QuietSpecs

The quietest home standby generators, by exercise and running noise

Check price

The quietest home standby generators, by exercise and running noise

By Stanley Alu

The short answer

  • Among exercise-mode figures at 7 meters, the Generac 10kW model 7257 is the quietest we could verify: 49 dB(A) in its Quiet-Test low-speed mode, measured at the front, and 61 dB(A) at normal load, tied for the lowest normal-load figure.
  • For bigger homes, Generac's newer 22 to 28 kW models list 55 dB(A) in exercise, the lowest among air-cooled units of 22 kW and up.
  • If budget allows, Kohler's liquid-cooled 24RCLA lists 52 dB(A) in exercise and 60 running, at no load.
  • Champion and Cummins publish only a running figure.

Quietest exercise figure at 7 meters

Generac 10kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

Noise, exercise at 7 m 49 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit

$3,769.00 maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

At a glance

  1. 1

    49 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit

  2. 2

    52 dB(A), lowest of 8 points, no load

    $17,900.00Check price →
  3. 3

    Lowest exercise figure among air-cooled units of 22 kW and up

    Generac 24kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

    55 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit

  4. 4

    55 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit

  5. 5

    56 dB(A), lowest of 8 points

  6. 6

    62 dB(A) low idle, lowest microphone

  7. 7

    None published

    Price not verifiedCheck price →
  8. 8

    None published

    Price not verifiedCheck price →

Our Picks

Generac 10kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

#1 · Quietest exercise figure at 7 meters

Generac 10kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

Generac

Noise, exercise at 7 m49 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit

Generac lists 49 dB(A) at 23 ft (7 m) in its Quiet-Test low-speed exercise mode, the lowest exercise figure in this guide, and 61 dB(A) at normal load, which ties the older Guardian 10kW for the lowest normal-load figure we found. Generac measures from the front and says other sides may be higher. At 10 kW it runs essentials rather than a whole large house.

Buy it ifA smaller home on a tight lot, where the weekly exercise is what neighbors hear most

Skip it ifYou need central air and a whole house on one generator

What we like

  • Lowest exercise figure here: 49 dB(A) at 7 m, Quiet-Test mode
  • Tied lowest normal-load figure: 61 dB(A) at 7 m
  • Exercise adjustable from 5 to 20 minutes, weekly, bi-weekly or monthly

What to know

  • Measured from the front only; Generac says other sides may be higher
  • 10 kW on propane, 9 kW on natural gas
  • The page lists 334 lb and the spec sheet 344 lb
Noise, running at 7 m
61 dB(A) at normal load, front of unit
Output (LP / NG)
10 kW / 9 kW
Weight
344 lb (spec sheet)
Maker price
$3,769 MSRP, generator only

$3,769.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on generac.com

Kohler 24RCLA 24kW liquid-cooled home standby generator

#2 · Best liquid-cooled generator

Kohler 24RCLA 24kW liquid-cooled home standby generator

Kohler

Noise, exercise at 7 m52 dB(A), lowest of 8 points, no load

Kohler's spec sheet lists 52 dB(A) during engine exercise and 60 dB(A) during normal operation, at 23 ft (7 m) with no load, reported as the lowest of 8 points. The 52 is the second-lowest exercise figure in this guide, shared with Kohler's own 38RCLC. It is a 1,800 rpm liquid-cooled machine that weighs 1,260 lb shipped, and it costs more than twice as much as any air-cooled pick.

Buy it ifA large home where the budget allows a liquid-cooled unit

Skip it ifYou are pricing an air-cooled generator and a standard pad

What we like

  • 52 dB(A) exercise and 60 dB(A) normal operation, at 7 m, no load
  • Liquid-cooled 2.2 L engine at 1,800 rpm
  • Transfer switch included, 5-year/2000 hr warranty covering travel

What to know

  • Starting at $17,900 MSRP
  • The product page says 54 and 61, not the spec sheet's 52 and 60
  • Running figure is at no load, so it cannot be ranked against normal-load figures
Noise, running at 7 m
60 dB(A) normal operation, no load, lowest of 8 points
Output (LP / NG)
24 kW / 21 kW
Weight
1,260 lb shipping, wet
Maker price
$17,900 MSRP, switch included

$17,900.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on kohlerhomeenergy.rehlko.com

Generac 24kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

#3 · Lowest exercise figure among air-cooled units of 22 kW and up

Generac 24kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

Generac

Noise, exercise at 7 m55 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit

All four of Generac's newer 22, 24, 26 and 28 kW models list 55 dB(A) in Quiet-Test low-speed exercise and 67 dB(A) at normal load, both at 23 ft (7 m) from the front. Among air-cooled generators of 22 kW and up, no exercise figure here is lower. The older Guardian 24kW lists 57 for exercise at a lower price, so the newer model buys 2 dB(A) of weekly quiet.

Buy it ifWhole-house backup with central air, where the weekly test matters

Skip it ifA 10 to 18 kW unit covers your loads, since those list 61 to 65 running

What we like

  • 55 dB(A) in exercise, the lowest among air-cooled units of 22 kW and up
  • 24 kW on propane, 22.5 kW on natural gas
  • Smart Exercise can skip a test if the unit ran in the previous 72 hours

What to know

  • 67 dB(A) at normal load, the same as the older Guardian
  • Front-of-unit figures, with other sides possibly higher
  • $170 more than the Guardian 24kW at MSRP
Noise, running at 7 m
67 dB(A) at normal load, front of unit
Output (LP / NG)
24 kW / 22.5 kW
Weight
461 lb
Maker price
$6,729 MSRP, generator only

$6,729.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on generac.com

Generac 18kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

#4 · Best mid-size pick

Generac 18kW Home Standby Generator with Power Zone 200 controller (cellular)

Generac

Noise, exercise at 7 m55 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit

Generac lists 55 dB(A) in Quiet-Test exercise and 65 dB(A) at normal load, both at 23 ft (7 m) from the front. That is 2 dB(A) under the 24 kW model's running figure, for 18 kW on propane. The 14 kW model 7258 lists the same two figures, so choose between them on your loads.

Buy it ifA typical house with gas appliances and one air conditioner

Skip it ifYou need two large air conditioners running at once

What we like

  • 55 dB(A) exercise and 65 dB(A) normal load, at 7 m
  • 18 kW on propane, 17 kW on natural gas
  • 5-year limited warranty on generator and transfer switch

What to know

  • Front-of-unit figures only
  • Running figure is 4 dB(A) above the 10 kW model
  • Dealer install, so the MSRP is only part of the cost
Noise, running at 7 m
65 dB(A) at normal load, front of unit
Output (LP / NG)
18 kW / 17 kW
Weight
426 lb
Maker price
$5,709 MSRP, generator only

$5,709.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on generac.com

Kohler 26RCA 26kW air-cooled home standby generator

#5 · Best Kohler air-cooled pick

Kohler 26RCA 26kW air-cooled home standby generator

Kohler

Noise, exercise at 7 m56 dB(A), lowest of 8 points

Kohler's spec sheet and product page agree on this one: 56 dB(A) during engine exercise and 67 dB(A) during full-speed operation, at 23 ft (7 m), reported as the lowest of 8 points around the generator. The sheet does not say whether the full-speed figure is at load. It offers a 90-second eco-exercise and 26 kW on propane.

Buy it ifBuyers who want a Kohler dealer and a large air-cooled unit

Skip it ifYou want the lowest published exercise figure at this size

What we like

  • Page and spec sheet agree: 56 dB(A) exercise, 67 dB(A) full speed
  • A 90-second eco-exercise option
  • Warranty covers parts, labor and travel for 5 years or 2,000 hours

What to know

  • Lowest-point figures, so other sides of the unit may be louder
  • Load for the 67 dB(A) is not stated
  • Kohler's claim that no air-cooled generator is quieter does not hold against Generac's exercise figures
Noise, running at 7 m
67 dB(A) full speed, load not stated
Output (LP / NG)
26 kW / 24 kW
Weight
625 lb (product page)
Maker price
$7,546 MSRP, generator only

$7,546.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on kohlerhomeenergy.rehlko.com

Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect+ 22kW home standby generator (040787)

#6 · Best Briggs & Stratton pick

Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect+ 22kW home standby generator (040787)

Briggs & Stratton

Noise, exercise at 7 m62 dB(A) low idle, lowest microphone

The spec sheet lists 62 dB(A) in Low Idle Mode and 66 dB(A) in normal operation, per ISO 3744 at the lowest microphone at 7 m, with normal operation "based on average household usage". The 62 is the lowest low-idle figure in the Briggs & Stratton sheets we read, shared by the PowerProtect+ 18kW and both DX models.

Buy it ifFull 22 kW on natural gas, from a maker that names its method

Skip it ifLow exercise noise is your first priority

What we like

  • Names its test standard: ISO 3744
  • Low idle 62 dB(A), normal operation 66 dB(A), at 7 m
  • 22 kW on both propane and natural gas

What to know

  • Lowest-microphone figures, not the front or an average
  • The product page omits the distance
  • 7-year warranty on this version; the DX lists 10
Noise, running at 7 m
66 dB(A), average household usage, lowest microphone
Output (LP / NG)
22 kW / 22 kW
Weight
490 lb
Maker price
$6,532 MSRP

$6,532.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on energy.briggsandstratton.com

Cummins QuietConnect RS20A 20kW home standby generator

#7 · Best crank-only exercise

Cummins QuietConnect RS20A 20kW home standby generator

Cummins

Noise, exercise at 7 mNone published

Cummins lists 65 dB(A) at 23 ft (7 m) at normal load, footnoted as the quietest point. It gives no exercise figure. Instead it describes a patented crank-only exercise that runs diagnostics without starting the engine, which it says further reduces the sound. The spec sheet dates from 2019, and we found no Cummins list price.

Buy it ifOwners who would rather the weekly test not start the engine at all

Skip it ifYou want a current spec sheet and a published price

What we like

  • 65 dB(A) at 7 m at normal load, with the condition stated
  • Crank-only exercise mode, per Cummins
  • Manages up to 4 loads

What to know

  • No exercise-mode figure
  • Spec sheet dated 2019
  • No maker list price; dealer only
Noise, running at 7 m
65 dB(A) at normal load, quietest point
Output (LP / NG)
20 kW / 18 kW
Weight
531 lb
Maker price
None on maker site

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon
Champion 14 kW aXis home standby generator with 150A whole house switch (100836)

#8 · Longest warranty for a smaller home

Champion 14 kW aXis home standby generator with 150A whole house switch (100836)

Champion Power Equipment

Noise, exercise at 7 mNone published

Champion lists an "Operational Volume" of 62 dB(A), measured at 23 ft (7 m), with no load or mode stated, so we cannot rank it against anyone's exercise or normal-load figure. What it does state clearly is a 10-year limited warranty on the generator, twice the 5 years Generac, Kohler and Cummins give as standard. Champion shows no price.

Buy it ifA smaller home where warranty length matters most

Skip it ifYou need a figure with a stated condition

What we like

  • 62 dB(A) at 7 m
  • 10-year limited warranty on the generator
  • Comes with a 150 A whole-house transfer switch

What to know

  • No load or mode given for the 62 dB(A)
  • No exercise figure
  • No price on the maker's site
Noise, running at 7 m
62 dB(A), condition not stated
Output (LP / NG)
14 kW / 12.5 kW
Weight
439 lb (listed)
Maker price
None on maker site

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 29

Check price on Amazon

Amazon may not stock this exact model. See it on championpowerequipment.com

Compare the picks

Every figure is the maker's own, as quoted in each pick above.

PickNoise, exercise at 7 mNoise, running at 7 mOutput (LP / NG)WeightMaker pricePrice
1.Generac G007257049 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit61 dB(A) at normal load, front of unit10 kW / 9 kW344 lb (spec sheet)$3,769 MSRP, generator only$3,769.00 maker's list price
2.Kohler 24RCLA52 dB(A), lowest of 8 points, no load60 dB(A) normal operation, no load, lowest of 8 points24 kW / 21 kW1,260 lb shipping, wet$17,900 MSRP, switch included$17,900.00 maker's list price
3.Generac G007261055 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit67 dB(A) at normal load, front of unit24 kW / 22.5 kW461 lb$6,729 MSRP, generator only$6,729.00 maker's list price
4.Generac G007259055 dB(A), Quiet-Test low speed, front of unit65 dB(A) at normal load, front of unit18 kW / 17 kW426 lb$5,709 MSRP, generator only$5,709.00 maker's list price
5.Kohler 26RCA56 dB(A), lowest of 8 points67 dB(A) full speed, load not stated26 kW / 24 kW625 lb (product page)$7,546 MSRP, generator only$7,546.00 maker's list price
6.Briggs & Stratton 04078762 dB(A) low idle, lowest microphone66 dB(A), average household usage, lowest microphone22 kW / 22 kW490 lb$6,532 MSRP$6,532.00 maker's list price
7.Cummins RS20ANone published65 dB(A) at normal load, quietest point20 kW / 18 kW531 lbNone on maker siteNot verified yet
8.Champion Power Equipment 100836None published62 dB(A), condition not stated14 kW / 12.5 kW439 lb (listed)None on maker siteNot verified yet

Buying Guide

A home standby generator is bolted to a pad beside the house, piped to your natural gas or propane, and wired to switch on by itself when the grid fails. That makes it a different noise problem from a portable. Our guide to the quietest generators for camping and RVs covers inverter generators you carry; this one covers the permanent kind, which runs for a few minutes every week whether or not the power ever goes out. If you would rather keep a portable for outages, our guide to portable generators for home backup covers the 240 V machines that feed a transfer switch or an inlet, and the CPSC rule that they run outside, 20 feet from the house.

The good news is that nearly every maker here measures at the same distance: 7 meters, or 23 feet. The bad news is that they stand the microphone in different places, and they publish two different kinds of figure. We read the product pages and spec sheets for more than thirty generators from five brands, put sixteen of them in our catalog, quoted every figure in the maker's words, and ranked each kind of figure only against its own kind.

Our picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Two figures on every spec sheet

Most standby spec sheets give two sound levels.

The exercise figure is the weekly self-test. The generator starts, runs for a few minutes and shuts down, usually at a lower engine speed. Generac calls this Quiet-Test low-speed exercise mode, Briggs & Stratton calls it Low Idle Mode, and Kohler calls it engine exercise. It is the noise your neighbors hear most often, on an ordinary afternoon.

The running figure is what you hear during an outage. Here the makers differ on the condition. Generac and Cummins say "at normal load". Briggs & Stratton says normal operation "based on average household usage". Kohler says "full-speed generator diagnostics and normal operation", and on three spec sheets adds "with no load". Champion gives one "Operational Volume" and no condition at all.

We never rank an exercise figure against a running figure. They describe different engine speeds, and the gap between them is large: Generac's 10 kW model lists 49 dB(A) in exercise and 61 at normal load, a 12 dB(A) jump. Our Generac generator decibels page lists every current Generac standby model the same way, exercise against exercise and running against running, with the liquid-cooled Protector series in a list of its own.

Same distance, different microphones

Every figure in this guide is at 7 meters. That is rare, and useful. But the makers do not measure from the same side of the machine.

  • Generac measures from the front, and its footnote says "Sound levels taken from other sides of the generator may be higher depending on installation parameters."
  • Kohler reports the "Lowest of 8 points measured around the generator" on most models. Its 10RESV sheet gives both: an 8-point average of 67 dB(A) in exercise, and 64 at the quietest point.
  • Briggs & Stratton measures "Per ISO 3744", reporting the "lowest microphone at 7m".
  • Cummins footnotes its figure as the "Quietest point at a normal load."
  • Champion says only that sound was "measured at 23 ft. (7 m)".

A lowest-point figure is the most flattering number a maker can quote, and a front figure may or may not be. So treat a gap of a few decibels between brands as unknown. Our explainer on why you cannot compare dB ratings across brands goes into this in more detail.

Exercise figures, lowest first

All at 7 meters, in the maker's own mode:

  • 49 dB(A): Generac 10 kW model 7257, Quiet-Test, front.
  • 52 dB(A): Kohler 24RCLA and 38RCLC, liquid-cooled, lowest of 8 points, no load.
  • 55 dB(A): Generac's newer 14, 18, 22, 24, 26 and 28 kW models, and the Guardian 14 and 18 kW.
  • 56 dB(A): Kohler 26RCA, lowest of 8 points.
  • 57 dB(A): Generac Guardian 10, 22, 24 and 26 kW.
  • 62 dB(A): Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect+ 18kW and 22kW and both DX models, lowest microphone.
  • 63 dB(A): Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect 26kW, and Kohler 14RCA.
  • 64 dB(A): Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect 22kW.
  • 65 dB(A): Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect 13kW.
  • 66 and 67 dB(A): Kohler 20RCA, and the 10RESV as an 8-point average.

The gap from top to bottom is 18 dB(A). On the usual rule of thumb that 10 dB sounds about twice as loud, that is a large difference, and it is bigger than any plausible difference in method. Our decibel chart puts these levels beside everyday sounds.

Running figures, grouped by condition

At normal load, 7 meters: Generac's 10 kW models list 61 dB(A). Generac's 14 and 18 kW models and the Cummins RS13A, RS17A and RS20A list 65. The Generac EcoGen 15 kW lists 66. Generac's 22 to 28 kW models list 67.

Normal operation on average household usage, 7 meters, lowest microphone: Briggs & Stratton lists 65 for the PowerProtect 26kW, 66 for the PowerProtect+ range, 68 for the PowerProtect 22kW and 69 for the 13kW.

Kohler, full speed or normal operation: 60 for the 24RCLA and 38RCLC at no load, 67 for the 26RCA, 69 for the 14RCA and 70 for the 20RCA, all at the lowest point; 71 as an 8-point average for the 10RESV at no load.

No condition stated: Champion lists 62 dB(A) for its 14 kW aXis, 67 for the 22 kW aXis and 68 for its 26 kW fleX.

We do not rank across these groups. A Kohler figure at no load is not a figure at normal load, and Champion's 62 could describe either. Champion's smaller standby units publish figures too: our Champion generator decibels page lists the 8.5 kW Select Circuit 100177 at 59.5 dB(A) at 23 ft (7 m), the lowest Champion standby figure, again with no load stated.

When the page and the spec sheet disagree

Kohler's product pages and spec sheets give different numbers for four of the six Kohler models we checked. The 24RCLA page says 54 dB(A) in exercise and 61 at full speed; the sheet says 52 and 60, and the same page's feature text also says 52. The 38RCLC page says 54 and 62; the sheet says 52 and 60. The 14RCA page gives 67 at full speed, the sheet 69. The 20RCA page gives 64 and 69, while the sheet gives 66 and 70 and calls them both an average and the lowest of 8 points. Only the 26RCA matched, which is one reason it is our Kohler air-cooled pick.

Where they differ, we quote the spec sheet, because it states the distance and the method. Kohler's pages also say of the 26RCA that "No air-cooled generator is quieter". On exercise figures, Generac's air-cooled units list 49 and 55 against Kohler's 56. The methods differ, so neither claim settles it, but the Kohler slogan is not something the published figures support.

What the neighbors hear, and the rules that apply

There is no federal noise limit for a home standby generator. The rule that matters is your local noise ordinance, and it is measured at the property line, not at 7 meters.

Montgomery County, Maryland, is a useful example because its Department of Environmental Protection writes about standby generators directly. It says standby generators, which can operate on a 24-hour basis, "are required to meet Montgomery County's more restrictive nighttime standard of 55 dBA" at the nearest receiving residential property line. Its advice is to "Purchase the quietest generator available", to choose the location to minimize noise for neighbors, and to "Schedule the recommended periodic testing of generators to occur at times when building occupants and nearby neighbors are least likely to be disturbed." It adds that compliance is the property owner's responsibility. The county also gives a rule of thumb, that each doubling of distance from a point source brings about a 6 dBA drop. That is the county's estimate, not a maker figure, and we do not use it to convert any of the figures above.

Your county or city will have its own numbers and hours, and its own treatment of generators running during an outage. Read the code itself, or ask your permitting office, before you choose a spot for the pad. Our yard noise overview covers the other outdoor machines that count toward what neighbors hear.

Placement also has a safety side. Generac's spec sheets say its units can go "as close as 18 in (457 mm)" to a structure, but "Must be located away from doors, windows, and fresh air intakes and in accordance with local codes."

Exercise settings that lower the weekly noise

Since the exercise is the noise neighbors hear most, its settings matter as much as the figure. Generac's newer controller offers exercise weekly, bi-weekly or monthly, for 5 to 20 minutes, with a low-speed option. Its Smart Exercise skips a scheduled test if the generator ran for more than 5 consecutive minutes in the prior 72 hours. Kohler offers a 90-second eco-exercise on the 26RCA. Cummins describes a crank-only exercise that runs diagnostics without starting the engine. Ask the installer to set the quietest mode and a time of day your neighbors will not mind.

Liquid-cooled or air-cooled

Most homes get an air-cooled generator, which runs at 3,600 rpm. Kohler's 24RCLA and 38RCLC are liquid-cooled, run at 1,800 rpm, and list 52 dB(A) in exercise and 60 running at no load, the lowest Kohler figures. They also weigh well over 1,000 lb shipped and start at $17,900 and $22,949 MSRP. For most buyers, a smaller air-cooled unit sized to the house is the better route to a lower running figure: across Generac's range, the running figure climbs from 61 at 10 kW to 67 from 22 kW up.

Brands that publish less

Champion gives an Operational Volume at 23 feet with no load or mode. Cummins gives a normal-load figure but no exercise figure, on a spec sheet dated 2019, and cummins.com refused our requests, so we could not check a current page or a price. Generac's EcoGen 15 kW lists 66 dB(A) at normal load and no Quiet-Test figure, and its sheet says it is designed for use with alternative energy and storage. We did not find a PowerPact model in Generac's current standby listing. Briggs & Stratton's product pages list "Normal Operating Sound" with no distance; the distance and the ISO 3744 method are in its spec sheets.

How we chose

We read each maker's product page and spec sheet for more than thirty home standby generators sold in the US, and recorded every sound figure verbatim with its distance, mode, load and measuring position. We ranked exercise figures only against exercise figures, and running figures only against running figures with the same stated condition. We then chose picks on those figures, output, weight, warranty and the maker's own MSRP, which excludes installation. Where a product page and a spec sheet disagreed, we used the spec sheet.

We did not measure any of these generators. Every figure is the maker's own, quoted as published, and we did not convert any figure to another distance.

Common questions

What is the quietest home standby generator?

On exercise-mode figures at 7 meters, the Generac 10kW model 7257, at 49 dB(A) in Quiet-Test low-speed mode, measured at the front. On figures at normal load at 7 meters, it ties the Generac Guardian 10kW at 61 dB(A). Kohler's liquid-cooled 24RCLA and 38RCLC list 52 in exercise and 60 running, but at no load and at the quietest of 8 points, so they sit in a separate group.

How loud is a Generac generator during its weekly exercise?

Generac's current spec sheets list 49 to 57 dB(A) at 23 ft (7 m) in Quiet-Test low-speed exercise mode, measured from the front. The newer 10 kW model lists 49, the newer 14 to 28 kW models 55, and the Guardian 10, 22, 24 and 26 kW models 57. Generac says other sides of the generator may be louder.

Can I compare Generac and Kohler decibel ratings directly?

Only with care. Both measure at 7 meters, but Generac measures from the front, while Kohler reports the lowest of 8 points around the generator, and on some models says no load. Kohler's own 10RESV sheet shows the gap: 67 dB(A) as an 8-point average and 64 at the quietest point. A difference of 1 or 2 dB(A) between brands does not tell you which is quieter.

What noise limit applies to a home standby generator?

It depends on your county or city. Montgomery County, Maryland, for example, says standby generators must meet its nighttime standard of 55 dBA at the nearest receiving residential property line, and that it is the property owner's responsibility to comply. Check your own local code, which is measured at the property line, not at the 7 meters makers use.

How often does a standby generator exercise, and can I change it?

Generac's newer models exercise for 5 minutes every week by default, with weekly, bi-weekly or monthly options, 5 to 20 minutes, and a low-speed option. Kohler offers a 90-second eco-exercise on the 26RCA. Cummins describes a crank-only mode that runs diagnostics without starting the engine. Montgomery County advises scheduling tests when neighbors are least likely to be disturbed.

How close to the house can a standby generator go?

Generac says its units can be installed as close as 18 in (457 mm) to a structure, and must be located away from doors, windows and fresh air intakes and in accordance with local codes. Kohler's 24RCLA sheet says the same 18 inches. Closer to your wall may still mean closer to a neighbor's window, so check the lot line too.

Is a liquid-cooled standby generator quieter?

Kohler's two liquid-cooled units list the lowest Kohler figures, 52 dB(A) in exercise and 60 running at no load, against 56 and 67 for its air-cooled 26RCA. They run at 1,800 rpm, where the air-cooled units run at 3,600. They also start at $17,900 MSRP, and Generac's air-cooled 10 kW lists a lower exercise figure measured a different way.

Why do Kohler's product pages and spec sheets show different numbers?

We cannot say why. On the 24RCLA and 38RCLC the pages say 54 and 61 or 62, the spec sheets 52 and 60. On the 14RCA and 20RCA the full-speed figures differ too. Only the 26RCA matched. The spec sheets state the distance and the method, so we quote them, and we note the page figures in the catalog.

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Generac Guardian 10kW Home Standby Generator, Wi-Fi (7171)

    The older Guardian 10kW matches the newer model at 61 dB(A) at normal load, but lists 57 in Quiet-Test exercise against 49. It is $120 cheaper at MSRP.

    See it at Amazon
  • Generac Guardian 24kW Home Standby Generator, Wi-Fi (7209)

    The Guardian 24kW lists 57 dB(A) in exercise and 67 at normal load, from the front at 7 m. The newer 24 kW model lists 55 in exercise for $170 more.

    See it at Amazon
  • Kohler 38RCLC 38kW liquid-cooled home standby generator

    The same 52 dB(A) exercise and 60 dB(A) normal operation at no load as the 24RCLA, with 38 kW. Starting at $22,949 MSRP, and its product page lists 54 and 62.

    See it at Amazon
  • Kohler 14RCA 14kW air-cooled home standby generator

    The spec sheet lists 63 dB(A) in exercise and 69 at full speed, lowest of 8 points; the product page says 67 for full speed.

    See it at Amazon
  • Kohler 20RCA 20kW air-cooled home standby generator

    The spec sheet calls 66 dB(A) exercise and 70 full speed "average sound levels" and footnotes them as the lowest of 8 points. The product page lists 64 and 69. Too many answers for one machine.

    See it at Amazon
  • Kohler 10RESV 10kW home standby generator

    Kohler's least expensive unit is also the loudest here: an 8-point average of 67 dB(A) in exercise and 71 at full speed, or 64 and 69 at the quietest point, at no load.

    See it at Amazon
  • Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect 26kW home standby generator (040806)

    The lowest Briggs & Stratton normal-operation figure, 65 dB(A), and a 10-year warranty, but 63 in Low Idle Mode, 1 dB(A) above the PowerProtect+.

    See it at Amazon
  • Champion 22 kW aXis home standby generator with 100A whole house switch (201220)

    Champion's 22 kW aXis lists an Operational Volume of 67 dB(A) at 23 ft, with no condition, and a 10-year warranty. No price on the maker's site.

    See it at Amazon

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Written by

Stanley Alu

Founder and editor

I founded QuietSpecs after running a product review blog, and I built it around the spec that is hardest to pin down. With noise, makers tend to quote the quietest setting they can find, or nothing at all. So I read the spec sheets, manuals and certification directories, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so plainly when a maker publishes none. I do not test products or measure decibels, and no brand pays for a place in a guide.

How we compare products

Related guides