QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

Quietest BiPAP machine: ResMed AirCurve noise figures, sorted by ISO test edition

Written by
· 8 min read

Illustration of a bilevel sleep machine on a nightstand with its mask on a pillow

No one BiPAP machine can be called quietest, because ResMed tested its two AirCurve generations to different editions of ISO 80601-2-70. Under the 2015 edition, the AirCurve 10 VAuto and AirCurve 10 S tie at 25 dBA sound pressure, or 27 with humidification.

Under the 2020 edition, the AirCurve 11 VAuto and ASV tie at 26 dBA on the side cover and 27 on the HumidAir 11 tub. Each figure carries an uncertainty of 2 dBA.

React Health states only a not-to-exceed level for its Luna G3 BPAP 25A, and Philips may not sell new BiPAP machines in the US under its consent decree. Each machine needs a prescription.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line

A quick look at the quietest BiPAP machines

A bilevel machine, sold by Philips as BiPAP and by ResMed as AirCurve, gives one pressure for breathing in and a lower one for breathing out. It sits by the bed and runs for the whole night, so the quietest BiPAP machine is worth knowing for the same reason a quiet CPAP is.

ResMed prints sound pressure and sound power for its AirCurve machines, but cites two different editions of the ISO test across its two generations. React Health states a ceiling, and Philips cannot sell new BiPAP machines in the US. We read manuals from all three, plus Fisher & Paykel's US pages.

Four ResMed models carry a declared figure and are sold in the US. Each needs a prescription, and nothing here tells you which mode or pressure to use.

How did we pick these BiPAP machines?

A bilevel machine made the ranked list only if its maker printed a declared sound pressure value in its own guide, and the model is sold under that name in the US today.

For ResMed we read the US AirCurve 10 and AirCurve 11 pages, the US AirCurve 11 product guide, the AirCurve 11 ANZ user guide, and the AirCurve 10 VAuto and S guides in APAC and European editions. Each names the same models ResMed sells in the US, and we found no Americas edition on ResMed's document site.

For React Health we read the LG3700 manuals and product page, and the 25VT and 30VT manual. For Philips, the US autoSV manual and the FDA's consent decree page. Fisher & Paykel's US device page lists no bilevel machine, and React Health's page for the 30VT sat behind a members' login, so we read its manual instead.

We found no ResMed-hosted guide for the AirCurve 10 ASV or the AirCurve 11 ST, and we found no Lumis page on ResMed's US site, though its APAC guide prints the AirCurve 10's numbers. Löwenstein's prisma bilevels and BMC's RESmart machines could not be tied to US sale.

Ceilings and machines Philips cannot sell are listed, not ranked. ResMed shows no US prices, and an October 2026 search of openFDA's recall records turned up no AirCurve entry.

We did not measure a bilevel machine in any mode; each dBA and dB(A) value here was copied from a ResMed, React Health or Philips document, and the sales restrictions come from the FDA's own wording or the maker's US site.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest BiPAP machines

Lowest 2015-edition figure, tied with the AirCurve 10 S

ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto Auto-Adjusting Bilevel Machine with HumidAir

  • Noise: 25 dBA SlimLine or Standard / 27 dBA with humidification, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: A prescription for auto-adjusting bilevel therapy, on a 2015-edition figure
  • Skip it if: Your prescription calls for fixed pressures, which the AirCurve 10 S delivers at the same declared noise

ResMed's guide for the AirCurve 10 VAuto and S prints 25 dBA of sound pressure with either SlimLine or Standard tubing and 27 dBA once humidification is added.

ResMed ran that test to ISO 80601-2-70:2015 with the machine set to CPAP mode and puts 2 dBA of uncertainty on each value. Sound power is 33 and 35 dBA. Two European editions of the same guide repeat those numbers.

The VAuto adjusts both of its pressures on its own, from 4 to 25 cm H2O.

Fixed-pressure bilevel, same 2015 figures

ResMed AirCurve 10 S Fixed-Pressure Bilevel Machine with HumidAir

  • Noise: 25 dBA SlimLine or Standard / 27 dBA with humidification, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: A prescription that sets fixed inhale and exhale pressures
  • Skip it if: Your prescriber wants the machine to adjust pressure through the night

The AirCurve 10 S shares one sound table with the VAuto in ResMed's guide: 25 dBA with SlimLine or Standard tubing and 27 dBA with humidification, again in CPAP mode under the 2015 edition, and 33 and 35 dBA of sound power.

ResMed's US page calls it a fixed-pressure bilevel device, which holds the two pressures a prescriber sets. Its range starts lower, at 2 cm H2O, and the guide allows up to 15 L/min of supplemental oxygen.

Lowest 2020-edition figure, tied with the AirCurve 11 ASV

ResMed AirCurve 11 VAuto Auto-Adjusting Bilevel Machine

  • Noise: 26 dBA standard tubing and side cover / 27 dBA with HumidAir 11 tub, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020 and ISO 80601-2-79:2018)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: An auto-adjusting bilevel prescription filled with ResMed's current generation
  • Skip it if: You are comparing it with an AirCurve 10 on noise, since the two were tested to different editions

ResMed's December 2025 AirCurve 11 guide gives 26 dBA of sound pressure with standard air tubing and the side cover, and 27 dBA once a half-filled HumidAir 11 tub goes on, with 2 dBA of stated uncertainty on both.

Those come from ISO 80601-2-70:2020 together with ISO 80601-2-79:2018, a newer test than the AirCurve 10's, so the two generations are ranked apart. Sound power is 34 and 35 dBA. The US page lists the VAuto and the ASV.

ASV model, same 2020 figures as the VAuto

ResMed AirCurve 11 ASV Adaptive Servo-Ventilation Machine

  • Noise: 26 dBA standard tubing and side cover / 27 dBA with HumidAir 11 tub, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020 and ISO 80601-2-79:2018)
  • Price: No maker list price
  • Best for: Patients whose clinician has prescribed adaptive servo-ventilation
  • Skip it if: Your prescription is for VAuto or fixed bilevel therapy

The AirCurve 11 ASV is covered by the same ResMed guide and the same sound table: 26 dBA sound pressure with standard tubing and the side cover, rising to 27 dBA when the HumidAir 11 tub is fitted half full, to ISO 80601-2-70:2020 and ISO 80601-2-79:2018.

ResMed indicates its ASV modes for central or mixed apneas and periodic breathing, and its US page lists a heart failure contraindication, so a prescriber, not noise, decides who uses it.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

How loud is a BiPAP machine?

A ResMed bilevel machine declares 25 to 27 dBA of sound pressure, each value with an uncertainty of 2 dBA. The AirCurve 10 prints 25 without a humidifier under the 2015 edition, and both generations read 27 dBA with their water tubs.

Here is each declaration as ResMed printed it, sound pressure first:

  • AirCurve 10 VAuto and S: 25 dBA, 27 dBA with humidification (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)
  • AirCurve 11 VAuto and ASV: 26 dBA on the side cover, 27 dBA on the HumidAir 11 tub (ISO 80601-2-70:2020)

Sound power runs from 33 to 35 dBA across the same machines. It describes the energy the whole machine gives off, while sound pressure is the level measured at set points around it, so we list the two side by side and never rank one against the other. Our sound power vs sound pressure page explains the difference, and the decibel chart puts 25 dBA beside everyday sounds.

Why are the AirCurve 10 and AirCurve 11 ranked apart?

The AirCurve 10 and AirCurve 11 are ranked apart because ResMed measured them to different editions of ISO 80601-2-70, the standard for sleep apnea breathing therapy equipment that sets the noise test, with different tubing named in each table.

The AirCurve 10 guide cites the 2015 edition and adds "(CPAP mode)". The AirCurve 11 guide cites the 2020 edition together with ISO 80601-2-79:2018, a standard for ventilatory support equipment, and states no mode. Its figure is for standard air tubing, while the AirCurve 10 prints identical values for SlimLine and Standard tubing.

Each pair ties inside its own edition. We do not set the 25 against the 26, since the two were not produced by the same test.

Is the AirCurve 11 quieter than the AirCurve 10?

No, ResMed's guides do not show the AirCurve 11 as quieter. With no humidifier the AirCurve 10 prints 25 dBA and the AirCurve 11 prints 26, under different editions of the test, and both print 27 dBA with the tub.

A single decibel sits inside the 2 dBA uncertainty ResMed states for each figure, and the editions differ, so the gap cannot be read as a ranking either way. On paper, the newer generation left the tub figure exactly where it was, at 27 dBA.

ResMed's US page for the AirCurve 11 lists the VAuto and the ASV. Its US product guide for the pair carries no noise table, so the AirCurve 11 figures here come from ResMed's ANZ user guide, which names the same two models.

Is a BiPAP louder than a CPAP?

No, a ResMed bilevel declares no more noise than a ResMed CPAP under the same test. The AirCurve 10 and AirSense 11 both print 25 dBA with SlimLine tubing and 27 with humidification, in CPAP mode, 2015 edition.

That match comes from ResMed's AirCurve 10 guide and its Americas guide for the AirSense 11. Under the 2020 edition the tub figure also matches at 27 dBA, though ResMed's AirCurve 11 table names standard tubing and the AirSense 11 table names SlimLine.

The test itself is why the two read alike. A machine tested in CPAP mode holds one pressure, so the figure says nothing about the shift between inhale and exhale pressures that defines bilevel therapy.

For CPAP machines on their own, see our CPAP guide.

Does a humidifier make a BiPAP louder?

Yes, a water tub adds to the declared figure on every bilevel machine here that splits the two. ResMed's AirCurve 10 goes from 25 to 27 dBA with humidification, and the AirCurve 11 from 26 to 27 dBA.

Philips shows the same direction in its DreamStation BiPAP autoSV manual: 25.8 dB(A) for the device alone and 27.9 dB(A) with its humidifier, to ISO 80601-2-70:2015. Sound power climbs too, by 2 dBA on the AirCurve 10 and by 1 dBA on the AirCurve 11.

Whether the tub stays on is part of the therapy plan, so that call belongs to the prescriber and the equipment provider. If it comes off, read the side cover figure.

What do React Health's Luna G3 BPAP figures mean?

React Health's Luna G3 BPAP figures are ceilings: the LG3700 manual says the 25A's sound pressure and power "shall not exceed" 26 dB(A) and 34 dB(A) when it runs at 10 hPa, and puts 2 dB(A) of uncertainty on each.

The manual cites ISO 4871 for how the two numbers are laid out, and names no test standard. React Health's product page for the G3 Bilevel 25A gives the same pair as upper limits, and the manual for the Luna G3 BPAP 25VT and 30VT prints the same two limits at 10 cmH2O.

A not-to-exceed level is a limit the machine stays under, not the level it reached on the test bench. We quote it and leave the Luna G3 out of the ranked list, though it is the only bilevel here whose maker names the pressure used in the test.

Can you buy a new Philips DreamStation BiPAP?

No, Philips is restricted from selling new BiPAP machines in the US for now. The FDA says the April 2024 consent decree holds back new CPAP and BiPAP machines from several Philips Respironics facilities "until certain requirements are met".

The decree followed Philips's June 2021 recall of certain ventilators, CPAP and BiPAP machines. In the FDA's words, the foam at issue was "used in these devices to reduce sound and vibration". The recall and its remediation plan are set out on the FDA's page.

Philips did print figures before the decree. Its 2021 US manual for the DreamStation BiPAP autoSV declares 25.8 dB(A), or 27.9 with the humidifier, and the machine is listed under also considered.

Why is my BiPAP machine so loud?

ResMed's AirCurve 11 guide does not list noise as a fault. Its troubleshooting table starts with air leaking around the mask, and the machine's Mask Fit function checks the seal, reporting a good one when leak is under 24 L/min.

Air escaping past a cushion is the first problem in that table, and ResMed sends readers to the mask's own fitting instructions for it. After therapy stops, an AirCurve 11 keeps blowing a little air so that water does not condense in the tubing, and stops on its own after 30 minutes.

A machine that sounds wrong is a different case. React Health's Luna G3 manual says that if the device is "making unusual or harsh sounds", disconnect it and contact your healthcare provider. Philips's autoSV manual gives similar advice for unusual sounds.

Do you need a prescription for a BiPAP machine?

Yes, a BiPAP machine needs a US prescription. ResMed's AirCurve 10 guide says "In the US, Federal law restricts these devices to sale by or on the order of a physician", and React Health's Luna G3 manual agrees.

ResMed's US page for the AirCurve 11 states that "A bilevel PAP prescription is required". The prescription decides the model as well as the pressures: VAuto, S and ASV are different therapies, and ResMed lists a heart failure contraindication for ASV.

This page compares declared noise and nothing else. The manual for each machine, and the clinician who prescribed it, outrank anything written here.

How the quietest BiPAP machines compare

ProductNoiseSound powerTest pressurePressure rangeWeightPrice
ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto25 dBA SlimLine or Standard / 27 dBA with humidification, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)33 dBA / 35 dBA with humidificationNot stated4 to 25 cm H2O1248 g with the cleanable humidifierNot verified yet
ResMed AirCurve 10 S25 dBA SlimLine or Standard / 27 dBA with humidification, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2015, CPAP mode)33 dBA / 35 dBA with humidificationNot stated2 to 25 cm H2O1248 g with the cleanable humidifierNot verified yet
ResMed AirCurve 11 VAuto26 dBA standard tubing and side cover / 27 dBA with HumidAir 11 tub, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020 and ISO 80601-2-79:2018)34 dBA side cover / 35 dBA with HumidAir 11 tubNot statedIPAP 4 to 25, EPAP 4 to 25 cm H2O43 oz with the HumidAir 11 tub, 44 oz with the side coverNot verified yet
ResMed AirCurve 11 ASV26 dBA standard tubing and side cover / 27 dBA with HumidAir 11 tub, uncertainty 2 dBA (ISO 80601-2-70:2020 and ISO 80601-2-79:2018)34 dBA side cover / 35 dBA with HumidAir 11 tubNot statedEPAP 4 to 15 cm H2O, maximum 25 cm H2O43 oz with the HumidAir 11 tub, 44 oz with the side coverNot verified yet

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest BiPAP machine?

It depends which test edition you read. Under ISO 80601-2-70:2015, ResMed's AirCurve 10 VAuto and S tie at 25 dBA, or 27 with humidification. Under the 2020 edition, the AirCurve 11 VAuto and ASV share 26 dBA on the side cover and 27 on the tub.

How loud is a BiPAP machine?

ResMed's bilevel machines declare 25 to 27 dBA of sound pressure in the figures we found, depending on the generation and whether the water tub is fitted. React Health caps its Luna G3 BPAP 25A at 26 dB(A) at 10 hPa, and Philips's DreamStation BiPAP autoSV manual prints 25.8 dB(A).

Is a BiPAP louder than a CPAP?

Not on ResMed's paper. Its AirCurve 10 bilevel guide and its AirSense 11 CPAP guide for the Americas print 25 dBA with SlimLine tubing and 27 with humidification, and ResMed tested each to the 2015 edition with the machine in CPAP mode. Neither test captures the bilevel's switch between two pressures.

Is the AirCurve 11 quieter than the AirCurve 10?

No, not by ResMed's figures. The AirCurve 10 declares 25 dBA without humidification under ISO 80601-2-70:2015, the AirCurve 11 declares 26 dBA with the side cover under the 2020 edition, and both read 27 dBA with the water tub.

Is the AirCurve 11 ASV louder than the VAuto?

No. ResMed covers both in one AirCurve 11 guide with one sound table: 26 dBA of sound pressure on the side cover, 27 on the HumidAir 11 tub, and 2 dBA of uncertainty for both. The difference between them is the therapy they deliver.

Why does my BiPAP make noise when I stop therapy?

ResMed's AirCurve 11 guide explains that after therapy stops the machine keeps blowing a small amount of air so that water does not condense in the tubing, and that it stops by itself after 30 minutes.

Do you need a prescription for a BiPAP machine?

Yes, in the US. ResMed's AirCurve 10 guide marks its machines "Prescription only" under US federal law, its US page says a bilevel PAP prescription is required for an AirCurve 11, and React Health's Luna G3 manual carries the same federal restriction.

Can I still buy a new Philips DreamStation BiPAP?

Not new in the US for now. Under an April 2024 consent decree, the FDA reports, Philips Respironics may not make or sell new sleep therapy machines from several US facilities until it meets the decree's requirements. The decree also requires a remediation plan for patients affected by the June 2021 recall.

The bottom line

I assumed a bilevel machine would be the noisier ResMed, since it has to switch between two pressures with every breath. ResMed's own paperwork does not bear that out. The AirCurve 10 guide prints 25 dBA, the same number ResMed gives its AirSense CPAP machines, and it was measured in CPAP mode, so the paper never hears the swing from inhale to exhale pressure at all.

Between the two AirCurve generations I would not choose on noise. One decibel separates them with the side cover, under two editions of the test, inside a stated uncertainty of 2 dBA, and with the water tub fitted both read 27. I would let the prescription settle VAuto, S or ASV, then pick the generation my equipment provider stocks and supports.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • React Health Luna G3 BPAP 25A Bilevel Device (LG3700)

    React Health's LG3700 manual says that at 10 hPa the Luna G3 BPAP 25A's sound pressure and power "shall not exceed" 26 dB(A) and 34 dB(A), each with an uncertainty of 2 dB(A), and names no test standard. An upper bound is not a result, so the Luna is quoted here and kept out of the ranking.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • Philips Respironics DreamStation BiPAP autoSV

    Philips's 2021 US manual declares 25.8 dB(A) for the device and 27.9 dB(A) with its humidifier, to ISO 80601-2-70:2015. The FDA says Philips's April 2024 consent decree bars new Philips Respironics BiPAP sales from several US facilities until the company meets its terms, so it is not on the ranked list.

    Search Amazon for this model

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 15 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides