QuietSpecs

The quietest gaming laptops

Check price

The quietest gaming laptops

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • The Lenovo Legion 7i Gen 10 is the quietest gaming laptop under load that we could verify: Lenovo declares 23.3 dB at the operator position with the processor working.
  • The Legion Pro 5 Gen 10 AMD declares the lowest load sound power, 3 bels, for less money.
  • For quiet at idle, the Legion 7a Gen 11 declares 16.3 dB.
  • No maker declares a figure while gaming, so treat every number here as a floor.

Quietest under load

Lenovo Legion 7i Gen 10 (16-inch Intel)

Sound, under load 3.3 B upper limit, CPU mode; 23.3 dB at the operator position (maker)

$2,630.11 maker's list price · checked Sep 27

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    3.3 B upper limit, CPU mode; 23.3 dB at the operator position (maker)

  2. 2

    "3" B upper limit, CPU mode; 24.4 dB at the operator position (maker)

  3. 3

    2.1 B upper limit; 16.3 dB at the operator position (maker)

  4. 4

    2.2 B mean, KV 0.4; 14.5 dB (maker)

  5. 5

    24.1 dB sound power, mode not stated (maker)

Our Picks

Lenovo Legion 7i Gen 10 (16-inch Intel)

#1 · Quietest under load

Lenovo Legion 7i Gen 10 (16-inch Intel)

Lenovo

Sound, under load3.3 B upper limit, CPU mode; 23.3 dB at the operator position (maker)

Lenovo declares a processor load mode for every gaming laptop, and the Legion 7i Gen 10 posts the lowest sound pressure under it of any Lenovo gaming declaration we read: 23.3 dB at the operator position, with an upper limit sound power of 3.3 bels. At idle it declares 2.6 bels and 18 dB. It pairs an RTX 5060 or RTX 5070 with a 16 inch OLED screen, and it was $2,630.11 on lenovo.com.

Buy it ifGaming in a shared room where the fan noise at the keyboard matters

Skip it ifYou need an RTX 5070 Ti or faster, which this model does not offer

What we like

  • 23.3 dB at the operator position under CPU load
  • Idle and load modes both declared
  • OLED screen, 165Hz or 240Hz

What to know

  • Lenovo declares no GPU or gaming mode
  • Upper limit convention, not comparable with Dell
  • Lenovo prices move often
Sound, idle
2.6 B; 18 dB at the operator position
Convention
Lenovo upper limit, LWA,c (ISO 9296)
Graphics
RTX 5060 or RTX 5070
Screen
16 inch OLED, 165Hz or 240Hz

$2,630.11

maker's list price · checked Sep 27

Check price on Amazon
Lenovo Legion Pro 5 Gen 10 (16-inch AMD)

#2 · Lowest load sound power

Lenovo Legion Pro 5 Gen 10 (16-inch AMD)

Lenovo

Sound, under load"3" B upper limit, CPU mode; 24.4 dB at the operator position (maker)

The AMD Legion Pro 5 Gen 10 declares the lowest processor load sound power of any Lenovo gaming laptop we read, printed simply as "3" bels, and 24.4 dB at the operator position, 1.1 dB behind the Legion 7i. Its disk access figures are the same. It takes an RTX 5050, 5060 or 5070 with a Ryzen 7 or Ryzen 9 HX chip, and it was $2,017.87 on lenovo.com, below the Legion 7i.

Buy it ifThe best balance of load figures and price in Lenovo's range

Skip it ifThe laptop mostly idles, where the Legion 7a declares less

What we like

  • "3" B under CPU load, the lowest Lenovo declares
  • 24.4 dB at the operator position under load
  • Less than the Legion 7i

What to know

  • 20 dB at idle, louder than the Legion 7i and 7a
  • Around 2.3 to 2.4 kg, per Lenovo
  • No GPU or gaming mode declared
Sound, idle
2.4 B; 20 dB at the operator position
Convention
Lenovo upper limit, LWA,c (ISO 9296)
Graphics
RTX 5050, 5060 or 5070
Screen
16 inch IPS 240Hz or OLED 165Hz

$2,017.87

maker's list price · checked Sep 27

Check price on Amazon
Lenovo Legion 7a Gen 11 (16-inch AMD)

#3 · Quietest at idle

Lenovo Legion 7a Gen 11 (16-inch AMD)

Lenovo

Sound, idle2.1 B upper limit; 16.3 dB at the operator position (maker)

The Legion 7a Gen 11 declares the lowest idle figures of any Lenovo gaming laptop we read: 2.1 bels and 16.3 dB at the operator position. Under processor load it declares 3.2 bels but 31.5 dB, so its sound power is low while the noise at the keyboard is not. It is also the lightest pick at "Less than 1.8 kg (3.97 lbs)", with an RTX 5060 or 5070 and a 240Hz OLED, for $2,279.99 on lenovo.com.

Buy it ifA gaming laptop that spends most of its day on light work

Skip it ifYou game for hours, where the Legion 7i declares less at the keyboard

What we like

  • 2.1 B and 16.3 dB at idle
  • Under 1.8 kg
  • 240Hz OLED

What to know

  • 31.5 dB at the operator position under CPU load
  • Lenovo prints no disk access sound power row
  • No GPU or gaming mode declared
Sound, under load
3.2 B, CPU mode; 31.5 dB at the operator position
Convention
Lenovo upper limit, LWA,c (ISO 9296)
Graphics
RTX 5060 or RTX 5070
Screen
16 inch OLED, 240Hz

$2,279.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 27

Check price on Amazon
Alienware 16 Aurora Gaming Laptop (AC16250)

#4 · Quietest Alienware

Alienware 16 Aurora Gaming Laptop (AC16250)

Dell

Sound, idle2.2 B mean, KV 0.4; 14.5 dB (maker)

Dell declares a mean sound power of 2.2 bels, with a statistical adder of 0.4, and 14.5 dB of sound pressure for the Alienware 16 Aurora, the same at idle and while accessing the SSD. That is the lowest sound pressure among Alienware laptops from a single regulatory type. Dell declares no processor or graphics load mode for any Alienware, so these figures say nothing about noise while gaming. Core 9 270H, up to an RTX 5070, $2,649.99 on dell.com.

Buy it ifAlienware buyers who want the quietest model on paper

Skip it ifYou want a declared figure under load

What we like

  • 2.2 B mean and 14.5 dB, idle and disk access
  • One regulatory type, so one set of figures
  • Up to RTX 5070

What to know

  • No load mode declared at all
  • Mean convention, not comparable with Lenovo
  • 120Hz screen
Sound, under load
Not declared by Dell
Convention
Dell mean, LWA,m with KV (ISO 9296)
Graphics
Up to RTX 5070
Screen
16 inch WQXGA, 120Hz

$2,649.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 27

Check price on Amazon
ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2025) GA403

#5 · Best compact pick

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2025) GA403

ASUS

Sound, declared24.1 dB sound power, mode not stated (maker)

ASUS declares a single figure for the Zephyrus G14 (2025), 24.1 dB of sound power with no mode, tied for the lowest on any ASUS gaming sheet we read. ASUS also says that in the Silent operating mode, "the cooling system switches off all fans during everyday tasks." It is the only 14 inch laptop here, with a 3K OLED screen from 1.50 kg, and it was $2,499.99 at the ASUS store with a Ryzen 9 270 and an RTX 5070.

Buy it ifA small gaming laptop that stays silent through everyday work

Skip it ifYou want a declared figure under load

What we like

  • Fans switch off in Silent mode for everyday tasks, per ASUS
  • 14 inch 3K OLED, from 1.50 kg
  • Up to an RTX 5080

What to know

  • One figure with no mode
  • ASUS's sheet and product list disagree on which models it covers
  • dB of sound power, not comparable with Lenovo or Dell
Sound, under load
No mode declared
Sound, idle
No mode declared
Convention
ASUS single figure, 24.1 dB, no mode (ECMA-109)
Graphics
RTX 5070, 5070 Ti or 5080
Screen
14 inch 3K OLED

$2,499.99

maker's list price · checked Sep 27

Check price on Amazon

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickSound, under loadSound, idleConventionGraphicsScreenPrice
1.Lenovo Legion 7 16IAX10, machine type 83KY3.3 B upper limit, CPU mode; 23.3 dB at the operator position (maker)2.6 B; 18 dB at the operator positionLenovo upper limit, LWA,c (ISO 9296)RTX 5060 or RTX 507016 inch OLED, 165Hz or 240Hz$2,630.11 maker's list price
2.Lenovo Legion Pro 5 16ADR10, machine type 83LT"3" B upper limit, CPU mode; 24.4 dB at the operator position (maker)2.4 B; 20 dB at the operator positionLenovo upper limit, LWA,c (ISO 9296)RTX 5050, 5060 or 507016 inch IPS 240Hz or OLED 165Hz$2,017.87 maker's list price
3.Lenovo Legion 7 16AGP11, machine type 83Q83.2 B, CPU mode; 31.5 dB at the operator position2.1 B upper limit; 16.3 dB at the operator position (maker)Lenovo upper limit, LWA,c (ISO 9296)RTX 5060 or RTX 507016 inch OLED, 240Hz$2,279.99 maker's list price
4.Dell AC16250 (regulatory model P139F, type P139F001)Not declared by Dell2.2 B mean, KV 0.4; 14.5 dB (maker)Dell mean, LWA,m with KV (ISO 9296)Up to RTX 507016 inch WQXGA, 120Hz$2,649.99 maker's list price
5.ASUS GA403 (2025), ErP model name GA403WNo mode declaredNo mode declaredASUS single figure, 24.1 dB, no mode (ECMA-109)RTX 5070, 5070 Ti or 508014 inch 3K OLED$2,499.99 maker's list price

Buying Guide

A gaming laptop has to move the heat from a discrete graphics card and a high power processor out of a chassis about an inch thick, which is why gaming laptops are the loudest laptops most people will own. The makers know it, and several declare noise figures. None of them declares one while a game is running.

We cataloged 14 current US gaming laptops from Dell, Lenovo, ASUS and MSI that carry a maker noise declaration, out of dozens that do.

No maker declares a gaming figure

The declarations use test modes from the computer noise standards, and none of them is a game. Lenovo declares idle, disk access and a processor load mode, "Operating (CPU)". MSI's procedure idles the laptop, then runs Prime95, a processor stress test, and FurMark, a graphics stress test, but prints only one "Operation Mode" figure. Dell declares idle and disk access only for every Alienware. ASUS prints a single figure and names no mode.

So the Lenovo and MSI load figures are the closest thing to a working number, and even they understate a long gaming session, when the graphics card is the part working hardest.

Four conventions that do not mix

Dell prints a mean sound power, LWA,m, in bels, with a statistical adder, KV, of 0.4 in its own column. Lenovo prints an upper limit, LWA,c, with the adder already included, plus the sound pressure at the operator position. ASUS prints "the declared A-weighted sound power level" in dB under an old ECMA-109 method. MSI prints its figures with the unit "Bels / dB", and values like 44.6 only make sense as dB.

None of these converts into another, so we rank within each maker. Our sound power vs sound pressure explainer covers bels and the adder.

Lenovo: the only load pairs

Lenovo is the only maker that declares both the sound power and the sound pressure at your seat with the processor working, which makes its range the most useful. At the operator position under CPU load, the Legion 7i Gen 10 declares 23.3 dB, the Legion Pro 5 Gen 10 AMD 24.4, the Legion 5i Gen 10 24.9, the Legion Pro 7i Gen 10 28.3, the Legion 7a Gen 11 31.5 and the LOQ 15IRX10 34.5.

Sound power ranks them differently. The Legion Pro 5 Gen 10 AMD declares "3" bels under load and the Legion 7a 3.2, both below the Legion 7i's 3.3. The 7a is the clearest case: low total sound power, but more of it reaches the operator position.

Check the machine type

Lenovo's paperwork holds the biggest trap. Its Legion Pro 5 16IAX10 declaration, for machine type 83F3, reads 3.1 bels and 25.0 dB under CPU load. The 16IAX10H declaration, for machine type 83LU, reads 5.9 bels and 48.1 dB, the highest load sound power we read from Lenovo. The Legion Pro 7 shows the same split between its 83F5 and 83F4 declarations. The machine type is the first four characters of Lenovo's part number; match it to the declaration before you buy.

Alienware: quiet at idle, silent on load

Dell's Alienware datasheets are consistent and complete for what they cover. The 16 Aurora, 16X Aurora and 16 Area-51 all declare 2.2 bels mean at idle, and the 18 Area-51 declares 3.3. Sound pressure separates them: 14.5 dB for the 16 Aurora, 14.4 or 14.6 dB for the 16X Aurora depending on the regulatory type, 22.1 for the 16 Area-51 and 33.4 for the 18. Dell declares no processor or graphics load mode, so how loud an Alienware gets in a game is not published.

ASUS and MSI

ASUS's single figures run from 24.1 dB for the Zephyrus G14 (2025) to 28.9 dB for the Core Ultra versions of the Strix G16 (2025), with no mode given. ASUS's newest 2026 models, including the Zephyrus G14 and G16, use a newer sheet format with no noise line at all. MSI's Stealth 16 AI declares Idle Mode 23.2 and Operation Mode 44.6, and the Vector 16 HX AI 27.5 and 48.8. Each document names its test configuration, which is not always what MSI sells in the US: the Stealth was tested with a Core Ultra 9 285H, while the $1,749 US model has a Core Ultra 7. Several of MSI's newest models, including the 2026 Stealth 16 AI+, had no declaration on MSI's ErP page when we checked.

Who publishes nothing

We found no noise declaration for current HP OMEN and Victus laptops, Razer Blade laptops or Acer Predator Helios laptops. None of this means those laptops are loud; it means they cannot be ranked.

We did not measure any of these laptops. Every figure is the maker's own, quoted as published, with the convention, mode and position it comes with.

Common questions

What is the quietest gaming laptop?

Under load, the Lenovo Legion 7i Gen 10, which Lenovo declares at 23.3 dB at the operator position with the processor working. The Legion Pro 5 Gen 10 AMD declares the lowest load sound power, 3 bels, with 24.4 dB. At idle, the Legion 7a Gen 11 declares 16.3 dB. No maker declares a figure while gaming.

Does any maker publish noise figures while gaming?

No. Lenovo declares a processor load mode. MSI runs a CPU stress test and a GPU stress test in its procedure but prints one Operation Mode figure without saying which. Dell declares only idle and disk access for Alienware laptops, and ASUS gives one figure with no mode. A game loads the graphics card harder than any of those declared modes, so expect more noise than any figure here.

Why is the Legion 7a lower in bels but higher in dB under load?

Lenovo declares two different quantities. Sound power, in bels, describes the total noise the laptop emits. Sound pressure at the operator position, in dB, describes what a microphone picks up where your head would be. The two need not rank the same way. Under CPU load the 7a declares 3.2 bels against the 7i's 3.3, but 31.5 dB at the operator position against 23.3.

Can I compare Alienware figures with Lenovo figures?

No. Dell prints a mean sound power with the statistical adder KV in its own column, while Lenovo prints an upper limit with the adder already included. ASUS and MSI use their own formats, in dB rather than bels. We rank within each maker's convention; our laptops guide explains the two sound power conventions in more detail.

Why does the Lenovo machine type matter?

Lenovo sells some models under one name across machine types with very different declarations. Its Legion Pro 5 16IAX10 declaration for machine type 83F3 reads 3.1 bels and 25.0 dB under CPU load, while the 16IAX10H declaration for 83LU reads 5.9 bels and 48.1 dB. The machine type is the first four characters of Lenovo's part number, so check it against the declaration before you buy.

Are HP OMEN, Razer Blade or Acer Predator laptops quiet?

We could not tell. We found no noise declaration for current HP OMEN or Victus models, Razer Blade models or Acer Predator Helios models on the makers' sites. That is not evidence either way, but without a figure they cannot be ranked.

How can I make a gaming laptop quieter?

Use the quiet or silent performance mode in the maker's control software, which trades some speed for lower fan speeds; ASUS says the Zephyrus G14's Silent mode switches its fans off during everyday tasks. Capping the frame rate in games reduces the load on the graphics card, and keeping the vents clear helps the fans do their job at lower speeds.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Lenovo Legion 5i Gen 10 (15-inch Intel)

    Declares 3.4 B and 24.9 dB under CPU load, just behind the Legion 7i, and 2.5 B and 17.4 dB at idle. A 15.1 inch OLED, from 1.9 kg, $2,099.99 on lenovo.com.

    See it at Amazon
  • Lenovo Legion Pro 7i Gen 10 (16-inch Intel)

    The flagship's 83F5 machine type declares 3.5 B and 28.3 dB under CPU load with up to an RTX 5090. Lenovo's 83F4 declaration for the same 16IAX10 platform reads 5.7 B and 48.1 dB. $3,279.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • Lenovo LOQ 15-inch Intel (15IRX10)

    Lenovo's budget line declares 4.1 B and 34.5 dB under CPU load, the loudest Lenovo here, for $1,399.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • Alienware 16X Aurora Gaming Laptop (AC16251)

    Declares 2.2 B mean at idle, with 14.6 dB on one regulatory type and 14.4 dB on the other, which rises to 18.0 dB under SSD access. Dell does not say which type you get. $2,699.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • Alienware 16 Area-51 Gaming Laptop (AA16250)

    2.2 B mean at idle and disk access, like the Aurora, but 22.1 dB of sound pressure. $3,899.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • Alienware 18 Area-51 Gaming Laptop (AA18250)

    The loudest Alienware on paper: 3.3 B and 33.4 dB at idle, 3.5 B and 34.8 dB under disk access. $3,999.99.

    See it at Amazon
  • MSI Stealth 16 AI (A2HW)

    MSI prints Idle Mode 23.2 and Operation Mode 44.6, with the unit given as "Bels / dB." Its procedure runs Prime95 and FurMark before that one Operation Mode figure, without saying which run it is. $1,749.00 at MSI's US store with an RTX 5060 and a QHD+ OLED.

    See it at Amazon
  • ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2025) G615

    The Core i versions (G615J) declare 24.2 dB and the Core Ultra versions (G615L) 28.9 dB, both with no mode. From $1,799.99 at the ASUS store.

    See it at Amazon
  • MSI Vector 16 HX AI (A2XW)

    MSI prints Idle Mode 27.5 and Operation Mode 48.8 for this RTX 5070 Ti model, $1,699.00 at MSI's US store.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides