual: "It is important that the appliance is level to minimize noise and vibration." It has four adjustable legs.
  • Summit's MB41B manual answers "Vibrations" with "Check to be sure the appliance is level", and lists a unit that is not level as a cause when it seems to make too much noise. The MB41B and CP34W have two levelling legs each.
  • Summit's CM42PL manual says to use the adjustable front legs to make sure the appliance is level and stable before you load it.

None of the manuals we read mentions rubber pads or feet; they rely on the levelling legs. Set the fridge where it will stay, turn the legs until it no longer rocks, and keep it on the floor rather than on a hollow desk or shelf.

Give it room to breathe, too. The Danby glass door model asks for 2 inches at the back, sides and top. The CP34W asks for 3/4 inch at the sides and 2 inches at the top and back. The CM42PL wants at least 6 inches at the top, with nothing placed on it. That last rule matters in a dorm, where the top of the fridge often becomes a microwave stand.

Plug it straight into the wall. Summit's MB41B manual says do not use an extension cord, Danby's says an extension cord may not be used, and Xavier's handbook asks for the same thing.

Where to put it in the room

Distance is the one thing that works for any fridge. The far corner of the room, away from both beds, beats the gap between them. If the room is a double, the person who sleeps more lightly should get the bed farther from it. If you are tempted by a built-in look for a later apartment, our guide to the quietest undercounter refrigerators covers those; in a dorm, stick to a freestanding fridge, which is what every manual here describes.

The trade-offs

Quieter figures cost storage or money. The MB41B's 32.9 dB comes with 1.6 cu ft and no freezer. Within Danby, the 37 dB glass door model lists at $379.99, against $249.99 for the 40 dB DAR022A1BDB.

A freezer costs upkeep. The two-door models defrost the freezer by hand.

Energy varies more than size suggests. Our picks range from 200 kWh a year for the Danby glass door model to 322 for the Summit CP34W, and ENERGY STAR status is not stated on two of the Summit pages.

Some are hard to buy. Summit shows no prices and sells through dealers, and the Danby glass door model and the Midea were out of stock on the makers' sites when we checked.

How we chose

We started from the mini fridges in our catalog and the parent guide, re-opened every maker page and manual we relied on, and added Summit's FF29K and Danby's two glass door models, whose pages print a figure. We looked for figures from Galanz, Frigidaire, Insignia, BLACK+DECKER, Igloo, Magic Chef and Commercial Cool, and found them only on retailer and review pages, never on a maker page we could open, so they are not here. We then read four college housing policies and ranked the fridges for a dorm: the maker figure within its own group, whether the fridge fits the size, amp and listing rules, the freezer and defrost, the lights, and levelling.

We did not measure any of these fridges, and we did not run them in a dorm room. Every noise figure here is the maker's own, quoted as the maker prints it, and every feature comes from the maker's page or manual. Housing rules change, so read your own college's list before you buy.

Common questions

What is the quietest mini fridge for a dorm room?

Among compact fridges with a maker figure, Summit's are the lowest we found: the CM42PL at 32.3 dB, the MB41B at 32.9 dB and the CP34W at 33.2 dB. For a dorm we rank the CP34W first, because it is also UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified and rated at 1.1 amps, which fits every college policy we read.

What size mini fridge is allowed in a dorm?

It depends on the college, so read your own housing rules. Illinois Tech allows 3.0 cubic feet, or 4.0 if the fridge is ENERGY STAR rated. Arkansas allows one fridge per bedroom not to exceed 3.2 cubic feet. Xavier allows up to 4.3, and Kalamazoo up to 4.5.

How many amps can a dorm fridge draw?

The policies we read set limits of 1.5 amps at Kalamazoo, 2.0 at Illinois Tech, and less than four amps at Xavier. Summit prints amps on its spec tables: 0.7 for the MB41B, 1.06 for the CM42PL and 1.1 for the CP34W. Danby says its figure is on the rating plate on the unit, and Midea's page gives none.

Does a dorm fridge have to be UL listed?

Many colleges ask for it. Illinois Tech says all wiring should be UL-approved, and Arkansas requires UL approval for several appliances. Summit lists the CP34W and CM42PL as UL and the MB41B as ETL, which is a different testing lab. If your college names UL, ask the housing office whether an ETL listing is accepted before you buy.

Are thermoelectric mini fridges quieter for a dorm?

Not in any way their makers can show. They have no compressor, but a fan has to carry heat away from the plate. Cooluli says its fan makes a slight whirring sound and publishes no figure. AstroAI's 25 DB Sleep Mode appears only in a question and answer section. Neither maker says whether the fan stops between cycles, and both say the cooling depends on the room temperature.

Do I need to defrost a dorm fridge?

Only if it has manual defrost. The all-refrigerators here, the Summit MB41B and the Danby models, defrost themselves. The Summit CP34W defrosts its fridge section but not its freezer, and Summit's CM42PL manual says to defrost when frost exceeds 0.2 inches. Plan it for a weekend, with towels.

Will a mini fridge keep my roommate awake?

The hum is rarely the problem; the changes are. Summit's CM42PL manual lists a short cracking noise when the thermostat switches the compressor on or off, and says the compressor may be louder for a short time when it starts. A level fridge on a solid floor, as far from the beds as the room allows, is the best fix the makers describe.

Can I plug a dorm fridge into an extension cord or power strip?

The makers say no. Summit's MB41B manual says do not use an extension cord, and Danby's manual says an extension cord may not be used. Xavier's handbook says refrigerators must be plugged directly into the wall or be the only appliance on a power strip.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Summit FF29K Compact All-Refrigerator, 2.4 cu ft

    A 2.4 cu ft all-refrigerator at "Sound Level 33.4 dB", with automatic defrost and the lowest current here, 0.6 amps. It is listed by ETL rather than UL, Summit does not state ENERGY STAR, and we could not verify a price, so the MB41B is the easier Summit to recommend.

    See it at Amazon
  • Danby 1.5 cu ft Glass Door Mini Refrigerator

    The 1.5 cu ft version of Danby's glass door fridge, with the same 37 dB claim and the same self-timing lights. Danby showed no price for it when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • Cooluli Infinity 10-Liter Thermoelectric Mini Fridge

    A 10 liter thermoelectric cooler for a desk, not a dorm fridge. Cooluli says it cools 35 to 40°F below the room, publishes no figure, and says its fan makes a slight whirring sound.

    See it at Amazon
  • Smad Absorption Mini Fridge, 36 L

    An absorption fridge with no compressor to click on at night. Smad labels it 0 dB but its FAQ says almost silent. At 36 liters it is small, it is not ENERGY STAR certified, and our main mini fridge guide covers it in full.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides