QuietSpecs

The quietest generators for camping and RVs

September 21, 2026 · 7 picks · 8 min read

$1,199.00

Check price
Honda EU2200i 2200 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

The quietest generators for camping and RVs

By The QuietSpecs team · showing #1 Quietest in the 2,000-watt class

The short answer

  • The Honda EU2200i is the quietest 2,000-watt class generator we could verify: Honda lists 48 dB(A) at quarter load and 57 at rated load, the lowest published figures in that class at both ends.
  • The smaller Honda EU1000i has the lowest figure of all, 42 to 50 dB(A), but only 900 running watts.
  • For an RV with a 30-amp cord, the WEN 56450iX states 58 dBA at quarter load at 22 feet and has a TT-30R outlet.
  • The Champion 2500-watt is the value pick at 53 dBA from 23 feet.
  • If you need little power, a power station has no engine at all.

Quietest in the 2,000-watt class

Honda EU2200i 2200 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

Price

$1,199.00 · maker's list price · checked Sep 21
Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on QuietSpecs, at no extra cost to you. It never affects how we rank products. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Why QuietSpecs

QuietSpecs ranks home appliances by how loud they really are, using figures from manufacturers and certification bodies.

Ranked on noise

Every guide is ordered by the noise figure that matters in use, not the one on the box.

Maker-verified specs

Each figure comes from the manufacturer or a certification body, and we say which.

Downsides included

Every pick lists what is wrong with it, and who should skip it.

Commissions don't rank

We may earn when you buy through our links. It never changes the order.

Our Picks

Honda EU2200i 2200 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

#1 · Quietest in the 2,000-watt class

Honda EU2200i 2200 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

Honda

Honda lists 48 dB(A) at quarter load and 57 dB(A) at rated load. Most makers give you one flattering figure. Honda gives you the working range, and both ends are the lowest published in this class. It states the load and not the distance, so set it beside other Honda figures with confidence, and beside other brands with care.

What we like

  • Both ends published: 48 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 57 dB(A) at rated load
  • 47.4 lb dry, with CO-MINDER carbon monoxide shutoff
  • Pairs with a second unit for double the output, and a 3-year warranty

What to know

  • Honda states no measuring distance
  • No 30-amp RV outlet on this model
  • Not for sale in California, and about twice the price of its rivals

$1,199.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
48 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 57 at rated load. Distance not stated
Running watts
1,800 W (2,200 W starting)
Weight
47.4 lb dry
Runtime
8.1 hr at 1/4 load, 3.2 hr at rated load
RV outlet
None. Companion model adds a 30 A locking outlet
CO shutoff
CO-MINDER
Buy it if
Tent and small trailer camping where neighbors are close
Skip it if
You need to run an RV air conditioner from one unit
Honda EU1000i 1000 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

#2 · Lowest published figure, and the lightest

Honda EU1000i 1000 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

Honda

At 42 dB(A) at quarter load and 50 at rated load, this has the lowest figures any maker here publishes, and at 28.7 lb it is the one you can carry in one hand. The catch is output: 900 running watts covers lights, phones, a laptop and a small fridge, and not much more.

What we like

  • The lowest published figures here: 42 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 50 at rated load
  • 28.7 lb dry
  • CO-MINDER shutoff, and a 50-state version

What to know

  • Only 900 running watts
  • Honda states no measuring distance
  • Costly for the power it delivers

$999.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
42 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 50 at rated load. Distance not stated
Running watts
900 W (1,000 W starting)
Weight
28.7 lb dry
Runtime
6.8 hr at 1/4 load, 3.0 hr at rated load
RV outlet
None
CO shutoff
CO-MINDER
Buy it if
Tent camping with small loads
Skip it if
You want to run a microwave, a kettle or an air conditioner
Champion 2500W Inverter

#3 · Best value, with a stated distance

Champion 2500W Inverter

Champion Power Equipment

Champion lists 53 dBA from 23 feet. It is one of the few makers to state a distance, though it does not state the load. At 39.7 lb it is nearly eight pounds lighter than the Honda, runs up to 11.5 hours at quarter load, and has a carbon monoxide shutoff. Champion shows no price on its own site.

What we like

  • 53 dBA, with the distance stated: 23 feet
  • 39.7 lb, and up to 11.5 hours at 25% load
  • CO Shield shutoff and a 3-year warranty

What to know

  • The load behind the 53 dBA figure is not stated
  • No RV outlet without the separate parallel kit
  • This model is EPA certified only. California buyers need model 201183

Price not verified yetSpecs checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
53 dBA from 23 feet. Load not stated
Running watts
1,850 W (2,500 W starting)
Weight
39.7 lb
Runtime
11.5 hr at 25% load
RV outlet
None. TT-30R via the ParaLINK parallel kit
CO shutoff
CO Shield
Buy it if
Weekend camping on a budget
Skip it if
You need a 30-amp outlet on the generator itself
WEN 56450iX Super Quiet 4500-Watt RV-Ready Portable Inverter Generator with Fuel Shut-Off and CO Watchdog

#4 · Quietest RV-ready unit that states load and distance

WEN 56450iX Super Quiet 4500-Watt RV-Ready Portable Inverter Generator with Fuel Shut-Off and CO Watchdog

WEN

This is the only generator here whose maker states both the load and the distance: 58 dBA at quarter load, 22 feet. It has a TT-30R outlet, so an RV cord plugs straight in, and 3,500 running watts. It is a quarter-load figure only, and WEN uses 22 feet where Champion uses 23.

What we like

  • Load and distance both stated: 58 dBA at quarter load, 22 feet
  • TT-30R outlet and 3,500 running watts
  • CO Watchdog shutoff and a 3-year warranty

What to know

  • No figure for rated load
  • 99.2 lb, so it needs its wheels
  • WEN quotes runtime at half load, so it cannot be set beside the others directly

$829.49

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
58 dBA at quarter load, 22 feet
Running watts
3,500 W (4,500 W starting)
Weight
99.2 lb
Runtime
8.5 hr at half load
RV outlet
TT-30R
CO shutoff
CO Watchdog
Buy it if
A travel trailer with a 30-amp cord
Skip it if
You have to lift the generator into a truck bed alone
Honda EU3200i 3200 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

#5 · Quietest unit its maker rates for an RV air conditioner

Honda EU3200i 3200 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

Honda

Honda lists an RV air conditioner of up to 13,500 BTU among this generator's applications. It does not say that of the EU2200i. Noise is 54 dB(A) at quarter load and 58 at rated load, a narrow range, and at 59.1 lb it weighs far less than the 3,500-watt units from other makers. The price is in a class of its own.

What we like

  • 54 dB(A) at 1/4 load and 58 at rated load
  • Honda lists a 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner as an application
  • 59.1 lb dry, fuel injected, and sold in a 50-state version

What to know

  • More than twice the price of other 3,000-watt class units
  • Its 30-amp outlet is a locking type, so an RV cord needs an adapter
  • Honda states no measuring distance

$2,799.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
54 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 58 at rated load. Distance not stated
Running watts
2,600 W (3,200 W starting)
Weight
59.1 lb dry
Runtime
8.6 hr at 1/4 load, 3.3 hr at rated load
RV outlet
30 A locking. Adapter needed for an RV cord
CO shutoff
CO-MINDER
Buy it if
Running an RV air conditioner as quietly as a published figure allows
Skip it if
The price rules it out, which for most people it will
Westinghouse iGen2550c Inverter Generator with CO Sensor

#6 · Cheapest small unit with an RV outlet

Westinghouse iGen2550c Inverter Generator with CO Sensor

Westinghouse

The lowest maker list price of any small RV-ready generator we checked, with a TT-30R outlet, a carbon monoxide sensor and 11 hours at quarter load. Its noise claim is the weakest here: "as low as 52 dBA", with no load and no distance. Westinghouse claims the same 52 for a generator twice the size, which tells you how much weight to give it.

What we like

  • TT-30R outlet on a small unit, at a low list price
  • 11 hours at 25% load on 1.1 gallons
  • CO sensor shutoff and a 3-year warranty

What to know

  • "As low as 52 dBA" states neither load nor distance
  • The page says 46 lb in its headline and 40 lb in its spec list
  • Not CARB compliant, and out of stock on the maker's site when we checked

$529.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
"As low as 52 dBA". Load and distance not stated
Running watts
1,900 W (2,550 W starting)
Weight
40 lb dry (spec list)
Runtime
11 hr at 25% load
RV outlet
TT-30R
CO shutoff
CO Sensor
Buy it if
A small camper on a tight budget, outside California
Skip it if
You are choosing on the noise figure
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus Portable Power Station

#7 · Silent alternative: a power station

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus Portable Power Station

EcoFlow

A battery has no engine and no exhaust. EcoFlow lists this one at under 30 dB below 600 watts of output, which is fan noise. It stores 1,024 watt-hours, enough for lights, devices and a fridge overnight, and nowhere near enough to run an RV air conditioner for long. It was on pre-order when we checked.

What we like

  • Under 30 dB below 600 W of output, per EcoFlow
  • No engine, no exhaust and no fuel, so no generator hours to obey
  • 27.6 lb, with a 5-year warranty

What to know

  • A finite 1,024 Wh, and then it needs recharging
  • No published noise figure above 600 W
  • Shown as pre-order, shipping in November, when we checked

$799.00

maker's list price · checked Sep 21

Check price on Amazon
Noise
Under 30 dB below 600 W (maker)
Running watts
1,800 W AC output
Weight
27.6 lb
Runtime
1,024 Wh capacity
RV outlet
None
CO shutoff
Not needed. No engine, no exhaust
Buy it if
Tent camping, and campgrounds that ban generators
Skip it if
You need air conditioning, or several days away from a charger

Full Specifications

Noise

Honda EU2200ITAN
48 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 57 at rated load. Distance not stated
Honda EU1000i
42 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 50 at rated load. Distance not stated
Champion Power Equipment 201317
53 dBA from 23 feet. Load not stated
WEN 56450iX
58 dBA at quarter load, 22 feet
Honda EU3200IAN
54 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 58 at rated load. Distance not stated
Westinghouse iGen2550c
"As low as 52 dBA". Load and distance not stated
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Under 30 dB below 600 W (maker)

Running watts

Honda EU2200ITAN
1,800 W (2,200 W starting)
Honda EU1000i
900 W (1,000 W starting)
Champion Power Equipment 201317
1,850 W (2,500 W starting)
WEN 56450iX
3,500 W (4,500 W starting)
Honda EU3200IAN
2,600 W (3,200 W starting)
Westinghouse iGen2550c
1,900 W (2,550 W starting)
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
1,800 W AC output

Weight

Honda EU2200ITAN
47.4 lb dry
Honda EU1000i
28.7 lb dry
Honda EU3200IAN
59.1 lb dry
Westinghouse iGen2550c
40 lb dry (spec list)

Runtime

Honda EU2200ITAN
8.1 hr at 1/4 load, 3.2 hr at rated load
Honda EU1000i
6.8 hr at 1/4 load, 3.0 hr at rated load
WEN 56450iX
8.5 hr at half load
Honda EU3200IAN
8.6 hr at 1/4 load, 3.3 hr at rated load
Westinghouse iGen2550c
11 hr at 25% load
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
1,024 Wh capacity

RV outlet

Honda EU2200ITAN
None. Companion model adds a 30 A locking outlet
Champion Power Equipment 201317
None. TT-30R via the ParaLINK parallel kit
Honda EU3200IAN
30 A locking. Adapter needed for an RV cord

CO shutoff

Honda EU1000i
CO-MINDER
WEN 56450iX
CO Watchdog
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Not needed. No engine, no exhaust

Price

Honda EU2200ITAN
$1,199.00 (maker's list price)
Honda EU1000i
$999.00 (maker's list price)
WEN 56450iX
$829.49 (maker's list price)
Honda EU3200IAN
$2,799.00 (maker's list price)
Westinghouse iGen2550c
$529.00 (maker's list price)
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
$799.00 (maker's list price)

Buying Guide

Every generator box has a decibel figure on it, which makes the quietest generator for camping look easy to find. It is not. One maker measures at quarter load, another at 23 feet, a third at 22 feet, and a fourth says "as low as" and stops. The figures are real, and most of them cannot be set side by side.

We read the product pages, spec sheets and owner's manuals for twelve inverter generators and two power stations. Eleven of the twelve generators carry a noise figure. One maker states both the load and the distance, on one model. Here is who says what, what the national park rule really requires, and which generator to buy.

Our 7 picks are listed above, with full specifications for each.

Who states what

A generator's noise depends on how hard it is working and how far away you stand. A figure needs both to mean much. Here is what each maker gives.

  • Load and distance. Only WEN, and only for the 56450iX: 58 dBA at quarter load, 22 feet.
  • Load, at both ends. Honda lists quarter load and rated load for every model: 42 and 50 dB(A) for the EU1000i, 48 and 57 for the EU2200i, 54 and 58 for the EU3200i. Yamaha gives the same kind of range for the EF2200iS, 57 to 65 dBA. Neither states a distance.
  • Load, quiet end only. WEN's 56235iX: 51 decibels at quarter load.
  • Distance only. Champion: 53 dBA from 23 feet for its 2,500-watt unit, and 61 dBA from 23 feet for its 4,500-watt unit. No load is stated.
  • Neither. Westinghouse says "as low as 52 dBA", and says it for both a 1,900-watt and a 3,900-watt generator.
  • Nothing. Generac publishes no figure for the iQ3500, in the page, the spec sheet or the manual.

You will read that Honda and Yamaha measure at 7 meters, which is 23 feet. We looked for it on Honda's US product pages, in the Honda owner's manual and on Yamaha's US spec page, and did not find it. It may well be true. We cannot source it, so we do not say it.

Quarter load and rated load

An inverter generator slows its engine when little power is being drawn. So the quarter-load figure is the quiet end and the rated-load figure is the loud end.

Honda's EU2200i shows the gap: 48 dB(A) at quarter load, 57 at rated load. Nine decibels is a large difference. A maker that quotes only the quiet end, or says "as low as", is telling you about a generator charging phones, not one running a microwave.

This is also why economy mode matters. Honda's manual recommends Eco Throttle to further reduce noise whenever less than a full load is applied. Champion says its economy mode reduces engine speed for quieter operation. WEN's manual says to use its eco switch only below 75% of rated output. In practice: size the generator so that your normal load is a light one.

The 60-decibel rule in national parks

The federal rule for national parks is 36 CFR 2.12. It prohibits operating motorized equipment, and it names an electric generating plant as an example, in a manner "that exceeds a noise level of 60 decibels measured on the A-weighted scale at 50 feet".

Two details matter. First, the distance is 50 feet, and no maker measures at 50 feet. A box that says 58 does not prove compliance, and a box that says 61 does not prove a violation. We do not convert between distances. Second, the rule has another clause. Even below 60 decibels, noise is prohibited if it is unreasonable, considering the location, the time of day and the effect on other park users. So a generator that meets the number can still break the rule.

Campgrounds then add their own hours. The National Park Service says quiet hours are posted in most campgrounds, typically something like 10 pm to 6 am. Assateague prohibits generator use during quiet hours and bans generators entirely in some loops. Mount Rainier allows generators only in three two-hour windows a day. Check your campground before you pack.

Carbon monoxide: the part that matters more than noise

It is tempting to tuck a noisy generator behind a wall or a vehicle to muffle it. Do not. The Consumer Product Safety Commission's advice, in its words:

  • "Never use portable generators inside homes or garages, even if doors and windows are open."
  • "Use generators outside only, at least 20 feet away from homes with exhaust facing away."

CPSC says more than 100 deaths a year in the United States are linked to portable generators.

The manuals agree. Honda's says not to enclose or cover the generator with boards or a tent, even outside, and to place it so the muffler points the way the wind is blowing. Champion's says never to run one in an RV generator compartment, the back of an SUV, a camper or a truck bed.

Every generator we picked has a carbon monoxide shutoff: Honda calls it CO-MINDER, Champion CO Shield, WEN CO Watchdog, Westinghouse CO Sensor. Treat it as a last line of defense. It is not a reason to park the generator beside a window.

Sizing: one generator, two, or a battery

For an RV air conditioner, go by what makers state. Honda lists a 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner as an application for the EU3200i, and not for the EU2200i. Champion says two of its inverters on its 30-amp parallel kit will start and run a 15,000 BTU unit.

Two small units in parallel give you the output of a large one and the option of carrying only one on light trips. Honda says paralleling gives extra power without trading up to a larger, heavier generator, and that only identical units can be paired. No maker publishes a noise figure for a pair running together.

Check the outlet. A TT-30R outlet takes an RV cord directly. The Champion 4,500-watt, both Westinghouse units and the WEN 56450iX have one. Honda's EU3200i and Companion, and the Generac, use 30-amp locking outlets that need an adapter.

A power station suits small loads and places that ban generators. It has no engine, no exhaust and no fuel. It also has a fixed amount of energy: about 1,000 watt-hours in the two we checked.

How much should you spend?

Around $530 to $600 buys a 2,000-watt class inverter from Westinghouse or WEN, and the Champion sits in the same class. Expect a single noise figure with something missing from it.

Around $830 buys the WEN 56450iX, with 3,500 running watts, an RV outlet, and the best-qualified figure in the guide.

Around $1,000 to $1,200 buys a Honda EU1000i or EU2200i. What the extra money buys is the lowest published figures, stated at both ends of the load.

Around $2,800 buys the Honda EU3200i. It is the lightest way to run an RV air conditioner that a maker will put in writing, and few people will pay it.

Around $560 to $800 buys a 1,000 watt-hour power station at list price.

Mistakes buyers make

Comparing figures across brands as if they were measured the same way. They are not. Compare within a brand, and treat a gap of a few decibels between brands as unknown.

Reading "as low as" as the working noise level. It is the quietest moment the generator has.

Assuming a figure under 60 means park-legal. The park rule is measured at 50 feet and has a second clause about unreasonable noise.

Buying too small, then running flat out. A generator at rated load is at the loud end of its range all day. Honda's own figures put that 9 decibels above quarter load on the EU2200i.

Moving the generator closer to block the sound. Keep it at least 20 feet away with the exhaust facing away, as CPSC says.

Comparing runtimes without checking the load. WEN quotes runtime at half load. Most others quote quarter load.

New to the units? Read dBA explained. To decide what figure to aim for, see how quiet is quiet enough, room by room. If a product you already own has become noisy, see why your appliance got louder.

How we chose

We read the manufacturer's product page for every generator, and the spec sheet or owner's manual wherever one is published. We recorded each noise figure in the maker's own words, with the load and the distance whenever the maker gives them, and we said so when it gives neither. We compared running watts, weight, runtime at its quoted load, outlet type, carbon monoxide shutoff and warranty. We read the federal park noise rule, National Park Service campground pages and the Consumer Product Safety Commission's generator advice, and quoted them directly.

We did not measure decibels ourselves, and we did not convert any figure from one distance to another. We ranked makers that publish both ends of the load range first, then figures with a stated load or distance, then bare claims. One brand, Predator, is missing because its maker's site would not let us read its pages.

Common questions

What is the quietest generator for camping?

On the makers' own figures, the Honda EU1000i is lowest, at 42 dB(A) at quarter load and 50 at rated load. In the 2,000-watt class it is the Honda EU2200i, at 48 and 57. Honda states the load and not the distance. A power station is quieter than any of them, because it has no engine.

How many decibels can a generator be in a national park?

Federal rules for national parks prohibit operating a generator in a manner that exceeds 60 decibels measured on the A-weighted scale at 50 feet. The same rule also prohibits noise that is unreasonable even below that level, considering things like the time of day and the effect on other visitors. Individual campgrounds add their own generator hours.

Does a generator rated under 60 dBA meet the park limit?

Not necessarily, and a figure above 60 does not prove a violation either. The park limit is measured at 50 feet. Makers measure at 23 feet, 22 feet or a distance they do not state, and at a load they choose. We do not convert between them. Choose the lowest published figure you can, run in economy mode at a light load, and keep to the posted hours.

What size generator do I need for a 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner?

Go by what the makers state. Honda lists an RV air conditioner of up to 13,500 BTU as an application for its 3,200-watt EU3200i, and does not list one for the EU2200i. Champion says two of its inverters joined by its 30-amp parallel kit can start and run a 15,000 BTU RV air conditioner. We found no maker that says a single 2,000-watt unit will do it.

How far should a generator be from my RV or tent?

The Consumer Product Safety Commission says to use generators outside only, at least 20 feet away from homes, with the exhaust facing away, and never inside a home or garage even with doors and windows open. Honda's manual adds never to enclose or cover a generator with a tent, and to point the muffler the way the wind is blowing. A carbon monoxide shutoff is a backstop, not a substitute for distance.

Does eco mode make a generator quieter?

The makers say so. Honda says Eco Throttle reduces noise because the engine is not running at full speed constantly, and its manual recommends it to further reduce noise when less than a full load is applied. Champion says reduced engine speed gives quieter operation. It only helps at light loads, since a heavy load brings the engine back up to speed.

Can I run a generator all night at a campground?

Usually not. The National Park Service says quiet hours are posted in most campgrounds, typically something like 10 pm to 6 am. At Assateague, generator use during quiet hours is prohibited outright. Hours vary by campground and some loops ban generators entirely, so check before you go.

Are portable power stations really silent?

They have no engine and no exhaust, but their cooling fans run under load. EcoFlow lists the DELTA 3 Plus at under 30 dB below 600 watts of output. Jackery says 30 dB for the Explorer 1000 v2 with no conditions. Neither publishes a figure at high output.

Written by

The QuietSpecs team

Editors

We compare home appliances on the noise figures their makers and certification bodies publish. We read the spec sheets, manuals and directories ourselves, quote each figure with the setting it describes, and say so when a maker publishes nothing. We do not test products or measure decibels.

How we compare products

What We Also Considered

These are worth knowing about, and why they didn't make the list.

  • Honda EU2200i Companion 2200 watt 120V inverter generator with CO-MINDER

    The same noise figures as the EU2200i with a 30 A locking outlet added. It makes most sense as the second unit in a parallel pair.

    See it at Amazon
  • Yamaha EF2200iS

    Yamaha is as open as Honda, publishing 57 to 65 dBA from quarter load to rated load, and it has an RV outlet. Its figures are higher than Honda's at both ends, and it is heavier at 55.2 lb.

    See it at Amazon
  • Champion 4500W Inverter

    TT-30R outlet and 14 hours at quarter load, but 61 dBA from 23 feet is the highest single figure in this guide, and it weighs 92.2 lb.

    See it at Amazon
  • Westinghouse iGen5000c Inverter Generator with CO Sensor

    The most power here, 3,900 running watts, and 18 hours at quarter load. Its "as low as 52 dBA" has no load or distance, and matches the claim for a unit half its size.

    See it at Amazon
  • WEN 56235iX Super Quiet Ultra Lightweight 2350-Watt Portable Inverter Generator with Fuel Shut Off and CO Sensor

    WEN lists 51 decibels at quarter load and it weighs 39 lb. No distance is stated for this model, and the warranty is two years where most rivals give three.

    See it at Amazon
  • Generac iQ3500 iQ Series Inverter Generator with COsense

    Generac publishes no noise figure for it, on the product page, the spec sheet or the manual. It calls it ultra-quiet. It weighs 109.1 lb.

    See it at Amazon
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power Station

    Another power station. Jackery says 30 dB with no conditions at all, where EcoFlow at least ties its figure to output below 600 W.

    See it at Amazon

Connect with us

Get the week's real price drops

One email a week. Only deals we'd take ourselves. Unsubscribe in one click.