QuietSpecs

The quietest French door refrigerators: 3-door, 4-door and counter-depth models with a published figure

The quietest French door refrigerators: 3-door, 4-door and counter-depth models with a published figure

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For a classic 3-door French door, Hisense's HRF266N6CSE1 prints "Noise Level(dB(A)) 43" on its own spec sheet, names an inverter compressor, and keeps the ice maker in the freezer and the dispenser inside.
  • Want ice and water through the door?
  • Its 4-door sibling, the HRM260N6TSE, prints the same 43.
  • For counter depth, Midea's MRF27I6BST is the only shallow French door with a figure we could reopen, "Noice Level 43 dBA" as Midea spells it.
  • Miele's built-in KFNF 9959 iDE is the only French door that names its quantity, 44 dB(A) re 1 pW, and it is not the quietest.

Best 3-door French door

Hisense HRF266N6CSE1

Noise "Noise Level(dB(A)) 43" (maker spec sheet, no condition stated)

Price not verified yet

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Best 3-door French door

    Hisense HRF266N6CSE1

    "Noise Level(dB(A)) 43" (maker spec sheet, no condition stated)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  2. 2

    Best 4-door with a door dispenser

    Hisense HRM260N6TSE

    "Noise Level (dB(A)) 43" (maker spec sheet, no condition stated)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  3. 3

    Best counter-depth French door

    Midea MRF27I6BST

    "Noice Level 43 dBA" (maker page, as printed, no condition stated)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  4. 4

    Largest capacity with a published figure

    Midea MRF32I6BST

    "Noise Level(dB) 43 dBA" (maker page, as printed, no condition stated)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  5. 5

    Best dual-ice French door with a door dispenser

    Midea MRF29D6AST

    "Noise Level 43 dB" (maker page, no condition stated; spec sheet has no noise row)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  6. 6

    Only built-in French door with a declared figure

    Miele KFNF 9959 iDE

    "Sound emissions in dB(A) re 1 pW 44" (maker data sheet)

Our Picks

Hisense HRF266N6CSE1

#1 · Best 3-door French door

Hisense HRF266N6CSE1

Hisense

Noise"Noise Level(dB(A)) 43" (maker spec sheet, no condition stated)

Hisense's 26.6 cubic foot HRF266N6CSE1 is the classic layout, two doors over a freezer drawer, and its spec sheet fills in rows the big brands leave blank: "Noise Level(dB(A)) 43", "InverterCompressor Yes" and "DoorAlarm Yes". The ice maker lives in the freezer drawer and water comes from an internal filtered dispenser, so there is no through-the-door chute to clatter and no fridge-section ice maker pulling cold air through a duct in the door.

Buy it ifA family kitchen that wants the classic French door with the fewest noise makers in the door

Skip it ifYou want ice and water through the door, which is the HRM260N6TSE

What we like

  • The figure sits on a maker PDF, next to a named inverter compressor
  • Ice maker in the freezer only and an internal dispenser, so nothing in the door to hum
  • Two year parts and labor warranty stated on the sheet

What to know

  • Bare dB(A) with no standard, operating mode or distance
  • Standard depth, 33.07 inches with the door, so it stands proud of the counters
  • We found no user manual on Hisense's US pages, so no alarm or ice settings are quoted
Figure basis
Bare dB(A), quantity not named
Layout
3-door, standard depth, 26.6 cu ft, 33.07 in deep with door
Ice and water
Ice maker in the freezer, internal filtered dispenser
Compressor and alarm
"InverterCompressor Yes", "DoorAlarm Yes" (spec sheet)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 3

Check price on Amazon
Hisense HRM260N6TSE

#2 · Best 4-door with a door dispenser

Hisense HRM260N6TSE

Hisense

Noise"Noise Level (dB(A)) 43" (maker spec sheet, no condition stated)

The 25.6 cubic foot HRM260N6TSE adds a fourth door, a VersaTemp convertible drawer and a through-the-door ice and water dispenser, and its spec sheet carries the same "Noise Level (dB(A)) 43" as the 3-door, with "Inverter Compressor Yes" and "Door Alarm Yes" beside it. It is also the only pick whose maker states an air clearance on the sheet: 0.5 inch at each side and the top, 2.0 inches at the back.

Buy it ifA kitchen that wants cubed or crushed ice through the door and a drawer that converts

Skip it ifYou can live without a door dispenser; the HRF266N6CSE1 drops it

What we like

  • Same 43 dB(A) on the sheet as its 3-door sibling, dispenser included
  • Clearance stated by the maker: 0.5 in sides and top, 2.0 in back
  • Two year warranty, which the sheet calls twice as long as others

What to know

  • A door dispenser adds a water valve and an ice chute that no figure describes
  • Standard depth, 33.3 inches with the handle
  • The sheet says it is sold exclusively at one retailer
Figure basis
Bare dB(A), quantity not named
Layout
4-door, standard depth, 25.6 cu ft, 33.3 in deep with handle
Ice and water
Ice maker installed, through-the-door ice and water
Compressor and alarm
"Inverter Compressor Yes", "Door Alarm Yes" (spec sheet)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Midea MRF27I6BST

#3 · Best counter-depth French door

Midea MRF27I6BST

Midea

Noise"Noice Level 43 dBA" (maker page, as printed, no condition stated)

Midea's Counter-Depth PLUS is the shallowest French door here at 29 inches and the only counter-depth model with a figure we could reopen: "Noice Level 43 dBA", quoted with Midea's misspelling. Its spec sheet says "Compressor Type: Inverter" and "Door Alarm: Yes", and its manual is the frankest in this guide about night noise: two ice makers on by default with a button each, a first harvest about 7 hours after power-up, then "each ice making time is 100 min", and a buzzer after 2 minutes with a door open.

Buy it ifA counter-depth run where the fridge must sit near flush and still make two kinds of ice

Skip it ifYou want the most capacity; the MRF32I6BST shares its manual and its figure

What we like

  • The only counter-depth French door figure we could reopen
  • Each ice maker has its own on/off button; the display goes dark 30 seconds after the last press
  • The manual states the ice cycle time and says the compressor buzz is loudest at start and stop

What to know

  • Bare dBA, misspelled label, no condition
  • Two ice makers, both on by default
  • 26.5 cubic feet, about five less than its standard-depth sibling
Figure basis
Bare dBA, quantity not named
Layout
3-door, counter depth PLUS, 26.5 cu ft, 29 in deep
Ice and water
Dual ice makers, Water2Ways internal dispenser with AutoFill pitcher
Compressor and alarm
"Compressor Type: Inverter" (spec sheet); buzzer after 2 minutes open (manual)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Midea MRF32I6BST

#4 · Largest capacity with a published figure

Midea MRF32I6BST

Midea

Noise"Noise Level(dB) 43 dBA" (maker page, as printed, no condition stated)

At 31.7 cubic feet the MRF32I6BST is the biggest French door in this guide with a number attached: "Noise Level(dB) 43 dBA" on Midea's US page, a row whose label says dB and whose value says dBA. It is a standard-depth 3-door with an internal dispenser and dual ice makers, and it shares its user manual with the MRF27I6BST, so the same ice maker buttons, 100 minute ice cycle, 2 minute door buzzer and 30 second display timeout apply.

Buy it ifA big household that wants the most storage behind a French door with a published figure

Skip it ifYour cabinet run needs a counter-depth box

What we like

  • The most cubic feet of any French door here with a maker figure
  • Internal dispenser, so no chute in the door
  • Shares the MRF27I6BST manual, with every ice and alarm setting spelled out

What to know

  • Label and value disagree, dB against dBA, and no condition is named
  • 33.7 inches deep, standard depth
  • 714 kWh a year, the highest annual energy figure in this guide
Figure basis
Bare dB and dBA on one row, quantity not named
Layout
3-door, standard depth, 31.7 cu ft, 33.7 in deep
Ice and water
Dual ice makers, internal dispenser
Compressor and alarm
Door alarm listed; buzzer after 2 minutes open (shared manual)

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 3

Check price on Amazon
Midea MRF29D6AST

#5 · Best dual-ice French door with a door dispenser

Midea MRF29D6AST

Midea

Noise"Noise Level 43 dB" (maker page, no condition stated; spec sheet has no noise row)

The 29.3 cubic foot MRF29D6AST puts ice and water through the door and an ice maker in both the fridge and the freezer. Midea's page prints "Noise Level 43 dB", and its spec sheet lists "Dispenser Yes, Ice & Water" and "Door Alarm Yes". The spec sheet carries no noise row at all, so the 43 lives only on the web page, and the two documents disagree on the warranty: 2 years on the page, 1 year on the sheet.

Buy it ifA kitchen that goes through ice and wants it from the door without giving up a figure

Skip it ifYou want the figure on a maker PDF, which Hisense provides

What we like

  • Two ice makers and a door dispenser, with a figure still printed
  • Spec sheet states the dispenser and the door alarm
  • 29.3 cubic feet at 33.9 inches deep

What to know

  • The figure is on the page but not on the spec sheet
  • A door dispenser plus two ice makers is the busiest French door combination, and no figure covers it
  • Warranty stated two ways, 2 years and 1 year
Figure basis
Bare dB, quantity not named
Layout
3-door, standard depth, 29.3 cu ft, 33.9 in deep
Ice and water
Dual ice makers, through-the-door ice and water
Compressor and alarm
"Door Alarm Yes" (spec sheet); compressor type not stated

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon
Miele KFNF 9959 iDE

#6 · Only built-in French door with a declared figure

Miele KFNF 9959 iDE

Miele

Noise"Sound emissions in dB(A) re 1 pW 44" (maker data sheet)

Miele's 36 inch panel-ready KFNF 9959 iDE is the one built-in French door we found with a declared number, and the only pick that names its quantity: "Sound emissions in dB(A) re 1 pW 44", which is sound power. Its manual gives the night controls a French door needs. The ice maker can be switched off independently of the freezer, production stops on its own when the container fills, and the door alarm sounds after 3 minutes and stops with a touch.

Buy it ifA built-in kitchen that wants panels, a plumbed ice maker and a properly declared figure

Skip it ifYou want a freestanding box, or a figure below 44 on any basis

What we like

  • Names its quantity, sound power, so it compares cleanly with Miele's other declarations
  • Ice maker switches off on its own sensor and stops itself when the bin is full
  • The manual lists every normal noise and how to cure a rattle

What to know

  • 44 dB(A) re 1 pW, eight above Miele's freestanding bottom freezer on the same basis
  • Miele's US pages refused our requests, so the $9,449 price is the parent guide's
  • Ventilates only through the plinth, which must stay clear
Figure basis
Sound power, no mode stated
Layout
Built-in 36 in, panel ready, 18.89 cu ft, 24 in deep
Ice and water
IceMaker with plumbed water connection, no dispenser
Compressor and alarm
Acoustic door alarm after 3 minutes, touch to silence (manual)

$9,449.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 26

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseFigure basisLayoutIce and waterCompressor and alarmPrice
1.Hisense HRF266N6CSE1 (spec sheet: HRF266N6CSE)"Noise Level(dB(A)) 43" (maker spec sheet, no condition stated)Bare dB(A), quantity not named3-door, standard depth, 26.6 cu ft, 33.07 in deep with doorIce maker in the freezer, internal filtered dispenser"InverterCompressor Yes", "DoorAlarm Yes" (spec sheet)Not verified yet
2.Hisense HRM260N6TSE"Noise Level (dB(A)) 43" (maker spec sheet, no condition stated)Bare dB(A), quantity not named4-door, standard depth, 25.6 cu ft, 33.3 in deep with handleIce maker installed, through-the-door ice and water"Inverter Compressor Yes", "Door Alarm Yes" (spec sheet)Not verified yet
3.Midea MRF27I6BST"Noice Level 43 dBA" (maker page, as printed, no condition stated)Bare dBA, quantity not named3-door, counter depth PLUS, 26.5 cu ft, 29 in deepDual ice makers, Water2Ways internal dispenser with AutoFill pitcher"Compressor Type: Inverter" (spec sheet); buzzer after 2 minutes open (manual)Not verified yet
4.Midea MRF32I6BST"Noise Level(dB) 43 dBA" (maker page, as printed, no condition stated)Bare dB and dBA on one row, quantity not named3-door, standard depth, 31.7 cu ft, 33.7 in deepDual ice makers, internal dispenserDoor alarm listed; buzzer after 2 minutes open (shared manual)Not verified yet
5.Midea MRF29D6AST"Noise Level 43 dB" (maker page, no condition stated; spec sheet has no noise row)Bare dB, quantity not named3-door, standard depth, 29.3 cu ft, 33.9 in deepDual ice makers, through-the-door ice and water"Door Alarm Yes" (spec sheet); compressor type not statedNot verified yet
6.Miele KFNF 9959 iDE"Sound emissions in dB(A) re 1 pW 44" (maker data sheet)Sound power, no mode statedBuilt-in 36 in, panel ready, 18.89 cu ft, 24 in deepIceMaker with plumbed water connection, no dispenserAcoustic door alarm after 3 minutes, touch to silence (manual)$9,449.00 maker's list price

Buying Guide

French door is the refrigerator most American kitchens buy: two narrow doors over a freezer drawer, with a fourth door or a convertible drawer on the bigger models and a counter-depth version for a flush run of cabinets. It is also the layout that collects the most noise makers. A French door commonly carries an ice maker in the fridge section, sometimes a second one in the freezer, a water dispenser that may go through the door, and two doors that can each trip the alarm. The parent refrigerator guide ranks every configuration by its published number; this guide stays inside the French door layout and asks what the number leaves out.

The short version: French doors that publish a figure publish 43. Hisense prints "Noise Level (dB(A)) 43" on the spec sheets of its 3-door and 4-door models. Midea prints 43 on three French doors with three different labels. Miele declares 44 for its built-in, and alone among them says what the number is. The ranking below is therefore less about the number, which barely moves, and more about what each maker tells you about the ice maker, the dispenser, the compressor and the alarm, and about the depth and capacity you give up for each.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Three kinds of figure, kept apart

Every figure in this guide belongs to one of three groups, and we never rank one group against another, for the reasons in why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands.

  • Hisense, dB(A) on the spec sheet. Both Hisense French doors print their figure in a Performance table on a maker PDF: "Noise Level(dB(A)) 43" for the HRF266N6CSE and "Noise Level (dB(A)) 43" for the HRM260N6TSE. The product pages render no noise row at all, so the PDF is the source. No standard, distance or operating mode is named.
  • Midea, bare dB or dBA on the product page. The MRF27I6BST prints "Noice Level 43 dBA", the MRF32I6BST prints "Noise Level(dB) 43 dBA", with dB in the label and dBA in the value, and the MRF29D6AST prints "Noise Level 43 dB". The MRF29D6AST spec sheet PDF has no noise row, and the MRF27I6BST spec sheet does not repeat the figure either. Midea's number lives on the web page.
  • Miele, sound power. The KFNF 9959 iDE data sheet declares "Sound emissions in dB(A) re 1 pW 44". That "re 1 pW" makes it sound power, the EU label quantity, and it is the only French door figure here with its quantity stated. Sound power is what the appliance emits, not what reaches your ear across the kitchen; the difference is in our sound power vs sound pressure explainer.

Hisense's "dB(A)" and Midea's "dBA" may describe the same thing, and both may be sound power like Miele's, but no document says so, and we do not assume it. Within Hisense the two models tie. Within Midea the three tie. So the order of the picks comes from the layout and the paperwork, not from a decibel that does not move.

A refrigerator figure of 43 sits near a quiet library on our decibel chart, and roughly every 10 dB is a doubling of perceived loudness. That makes Miele's 8 point gap between its freestanding bottom freezer, declared at 36, and this built-in French door, declared at 44, close to twice as loud on paper. A 1 point gap, the kind Midea's labels might hide, means nothing.

What a French door adds that the figure does not cover

No maker here names the operating state its figure describes, and a French door has more states than most refrigerators.

The fridge-section ice maker. In a classic bottom freezer the ice maker sits in the freezer. Many French doors move it up into the fridge section, often into the left door, and feed it cold air through a duct so that ice can be dispensed through the door. Midea's MRF27I6BST, MRF32I6BST and MRF29D6AST all run two ice makers, one up and one down. Hisense's HRF266N6CSE1 keeps its single ice maker in the freezer, and its energy guide says plainly "No through-the-door Ice"; its 4-door sibling, the HRM260N6TSE, has the door dispenser.

The harvest rhythm. Midea's manual, shared between the MRF27I6BST and the MRF32I6BST, is the only document here that gives the cycle: about 7 hours to the first ice after power-up, then "each ice making time is 100 min" at 21°C with the doors shut. A large cube batch is about 10 cubes, a small cube batch about 18. An eight hour night can therefore hold four or five harvests from each ice maker, and each harvest ends with ice dropping into a box. Miele's manual describes the same moment: "As soon as the water is frozen, the ice cubes drop out of the ice maker into the ice cube container." Miele also says production stops by itself "when a certain volume is reached", so a full bin is a quiet one.

Switching it off. Midea's manual says "The ice maker function is turned on by default. If you do not need ice, you need to manually turn off the ice maker", and the panel has a button for each ice maker. Miele's "can be switched off independently of the freezer section" by touching its sensor until the indicator goes out. Hisense's spec sheets say "Ice Maker Installed" and nothing about control; we found no user manual on Hisense's US product or support pages, so we quote none.

The dispenser. A through-the-door dispenser adds a water valve, a chute and, for crushed ice, a crusher. The HRM260N6TSE and MRF29D6AST have one; the HRF266N6CSE1, MRF27I6BST and MRF32I6BST dispense inside the fridge. The only dispenser sound a manual names is Midea's, during the air purge on first use: "the noise from the dispenser may be loud due to the air being expelled", for the five minutes or so it takes to flush about 2.5 gallons.

Compressor starts and stops

Both Hisense sheets print "Inverter Compressor Yes", and Midea's MRF27I6BST spec sheet says "Compressor Type: Inverter". An inverter compressor can run slowly for long stretches instead of switching between off and full output, which usually trades hard cycling for a lower, steadier hum. That is a type, not a measurement, and no maker publishes a figure for the ramp.

What the manuals do describe is the start. Midea's lists it under abnormal noise and then calls it normal: "Buzz: The compressor may produce buzzes during operation, and the buzzes are loud particularly upon start or stop", with "Creak" from refrigerant flowing. Miele's table of normal noises opens with "Brrrrr... A humming noise is made by the motor (compressor). This noise can get louder for brief periods when the motor switches on", followed by "Blub, blub" from circulating coolant, "Click" when the thermostat switches the motor, "Sssrrrrr" from the fan and "Crack" as materials expand. Miele's manual adds that "a certain amount of noise is unavoidable".

For a kitchen that opens onto the living room, those starts are the sounds you notice at night, more than the steady hum the figure probably describes. Where a fridge sits among the kitchen's other sounds, and when each one stops for the night, is on our page on planning a quiet open-plan kitchen.

Door alarms and lights

A French door has two fridge doors, and either one left ajar trips the alarm.

  • Midea (MRF27I6BST and MRF32I6BST manual): "If the door is left open for more than 2 minutes, the door open alarm will be triggered and the buzzer will sound." The display "will be off after 30 seconds, and will be on again when any button is pressed", and a start-up bell rings when the fridge is first powered. The MRF29D6AST spec sheet lists "Door Alarm Yes" and its manual was not linked on the pages we read.
  • Miele (KFNF 9959 iDE): "The alarm will sound if the door or a freezer drawer is left open for more than 3 minutes." Touching the alarm sensor turns it off early, and the manual has a separate temperature alarm with the same touch to silence it. The data sheet lists an acoustic door alarm and both acoustic and optical temperature alarms.
  • Hisense: "Door Alarm Yes" on both spec sheets, and no manual we could read, so no delay or mute is quoted.

Midea's MRF27I6BST spec sheet and Miele's manual both list a Sabbath mode. It silences alarms and lights, but it is built for religious observance and disables safety alarms with the rest, so we do not treat it as a night mode.

Counter depth, standard depth and the air behind the box

A counter-depth French door is a shallower freestanding box, not a built-in. Midea's MRF27I6BST is 29 inches deep and marketed as flush with countertops; the standard-depth MRF32I6BST is 33.7 inches, the MRF29D6AST 33.9, the Hisense HRM260N6TSE 33.3 with its handle and the HRF266N6CSE1 33.07 with its door. The price of the shallow box is capacity: 26.5 cubic feet against 31.7 in Midea's own range. Miele's KFNF 9959 iDE is a true built-in, 24 inches deep in a 25 inch niche behind your own panels, and the loudest declared figure here.

Depth does not change the figure. It changes how much air the condenser gets, and the makers are specific about that:

  • Hisense HRM260N6TSE: the spec sheet's installation table asks for 0.5 inch of air clearance at each side and the top and 2.0 inches at the back, the tightest stated clearance in this guide.
  • Midea MRF27I6BST and MRF32I6BST: the manual's diagram asks for more than 2 inches (50 mm) at the back, and if a side must sit against a wall, "a clearance of more than 1-1/2" (38mm) between the sides of the unit and the wall", plus the height of the handle on handled models. It warns that inadequate clearance "may result in the degradation of freezing capability and increased electricity costs".
  • Miele KFNF 9959 iDE: ventilation "occurs via the ventilation slit in the appliance plinth", only the supplied plinth panel may be used, and if the slits are blocked "the compressor will run more frequently and for longer periods".

A fridge that runs longer is a fridge you hear longer, whatever its figure says.

Stopping rattles before you blame the figure

Every manual puts the cheap fixes first. Midea: "To avoid vibration, the appliance must be leveled", with the front slightly higher than the rear to help the doors close, and for loud noises, "Check whether the floor is level and whether the refrigerator is placed stably". Miele's table of noises you can eliminate lists an uneven appliance, an appliance touching another appliance or furniture, drawers and shelves that jiggle, bottles that touch and a transport cord clip still hanging on the back. Hisense lists leveling legs on its spec sheet. A French door's two doors also need to be level with each other; Midea's manual walks through raising the lower door to match the higher one.

The silent majority

The brands that sell most French doors in the United States publish nothing per model, and we checked again for this guide. LG's LRFCS2503S spec sheet lists "LoDecibel Quiet Operation Yes" and no number. GE's GFE28HGHWW spec sheet has no noise line. Samsung's Bespoke 4-Door Flex RF29DB9600QLAA page lists no figure. Bosch's buying guide repeats that its refrigerators run "as quiet as our dishwashers, at 40 dBa", and the spec sheets for four Bosch French doors, the B36CT81ENS, B36CL81ENW, B36CD50SNS and B36FD50SNS, carry no noise row; some retailers print a figure for Bosch that Bosch's own documents do not, and we do not use it. Frigidaire's and Whirlpool's sites refused our requests outright, as did Beko's, whose counter-depth BFFD3624ZSS led the parent guide at 35 dBA. Those models sit in also-considered until we can reopen them.

If ice matters more than the fridge, the standalone machines in our ice maker guide publish figures with far better conditions than any refrigerator does.

What quiet costs here

The two Hisense models and the three Midea models tie on the figure, so the costs are in the layout. The counter-depth MRF27I6BST gives up about five cubic feet to sit flush. The models with a door dispenser, the HRM260N6TSE and the MRF29D6AST, carry a valve and a chute the figure does not describe. Switching off an ice maker at night means less ice in the morning, and switching off a door alarm means no warning for a door left ajar. The only built-in French door with a declared figure costs the most and declares the highest number. And the French door with the lowest figure we have ever seen, Beko's 35 dBA, is the one we could not reopen.

How we chose

We started from the parent guide's catalog, kept the French door models, and reopened every maker page, spec sheet and manual we quote on October 3, 2026. We added the Hisense HRF266N6CSE1 from its Hisense USA product page, spec sheet and energy guide, and the Midea MRF32I6BST from its Midea US page and the manual it shares with the MRF27I6BST. Figures are quoted as printed, misspellings included. Miele's product pages refused our requests, so its figure comes from the data sheet and its price is the one the parent guide saw. Beko's, Frigidaire's and Whirlpool's sites refused our requests, and we say so wherever it matters.

We did not measure any of these refrigerators. Every figure is the maker's own, quoted as published with whatever basis the maker gives, and every ice cycle, alarm, clearance and normal noise comes from the maker's own spec sheet or manual.

Common questions

What is the quietest French door refrigerator?

By maker figures, the French doors that publish anything cluster at 43: Hisense's HRF266N6CSE1 and HRM260N6TSE at "43" dB(A) on their spec sheets, and Midea's MRF27I6BST, MRF32I6BST and MRF29D6AST at 43 on their product pages. Miele's built-in KFNF 9959 iDE declares 44 dB(A) re 1 pW, a sound power figure that cannot be ranked against the others. Beko listed 35 dBA for its BFFD3624ZSS when the parent guide checked, but its site refused our requests for this guide, so we could not confirm it.

Is 43 dB loud for a refrigerator?

On our decibel chart 43 sits between a quiet library and a soft conversation, and it is a figure for the fridge settled, not harvesting ice. The useful comparison is inside one maker's range: Midea's counter-depth side by side prints 40, three below its French doors, and Miele's freestanding bottom freezer declares 36 against the built-in French door's 44. Roughly every 10 dB is a doubling of perceived loudness, so Miele's 8 point gap is close to twice as loud on paper, while a 1 point gap means nothing.

Does the ice maker make a French door louder?

The manuals say yes, in bursts. Midea's MRF27I6BST and MRF32I6BST manual says the first ice arrives about 7 hours after power-up and then "each ice making time is 100 min", so an eight hour night can hold four or five harvests, each ending with ice dropping into the box. Miele's manual describes the same drop: "the ice cubes drop out of the ice maker into the ice cube container". No published figure names the ice maker as part of its condition.

Is a 4-door French door noisier than a 3-door?

Not on the figures. Hisense prints 43 dB(A) for both its 4-door HRM260N6TSE and its 3-door HRF266N6CSE1. What the fourth door usually brings is a convertible drawer and, on the Hisense, a through-the-door dispenser, and it is the dispenser and any fridge-section ice maker, not the door count, that add valves, chutes and harvests the figure does not cover.

How do I stop a French door refrigerator beeping with the door open?

Close both doors fully, since a French door has two that can trip it. Midea's manual says the buzzer sounds after a door is open "for more than 2 minutes". Miele's sounds after 3 minutes and stops when you touch the alarm sensor. Hisense's spec sheets list "Door Alarm Yes" but we found no manual on its US site, so we cannot say how long it waits.

Is a counter-depth French door quieter?

No maker figure says so. Midea's counter-depth MRF27I6BST prints 43, the same as its standard-depth MRF32I6BST and MRF29D6AST. Counter depth buys a shallower box and about five fewer cubic feet, not a lower number, and the shallow cabinet makes ventilation matter more: Miele warns that without enough air the compressor "will run more frequently and for longer periods".

Do LG, Samsung, GE, Whirlpool or Frigidaire publish French door noise figures?

We found none. LG's LRFCS2503S spec sheet lists "LoDecibel Quiet Operation Yes" with no number, GE's GFE28HGHWW sheet has no noise line, and Samsung's Bespoke RF29DB9600QLAA page lists nothing. Frigidaire's and Whirlpool's sites refused our requests while we wrote this guide; the parent guide checked both model by model and found nothing. Bosch prints a brand-level 40 dBa sentence and no per-model row.

Why does my French door refrigerator buzz when it starts?

Midea's manual calls it normal: "The compressor may produce buzzes during operation, and the buzzes are loud particularly upon start or stop." Miele's says the compressor hum "can get louder for brief periods when the motor switches on" and that clicks come from the thermostat switching. Hisense and Midea both name an inverter compressor on their sheets, which can run slower for longer, but neither publishes a figure for the start.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Midea MRQ23B4AST

    The 22.5 cubic foot counter-depth 4-door prints "Noise Level 43 dB", but on October 3, 2026 its Midea page carried the label "The product is no longer available", so we do not rank it.

    See it at Amazon
  • Beko BFFD3624ZSS

    The parent guide's best overall, a counter-depth French door that Beko listed at "Noise Level 35 dBA" on September 26, 2026. Beko's US and global sites answered every request we made for this guide with an Access Denied page, so we could not reopen the figure or read the manual, and we do not rank it.

    See it at Amazon
  • Beko BFFD3614ZSS

    The standard-depth twin, listed at the same "Noise Level 35 dBA" on September 26, 2026, and refused on the same days.

    See it at Amazon
  • Bosch B36CT81ENS

    Bosch's buying guide still says its refrigerators run "as quiet as our dishwashers, at 40 dBa", but the spec sheets for this model and for the B36CL81ENW, B36CD50SNS and B36FD50SNS French doors carry no noise row. A brand sentence is not a model figure.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides