QuietSpecs

The quietest air fryers, and what their decibel claims actually say

The quietest air fryers, and what their decibel claims actually say

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • No air fryer sold in the US has a measured, A-weighted noise figure from its maker, so none can be named the quietest outright.
  • Among upper-limit claims, the Cosori Lite 2.1-Quart Mini is lowest at "lower than 48dB".
  • Among single-number claims, the Typhur Dome 2 is lowest at 51dB, in both its AF05 and AF03 versions.
  • The Cosori Pro LE is the value pick for a 5 quart basket, and the Philips NA555 is the biggest basket with any maker figure, a range-wide "up to 65 dB".

Lowest upper-limit claim

Cosori Lite 2.1-Quart Mini Air Fryer (CAF-LI211)

Noise (maker's words) "lower than 48dB"

$59.99 maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    "lower than 48dB"

  2. 2

    "a remarkably quiet 51dB"

  3. 3

    "as low as 55dB" and "under 55dB during operation"

  4. 4

    "around 55dB" (Typhur blog reply)

  5. 5

    "can be up to 65 dB (decibel)" (range-wide)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →

Our Picks

Cosori Lite 2.1-Quart Mini Air Fryer (CAF-LI211)

#1 · Lowest upper-limit claim

Cosori Lite 2.1-Quart Mini Air Fryer (CAF-LI211)

Cosori

Noise (maker's words)"lower than 48dB"

Cosori says the Lite mini cooks "with noise levels lower than 48dB for no interruptions during meetings, TV, or listening to music." That is the lowest ceiling among the upper-limit claims in this guide, below Cosori's own under 55dB for the Pro LE and Philips's up to 65 dB. It is plain dB with no distance, setting or weighting. The trade is size: 2.1 quarts at 900 W, enough for one or two people.

Buy it ifOne or two people in a studio, where the air fryer shares a room with work calls

Skip it ifYou cook for three or more

What we like

  • Lowest printed ceiling here: lower than 48dB
  • $59.99 on Cosori's own store
  • Small enough for a desk-side kitchenette or a dorm

What to know

  • No distance, setting or A-weighting behind the 48
  • 2.1 quarts, too small for a family meal
  • Four functions only
What the figure is
Ceiling, conditions not stated
Capacity
2.1 qt
Rated power
900 W
Warranty
2 years

$59.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon
Typhur Dome 2 Air Fryer AF05 (Graphite Gray)

#2 · Lowest single-number claim

Typhur Dome 2 Air Fryer AF05 (Graphite Gray)

Typhur

Noise (maker's words)"a remarkably quiet 51dB"

Typhur says the Dome 2 runs "at a remarkably quiet 51dB" and credits a brushless motor. Among the single-number claims here that is the lowest, tied with the older AF03 version, and 4 dB under the "around 55dB" Typhur gives its Sync Air Fryer. Typhur's own blog also calls the Dome 2 50dB and 55dB, so read 51 as a best case. The AF05 adds Low, Medium and High fan speeds in the app; Typhur does not say which the 51dB describes.

Buy it ifAn open-plan kitchen where the air fryer runs during dinner conversation

Skip it ifYou want a deep basket for a whole chicken

What we like

  • 51dB on the product page, with a brushless motor
  • Wide 5.6 qt basket fits a 12 inch pizza
  • Self-cleaning mode and an 18 month warranty

What to know

  • Typhur's blog gives 50dB and 55dB for the same machine
  • No fan speed, distance or weighting behind any of them
  • $339.99, the priciest pick after the AF03
What the figure is
Single number, fan speed not stated
Capacity
5.6 qt
Rated power
1750 W
Warranty
18 months

$339.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon
Cosori Pro LE 5.0-Quart Air Fryer (CAF-L501-KUS)

#3 · Best value 5 quart basket

Cosori Pro LE 5.0-Quart Air Fryer (CAF-L501-KUS)

Cosori

Noise (maker's words)"as low as 55dB" and "under 55dB during operation"

The Pro LE is Cosori's Air Whisper model, and its page says two different things: "noise levels as low as 55dB" in one section and "under 55dB during operation" in the FAQ. One makes 55 a best case, the other a ceiling. At $99.99 for 5 quarts and 1500 W, it has the lowest maker price among the 5 quart and larger baskets here whose makers show a price.

Buy it ifA couple or small family who want a stated figure without paying for a brushless motor

Skip it ifYou want the lowest printed number, which is the Lite mini's

What we like

  • A figure at 55dB, stated twice on the page
  • $99.99 for a 5 qt basket
  • 2 year warranty

What to know

  • The page calls 55dB both a floor and a ceiling
  • The user manual has no noise figure
  • A higher ceiling than the Lite mini's lower than 48dB
What the figure is
Contradictory: floor in one place, ceiling in another
Capacity
5 qt
Rated power
1500 W
Warranty
2 years

$99.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon
Typhur Sync Air Fryer AF13 with Built-in Wireless Probe

#4 · Best for whole chickens

Typhur Sync Air Fryer AF13 with Built-in Wireless Probe

Typhur

Noise (maker's words)"around 55dB" (Typhur blog reply)

The Sync has an 8 quart basket and a wireless probe built in, and Typhur says it can fit a 6 lb chicken. Its product page gives no noise figure. On Typhur's own blog, a staff reply says it "operates at around 55dB, so it's a bit louder than the Dome 2". That is the maker admitting its bigger machine is louder, which is more candour than most brands offer.

Buy it ifFamily roasts where the probe matters more than the last few decibels

Skip it ifQuiet is your first priority and a 5.6 qt basket is enough

What we like

  • The maker says plainly it is louder than the Dome 2
  • 8 qt basket with a built-in wireless probe
  • $199.99 on Typhur's store

What to know

  • The figure is a blog reply, not a product page spec
  • "Around 55dB", with no conditions
  • The newer AF14 has no figure at all
What the figure is
Approximate single number, conditions not stated
Capacity
8 qt
Rated power
1750 W
Warranty
18 months

$199.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon
Philips 5000 Series Dual-Basket Airfryer with Steam, 9.6 qt (NA555/00)

#5 · Biggest basket with a figure

Philips 5000 Series Dual-Basket Airfryer with Steam, 9.6 qt (NA555/00)

Philips

Noise (maker's words)"can be up to 65 dB (decibel)" (range-wide)

Philips publishes no noise figure for any single Airfryer we checked. Its US support article says an Airfryer's fan noise "can be up to 65 dB (decibel), or as loud as the noise an average vacuum cleaner would make", and lists the NA555/00 first among the models it covers. At 9.6 quarts across two baskets, with steam, it is the largest air fryer in this guide with any maker figure attached.

Buy it ifFamilies who cook two dishes at once and want the maker's worst case in writing

Skip it ifYou want a low number rather than a ceiling

What we like

  • 9.6 qt across two baskets, with a steam function
  • The maker puts a ceiling on fan noise: up to 65 dB
  • 2 year warranty

What to know

  • A range-wide ceiling, not a figure for this model
  • The highest number in this guide
  • No price we could read on Philips's US page
What the figure is
Ceiling for the Airfryer range
Capacity
9.6 qt
Rated power
2750 W
Warranty
2 years

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoise (maker's words)What the figure isCapacityRated powerWarrantyPrice
1.Cosori CAF-LI211"lower than 48dB"Ceiling, conditions not stated2.1 qt900 W2 years$59.99 maker's list price
2.Typhur AF05"a remarkably quiet 51dB"Single number, fan speed not stated5.6 qt1750 W18 months$339.99 maker's list price
3.Cosori CAF-L501-KUS"as low as 55dB" and "under 55dB during operation"Contradictory: floor in one place, ceiling in another5 qt1500 W2 years$99.99 maker's list price
4.Typhur AF13"around 55dB" (Typhur blog reply)Approximate single number, conditions not stated8 qt1750 W18 months$199.99 maker's list price
5.Philips NA555/00"can be up to 65 dB (decibel)" (range-wide)Ceiling for the Airfryer range9.6 qt2750 W2 yearsNot verified yet

Buying Guide

An air fryer is a small convection oven with a big fan, and most of what you hear is that fan. It runs for 15 to 30 minutes at a time, often in an open kitchen while people are talking, which is why a quiet air fryer is worth shopping for.

The trouble is the numbers. We read the makers' own US product pages for more than a hundred air fryers from a dozen brands, plus manuals and support pages. Eight US air fryers, from three brands, carry a maker's noise figure. Not one of those figures is marked A-weighted, and not one says how far away it was taken or at which setting. So this guide sorts what each maker says, puts side by side only the claims that are worded alike, and says plainly where no comparison is possible.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Two kinds of claim, never mixed

Upper-limit claims. These say the noise stays under a number. Cosori says its Lite 2.1-Quart Mini cooks "with noise levels lower than 48dB". Cosori's Pro LE page says in its FAQ that Air Whisper Technology "keeps noise levels under 55dB during operation". Philips says its Airfryer fan noise "can be up to 65 dB (decibel)", in a support article covering its whole range. Ranked as ceilings, the Lite mini is lowest, then the Pro LE, then Philips. That is a ranking of promises, not of machines: a ceiling says only what the maker is willing to stand behind.

Single-number claims. These give one figure with no "under" or "up to". Typhur says both versions of its Dome 2, the AF05 and the older AF03, run "at a remarkably quiet 51dB". A Typhur staff reply on the company's own blog says its Sync Air Fryer "operates at around 55dB". The Dome 2 is lowest in this group.

We do not rank across the two groups. A ceiling of 48 and a figure of 51 could describe machines that sound the same, or quite different, depending on distance, fan speed and temperature, none of which is stated. We also flag one claim that does not sit cleanly in either group: the Cosori Pro LE page says "as low as 55dB" in one section and "under 55dB" in another. "As low as" makes 55 the quietest it gets. "Under" makes 55 the loudest. The page does not say which is right, so we treat the 55 with caution.

Typhur gives the Dome 2 three numbers

The Dome 2 is sold on quiet more than any air fryer we found. Its product page says 51dB. Typhur's blog post on the Dome 2 upgrades says it "Runs at an incredibly low 55dB, as quiet as a household refrigerator". Typhur's best air fryer guide says "about 55dB". And a Typhur staff reply calls the Dome 2 "very quiet at 50dB".

Three figures within 5 dB for one machine is a sign that none of them is a controlled measurement. It does not mean the Dome 2 is loud. It means the fair reading is somewhere around 50 to 55, and that 51 is the most flattering version. We use the product page figure because it is the one on the page where you buy, and we quote the others in the catalog facts.

The same reply is also the most useful thing Typhur publishes. Asked whether the Sync matches the Dome 2, Typhur said the Sync, at around 55dB, is "a bit louder". A maker that ranks its own two machines, and puts the cheaper, bigger one second, is telling you something real about how size and design trade against noise.

What the numbers mean in a kitchen

Roughly every 10 dB is a doubling of how loud something sounds, so small gaps matter more than they look. If the makers' figures were measured the same way, a 55 would sound about 40 percent louder than a 50. They were not, so treat the gaps as a hint, not a result. Our decibel chart puts 50 to 65 dB beside a quiet office, normal conversation and a vacuum cleaner, which is where Philips itself pitches 65.

The setting matters too. Every maker here is silent on which setting its figure describes, and makers of quiet appliances tend to quote their quietest setting. The Typhur AF05 lets you choose Low, Medium or High fan speed in its app without saying which one the 51dB belongs to. Until a maker says otherwise, assume the printed number is closer to the gentle end.

Where the air fryer sits changes what you hear. On a counter in an open-plan room it competes with conversation and the TV. If your kitchen is part of your living room, our guide to a quiet open-plan kitchen covers the range hood, fridge and dishwasher that share the space.

What quiet costs

The two lowest claims come with trade-offs. The Cosori Lite mini gets its "lower than 48dB" in a 2.1 quart basket at 900 W. That is enough for one or two people, and you will run it twice for a family. The Typhur Dome 2 gets its 51dB with a brushless motor, which Typhur calls an industry first in an air fryer, and it costs $339.99 for the AF05 and $399.99 for the AF03.

Bigger baskets come with higher figures in this guide. Typhur's 8 quart Sync is around 55dB, by Typhur's own account louder than its 5.6 quart Dome 2. Philips's 9.6 quart NA555 dual basket is covered only by the range-wide "up to 65 dB". More food means more air to move, and more air usually means more fan noise.

Philips: a ceiling, not a figure

Philips's manuals are where we expected to find numbers, because the brand prints a noise figure in the manual of at least one of its blenders, as our blender guide notes. We read the user manuals for the HD9285, HD9255, HD9650, HD9875, NA231 and NA352, the US manuals for the NA110 and HD9200, and Philips's specification data for a range of its Airfryers in the UK, Germany, the Netherlands and France. None has a noise figure.

What Philips does publish is a support article, "My Philips Airfryer makes a noise". It says the cooling fan noise "can be up to 65 dB (decibel), or as loud as the noise an average vacuum cleaner would make", and that this is normal. The article lists the models it applies to, from the NA555/00 and NA110/00 to the HD9200/91 and dozens of older ones. We treat 65 as a ceiling for every Philips model it names, not a measurement of any one of them.

The only A-weighted figure is sold in France

The only air fryer figure we found marked A-weighted comes from Tefal. Its French page for the Easy Fry Silence 7 L calls it "Le air fryer XXL le plus silencieux", with "un niveau sonore de 43 dB seulement", and the page's specification data lists "Technologie Silence" at 43 dB(A). That is still not a full declaration, with no distance or setting, but it is the only figure with the weighting stated.

T-fal, Tefal's US name, does not sell the Silence. Its US air fryer range when we checked was the Easy Fry Max 5L, the 2.1 quart Easy Fry, and three Infrared models, and none of their pages prints a noise figure. We left Tefal out of the rankings because this guide covers air fryers you can buy from a US maker.

Brands that publish nothing

Most air fryer brands make no numeric noise claim at all on the pages and documents we read. Ninja's US pages for the Air Fryer Pro XL AF181, the DoubleStack SL201 and SL451 and four Crispi models print no figure. Instant's US air fryer pages print none; Quiet Mark lists several Instant Vortex models as certified, but a certification is not a number. Chefman, Dash, Bella, Kalorik and Dreo, whose ChefMaker Combi Fryer we checked, print none on their own stores. T-fal's five US air fryer pages print none. Gourmia's manuals for the GTF1150 and GAF789, and Breville's instruction books for the Air Fryer Chef and the Smart Oven Air Fryer, contain none. Cosori's own TurboBlaze, Dual Blaze, Iconic, TwinFry and dual basket pages print none, even though the Lite mini and Pro LE do. Typhur's newer Sync AF14 page prints none.

None of this means those machines are loud. It means their makers give you no number to compare, and a guide built on published figures cannot rank them.

How we chose

We read the maker's own US page for each air fryer, and the manuals and support pages where the maker publishes them, and recorded every noise figure in the maker's exact words. We grouped the figures by what they claim: an upper limit, a single number, or both at once. We compared figures only inside a group, and never across to Tefal's A-weighted figure. Then we chose picks on what the makers do publish: capacity, power, features and the price on the maker's own store.

We did not measure any of these air fryers. Every figure is the maker's own, quoted as published, with a note wherever the maker gave no distance, setting or weighting, which in this guide is every time.

Common questions

What is the quietest air fryer?

No US maker publishes a figure that lets anyone say for certain. Among upper-limit claims, the Cosori Lite 2.1-Quart Mini is lowest: "lower than 48dB". Among single-number claims, the Typhur Dome 2 is lowest at 51dB. Neither states a distance, setting or A-weighting, so the two cannot be put in order against each other. The best-documented figure we found, 43 dB(A) for Tefal's Easy Fry Silence 7 L, is for a model sold in Europe, not the US.

How loud is an air fryer?

The maker claims we found run from lower than 48dB (Cosori Lite mini) to up to 65 dB (Philips, for its whole Airfryer range). Philips compares 65 dB to an average vacuum cleaner. Typhur puts its Dome 2 at 51dB and its larger Sync at around 55dB. Our decibel chart, linked in the guide, sets those levels beside everyday sounds.

Why is my air fryer so loud?

Most of the sound is fans. Philips explains that its Airfryers have a fan inside to keep internal parts cool, and that this fan noise can be up to 65 dB and is normal. If the sound changes to fluttering or shuffling, Philips says a part may be loose and you should contact support.

Does a brushless motor make an air fryer quieter?

Typhur says so. It credits the Dome 2's brushless motor for running "at a remarkably quiet 51dB" and claims "50% less noise", without saying compared with what. Its Sync Air Fryer, which Typhur says runs at around 55dB, is described by Typhur as a bit louder. No maker publishes two figures measured the same way to prove the difference.

Why don't air fryer makers publish decibel ratings?

Nothing requires them to. Air fryers have no EU energy label with a noise class, the way dishwashers and washing machines do, and the EU ecodesign rules that apply to them cover standby power, not noise. So a figure appears only when a brand wants to sell on quiet. Tefal does in France, with 43 dB(A) for its Silence model, and Cosori and Typhur do in the US with plain dB claims.

Is 48dB quieter than 51dB?

Not necessarily. Cosori's 48 is a ceiling ("lower than") and Typhur's 51 is a single figure. Neither says how far away the meter was, which fan speed or temperature was used, or whether the reading was A-weighted. Two numbers measured differently can be further apart or closer together than they look. See why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands.

Is Quiet Mark certification a decibel rating?

No. Quiet Mark, an independent certification, lists several Instant Vortex air fryers as certified. We found no decibel figure on Instant's US air fryer pages, and Quiet Mark's list does not give one either. A certification tells you a product passed someone's test; it does not give you a number to compare.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Typhur Dome 2 Air Fryer AF03 (Classic Silver)

    The Classic Silver Dome 2 carries the same "remarkably quiet 51dB" on its page as the AF05, without app fan speed control, and was $399.99 on Typhur's store against $339.99 for the AF05.

    See it at Amazon
  • Philips Airfryer 1000 Series 3.4 Qt (NA110/00)

    Named on Philips's "up to 65 dB" support article, and its US user manual has no noise figure. A 3.4 qt, 1500 W basket; we could not read a price on Philips's US page.

    See it at Amazon
  • Philips 3000 Series Airfryer L (HD9200/91)

    The 3000 Series Airfryer L is also covered by Philips's "up to 65 dB" article, and its manual has no figure. 4.1 L and 1400 W; no price we could read on Philips's US page.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides