QuietSpecs

The quietest mini PCs

September 26, 2026 · 7 picks · 4 min read

Apple Mac mini (M6)

The quietest mini PCs

By Stanley Alu · showing #1 Best documented machine on this site

The short answer

  • Apple and the business PC makers declare noise under real standards, the consumer brands measure at 50 cm in their own labs, and one brand prints 32 dB on everything.
  • See the quietest mini PCs and how to read each kind of figure.

Best documented machine on this site

Apple Mac mini (M6)

Price

$899.00 · maker's list price · checked Sep 26
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Why QuietSpecs

QuietSpecs ranks home appliances by how loud they really are, using figures from manufacturers and certification bodies.

Ranked on noise

Every guide is ordered by the noise figure that matters in use, not the one on the box.

Maker-verified specs

Each figure comes from the manufacturer or a certification body, and we say which.

Downsides included

Every pick lists what is wrong with it, and who should skip it.

Commissions don't rank

We may earn when you buy through our links. It never changes the order.

Our Picks

Apple Mac mini (M6)

#1 · Best documented machine on this site

Apple Mac mini (M6)

Apple

Apple declares the Mac mini at 1.3 bels of sound power and 4 dB at the operator position, at idle and under a wireless web load, in accordance with ECMA-109, with the statistical adder printed beside it. No other product in any of our guides is documented this well. The spec page separately says "5 dBA at idle", one decibel adrift of the declaration.

What we like

  • A declared figure under a named standard, at two load states
  • 4 dB at the operator position is the lowest figure on this site
  • $899 with an M6, sold everywhere including Amazon

What to know

  • Apple's spec page and support page differ by 1 dB
  • No warranty term on the spec pages
  • macOS only, which decides this for many buyers

$899.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
1.3 B power, 4 dB operator, idle and load (maker)
Standard
ECMA-109
CPU
Apple M6, 12 cores
Cooling
Fan
Warranty
Not stated on the spec pages
Buy it if
The quietest documented computer you can put on a desk
Skip it if
You need Windows
Dell OptiPlex Micro 7020

#2 · Lowest Windows figure

Dell OptiPlex Micro 7020

Dell

Dell's compliance datasheet declares the OptiPlex Micro 7020 at 2.7 bels and 15.4 dB at the operator position at idle, under ISO 9296 with ISO 7779 testing and ECMA-74 operating modes, and keeps going: 23.4 dB with the disk working, 31.5 under CPU stress, bystander figures included. The catch is that Dell has discontinued the line, so what remains on Amazon is third party stock.

What we like

  • The lowest declared Windows operator figure we found, 15.4 dB idle
  • Idle, disk and CPU stress rows all published, with the test config named
  • Three standards cited, the fullest citation in this guide

What to know

  • Dell.com marks the OptiPlex Micro line discontinued
  • Amazon stock is third party, so configurations vary
  • The figure describes an i7-14700T build, not every listing

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
2.7 B, 15.4 dB operator idle; 31.5 dB CPU stressed (maker)
Standard
ISO 9296, ISO 7779, ECMA-74
CPU
Intel Core i7-14700T as tested
Cooling
Fan
Warranty
Not stated in the datasheet
Buy it if
The best Windows disclosure, while stock lasts
Skip it if
You want a machine its maker still sells
HP Elite Mini 800 G9 Desktop PC

#3 · Best current business disclosure

HP Elite Mini 800 G9 Desktop PC

HP

HP's QuickSpecs declare the Elite Mini 800 G9 at 2.7 bels and 17 decibels, at idle and during fixed disk random writes, in accordance with ISO 7779 and ISO 9296. Unusually, the idle and working figures are identical, which tells you the fan barely reacts to disk load. HP's MSRPs run far above street prices, so ignore the sticker.

What we like

  • Declared under both ISO standards, idle and disk load
  • The same 2.7 bels working as idle
  • Plentiful on Amazon, unlike most business minis

What to know

  • No CPU stress row, unlike Dell's sheet
  • MSRP $2,740 bears no relation to street price
  • One year limited warranty on the base

$2,740.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
2.7 B, 17 dB, idle and disk load (maker)
Standard
ISO 7779 and ISO 9296
CPU
Intel Core i7-14700T as configured
Cooling
Fan
Warranty
1 year limited
Buy it if
A quiet Windows box you can actually buy new
Skip it if
You take list prices literally
Minisforum Elite Mini M2 Air-304

#4 · Best consumer disclosure

Minisforum Elite Mini M2 Air-304

Minisforum

Minisforum publishes four numbers for the M2 Air where most consumer brands publish one: idle and 100 percent load, in each of two fan modes, at a stated 50 cm. Silent Mode runs 27 dB idle and 28.1 dB at full load, a machine that barely changes voice under work. No standard, but the shape of the disclosure is right.

What we like

  • Idle and full load figures for both fan modes, at a stated distance
  • 1.1 dB between idle and full load in Silent Mode
  • 0.47 litres, with a 2 year seller warranty

What to know

  • No standard named, and the lab is Minisforum's own
  • Silent Mode caps the chip at 15 W
  • A 5 core Core 3 is a modest machine

$559.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
27 dB idle, 28.1 dB full load, Silent Mode at 50 cm (maker)
Standard
None named
CPU
Intel Core 3 processor 304
Cooling
Blower fan, two modes
Warranty
2 year seller warranty
Buy it if
A quiet consumer mini with honest numbers
Skip it if
You need sustained performance beyond 15 to 28 W
GEEKOM A5 Mini PC

#5 · Best budget with both states

GEEKOM A5 Mini PC

GEEKOM

GEEKOM publishes "as low as 28dB at idle and around 32dB under load" for the A5, with a footnote admitting the figures come from its own acoustic lab and results vary. An 8 core Ryzen 7 with a 3 year warranty from $465, and the honest footnote is worth more than a rounder number would be.

What we like

  • Idle and load both published, with an honest footnote
  • Ryzen 7 7730U and room for three drives
  • 3 year warranty, long for this class

What to know

  • No distance and no standard
  • "As low as" is a best case, not a typical
  • The A5 Pro 2026 sibling publishes only a load ceiling

$465.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
28 dB idle, about 32 dB load (maker)
Standard
None named
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 7730U
Cooling
Fan
Warranty
3 years
Buy it if
A cheap Windows box with a usable disclosure
Skip it if
You want a declared figure rather than a lab claim
Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 4 Tiny

#6 · The last Lenovo with a number

Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 4 Tiny

Lenovo

Lenovo's eco declaration gives the ThinkCentre M90q Gen 4 as 3.3 bels idle and 3.6 operating, 21 and 26 dB at the operator position, under ISO 9296. It is here as much for what came next: the Gen 5 and Gen 6 sheets replace the numbers with an optional "TUV Rheinland Ultra Low Noise" certification name and publish no figure at all.

What we like

  • A full ISO declaration, idle and operating
  • ThinkCentre Tiny build quality and serviceability
  • The bystander figures are published too

What to know

  • Lenovo no longer sells Gen 4 new
  • Its successors publish a logo instead of a number
  • Amazon stock is third party and often refurbished

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
3.3 B idle, 3.6 operating; 21 and 26 dB operator (maker)
Standard
ISO 9296
CPU
Covers twelve 12E and 12F series models
Cooling
Fan
Warranty
Not stated in the declaration
Buy it if
A documented Tiny, bought knowingly on the used market
Skip it if
You want a current model with maker stock
ASUS ExpertCenter PN42

#7 · The fanless option

ASUS ExpertCenter PN42

ASUS

ASUS publishes no decibel figure for the ExpertCenter PN42, and unlike most of this category it does not need one to make its point: "Fanless design to reduce acoustic noise and dust", running "almost silently". A 6 W Intel N100 in a passive case, listed at $280. The honest caveat is ours: fanless removes the fan, not coil whine, and ASUS says nothing about the latter.

What we like

  • No fan at all, so no fan curve to argue about
  • "Almost silently" is more honest than a fake zero
  • Up to seven USB ports and three displays from 6 W

What to know

  • No figure, so it cannot be ranked, only described
  • An N100 handles browsing and media, not heavy work
  • Out of stock on ASUS's own store when we checked

$280.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Noise
No figure; fanless, "almost silently" (maker)
Standard
None
CPU
Intel N100, 6 W
Cooling
Fanless
Warranty
Not stated on the spec page
Buy it if
A silent shelf machine for browsing, media or a home server
Skip it if
You need performance or a number

Full Specifications

Noise

Apple Mac mini (M6 or M5 Pro), 2026
1.3 B power, 4 dB operator, idle and load (maker)
Dell OptiPlex Micro 7020 (regulatory model D15U, type D15U005)
2.7 B, 15.4 dB operator idle; 31.5 dB CPU stressed (maker)
HP Elite Mini 800 G9
2.7 B, 17 dB, idle and disk load (maker)
Minisforum Elite Mini M2 Air-304
27 dB idle, 28.1 dB full load, Silent Mode at 50 cm (maker)
GEEKOM A5 (Ryzen 7 7730U or Ryzen 5 7430U)
28 dB idle, about 32 dB load (maker)
ASUS ExpertCenter PN42
No figure; fanless, "almost silently" (maker)

Standard

HP Elite Mini 800 G9
ISO 7779 and ISO 9296

CPU

HP Elite Mini 800 G9
Intel Core i7-14700T as configured
Minisforum Elite Mini M2 Air-304
Intel Core 3 processor 304
ASUS ExpertCenter PN42
Intel N100, 6 W

Cooling

Warranty

Apple Mac mini (M6 or M5 Pro), 2026
Not stated on the spec pages
HP Elite Mini 800 G9
1 year limited
Minisforum Elite Mini M2 Air-304
2 year seller warranty
ASUS ExpertCenter PN42
Not stated on the spec page

Price

Apple Mac mini (M6 or M5 Pro), 2026
$899.00 (maker's list price)
HP Elite Mini 800 G9
$2,740.00 (maker's list price)
Minisforum Elite Mini M2 Air-304
$559.00 (maker's list price)
GEEKOM A5 (Ryzen 7 7730U or Ryzen 5 7430U)
$465.00 (maker's list price)
ASUS ExpertCenter PN42
$280.00 (maker's list price)

Buying Guide

A mini PC sits on the desk, at arm's length from your ears, running all day. This category also contains the single best documented product on this entire site, the most complete disclosure regression we have seen, and a number that one brand prints on every machine it sells regardless of what is inside.

We read spec pages, QuickSpecs, regulatory datasheets and eco declarations for twenty machines from nine makers. Nineteen carry a number or a declared value; one earns its place by having no fan at all.

Our 7 picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Two families of figures, and they do not mix

Declared figures. Apple, HP, Dell and Lenovo publish noise the way the standards intend: sound power in bels and sound pressure at the operator position in dB, under ECMA-109 or ISO 9296, with the test method (ISO 7779) and sometimes the operating modes (ECMA-74) named, and the tested configuration listed. These produce numbers like 4, 15.4, 17 and 21 dB.

Lab figures. Minisforum and GEEKOM measure in their own labs, at 50 cm where stated, with no standard. These produce numbers like 27, 28 and 32 dB.

The second family is not that much louder. It is measured closer, under conditions nobody outside the maker can reproduce. Rank machines within a family, never across the two. For the general problem, see why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands.

Apple wrote the best spec sheet on this site, and it still disagrees with itself

The Mac mini's acoustic declaration gives sound power of 1.3 bels with the statistical adder printed beside it, and 4 dB at the operator position, at idle and under a wireless web load, in accordance with ECMA-109. That is a named standard, both quantities, two load states, and the rounding rules stated. Nothing else we have covered, across every guide on this site, is documented this completely.

Apple's own tech specs page describes the same machine as "5 dBA at idle".

Four and five round differently out of the same measurement, and a decibel is within any honest margin. But it is worth pausing on: the best disclosed product we have ever covered still cannot show you the same number twice. Every figure in this guide deserves at least that much skepticism.

One number, every machine

Beelink publishes "32dB" for the EQ14, a 15 W Intel N150 machine. And for the EQ Mini. And for the SER9 Pro with a Ryzen AI 9. And for the GTi15 Ultra, a 140 W class machine with a vapor chamber.

No load state, no distance, no standard, and no acknowledgment that a 15 W chip and a 140 W chip cannot plausibly share a noise figure. Whatever 32dB is, it is a brand asset rather than a measurement, and all four machines sit in our also considered list saying so.

Lenovo's disclosure went backwards

The ThinkCentre M90q Gen 4 has a proper eco declaration: 3.3 bels idle, 3.6 operating, 21 and 26 dB at the operator position, ISO 9296. Its successors, Gen 5 and Gen 6, list an optional "TUV Rheinland Ultra Low Noise" certification in their spec documents and publish no number at all, and we found no eco declaration for either.

A certification name is not nothing, but you cannot compare it, check it, or hold it beside a competitor's 17 dB. When a maker replaces figures with a logo, the buyer knows less each generation, and it is worth saying so in public.

The silent option has no figure, honestly

The ASUS ExpertCenter PN42 is fanless: a 6 W Intel N100 cooled by its case. ASUS publishes no decibel figure and instead writes that it runs "almost silently". Zotac's fanless ZBOX line does the same with "FANLESS SILENT" and no number.

"Almost" is doing honest work there. A passive machine has no fan noise, and can still produce faint coil whine under load, about which both makers are silent. We list the PN42 as a described machine rather than a ranked one, the same way our CPU cooler guide handles the fanless Noctua: the quietest option is the one with nothing to measure, bought with its limits understood.

We did not measure any of these machines. Every figure here is the maker's own, quoted as published, with the quantity, condition and standard attached wherever the maker attached one.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Dell Pro Micro (QCM1250)

    The current Dell line, declared under the same three standards, but its idle sits above the discontinued 7020's 15.4 dB.

    See it at Amazon
  • HP Pro Mini 400 G9 Desktop PC

    HP's cheaper business mini with the same declaration format; one figure did not extract cleanly from the PDF, so we recorded it as not captured.

    See it at Amazon
  • HP EliteDesk 8 Mini G1i Desktop AI PC

    The 800 G9's successor at 2.7 bels and 16 dB idle, one decibel better on paper.

    See it at Amazon
  • Minisforum Elite Mini M2

    Publishes 42.52 dB at 50 cm in Balance Mode, honest and loud, for the desktop class chip inside.

    See it at Amazon
  • Minisforum M2 Pro

    29 dBA idle to 43.2 dBA at full performance, the full span of a fast chip in a small box.

    See it at Amazon
  • Minisforum MS-01 SE Workstation

    30 dB idle at 50 cm, front facing, with the lab named as Minisforum's own.

    See it at Amazon
  • Minisforum UM870 Slim

    Publishes a bare ceiling, under 35dB in Performance Mode, less disclosure than its siblings.

    See it at Amazon
  • GEEKOM A5 Pro 2026 Edition

    Only a load ceiling, below 30dB, with no idle figure.

    See it at Amazon
  • Beelink EQ14

    Beelink prints 32dB on this 15 W N150 machine.

    See it at Amazon
  • Beelink EQ mini

    The same 32dB again.

    See it at Amazon
  • Beelink SER9 Pro (Ryzen 7 H 255)

    The same 32dB on a Ryzen AI 9.

    See it at Amazon
  • Beelink GTi15 Ultra

    The same 32dB on a 140 W class machine with a vapor chamber, which settles what the number is worth.

    See it at Amazon
  • Zotac ZBOX CI671 nano

    Fanless and described as silent in Zotac's catalog, with no figure and no coil whine statement.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for all 20 products

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Connect with us

Get the week's real price drops

One email a week. Only deals we'd take ourselves. Unsubscribe in one click.

Related Guides

The quietest paper shredders

The shredder brand most associated with quiet operation publishes no decibel figure at all. See which makers do, what their numbers describe, and the quietest cross cut, micro cut and auto feed shredders on paper.

September 26, 2026 · 3 min read

Read guide

The quietest printers for a home office

Printer makers publish acoustic figures, but they measure different things: sound pressure at a listener, sound power of the machine, or a bare dB with no label. See the quietest lasers and inkjets, and how to read the sheet.

September 26, 2026 · 4 min read · top pick $169.99

Read guide

The quietest standing desks

Most electric desk makers publish a motor noise ceiling, almost none say how it was measured, and one figure sits 15 dB below the rest. See the quietest frames and full desks, and what the numbers are worth.

September 26, 2026 · 3 min read · top pick $469.00

Read guide