QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

Quietest CPAP machine: the home and travel units with a declared ISO noise figure

Written by
· 9 min read

Illustration of a CPAP machine with tubing on a bedside table at night

On declared sound pressure under ISO 80601-2-70, ResMed's AirSense 11 and AirSense 10 tie as the quietest CPAP machines we could verify: 25 dBA with the side cover and 27 dBA with the humidifier tub, each with an uncertainty of 2 dBA.

Among travel units, the AirMini declares 29 dBA and Transcend's Micro 510 declares 31 dBA at 10 cm H2O. Philips does not sell new DreamStation 2 machines in the US under its 2024 consent decree, and Fisher & Paykel has stopped selling the SleepStyle here.

Every machine on this page is sold on a prescription.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line

A quick look at the quietest CPAP machines

A CPAP machine runs a blower for the whole night, a couple of feet from the person it is treating and anyone sharing the bed. Most makers call their machines quiet. Fewer print a figure, and fewer still say how it was measured, which makes the quietest CPAP machine harder to name than the marketing suggests.

The ones that do usually cite ISO 80601-2-70, the international standard for sleep apnea breathing therapy equipment, and declare both sound pressure and sound power with an uncertainty, in the format ISO 4871 sets out. We read manuals and spec sheets for eleven CPAP and APAP machines from five brands, and BMC Medical's own pages for three more.

Four machines on sale new in the US carry an ISO 80601-2-70 declaration that matches the model sold here. Two are ResMed home units, and two are travel units. Every one needs a prescription, and this page covers noise only.

How did we pick these CPAP machines?

A CPAP machine qualified only with a decibel figure in its maker's own manual or spec sheet, and only sound pressure declared under ISO 80601-2-70 was ranked.

For ResMed, we read the AirSense 11 and AirMini user guides for the Americas on ResMed's document site, the AirSense 11 ANZ guide, and a June 2026 European AirSense 10 guide, since we found no US edition of that one.

For Transcend we read the Micro 510 and Micro manuals linked from mytranscend.com, plus the older 365 and Transcend 3 manuals. For React Health, the LG3600 manual and product page. Philips's DreamStation 2 manual came from its own image server in a French, German and Dutch edition, and Fisher & Paykel's SleepStyle sheet from its resources site.

Breas's site returned server errors to every request, so the Z2 travel unit is not counted, and Resvent's US shop sat behind a password page, so the iBreeze is not either. BMC's pages give limits only. ResMed shows no US prices; Transcend's come from its own store in October 2026.

Figures framed as limits, figures with no standard, and Transcend's in-house 27 dBA are listed but not ranked. Recall status comes from the FDA's recall database, which listed none for an AirSense or AirMini machine when we searched it in October 2026.

We did not measure a CPAP machine at any pressure, with or without a mask; each dBA on this page was copied from a ResMed, Transcend, React Health, Philips or Fisher & Paykel document, and each sales or recall status from the FDA or the maker.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest CPAP machines

Quietest home CPAP we could verify, tied

ResMed AirSense 11 AutoSet Auto-Adjusting CPAP Machine

  • Noise: 25 dBA side cover / 27 dBA with HumidAir 11, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: A bedroom machine that runs every night with its humidifier
  • Skip it if: You already own an AirSense 10, whose declared figures are identical

ResMed's Americas user guide declares 25 dBA sound pressure with the SlimLine tube and side cover, and 27 dBA with the HumidAir 11 tub half filled, each with an uncertainty of 2 dBA, measured to ISO 80601-2-70:2015 in CPAP mode.

Sound power is 33 and 35 dBA. Those are the lowest figures we found under that standard, and the AirSense 10 declares the same ones. The guide covers the AutoSet, the Elite and the fixed-pressure CPAP model.

Same declared figures, earlier model

ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet Auto-Adjusting CPAP Machine with HumidAir

  • Noise: 25 dBA side cover / 27 dBA with humidification, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Anyone offered an AirSense 10 by their equipment provider
  • Skip it if: You want the newer myAir features ResMed ties to the AirSense 11

ResMed's June 2026 AirSense 10 guide, the European edition covering the AutoSet, Elite and AutoSet for Her, gives 25 dBA sound pressure and 33 dBA sound power with the side cover, and 27 and 35 dBA with humidification, measured to ISO 80601-2-70:2020.

Those match the AirSense 11 decibel for decibel. ResMed still lists the AirSense 10 on its US site, under the same model names.

Quietest travel CPAP we could verify

ResMed AirMini AutoSet Travel CPAP Machine

  • Noise: 29 dBA, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Flights, hotels and nights away from the home machine
  • Skip it if: It would be your only machine and you want the lowest bedside figure

The AirMini's Americas guide declares 29 dBA sound pressure and 37 dBA sound power, each with an uncertainty of 2 dBA, to ISO 80601-2-70:2015 in CPAP mode.

That is 2 dBA above the AirSense with its tub, and ResMed's UK shop says plainly that the AirMini has a higher sound level than its home devices. It weighs 10.6 oz and humidifies through the waterless HumidX, so there is no tank to fill.

Lightest travel unit, with its test pressure printed

Transcend Micro 510 Auto CPAP Travel Machine

  • Noise: 31 dBA, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020, 10 cm H2O static)
  • Price: $829.00 maker's list price, checked Oct 18
  • Best for: Backpacking, camping on battery or carry-on only trips
  • Skip it if: The lowest declared ISO figure matters more to you than weight

Somnetics prints the Micro 510's test conditions in full: 31 dBA sound pressure and 39 dBA sound power at 10 cm H2O static, to ISO 80601-2-70:2020, with no mask connected.

The manual then adds 27 dBA from an in-house method it says is not part of ISO conformity, so that number is listed but not ranked. At 0.49 lbs it is under half an AirMini's weight, and it lists at $829 on Transcend's own site.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

How many decibels is a CPAP machine?

A CPAP machine declares between 25 and 31 dBA of sound pressure in the ISO 80601-2-70 test figures we found, each with an uncertainty of 2 dBA. Home units with a side cover sit at the bottom of that range, and travel units at the top.

Here is what each maker declares, sound pressure first:

  • ResMed AirSense 11: 25 dBA with the side cover, 27 dBA with the HumidAir 11 tub
  • ResMed AirSense 10: 25 dBA with the side cover, 27 dBA with humidification
  • ResMed AirMini: 29 dBA
  • Transcend Micro 510 and Micro: 31 dBA at 10 cm H2O

ResMed's guides do not say which pressure the machine was set to during the test. Transcend's manuals do, and the Micro 510 manual adds that the test runs with no mask connected and microphones placed in a circle around the device.

Sound power is a separate column: 33 and 35 dBA for the AirSense machines, 37 for the AirMini and 39 for the Transcend units. We list it beside each machine and never rank it against sound pressure; our sound power vs sound pressure page sets out what separates the two.

For where 25 to 31 dBA sits beside a whisper or a refrigerator, see our decibel chart.

Is the AirSense 11 quieter than the AirSense 10?

No, the AirSense 11 is not quieter than the AirSense 10 on paper: ResMed declares 25 dBA with the side cover and 27 dBA with the humidifier for both, and the same 33 and 35 dBA sound power.

The AirSense 11 guide for the Americas cites ISO 80601-2-70:2015. ResMed's newest AirSense 10 guide, a June 2026 European edition, cites the 2020 revision and adds ISO 80601-2-74:2021 for the humidifier. The ANZ guide for the AirSense 11 also uses the 2020 edition and prints identical numbers, so the revision change did not move ResMed's figures.

The choice between them comes down to features and what an equipment provider offers, and no decibel separates them. Both guides cover three models: AutoSet, Elite and the fixed-pressure CPAP. The AutoSet for Her appears in both as well.

Is a travel CPAP louder than a home CPAP?

Yes, both travel CPAP machines here declare more sound pressure than ResMed's home units: the AirMini declares 29 dBA and the Transcend Micro 510 31 dBA, against 27 dBA for an AirSense with its water tub.

ResMed puts this on its own UK shop page for the AirMini, which says the travel device "has a higher sound level compared with Resmed home devices (29dBA compared with 27dBA for home devices)".

Between the two travel units, the AirMini's 29 dBA is 2 below the Transcend's 31, and both carry an uncertainty of 2 dBA. The Transcend weighs 0.49 lbs to the AirMini's 10.6 oz, and can run from Transcend's optional PowerAway battery.

The 27 dBA on Transcend's home page

Transcend's home page advertises "Just 27 dBA with the included WhisperSoft Muffler". The Micro 510 manual explains where that number comes from: an "internal acoustic test method derived from the general test principles described in ISO 80601-2-70", which it says is "not part of ISO 80601-2-70 conformity assessment".

That figure cannot sit beside ResMed's ISO figures, so we rank the Transcend on its 31 dBA. The manual is unusually frank that standard test figures "do not represent the sound levels a user will experience during sleep", because mask, fit, leak and distance all change what reaches the pillow.

Does a humidifier make a CPAP machine louder?

Yes, a water humidifier adds about 2 dBA to ResMed's declared figures: 25 dBA with the side cover becomes 27 dBA with the HumidAir 11 tub half filled, on the same ISO test.

The pattern holds across makers who split the figure. Philips's manual for the first DreamStation, which predates the DreamStation 2, declared 26.1 dB(A) for the device alone and 27.3 dB(A) with its humidifier. ResMed's AirSense 10 guide shows the same 2 dBA step as the AirSense 11.

Whether to run a humidifier is a therapy question, and the prescribing clinician or equipment provider settles it. For noise, the side cover figure is the one to read if the tub stays off. Our humidifier guide covers room humidifiers, a separate machine.

Is the noise coming from the CPAP machine or the mask?

A CPAP machine and its mask both make noise, and ResMed's AirMini guide alone declares them apart: 29 dBA for the device under ISO 80601-2-70, and 15 to 19 dBA for the mask vent under ISO 17510:2015.

The mask figures depend on the connector. The AirMini guide gives 19 dBA with the F20 full face setup and 15 dBA with the N20 nasal or P10 pillows setup, each with an uncertainty of 3 dBA. Those are exhaust vent figures, measured with tubing and mask fitted, so they are not added to or ranked against the machine figure.

For air leaking around the mask, the AirSense 11 guide points to the mask's own fitting instructions and the machine's Mask Fit function, and the equipment provider who set the machine up can help with the rest. Our quiet and sleep modes explainer covers the night settings other bedroom appliances use.

Do React Health and BMC publish CPAP decibel figures?

Yes, but React Health and BMC frame their CPAP figures as limits, so neither sits in the ranked group. React Health's LG3600 manual says the Luna G3's levels "shall not exceed" 28 dB(A) sound pressure and 36 dB(A) sound power at 10 hPa.

That table cites ISO 4871 for the dual-number format and names no test standard, and React Health's product page shortens it to under 28 dB. BMC Medical, which builds the Luna G3, promises "noise performance under 28 dB(A)" for its G3 series and lists under 30 dB at 10 hPa for its M1 Mini travel unit.

A not-to-exceed level is a ceiling, and a ceiling does not tell you where the machine actually measured. The FDA also lists a Class 1 recall, Z-2979-2026, for 20,160 Luna G3 APAP units identified by serial number.

Can you still buy a Philips DreamStation 2 or a Fisher & Paykel SleepStyle?

No, neither can be bought new from its maker in the US in October 2026. Philips stopped selling new CPAP machines here under an April 2024 consent decree, and Fisher & Paykel says it is no longer selling the SleepStyle in the United States.

The FDA says the decree restricts the sale of new Philips Respironics CPAP and BiPAP machines "until certain requirements are met", and Philips's May 2026 FAQ still describes those terms. Separately, in November 2023 the FDA asked users to carefully monitor DreamStation 2 machines for signs of overheating.

Both makers did print figures. Philips's 2022 DreamStation 2 manual declares 27 dB(A) sound pressure and 35 dB(A) sound power, and Fisher & Paykel's SleepStyle sheet lists "28.0 ± 1.5 dBA" with no test standard. Both machines are under also considered.

Can you buy a CPAP machine without a prescription?

No, a CPAP machine is a prescription device in the US. ResMed's AirSense 11 guide says federal law restricts it to "sale by or on the order of a physician", and Transcend's manual says the same for the Micro 510.

The prescription also sets the pressure, the mode and any humidity. This page compares declared noise only and does not suggest settings. The safety points we cite come from the FDA and the makers' manuals, and the manual for any machine, along with the clinician who prescribed it, outranks anything written here.

How the quietest CPAP machines compare

ProductNoiseSound powerTest pressureHumidificationWeightPrice
ResMed AirSense 11 AutoSet25 dBA side cover / 27 dBA with HumidAir 11, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)33 dBA side cover / 35 dBA with HumidAir 11Not statedHumidAir 11 water tub, or side cover40 oz with the HumidAir 11 tubNot verified yet
ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet25 dBA side cover / 27 dBA with humidification, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020)33 dBA side cover / 35 dBA with humidificationNot statedHumidAir water tub, or side cover1248 g with the cleanable humidifier (EU guide)Not verified yet
ResMed AirMini AutoSet29 dBA, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)37 dBANot statedWaterless HumidX or HumidX Plus10.6 oz (300 g)Not verified yet
Transcend Micro 51031 dBA, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020, 10 cm H2O static)39 dBA10 cm H2O, static, no maskNone built in; optional AirMist HME0.49 lbs (223.4 g)$829.00 maker's list price

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest CPAP machine?

Among machines sold new in the US with a declared ISO 80601-2-70 figure, ResMed's AirSense 11 and AirSense 10 tie: 25 dBA sound pressure with the side cover and 27 dBA with the humidifier tub. For travel, the AirMini declares 29 dBA and the Transcend Micro 510 declares 31 dBA.

How many decibels is a CPAP machine?

The declared figures we found run from 25 to 31 dBA sound pressure under ISO 80601-2-70, measured in a test room with no mask fitted. ResMed's home machines sit at the low end, ResMed's AirMini at 29 dBA and the Transcend Micro machines at 31 dBA, all with an uncertainty of 2 dBA.

Is the AirSense 11 quieter than the AirSense 10?

No. ResMed's guides give both machines 25 dBA sound pressure and 33 dBA sound power with the side cover, and 27 and 35 dBA with humidification. The AirSense 11's Americas guide cites the 2015 edition of ISO 80601-2-70 and the newest AirSense 10 guide the 2020 edition.

Is the AirMini louder than the AirSense?

On ResMed's own figures, yes, by 2 dBA. The AirMini declares 29 dBA sound pressure against 27 for an AirSense with its humidifier tub, and ResMed's UK shop warns that this may result in a different perceived sound from the device.

Why does Transcend list both 27 dBA and 31 dBA for the Micro?

The 31 dBA is measured to ISO 80601-2-70:2020 at 10 cm H2O with no mask attached. The 27 dBA comes from Transcend's own method, which the Micro 510 manual says is derived from the standard but is not part of ISO conformity. Only the 31 can be set beside other makers' ISO figures.

Does a CPAP humidifier add noise?

In ResMed's figures it adds 2 dBA: the AirSense 11 declares 25 dBA with the side cover and 27 dBA with the HumidAir 11 tub half filled. Philips's earlier DreamStation manual showed a similar step, 26.1 dB(A) for the device and 27.3 with the humidifier.

Do I need a prescription to buy a CPAP machine?

Yes, in the US. ResMed's AirSense 11 guide says federal law restricts the device to sale by or on the order of a physician, and the Transcend Micro 510 manual says it is available only with a prescription from a licensed healthcare provider. Pressure settings come from that prescription.

Can I still buy a new Philips DreamStation 2 in the US?

Not from Philips. A federal court entered a consent decree on April 9, 2024 that restricts the sale of new Philips Respironics CPAP machines in the US until set requirements are met, and Philips's May 2026 FAQ still describes that restriction. Philips can service machines already in use.

Is the React Health Luna G3 recalled?

Some units are. The FDA lists a Class 1 recall, Z-2979-2026, initiated by BMC Medical on July 15, 2026, for 20,160 Luna G3 APAP LG 3600 units identified by serial number, citing retroactive reporting for a 2024 rework. The FDA recall page lists the affected serial numbers.

The bottom line

Going in, I assumed the newer AirSense 11 would be the quieter ResMed. Its user guide prints the AirSense 10's numbers exactly: 25 dBA with the side cover, 27 dBA with the water tub, under the same ISO test. So I would not pay more for the 11 on noise alone.

What I would weigh instead is the humidifier. Dropping the tub saves ResMed 2 dBA on paper, yet both travel units, which carry no tank at all, still declare more than either home ResMed. For a machine that runs beside the bed every night, I would keep the AirSense with its tub, save the travel units for trips, and leave every setting to whoever writes the prescription.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Transcend Micro Auto CPAP Travel Machine

    The original Micro declares the same 31 dBA sound pressure and 39 dBA sound power at 10 cm H2O, to ISO 80601-2-70:2020, and lists at $769 against $829 for the 510. Its manual marks a 27 dBA figure as measured in a typical use environment, which we do not rank.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • React Health Luna G3 Auto CPAP (APAP) with Integrated Humidifier (LG3600)

    React Health's LG3600 manual gives 28 dB(A) sound pressure and 36 dB(A) sound power at 10 hPa, but frames them as levels the device shall not exceed and names no test standard, so we cannot place it beside the ISO 80601-2-70 figures. The FDA also lists a Class 1 recall, Z-2979-2026, covering 20,160 LG 3600 units by serial number.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Philips Respironics DreamStation 2 Auto CPAP

    Philips's 2022 manual declares 27 dB(A) sound pressure and 35 dB(A) sound power. Philips has not sold new CPAP machines in the US since the April 2024 consent decree, and in November 2023 the FDA asked users to watch DreamStation 2 machines for signs of overheating.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Fisher & Paykel SleepStyle Auto CPAP

    Fisher & Paykel's spec sheet lists a noise level of 28.0 ± 1.5 dBA with no test standard or pressure, and its US site says the company is no longer selling the SleepStyle in the United States.

    Search Amazon for this model

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 18 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides