QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

Quietest water flosser: Panasonic's EW-DJ66-W declares 60 dB(A) of sound power

Written by
· 6 min read

Flat illustration of a white cordless water flosser with a thin jet of water rising from its nozzle

Among water flossers with a maker figure, Panasonic's EW-DJ66-W is the quietest Panasonic declares: "Airborne Acoustical Noise 60 (dB (A) re 1 pW)" per the European edition of its manual, 11 dB below the EW1511W at 71 and 12 below the EW-DJ11-A at 72, all three stated as sound power.

It costs $84.99 on Panasonic's US store. Oral-B's Water Flosser Advanced prints "Noise level: 68 dB (A)" with no basis, so it stands apart rather than between them. No countertop flosser we checked, Waterpik's or Philips', carries a number.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line
  7. Review history

A quick look at the quietest water flossers

A water flosser is a small pump, a tank and a nozzle, pushing pulses of water between teeth for a minute or so at the bathroom sink. The pump is what makes the noise, and the quietest water flosser, on paper, is the model whose pump carries the lowest figure its maker has declared.

Few makers declare anything. Panasonic prints sound power for three US models, and Oral-B prints one level for its single US flosser on a basis it does not explain. Waterpik, Philips and the smaller cordless brands we checked print no value.

The Panasonic figures rank against each other; the Oral-B figure is shown beside them, not between them.

How did we pick these water flossers?

Each pick carries a noise value printed by its own maker, in a manual naming the same model number Panasonic or Oral-B sells in America. Values rank only against values of the same kind.

We read Panasonic's US store and support site, which list the EW-DJ66-W, EW1511W, EW-DJ11-A, EW1213A and EW-DJ10-W. The EW-DJ66 figure came from Panasonic UK's support page; the EW1511 and EW-DJ11 figures from manuals Panasonic North America posts. The EW-DJ10 and EW1213 US manuals print none.

For Oral-B we used its US service site, which lists six manual editions for handle type 3720. We also read Waterpik's WP-660 page and manual, Philips's US Power Flosser 3000 page and the US stores of Oclean, h2ofloss, COSLUS, Mornwell and Aquasonic; Bitvae's US store listed no flosser.

Every price is the maker's, as shown on its US store on November 4, 2026. Panasonic showed the EW1511W sold out and Oral-B showed the Water Flosser Advanced out of stock; neither marks the model discontinued. Philips showed no price for the HX3711/20.

We did not measure any flosser; the 60, 68, 71 and 72 are copied from Panasonic and Oral-B manuals.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest water flossers

Lowest Panasonic figure, 60 dB(A) sound power

Panasonic Cordless Water Flosser with Ultrasonic Cleaning, Dishwasher Safe Tank (EW-DJ66-W)

  • Noise: "60 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", sound power (Panasonic European manual, EW-DJ66)
  • Price: $84.99 maker's list price, checked Nov 4
  • Best for: A shared bathroom where the lowest declared figure decides it
  • Skip it if: You need a flosser that runs on AA batteries away from an outlet

Panasonic's European manual for the EW-DJ67 and EW-DJ66 lists "Airborne Acoustical Noise 60 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", the lowest declaration for any water flosser sold in the US that we could trace.

The US manual for the EW-DJ66 drops that row but matches every other line, from the 200 mL tank to the 275 g weight.

It is a rechargeable ultrasonic flosser with five pressure levels, an IPX7 body and a tank that goes in the dishwasher, at $84.99.

Ultrasonic model rated 71 dB(A), sold out

Panasonic Cordless Water Flosser with Ultrasonic Cleaning (EW1511W)

  • Noise: "71 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", sound power (Panasonic US manual, EW1511)
  • Price: $109.99 maker's list price, checked Nov 4
  • Best for: Buyers who want a US manual figure and a short charge
  • Skip it if: You want the lowest Panasonic declaration, which is the EW-DJ66-W

The US manual for the EW1511 lists "Airborne Acoustical Noise 71 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", on the same sound power basis as the EW-DJ66, so the two rank directly: 11 dB apart in the EW-DJ66's favor.

Like the EW-DJ11, its figure is printed in a manual Panasonic North America posts for US buyers. It pumps up to 1600 pulses a minute, charges in about an hour and holds 200 ml.

Panasonic lists it at $109.99, though its US store had it marked sold out when we looked on November 4, 2026.

Travel flosser, 72 dB(A) sound power

Panasonic Portable Cordless Water Flosser (EW-DJ11-A)

  • Noise: "72 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", sound power (Panasonic North American manual, EW-DJ11)
  • Price: $49.99 maker's list price, checked Nov 4
  • Best for: Travel and small bathrooms without a spare outlet
  • Skip it if: Quiet matters more than size, where the EW-DJ66-W rates 12 dB lower

Panasonic's North American manual for the EW-DJ11 lists "Airborne Acoustical Noise 72 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", 12 dB above the EW-DJ66 and one above the EW1511 on the same basis.

This is a compact portable model with two pressure levels, a 150 mL tank good for about 35 seconds and two AA batteries that Panasonic sells separately. At $49.99 it is the cheapest flosser here with a maker figure.

Oral-B's 68 dB (A), on a basis of its own

Oral-B Water Flosser Advanced, Portable Oral Irrigator Handle

  • Noise: "Noise level: 68 dB (A)", basis not stated (Oral-B Aquacare manuals, handle type 3720)
  • Price: $89.99 maker's list price, checked Nov 4
  • Best for: Oral-B households who want a cordless flosser with a stated level
  • Skip it if: You want to compare noise across brands, which the 68 cannot do

Oral-B's international Aquacare manuals for handle type 3720 print "Noise level: 68 dB (A)", and Oral-B's US service site files the US Water Flosser Advanced manual under that same type. The North American edition prints no noise level.

None of them says whether 68 is sound power or a reading at some distance, so it is not ranked against Panasonic. It has Oxyjet microbubbles, three intensities and three stream types, at $89.99, shown out of stock on oralb.com.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

Which water flosser is the quietest?

Panasonic's EW-DJ66-W has the lowest figure we found for a US water flosser, "Airborne Acoustical Noise 60 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", printed in the European manual that covers the EW-DJ66.

The three Panasonic declarations share one wording and one unit, so they rank:

  • EW-DJ66-W: 60 dB(A) re 1 pW
  • EW1511W: 71 dB(A) re 1 pW
  • EW-DJ11-A: 72 dB(A) re 1 pW

An 11 dB step is large for flossers from one maker. On a sound power scale, 10 dB means ten times the acoustic output, so the EW-DJ66 declares about a tenth of what the EW1511 does. The EW1511 and EW-DJ11 sit a single decibel apart, which is close to a tie.

None of the three manuals names the pressure level used, so each figure is Panasonic's single declared value for the model rather than a reading at its gentlest setting.

How should you read "dB (A) re 1 pW" on a Panasonic flosser?

On a Panasonic water flosser, "dB (A) re 1 pW" means sound power, A-weighted: all of the sound energy the unit radiates, put in decibels relative to one picowatt.

That is a property of the flosser itself, not a reading at your ear, and Panasonic gives no matching figure at a set distance. A sound power number usually runs higher than what a meter would show a short way off, so 60 here does not mean 60 at the sink.

Comparing two sound power numbers is fair; setting one beside an unlabeled decibel figure is not. Our explainer on how sound power differs from sound pressure covers why.

Why is the Oral-B Water Flosser Advanced not ranked against Panasonic?

Oral-B prints "Noise level: 68 dB (A)" for the Water Flosser Advanced's handle type but never says whether that is sound power or a reading at some distance, so it cannot share a scale with Panasonic.

The figure appears in four international Aquacare manuals for "Handle Type 3720", including the multilingual European edition 91878874/X-18. Oral-B's US service site lists type 3720 as "Aquacare, Waterflosser" and files the North American Water Flosser Advanced manual under the same number.

That US manual names the identical charger and handle types and prints no noise line. With one flosser and one figure, Oral-B has nothing to rank inside its own range either.

Is the EW-DJ66 figure valid for the US model?

Yes, as far as Panasonic's documents show: the European manual is titled for "Model No. EW-DJ67 / EW-DJ66", the US model number, and every shared specification matches the US manual line for line.

Both give a charging time of about 17 hours, about 10 minutes of use at level 5, a 200 mL tank for about 60 seconds, a 219 by 63 by 80 mm main unit and 275 g with the nozzle. The European table adds one row, the 60 dB(A).

Panasonic's US manual for the EW-DJ66, dated 2025, has no noise row, and the Australian edition for the EW-DJ66-W341 leaves it out too. Panasonic does not say why.

Is there a quiet countertop water flosser?

No countertop water flosser we checked carries a maker decibel figure, so the numbers crown no plug-in model; every flosser with a figure is cordless.

Waterpik's page for the Aquarius WP-660 has a long specification table, from 1400 pulses per minute to a 52 inch cord, and no noise row. The WP-600 series manual it links prints no figure either.

Philips describes the Sonicare Countertop Power Flosser 3000, HX3711/20, as a "Whisper quiet design" and stops there. A phrase like that cannot be checked against a number, so it stays in the also considered list.

Does Waterpik publish decibel ratings?

Waterpik gives no decibel rating for the Aquarius WP-660, either on the US product page or in the WP-600 series manual, so a quiet Waterpik cannot be picked from maker data.

That matters because many people use the brand name for the whole category. Waterpik's page gives the WP-660 10 pressure settings, a 22 ounce reservoir that lasts 90 seconds and two modes, "Floss and Hydro-Pulse Massage", at $99.99 MSRP.

Lower pressure settings may well sound softer at the sink, but Waterpik attaches no figure to any setting, so the size of that difference is unknown.

Is there a quiet water flosser for kids?

The only kids' water flosser with a noise claim that we found, the COSLUS C31, gives a ceiling: "low-noise operation under 65 dB", with no weighting, distance or mode.

A ceiling promises the flosser stays below 65 and says nothing about where below. It also names no basis, so it cannot be set beside Panasonic's sound power figures or Oral-B's 68.

COSLUS says the C31 is for ages 6 and up, with four cleaning modes and a 150 mL tank, at $42.99. None of the picks above is sold as a children's model.

Why is my water flosser suddenly loud?

Panasonic treats a sudden change in sound as a fault: its EW-DJ66 manual lists "abnormal sound during use or charging" among the signs to stop using the flosser and have it inspected.

The same European manual says "Do not modify or repair" and "Never disassemble except when disposing of the product", and points repairs to an authorized service centre.

Oral-B's North American manual adds a warning about running the pump empty: "A longer operation of the handle without water may damage the motor." Its after-use steps say to run the handle until no more water comes out and then switch it off, not to leave it running dry.

How the quietest water flossers compare

ProductNoiseTankPressure levelsPowerRun timePrice
Panasonic EW-DJ66-W"60 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", sound power (Panasonic European manual, EW-DJ66)Approx. 200 mL, approx. 60 seconds at level 55Built-in rechargeable battery, approx. 17 hours to chargeApprox. 10 minutes at level 5$84.99 maker's list price
Panasonic EW1511W"71 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", sound power (Panasonic US manual, EW1511)Approx. 200 ml, approx. 60 seconds5, approx. 196 kPa at level 1 to 647 kPa at level 5Built-in rechargeable battery, approx. 1 hour to chargeApprox. 10 minutes at level 5$109.99 maker's list price
Panasonic EW-DJ11-A"72 (dB (A) re 1 pW)", sound power (Panasonic North American manual, EW-DJ11)Approx. 150 mL, approx. 35 seconds at level 22Two AA alkaline batteries, sold separatelyApprox. 20 minutes at level 2 with Panasonic batteries$49.99 maker's list price
Oral-B Water Flosser Advanced (handle type 3720, charger type 3726)"Noise level: 68 dB (A)", basis not stated (Oral-B Aquacare manuals, handle type 3720)150 ml3 (sensitive, medium, intense)Rechargeable battery, a full charge typically takes 14 hoursNot stated by Oral-B$89.99 maker's list price

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest water flosser?

Panasonic's EW-DJ66-W, going by declared sound power: Panasonic's European edition lists "60 (dB (A) re 1 pW)". The EW1511W follows at 71 and the EW-DJ11-A at 72. Oral-B's 68 dB (A) for the Water Flosser Advanced names no basis, which keeps it off that list.

What is the quietest cordless water flosser?

The EW-DJ66-W again, since every flosser here with a maker figure is cordless. It runs from a built-in battery and declares 60 dB(A) re 1 pW. The battery powered EW-DJ11-A declares 72 on the same basis.

What is the quietest countertop water flosser?

None can be named. Waterpik's WP-660 specification table and manual and Philips's US page for the HX3711/20 countertop model give no decibel figure, so no plug-in flosser we checked has a number to compare.

Is a Waterpik quiet?

Waterpik does not say in numbers. Its WP-660 page lists flow rate, pulses per minute and ten pressure settings but no noise row, and the WP-600 series manual has no figure either.

Is 60 dB(A) re 1 pW the same as 60 decibels at my ear?

No. "re 1 pW" marks sound power, the total sound a flosser gives off, not the level at a listener. Panasonic gives no distance and no sound pressure figure, so the 60 cannot be turned into an in-room reading from its manuals.

Why does Panasonic's US manual for the EW-DJ66 leave out the noise figure?

Panasonic does not explain it. The 2025 US edition and the Australian edition have no noise row, while the European edition covering the EW-DJ66 and EW-DJ67 lists 60 (dB (A) re 1 pW). Every other specification line matches between the US and European editions.

Is there a quiet water flosser for kids?

Only with a ceiling. COSLUS says its C31 kids flosser has "low-noise operation under 65 dB", which promises an upper limit and names no method; we quote it without ranking it.

The bottom line

Before reading the manuals, I took it for granted that Waterpik would have a figure somewhere, since it is the name most people use for the whole category. It has none, on any page or manual I opened. Panasonic carries the guide instead, and the most useful line I found was buried in a British manual, because the US edition of the same EW-DJ66 leaves its noise row out.

That 60 dB(A) sits 11 below Panasonic's next figure, which is a big gap for one maker on one basis. If a quiet morning routine in a shared flat mattered to me, the $84.99 EW-DJ66-W is the flosser I would buy. I would not choose between it and the Oral-B on noise, because Oral-B never says how its 68 was taken.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Panasonic Cordless Water Flosser for Braces (EW1213A)

    Panasonic's $84.99 flosser for braces comes with an orthodontic nozzle, but its US manual has no noise row and we found no other Panasonic manual under the EW1213 number.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Waterpik Aquarius Water Flosser, White (WP-660)

    The best known countertop flosser, at $99.99 with 10 pressure settings and a 22 oz reservoir; Waterpik's specification table and WP-600 series manual print no decibel figure.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Philips Sonicare Countertop Power Flosser 3000 (HX3711/20)

    Philips calls this countertop model a "Whisper quiet design" on its US page and gives no number to back the phrase.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • COSLUS C31 Age-Specific Cordless Water Flosser for Kids

    A kids' flosser for ages 6 and up, sold by COSLUS for $42.99 with "low-noise operation under 65 dB", a ceiling we leave out of the order.

    Search Amazon for this model

How we reviewed this article

Every statement here comes from the 20 maker documents, standards and agency pages listed under Sources, quoted where the wording matters. We did not measure, inspect or repair anything ourselves. Each substantive revision is dated below. How we work

  1. Current version

    First published, written by Stanley Alu.

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 20 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides