QuietSpecs

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we compare products

The quietest portable power stations

Written by
· 7 min read

Illustration of a portable power station on a picnic table with a lantern

Power stations are silent until their fans spin up. Which makers put a decibel figure on that moment, what each figure was measured at, and which charging settings keep one hushed through the night.

On this page
  1. How we chose
  2. Our picks
  3. How to choose
  4. Comparison
  5. FAQs
  6. Bottom line
  7. Review history

A quick look at the quietest portable power stations

A portable power station is a big battery with outlets. It has no engine, so it is far quieter than a generator, and it can sit in a bedroom, a tent or an RV.

But it is not always silent. Its cooling fans switch on when it charges fast or runs a heavy load, and in a quiet room you will hear them.

We read the product pages, manuals and warranties for eighteen power stations from seven brands, plus CPSC and Ready.gov guidance on backup power. Here is what the noise figures mean, which is the quietest portable power station to buy, and how to keep one quiet.

How did we choose these power stations?

We picked every battery unit from its maker's US product page and specifications, plus its manual and warranty policy when those were posted. We quoted each figure the way the maker prints it, with the load, charging mode and distance it gave.

We compared capacity, AC output, charging rates and any quiet mode, weight and warranty. Prices, regular and sale, are the ones each brand's own store displayed.

If the job is only keeping a computer, router or NAS running through a short outage, an uninterruptible power supply is the usual tool, and our UPS guide compares the audible noise figures their makers print, several of them stated at 1 meter.

Every power station figure in this guide is a plain dB with no A, and dBA explained covers what that leaves unstated.

Charging overnight in a bedroom is where these figures matter most, and the bedroom section of how quiet is quiet enough gives the reference point for a battery charging beside the bed.

We ranked first on figures with a stated condition, and gave more weight to those with a stated distance. We treated vague conditions like "low power loads" as not comparable. Each price, and any sale price, is what the maker's own site showed on the day we checked, and power station sales change often.

We did not measure any of these power stations; the noise figures are the makers' own, from their product pages, manuals and FAQs.

QuietSpecs' picks of the quietest portable power stations

Prices as of Nov 6. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Quietest overall, with the best-documented test

DJI Power 1000 Portable Power Station

DJI Power 1000 Portable Power Station
  • Noise: As low as 23 dB at 100 cm, Standard Recharge Mode (maker)
  • Price: $699.00 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: A bedroom or RV where you charge overnight
  • Skip it if: You need it in stock today

DJI says the Power 1000 is as low as 23 dB while recharging, measured 100 cm away in its 600W Standard Recharging Mode. Its manual says that mode has lower noise and suits recharging at night, taking about two hours to full.

It holds 1024 Wh. It was out of stock on DJI's store when we checked.

Quietest big home backup

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Portable Power Station (2048Wh)

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Portable Power Station (2048Wh)
  • Noise: 25 dB or less at 600W, 1 m (maker)
  • Price: $878.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: Home backup for a fridge, lights and internet through an outage
  • Skip it if: You need to carry it far

EcoFlow lists 25 dB or less at 600W for the DELTA 3 Max, measured at 1 m in a 25°C room, for charging or discharging. It holds 2048 Wh and delivers 2400W.

It was on sale for $879 on EcoFlow's site, against a list price of $1,199.

Quiet and full-load figures, at 1 m

Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station

Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station
  • Noise: 30 dB Quiet Mode, 45 dB full load, 1 m (maker)
  • Price: $999.00 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: A buyer who wants to know the worst case before buying
  • Skip it if: You want the lowest headline number

Jackery lists 30 dB in Quiet Mode and 45 dB at full load for the Explorer 2000 v2, both measured at 1 m.

It is the only mid-size unit we found with a full-load figure, so you know how loud it gets when it works hard. It holds 2042 Wh and was on sale for $899.

Quietest for small loads

Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portable Power Station

Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portable Power Station
  • Noise: 0 to 20 dB under 200W output (maker)
  • Price: $549.99 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: Camping, van life and small loads overnight
  • Skip it if: You plan to run big appliances

Anker says the C1000 Gen 2 runs at 0 to 20 dB when discharging under 200W, a light load like a laptop, lights or a small fan. It holds 1,024 Wh and delivers 2,000W.

It was on sale for $499.99 on Anker's site on 10 October, against a list price of $599.99.

Best budget pick

PECRON F1000LFP Portable Power Station

PECRON F1000LFP Portable Power Station
  • Noise: 25 dB under 500W (maker)
  • Price: $399.00 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: A budget backup for a few small appliances
  • Skip it if: You want a documented measurement

PECRON lists 25 dB under 500W, for charging or output, for this 960 Wh station. It was on sale for $399 on PECRON's site, against a list price of $499, the lowest price among our picks with a 1,000 Wh class battery.

Best small and light

EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus Portable Power Station

EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus Portable Power Station
  • Noise: Under 30 dB at 1.5 ft (maker)
  • Price: $299.00 maker's list price, checked Sep 22, out of stock
  • Best for: Tents, desks and short outages
  • Skip it if: You need to power a fridge

EcoFlow lists under 30 dB at a distance of 1.5 ft for the RIVER 3 Plus, a 286 Wh station that weighs 10.4 lb. It cost $299 on EcoFlow's site.

It suits phones, laptops, lights and a small fan, not a fridge through a long outage.

Quietest 3 kWh class

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Portable Power Station (3072Wh)

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Portable Power Station (3072Wh)
  • Noise: 25 dB or less at 600W, 1 m (maker)
  • Price: $1,699.00 at Amazon, checked Nov 6
  • Best for: Longer outages or an RV with a 30A inlet
  • Skip it if: You need to lift it often

The DELTA 3 Ultra carries the same EcoFlow figure, 25 dB or less at 600W measured at 1 m, with 3072 Wh of storage and 3600W output, including a 30A port. It was on sale for $1,369 against a list price of $1,599.

How to choose

New to the units? Read dBA explained or sones vs decibels.

How loud is a portable power station?

A portable power station sitting idle makes almost no sound; the noise comes from its fans, which work hardest when the battery charges fast or the load is heavy.

So a noise figure means little unless it says what the unit was doing. The figures we found describe very different conditions:

  • DJI Power 1000: as low as 23 dB, measured 100 cm away while recharging in its 600W Standard Recharging Mode
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max and Ultra: 25 dB or less at 600W, measured at 1 m in a 25°C room, charging or discharging
  • Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2: 0 to 20 dB when discharging under 200W
  • BLUETTI Elite 200 V2: 16 dB, under "low power loads" on its page, and 16 to 30 dB in Silent charging, capped at 800W, in its manual; no distance

Two makers also tell you the other end. Jackery lists 30 dB in Quiet Mode and 45 dB at full load for its Explorer 2000 v2, both at 1 m. Its bigger units reach 50.3 and 51.7 dB at full load.

Our Jackery power station decibels page lists every current Explorer and HomePower figure with the mode and distance Jackery gives.

EcoFlow does it for some of its older models. The RIVER 2 Pro and RIVER 2 Max footnotes say they "may make a noise up to 62db" when charging and discharging at high wattage, and EcoFlow's DELTA Pro FAQ says the noise level ranges from 48 to 60 dB at a 1-meter distance, varying with the wattage in or out and temperature.

Our EcoFlow power station decibels page lists every DELTA and RIVER figure by the condition EcoFlow states. Our BLUETTI and Anker SOLIX pages do the same for those makers, including where their own pages and manuals disagree.

Those loud-end figures are the fuller picture: quiet on light duty, noticeably louder when working hard. No maker names a measurement standard, so compare figures taken at similar loads and distances.

DJI's 23 dB while recharging and Anker's 0 to 20 dB while discharging under 200W describe different conditions, one charging and one discharging; comparing decibel ratings goes into that kind of mismatch.

How do you keep a power station quiet at night?

Charging a power station slowly is the way to keep it quiet at night, because fast charging is the loudest thing most units do, as the fans cool the battery while it fills. Some units let you choose a slower, quieter rate.

DJI explains this best. Its manual says the Power 1000's 600W Standard Recharge Mode has lower recharge power and lower noise, suits charging at night, and takes about two hours to reach 100%. Its 1200W Fast Recharge mode reaches 80% in about 50 minutes.

The manual adds that after five fast recharges in a row, the unit switches to Standard mode for battery maintenance.

Other makers offer a choice without saying it is quieter. Anker charges the C1000 Gen 2 at 1,200W unless you turn on its 1,600W UltraFast mode in the app. FOSSiBOT offers three charging speeds on its F1800. PECRON lists adjustable charging speed. Jackery names a Quiet Mode, but its pages do not explain how slowly it charges.

Where should a power station sit so its fans run less?

A power station should sit where its vents stay clear and the air stays cool, because a fan that cannot breathe runs harder. The manuals agree on this, though none we read gives a clearance in inches.

  • EcoFlow says not to block or restrict the heat dissipation system during operation, and to keep the unit in a dry, cool, well-ventilated area.
  • DJI says to unzip both sides of its storage bag when in use, to avoid blocking the vents, and to keep the unit out of direct sunlight while recharging.

Heat matters too. EcoFlow's DELTA 3 Max manual lists an optimal operating temperature of 20°C-30°C (68°F-86°F). A power station in a hot car or a sunny tent will run its fans more.

How is a battery power station different from a fuel generator?

A battery power station burns no fuel, and that is the biggest difference from a generator.

For fuel generators, the CPSC is blunt: carbon monoxide from a generator can kill you in minutes, and you should never use one indoors or in a garage, basement or shed.

Ready.gov says generators and fuel should always be used outdoors, at least 20 feet from windows, doors and attached garages, and suggests planning for batteries and other power sources for outages.

Those rules are about generators. For a power station, follow its own manual on where to place it. If you are weighing the two, our quietest generators guide covers the quiet inverter generators.

For backup that covers the whole house, our guide to home standby generators covers the permanent kind, which runs a scheduled exercise even when the grid is up, and whose makers nearly all state their figures at 7 meters.

If the power station is part of an RV battery setup, our guide to RV air conditioners covers RecPro's 48V rooftop units and Nomadic Cooling's units that run on 12V, 24V or 48V.

What do power station buyers most often get wrong?

Power station buyers most often compare a light-load figure with a full-load one, fast charge overnight in a bedroom, cover the vents, charge in the cold or buy too little capacity.

Comparing a light-load figure with a full-load one

Most headline figures describe light duty.

Fast charging overnight in a bedroom

Use a slow charging mode where your unit has one.

Covering the vents

Every manual we read warns against it.

Charging in the cold

DJI, EcoFlow, Jackery and Anker all list 32°F (0°C) as the lowest charging temperature.

Buying too little capacity

A small, quiet unit that runs flat in two hours is no use through a long outage.

How the quietest portable power stations compare

ProductNoiseCapacityAC outputQuiet chargingWeightPrice
DJI Power 1000As low as 23 dB at 100 cm, Standard Recharge Mode (maker)1024 Wh, LFP2200W, 2600W for 30 seconds600W Standard Recharge, about 2 hours to 100%About 13 kg$699.00
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max25 dB or less at 600W, 1 m (maker)2048 Wh, LFP2400W, 3400W X-BoostNo separate mode; figure covers charging at 600W20.3 kg$878.99
Jackery Explorer 2000 v230 dB Quiet Mode, 45 dB full load, 1 m (maker)2042 Wh, LiFePO42200W, 4400W surgeQuiet Mode named; charge rate not statedAbout 17.9 kg$999.00
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 20 to 20 dB under 200W output (maker)1,024 Wh, LFP2,000W, 3,000W peak1,200W standard; 1,600W UltraFast opt-in24.9 lb$549.99
PECRON F1000LFP25 dB under 500W (maker)960 Wh, LFP1500W, 3000W surgeAdjustable speed; slow rate not publishedNot published$399.00
EcoFlow RIVER 3 PlusUnder 30 dB at 1.5 ft (maker)286 Wh, LiFePO4600W, 1200W surgeNo separate mode; 380W AC, about 60 min10.4 lb$299.00 maker's list price
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra25 dB or less at 600W, 1 m (maker)3072 Wh3600W, 7200W surgeNo separate mode; figure covers charging at 600W32.7 kg$1,699.00

Prices as of Nov 6. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.

Frequently asked questions

What is the quietest portable power station?

By a documented figure, the DJI Power 1000 at as low as 23 dB, measured 100 cm away while charging in its 600W Standard Recharge Mode. BLUETTI lists 16 dB for its Elite 200 V2 under low power loads on its page, and 16 to 30 dB in Silent charging in its manual, with no distance.

Why does a power station make noise at all?

Its cooling fans. FOSSiBOT explains that its F1800 uses a fan to regulate battery and internal temperature, and that the noise varies with input and output power and temperature. BLUETTI says its Elite 200 V2 adjusts fan speed automatically under low loads.

How loud does a power station get at full load?

Most makers do not say. Jackery does: its Explorer 2000 v2 is 45 dB at full load, its HomePower 3600 Plus 50.3 dB and its Explorer 5000 Plus 51.7 dB, all at 1 m. Their Quiet Mode figure is 30 dB. EcoFlow gives a loud end for some older models: the RIVER 2 Pro and RIVER 2 Max "may make a noise up to 62db" when charging and discharging at high wattage, and the DELTA Pro ranges from 48 to 60 dB at 1 meter.

How do I charge a power station quietly?

Charge it slowly. DJI's manual says its 600W Standard Recharge Mode has lower power and lower noise, suits charging at night, and takes about two hours to full. Anker uses 1,200W standard charging unless you turn on its 1,600W UltraFast mode in the app.

Can I compare power station dB figures between brands?

Only when the conditions match. DJI and EcoFlow state distance and load, Jackery states distance and gives a full-load figure, and some makers give only a number and a loose condition like "light loads". Compare figures measured at similar wattage and distance.

Where should I put a power station?

Somewhere its vents are clear. EcoFlow says not to block or restrict the heat dissipation system, and DJI says to unzip both sides of its storage bag so the vents are not blocked. DJI also says to keep it out of direct sunlight while recharging.

Is a power station safer than a generator indoors?

A battery unit burns no fuel. For fuel generators, the CPSC says never to use them indoors or in garages, basements or sheds, because carbon monoxide can kill in minutes. Ready.gov says to use generators at least 20 feet from windows, doors and attached garages. Those rules are about generators; follow your power station's own manual for placement.

Can I charge a power station in the cold?

Not below freezing, for the models we checked. DJI, EcoFlow, Jackery and Anker all list 32°F (0°C) as the lowest charging temperature.

The bottom line

A battery power station has no engine, so it is far quieter than any generator. But it is not always silent. Its cooling fans spin up when it charges fast or runs a heavy load, and that is when you hear it. Makers publish figures from 16 dB to 30 dB, but almost every one describes a light load or a slow charge. Jackery tells you how loud its units get at full load: 45 to 51.7 dB. A few older EcoFlow models give a loud end too, up to 62db at high wattage on two RIVER 2 units.

So read the condition with the number. Spending our own cash, we would choose a battery with a documented slow-charging mode, like the DJI Power 1000, and charge it that way overnight. And whatever you buy, keep fuel generators outdoors: the CPSC says generator carbon monoxide can kill in minutes.

Stanley Alu, founder and editor

What we also considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • BLUETTI Elite 200 V2 Portable Power Station

    BLUETTI's page lists 16 dB, the lowest number we found, "under low power loads" with no wattage or distance; its manual gives "16dB to 30dB" in Silent charging, capped at 800W. We could not compare it fairly.

    See it at Amazon
  • DJI Power 2000 Portable Power Station

    No higher than 30 dB at 1 m in Standard Recharge Mode, the maximum value in a soundproof room. A 2048 Wh unit, but out of stock when we checked.

    See it at Amazon
  • Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus

    30 dB in Quiet Mode and 50.3 dB at full load, at 1 m, with 3584 Wh. Expandable to 21 kWh.

    See it at Amazon
  • Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus

    Over budget at $3,149 on sale: 30 dB in Quiet Mode and 51.7 dB at full load, with 5040 Wh and 240V output.

    See it at Amazon
  • EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 Portable Power Station

    Over budget: EcoFlow says as low as 30 dB, but does not state the condition. 4096 Wh with 120/240V output.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus Portable Power Station

    EcoFlow lists under 30 dB at 600W and under 40 dB at 1200W, a useful two-step figure, for 1024 Wh at $669 on sale.

    See it at Amazon
  • Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 Portable Power Station

    30 dB under 1,000W for a 2,048 Wh unit, on sale for $899.99 against a $1,499.99 list price on 10 October, but Anker does not say whether that is load or charging.

    Search Amazon for this model
  • FOSSiBOT F1800 Portable Power Station

    FOSSiBOT gives 30 dB under 200W and under 35 dB at 600W at more than 1 m, with three charging speeds, for $399 on sale.

    See it at Amazon
  • BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Portable Power Station

    30 dB under 600W for a 1,024 Wh unit at $499, but no distance, and its manual gives 50dB at most.

    See it at Amazon

How we reviewed this article

Every statement here comes from the 8 maker documents, standards and agency pages listed under Sources, quoted where the wording matters. We did not measure, inspect or repair anything ourselves. Each substantive revision is dated below. How we work

  1. Current version

    Reviewed against the cited sources and updated.

  2. First published, written by Stanley Alu.

Sources

Every figure on this page was read on one of the pages below. We did not measure anything ourselves.

All 8 sources
Manufacturer pages and manuals for every product

Related guides