QuietSpecs

The quietest cordless vacuum for pet hair, at the power mode fur actually needs

The quietest cordless vacuum for pet hair, at the power mode fur actually needs

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • For a heavy shedder on carpet, the Roborock H60 Hub Ultra: Roborock publishes its MAX mode at 83 dB(A) or less, sound power, it has an anti-tangle brush, and its dock takes fur into a 3L bag and can be set to empty only when you press.
  • If you would rather skip the dock, the plain H60 lists 81 dB(A) or less in MAX.
  • Among Dysons, the V15 Detect is the one whose maker splits Boost by floor: 82 dBA on carpet and 87 dBA on hardwood.

Best for a heavy shedder on carpet

Roborock H60 Hub Ultra

Noise 83 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)

$269.99 maker's list price · checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    Best for a heavy shedder on carpet

    Roborock H60 Hub Ultra

    83 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)

  2. 2

    Best without a dock, with every mode published

    Roborock H60

    81 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)

  3. 3

    Best compact dock for fur

    Roborock H60 Hub

    81 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)

  4. 4

    Best for knowing carpet against hard floor

    Dyson V15 Detect

    82 dBA Boost on carpet, 87 dBA on hardwood (maker)

  5. 5

    Most stated suction, with a Boost figure on carpet

    Dyson Gen5detect Absolute

    84 dBA Boost, Motorbar head on carpet (maker)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  6. 6

    Lowest figure at a named low setting, for light shedders

    SEBO BALANCE A1

    69 dB on Power Level 1 (maker; page also says 70 dB)

    Price not verifiedCheck price →

Our Picks

Roborock H60 Hub Ultra

#1 · Best for a heavy shedder on carpet

Roborock H60 Hub Ultra

Roborock

Noise83 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)

Roborock publishes every mode for the H60 family, so you can see what fur costs: 75 dB(A) or less in ECO and 83 dB(A) or less in MAX on the Ultra, all sound power and all upper limits. That MAX figure is the highest in the family, but it is printed, which no other dock stick here can say. Roborock calls the brush roll a Zero-Tangle Brush, says its motorized mini-brush removes pet hair from sofas "with zero hair tangling", and the dock seals fur into a 3L bag. Hold the dock button for 3 seconds and it empties only when you press it.

Buy it ifA long-haired dog or several cats, with rugs or carpet

Skip it ifYou want the lowest MAX figure Roborock prints; the H60 and H60 Hub list 81 or less

What we like

  • MAX published: 83 dB(A) or less, sound power, alongside ECO and MED
  • 3L dock bag, the largest here, with a manual emptying mode
  • Anti-tangle floor brush and a motorized mini-brush for upholstery

What to know

  • 8 minutes in MAX with the multi-surface brush
  • The highest MAX figure in the H60 family
  • No published figure for the dock emptying
Figure type
Sound power, upper limit
Run time in that mode
8 min MAX, 60 min ECO (multi-surface brush)
Hair handling
Zero-Tangle Brush, motorized mini-brush (maker)
Bin or dock
Auto-empty dock, 3L bag, manual mode

$269.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon
Roborock H60

#2 · Best without a dock, with every mode published

Roborock H60

Roborock

Noise81 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)

The plain H60 shares the family's 75 dB(A) or less in ECO and has a lower MAX figure than the Ultra: 81 dB(A) or less, on the same sound power basis. Roborock says its JawScrapers brush separates hair to minimize tangles and calls it "perfect for pet-friendly households". With no dock there is no emptying burst to send a nervous cat under the bed, but you empty the bin by hand, and fur fills a stick bin fast.

Buy it ifA cat or small dog, with quick daily passes

Skip it ifYou do not want to empty a fur-packed bin by hand

What we like

  • 81 dB(A) or less in MAX, 2 dB under the Ultra on the same basis
  • Anti-tangle JawScrapers brush, pitched at pet homes
  • No dock, so no emptying burst

What to know

  • 8 minutes in MAX with the multi-surface brush
  • Bin emptied by hand; Roborock gives no bin volume on the pages we read
  • Starts in MED every time, per the manual
Figure type
Sound power, upper limit
Run time in that mode
8 min MAX, 45 min ECO (multi-surface brush)
Hair handling
Anti-Tangle JawScrapers brush (maker)
Bin or dock
Hand-emptied bin, no auto-empty

$149.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on us.roborock.com

Roborock H60 Hub

#3 · Best compact dock for fur

Roborock H60 Hub

Roborock

Noise81 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)

The H60 Hub has the plain H60's figures, 81 dB(A) or less in MAX and 75 or less in ECO, and adds a semi-size auto-empty dock. Roborock says that "In just 10 seconds" dust is sealed into a 2L bag, the only emptying time a stick maker here publishes. Its dust cup holds 0.13 gal, so with a shedder the dock earns its place. Like the Ultra, it can be switched to manual emptying, and Roborock says its motorized mini-brush lifts pet hair from sofas and beds.

Buy it ifA pet home with a narrow hall or small utility room

Skip it ifYou want the larger 3L bag of the Ultra

What we like

  • 81 dB(A) or less in MAX, the lower of the two dock models
  • Emptying time published: about 10 seconds into a 2L bag
  • Manual emptying mode and a motorized mini-brush

What to know

  • 115AW, the lowest stated suction in the H60 range
  • 0.13 gal dust cup fills fast with fur
  • No published noise figure for the emptying
Figure type
Sound power, upper limit
Run time in that mode
8 min MAX, 45 min ECO (multi-surface brush)
Hair handling
Zero-Tangle Brush, motorized mini-brush (maker)
Bin or dock
0.13 gal cup; dock with 2L bag, manual mode

$164.99

maker's list price · checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon
Dyson V15 Detect

#4 · Best for knowing carpet against hard floor

Dyson V15 Detect

Dyson

Noise82 dBA Boost on carpet, 87 dBA on hardwood (maker)

Dyson's sheet gives the V15 Detect's Boost mode by floor: "82dBA on carpet, 87dBA on hardwood floor", as sound power. That is the most useful single line for a pet owner, because it shows Boost on bare boards is the louder case. The manual says the High Torque head's polycarbonate teeth "prevent tangling around the bristles", and the Hair screw tool's conical brush bar "spirals hair off and into the bin". It has no Eco or Auto figure, and Auto raises suction by itself when it counts more dust.

Buy it ifMixed floors where you want to know which room is louder

Skip it ifYou need a published low-mode figure

What we like

  • Boost split by floor: 82 dBA carpet, 87 dBA hardwood
  • Anti-tangle comb on the floor head and a Hair screw tool
  • 0.77 L bin, larger than the H60 Hub cup

What to know

  • No Eco or Auto figure published
  • Auto mode raises suction when it counts more dust
  • No run time on the spec sheet we read
Figure type
Sound power
Run time in that mode
Not on the spec sheet
Hair handling
Anti-tangle comb, Hair screw tool (maker)
Bin or dock
0.77 L bin, Wall Dok, no auto-empty

$849.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon
Dyson Gen5detect Absolute

#5 · Most stated suction, with a Boost figure on carpet

Dyson Gen5detect Absolute

Dyson

Noise84 dBA Boost, Motorbar head on carpet (maker)

Dyson's Australian and New Zealand sheet for the Gen5detect Absolute lists "Boost mode: 84 dBA (Digital Motorbar cleaner head on carpet)", sound power, with 262AW of suction, the highest suction figure among the picks. Against the V15 Detect's 82 dBA in Boost on carpet it is 2 dBA higher, though only the Gen5detect sheet names the cleaner head. The box includes a Digital Motorbar head with an anti-tangle comb and a Hair screw tool, and the 0.77 L bin matches the V15's.

Buy it ifA large carpeted home with a heavy shedder

Skip it ifYou want the lower of the two Dyson Boost figures

What we like

  • Boost on carpet published, with the cleaner head named
  • 262AW, the highest stated suction here
  • Up to 70 minutes in Eco, and two hair tools in the box

What to know

  • 84 dBA in Boost on carpet, above the V15 Detect's 82
  • No hard floor or Eco noise figure
  • The figure is from Dyson's Australian sheet; no US price could be checked
Figure type
Sound power
Run time in that mode
Boost not given; up to 70 min Eco
Hair handling
Anti-tangle comb, Hair screw tool (maker)
Bin or dock
0.77 L bin, no auto-empty

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Oct 5

Check price on Amazon
SEBO BALANCE A1

#6 · Lowest figure at a named low setting, for light shedders

SEBO BALANCE A1

SEBO

Noise69 dB on Power Level 1 (maker; page also says 70 dB)

SEBO says the BALANCE A1 "operates quietly at only 69 dB on Power Level 1", and later on the same page gives 70 dB. It does not say whether that is sound power or sound pressure, so it sits in a group of its own. For a short-haired cat on hard floors, the low setting may be all you run. SEBO says the electric brush has "self-cleaning anti-hair-wrap technology", and it shuts off if hair jams the roller. It publishes no figure for Power Level 3, the one a rug full of fur would need.

Buy it ifA short-haired cat or small dog, mostly hard floors

Skip it ifYour pet sheds heavily onto carpet

What we like

  • Figure at Power Level 1, the setting a light shedder may need
  • Self-cleaning anti-hair-wrap brush (maker)
  • Shuts off automatically if the brush roller jams

What to know

  • Page gives both 69 dB and 70 dB, with no basis stated
  • No figure for Power Level 3
  • Dealer only, with no published price
Figure type
Not stated
Run time in that mode
48 min level one, up to 20 min level three
Hair handling
Self-cleaning anti-hair-wrap brush (maker)
Bin or dock
Hand-emptied bin, no auto-empty

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 22

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoiseFigure typeRun time in that modeHair handlingBin or dockPrice
1.Roborock H9A1A83 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)Sound power, upper limit8 min MAX, 60 min ECO (multi-surface brush)Zero-Tangle Brush, motorized mini-brush (maker)Auto-empty dock, 3L bag, manual mode$269.99 maker's list price
2.Roborock H10A3A81 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)Sound power, upper limit8 min MAX, 45 min ECO (multi-surface brush)Anti-Tangle JawScrapers brush (maker)Hand-emptied bin, no auto-empty$149.99 maker's list price
3.Roborock H9A3A81 dB(A) or less MAX, 75 or less ECO (maker)Sound power, upper limit8 min MAX, 45 min ECO (multi-surface brush)Zero-Tangle Brush, motorized mini-brush (maker)0.13 gal cup; dock with 2L bag, manual mode$164.99 maker's list price
4.Dyson V15 Detect82 dBA Boost on carpet, 87 dBA on hardwood (maker)Sound powerNot on the spec sheetAnti-tangle comb, Hair screw tool (maker)0.77 L bin, Wall Dok, no auto-empty$849.99 maker's list price
5.Dyson Gen5detect Absolute84 dBA Boost, Motorbar head on carpet (maker)Sound powerBoost not given; up to 70 min EcoAnti-tangle comb, Hair screw tool (maker)0.77 L bin, no auto-emptyNot verified yet
6.SEBO BALANCE A169 dB on Power Level 1 (maker; page also says 70 dB)Not stated48 min level one, up to 20 min level threeSelf-cleaning anti-hair-wrap brush (maker)Hand-emptied bin, no auto-emptyNot verified yet

Buying Guide

A stick vacuum in a home with a dog or cat does a different job from the one its noise figure usually describes. The quiet number on the box, where there is one, is for Eco. Fur pressed into a rug calls for the strongest mode. The brush roll wraps with hair, the bin fills in one room, and the animal is often lying on the floor you are about to clean.

This guide takes the stick vacuums from our quietest cordless stick vacuums guide and reads them for a pet home. That guide ranks for the low mode you would run early or late; this one looks for the figure at the mode fur needs, then at what keeps hair off the brush roll, how much the bin holds, how long the battery lasts at full power, and what a self-emptying dock adds.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

The figure you need is the loud one

The makers say plainly which mode is for embedded dirt. Dyson's V15 Detect manual describes Boost as "Designed for intensive spot cleaning of ground-in dirt", Eco as "Maximum run time for longer cleans", and Auto as the mode where "Suction power automatically adapts to dust levels". Roborock's H60 page lists "everyday dust, routine cleaning, or deep dirt in carpets" alongside its three modes, ECO, MED and MAX. Pet hair worked into carpet fibres is the deep dirt.

So we looked for a noise figure at MAX or Boost. Of the brands we read, two publish one for a cordless stick:

  • Roborock, for the whole H60 family: "MAX mode (Sound power level by hemispherical measurement): ≤ 81 dB (A)" for the H60 and H60 Hub, "≤ 83 dB (A)" for the H60 Hub Ultra and H60 Ultra, and "≤ 82 dB (A)" for the Pro models. ECO is "≤ 75 dB (A)" across the family.
  • Dyson, for two current machines: the V15 Detect at "In Boost mode 82dBA on carpet, 87dBA on hardwood floor", and the Gen5detect at "Boost mode: 84 dBA (Digital Motorbar cleaner head on carpet)". Both are given as sound power.

On the H60 Hub Ultra, ECO to MAX is a rise of up to 8 dB in the upper limit, and 6 dB on the H60 and H60 Hub. Roughly every 10 dB sounds about twice as loud, so the pet-hair mode is a clear step up from the figure most reviews quote.

Compare like with like

We only rank inside a group with the same unit, the same kind of figure and the same mode label.

  • Roborock MAX, sound power, upper limits. H60 and H60 Hub 81 or less, H60 Hub Ultra 83 or less. The H60 and H60 Hub are lower.
  • Dyson Boost on carpet, sound power. V15 Detect 82 dBA, Gen5detect 84 dBA. The V15 is lower, though only the Gen5detect sheet names the cleaner head.
  • SEBO Power Level 1, basis not stated. The BALANCE A1 at 69 dB, or 70 dB further down the same page. A low setting, so it says nothing about the setting a rug of fur needs.

Roborock's MAX and Dyson's Boost are both top modes, but they are each maker's own label, and Roborock's figures are upper limits marked "≤" while Dyson's are single declared values. We set them side by side, not in one ranking. Our explainer on sound power vs sound pressure covers why a figure needs its basis before it means anything, and why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands covers the rest.

Carpet against hard floor

Dyson's V15 sheet is the only place a stick maker shows what the floor does to the noise: 82 dBA in Boost on carpet, 87 dBA on hardwood. Same machine, same mode, same basis, 5 dB apart, with hard floor the louder one.

That cuts both ways for a pet owner. Fur on a hard floor sits on top and does not need Boost the way a rug does, so the loudest combination is often the one you can avoid. Fur on carpet needs the strong mode, but carpet is the quieter surface for it. If your home is mostly bare floors and a short-haired cat, try MED or Auto first and keep Boost for the rug by the sofa.

Two cautions. Dyson's Auto mode raises suction on its own when the sensor counts more dust, and the V15 manual says "Automatic adjustment between hard floors and carpets will continue, when using the High Torque cleaner head", even with particle counting turned off. And Roborock's manual says its multi-surface brush is meant for "tiles, floors, and low-pile carpets (2 cm/0.79 in or less)", so a deep shag rug is outside what Roborock describes for that head.

Brush rolls that do not wrap

Hair wound round a brush roll makes a vacuum work harder, and a loaded roll can stop altogether. Roborock's H60 manual says that if a head is "tangled with much hair, the roller may stop working", and that it should be cleared promptly. Every anti-tangle claim here is the maker's own, and none names a test or a certifier.

  • Dyson says the V15's High Torque head has "Polycarbonate teeth" that "prevent tangling around the bristles". The Gen5detect sheet lists a Digital Motorbar head "with anti-tangle comb".
  • Roborock says the H60's JawScrapers hybrid brush uses a "curved shark-tooth design and integrated fiber-rubber roller" to "capture, guide, and separate hair, minimizing tangles", and calls it "perfect for pet-friendly households". The Hub models list a Zero-Tangle Brush.
  • SEBO says the BALANCE A1's electric brush has "self-cleaning anti-hair-wrap technology", and that the machine shuts off if the roller jams.
  • Shark says the PowerPro Pet's "self-cleaning PowerFins nozzle ensures no hair wrap".

Treat all of these as reducing the job, not ending it. Our explainer on why your appliance got louder covers how a slowly clogging path raises noise so gradually you stop noticing it, and fur does exactly that.

Pet tools for the sofa and the dog bed

The floor head is only half of pet hair. The rest is on the sofa, the stairs and the dog bed, and the makers sell small tools for it.

Dyson's Hair screw tool has an "Anti-tangle conical brush bar" that "spirals hair off and into the bin", and both the V15 Professional edition and the Gen5detect Absolute include one. Roborock says the H60 Hub models' motorized mini-brush "removes dust and pet hair from sofas, beds, and fabrics", with "zero hair tangling" on the Ultra. Samsung's Jet Pet sheet says its Pet Tool+ has "a unique design that cuts pet hair to prevent tangles". Shark ships a Pet Multi-Tool with the PowerDetect Clean and Empty and the PowerPro Pet. Tineco goes furthest: the PURE ONE Station FurFree comes with a grooming kit that "gently detangles and smooths pet hair" and vacuums up what it removes. Whether your dog tolerates a running vacuum on its coat is between you and the dog; Tineco publishes no noise figure for that tool.

Bin size and emptying

A shedder fills a stick bin quickly, so the bin size matters more than it would otherwise. Dyson lists 0.77 L for both the V15 Detect and the Gen5detect. Roborock lists the H60 Hub's dust cup at 0.13 gal, which is why its dock matters. Shark lists the PowerDetect Clean and Empty dust cup at 0.72 qt and the PowerPro Pet at 0.8 qt. We found no bin volume for the plain H60 or the SEBO on the pages we read.

Run time in the strong mode

MAX and Boost use the battery fast. Roborock's support article gives all three H60 models 8 minutes in MAX with the multi-surface brush, against 45 minutes in ECO for the H60 and H60 Hub and 60 for the Ultra. SEBO gives the BALANCE A1 48 minutes at Power Level 1 and "up to 20 minutes at Power-level Three". Samsung's Jet Pet sheet listed 10 minutes in Max and 3 in Jet. Dyson gives no Boost run time on the sheets we read: the Gen5detect sheet says "Up to 70 minutes in Eco mode", and the V15 Professional sheet gives no run time at all.

Eight minutes is enough for one rug, not a whole house. The practical routine is the lower mode for most floors and the strong mode only where fur is pressed in.

Self-emptying docks

The dock is where a pet home gains most and where the makers say least about noise. No stick maker we read publishes a figure for the emptying burst. What Roborock does publish is how long it takes and how to control it. The H60 Hub page says that "In just 10 seconds" dust is sealed into a 2L dust bag. Both H60 Hub manuals say "Press and hold the Dust Evacuation button for 3 seconds to switch between automatic dust evacuation mode and manual dust evacuation mode", so you can stop the dock emptying while a pet sleeps beside it. The Ultra's bag is 3L, and Roborock sells a 12 pack of bags for it.

Shark's PowerDetect Clean and Empty has an auto-empty base that Shark says holds "up to 45 days of dirt and debris", with no figure for its noise. Tineco's FurFree uses a station that cleans the vacuum and holds a 3L dustbin. For robot docks, where some makers do publish the burst, see our pet robot vacuum guide.

Makers that name no mode

Several makers print a figure with no mode attached, so we cannot tell whether it is the setting fur needs.

  • Tineco says the PURE ONE Station FurFree is "Operating at only 78 dB(A)" and lists "Noise 76dB(A)" in its specifications. The PURE ONE S15 lists "Noise 78dB(A)" and the A50S "Noise Level 70 dB". None names a mode.
  • Samsung's Jet Pet sheet lists "86 dBA" beside five button settings, Min to Jet, without saying which. Samsung's US page for that model now leads to a different vacuum.
  • LG lists the CordZero A9 Kompressor A941KTMP at "85 db", in a separate row from its "Normal, Power, Turbo" modes.
  • eufy's support chart lists the HomeVac S11 models at "Max 80dB", which could be a ceiling or the Max mode.
  • Miele gives "Volume in dB 74.0" for the Triflex HX3 with no mode.
  • Shark, Dreame and Levoit gave no figure on the stick pages we read. Bissell's US site refused our requests.

Other quiet things in a pet home

The vacuum is one of several machines running for the animals. A purifier with a shedding pet spends its day above its quiet setting; our quietest air purifier for pets guide covers that. A self-cleaning litter box cycles after every visit, and we compare those in the quietest litter boxes. If you share walls, our page on how to keep an apartment quiet explains why vibration through floors carries further than a vacuum motor. For corded and canister options, see the quietest vacuums.

The trade-offs

Strong suction is louder. On every machine with published figures, the mode that lifts fur from carpet is the loudest one.

Strong suction is short. Eight minutes in MAX on the Roborocks, up to 20 at SEBO's top level.

Docks save work, not noise. They empty fur you would otherwise tip out by hand, but nobody prints how loud the emptying is.

Pet tools add clutter. Hair screw tools, mini-brushes and grooming kits each need a place to live and a brush to clean.

How we chose

We started from the stick vacuums in our main stick guide and read the product pages, spec sheets, manuals and support articles for Dyson, Roborock, SEBO, Shark, Samsung, LG, Tineco, Dreame, Levoit, eufy and Miele, and tried Bissell. We recorded each figure in the maker's words with its mode, its unit and whether it was sound power or an upper limit. For a pet home we gave most weight to a published figure at MAX or Boost, then to anti-tangle claims and pet tools, then to bin and dock size and run time in the strong mode. Rankings stay inside one maker, one basis and one mode label.

We did not measure any of these vacuums, and we did not test them with pets. Every figure here is the maker's own, none states a listening distance, and how loud a stick vacuum sounds in your home will depend on your floors, the mode you choose and how much fur is in the brush roll.

Common questions

Which power mode do I need for pet hair?

The makers keep their strongest mode for embedded dirt. Dyson says Boost is "Designed for intensive spot cleaning of ground-in dirt", and Roborock lists "deep dirt in carpets" alongside its ECO, MED and MAX modes. Fur on hard floors is loose, so a lower mode may do; fur pressed into a rug is the case for MAX or Boost.

How loud is a stick vacuum in MAX or Boost?

Only two makers publish it. Roborock gives the H60 and H60 Hub 81 dB(A) or less in MAX and the H60 Hub Ultra 83 or less, all sound power upper limits. Dyson gives 82 dBA in Boost on carpet for the V15 Detect and 84 dBA for the Gen5detect, both sound power. Compare Roborock with Roborock and Dyson with Dyson.

Is Boost louder on hard floors than on carpet?

On the one machine where the maker says, yes. Dyson lists the V15 Detect at 82 dBA in Boost on carpet and 87 dBA on hardwood, the same mode and basis. A 5 dB step is clearly audible. If your pet sheds onto bare floors, try a lower mode first.

Do anti-tangle brush rolls stop hair wrapping?

They are the makers' claims, and none names a test. Dyson says the High Torque head's polycarbonate teeth "prevent tangling around the bristles"; Roborock says its JawScrapers brush minimizes tangles; SEBO claims self-cleaning anti-hair-wrap. Roborock's manual still says a head "tangled with much hair" may stop working and should be cleared promptly.

Is a self-emptying dock worth it with a shedding pet?

Fur fills a stick bin quickly, so a dock saves the most work in a pet home. Roborock says the H60 Hub empties "In just 10 seconds" into a 2L bag, and the Ultra uses a 3L bag. No stick maker we read publishes a noise figure for the emptying, but Roborock lets you switch the dock to manual so it never empties while the dog is asleep beside it.

How long does the battery last in the strong mode?

Not long. Roborock gives 8 minutes in MAX with the multi-surface brush on all three H60 models, against 45 to 60 in ECO. SEBO gives up to 20 minutes at Power Level 3. Samsung's Jet Pet sheet listed 10 minutes in Max and 3 in Jet. Dyson gives the Gen5detect up to 70 minutes in Eco and no Boost run time on the sheets we read.

Which stick vacuum is quietest for pet hair?

Within one maker and one basis, the Roborock H60 and H60 Hub, at 81 dB(A) or less in MAX against 83 for the Ultra. Among Dysons in Boost on carpet, the V15 Detect at 82 dBA against the Gen5detect's 84. Those two groups cannot be ranked against each other: Roborock's are upper limits for MAX, Dyson's are declared figures for Boost.

Does Shark publish noise figures for its pet stick vacuums?

Not on the pages we read. Shark's PowerDetect Clean and Empty, PowerPro Pet and Pet Cordless stick pages list run times, dust cup sizes, pet tools and hair wrap claims, but no decibel figure. Bissell's US site refused our requests.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Tineco PURE ONE Station FurFree

    The most pet-minded stick we read: a FurFree grooming kit that "gently detangles and smooths pet hair" and vacuums it up, a ZeroTangle brush and a self-cleaning 3L station. But Tineco's page says both 78 dB(A) and 76dB(A), with no mode for either.

    See it at Amazon
  • Dyson V11

    88 dBA in "Handheld Boost mode", sound power. A handheld figure is not the same condition as Boost on carpet, so it cannot be set against the V15 or Gen5detect.

    See it at Amazon
  • Miele Triflex HX3

    Miele's data sheet says 74.0 dB with no mode, so it tells you nothing about the setting a pet home would run.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides